Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:10:07 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [announce] Namecoin - a distributed naming system based on Bitcoin  (Read 320928 times)
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2011, 03:17:56 PM
 #221

Hi khal,

Is this likely to work on nearly free speech (http://www.nearlyfreespeech.net)
Nearly impossible to say without trying. If you need a .bit hosting, send me a PM.


Quote from: caston
I just thought of another question. Where do your registration fees go?
Registration fees (name_firstupdate) are lost. Their goal is to avoid a rush, but this is not perfect in my opinion.
There is a discussion about that here.

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 06:04:55 AM
 #222


Anybody figure out to check on the unconfirmed blocks?

khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW
May 23, 2011, 07:23:51 AM
 #223


Anybody figure out to check on the unconfirmed blocks?
If windows, use the last version (updated yesterday) and :
Code:
namecoind.exe listtransactions

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 10:50:18 AM
 #224


Anybody figure out to check on the unconfirmed blocks?

No.

Just increase your hashing power if you want to see confirmations quicker Wink
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 10:54:40 AM
 #225


Anybody figure out to check on the unconfirmed blocks?

No.

Just increase your hashing power if you want to see confirmations quicker Wink

Code:
$./namecoind listtransactions

... but you need the 'right' build for it get immature blocks.

gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 11:32:14 AM
 #226


Anybody figure out to check on the unconfirmed blocks?

No.

Just increase your hashing power if you want to see confirmations quicker Wink

Code:
$./namecoind listtransactions

... but you need the 'right' build for it get immature blocks.

Oh really?? News to me!

I was only ever able to get confirmed blocks to show up, but I was using 0.3.20 I believe.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 24, 2011, 01:09:54 AM
 #227

Oh really?? News to me!

I was only ever able to get confirmed blocks to show up, but I was using 0.3.20 I believe.
use the latest binaries. it should show something like this:
    {
        "account" : "",
        "category" : "immature",
        "amount" : 50.00000000,
        "confirmations" : 13,
        "txid" : "ad4a4d398bfafa8378636d146fda685ce50fbd6710c7d30af2820c5cd93e8864",
        "time" : 1306196513
    }

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 24, 2011, 03:49:24 PM
 #228

Latest Windows binaries last commit: Mon May 23 18:45:17
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30252547/namecoin_2011-05-23.zip
SHA-1: 771727A6582FDCEE5278ABD9DC35FC3CC7BE7BD1

commits since last release:
2011-05-23   Merge pull request #4 from ashuiquu/master
2011-05-22   missing return
2011-05-16   use pertxout for name operations

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
phathash
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:11:30 PM
 #229

Do you have to use "-server" switch to get namecoind to accept work from GPUs and mine NCs?

I setup the rpc details and my GPU started generating mhashes... but, how do I know if namecoind is actually working on solving blocks? If I run "namecoind.exe getinfo" I see "hashespersec : 0". My GPU is doing work though?

also, if a block is found.. do I need to wait 120 blocks? how do I know if I found a block?

Thanks.
doublec
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:00:44 PM
 #230

Do you have to use "-server" switch to get namecoind to accept work from GPUs and mine NCs?

I setup the rpc details and my GPU started generating mhashes... but, how do I know if namecoind is actually working on solving blocks? If I run "namecoind.exe getinfo" I see "hashespersec : 0". My GPU is doing work though?

also, if a block is found.. do I need to wait 120 blocks? how do I know if I found a block?

You don't need "-server", this is automatically applied when running namecoind. Just like with bitcoin, the "hashespersec" will show zero if you use an external getwork based miner.  Your miner should tell you if it is working or not (it'll show a hash rate and/or accepted blocks).

Yes, you need to wait 120 blocks when a block is found. Your miner will tell you when you found a block. You can use 'listtransactions' to see immature blocks and how many confirmations they've had.
phathash
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:39:06 PM
 #231

Do you have to use "-server" switch to get namecoind to accept work from GPUs and mine NCs?

I setup the rpc details and my GPU started generating mhashes... but, how do I know if namecoind is actually working on solving blocks? If I run "namecoind.exe getinfo" I see "hashespersec : 0". My GPU is doing work though?

also, if a block is found.. do I need to wait 120 blocks? how do I know if I found a block?

You don't need "-server", this is automatically applied when running namecoind. Just like with bitcoin, the "hashespersec" will show zero if you use an external getwork based miner.  Your miner should tell you if it is working or not (it'll show a hash rate and/or accepted blocks).

Yes, you need to wait 120 blocks when a block is found. Your miner will tell you when you found a block. You can use 'listtransactions' to see immature blocks and how many confirmations they've had.

for listtractions I get -

error: {"code";-32601,"message":"Method not found"}

I am using the Windows exe.

Do I need to list the account?
Timo Y
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


bitcoin - the aerogel of money


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:50:31 PM
 #232

When I try to do name_update I get this message:

error: {"code":-1,"message":"there are pending operations on that name"}

I have waited for a day and still get the message. I only get this message for a name I name_firstupdate'd with an older version of namecoin. I doubled checked in my transaction history that I really firstupdate'd this name.  For all other names I own, name_update works fine.  Using linux 32 binary.

Any idea what could be the problem? Help much appreciated.

GPG ID: FA868D77   bitcoin-otc:forever-d
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2011, 02:57:06 PM
 #233

for listtractions I get -

error: {"code";-32601,"message":"Method not found"}

I am using the Windows exe.

Do I need to list the account?
Not listtractions, but listtransactions


forever-d > i'll be on irc soon if you need help

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 03:38:02 PM
 #234

for listtractions I get -

error: {"code";-32601,"message":"Method not found"}

I am using the Windows exe.

Do I need to list the account?
spelling fail.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 08:39:36 PM
 #235

I mined with ~500mhash for 12hours and do not seem to have found anything. I tried the testnet flag to check the setup but it does not connect:

C:\phoenix>c:\phoenix\phoenix.exe -u http://xxxx:yyyy@127.0.0.1:8336 -
k poclbm DEVICE=2 -v -q 3 -a 256 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=10
[25/05/2011 22:37:01] Phoenix 1.48 starting...
MSG: Bitcoin is not connected!
[25/05/2011 22:37:01] Failed to connect, retrying...
[0 Khash/sec] [0 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC]

the miners seem to work fine with normal use. I assume there is no testnet for namecoin yet, correct? (could not find this info).



-----------edit------------
I forgot they have to mature. using "namecoind.exe listtransactions" to find out how many I got...  sweet I got a couple of blocks. I imagine this is a little bit similiar to when it all started, very nice.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:24:22 AM
 #236

what happens if I reserve without the d/ in front of the name? it seems to work fine.

what does it mean that I reserved a name? for how long will it stay reserved? could I reserve a hundred names and lock them for everyone else? I hope not.  >=]


blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 08:13:52 AM
 #237

what happens if I reserve without the d/ in front of the name? it seems to work fine.

what does it mean that I reserved a name? for how long will it stay reserved? could I reserve a hundred names and lock them for everyone else? I hope not.  >=]


After the

Code:
./namecoind name_firstupdate

the name stays reserved for 12,000 blocks (i think) at which point you can do a

Code:
./namecoind name_update

to keep it current  ... cost (0.01NC)

We need to get the exact details extracted out of the forums, made explicit, and put up on the wiki ... bear with us.

http://dot-bit.org/HowToRegisterAndConfigureBitDomains#4._Other_updates

Edit: it is in the OP ... start there at least.
"Names expire after 12000 blocks unless renewed with an update"

foo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 09:45:28 AM
 #238

what happens if I reserve without the d/ in front of the name? it seems to work fine.
It will not be recognized as a domain name, so you have basically just wasted some namecoins.

I know this because Tyler knows this.
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW
May 26, 2011, 11:06:09 AM
 #239

what does it mean that I reserved a name?
When you reserve a name, other people don't know the domain name you reserved. This avoids another person to name_new the same domain as you 1 second after you.


Quote
for how long will it stay reserved?
12'000 blocks too, after that, your name_new has expired. Other people can also do name_new. The first one to do the name_firstupdate gets the domain.

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 01:32:50 PM
 #240

what does it mean that I reserved a name?
When you reserve a name, other people don't know the domain name you reserved. This avoids another person to name_new the same domain as you 1 second after you.

Quote
for how long will it stay reserved?
12'000 blocks too, after that, your name_new has expired. Other people can also do name_new. The first one to do the name_firstupdate gets the domain.

thanks, I see.

I tried to firstupdate and got this (names changed; I made the name new 20 blocks ago):

namecoind name_firstupdate d/bitcoin 519eXXXXX005 eb554af3deb4XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX8e32beba99066988f8c685b '{"map": {"": "10.0.0.1"}}'
error: {"code":-1,"message":"name_firstupdate <name> <rand> [<tx>] <value>\nPerf
orm a first update after a name_new reservation.\nNote that the first update wil
l go into a block 12 blocks after the name_new, at the soonest."}

Is it trying to tell me my name_new did not work out?


blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!