Bitcoin Forum
November 30, 2021, 04:15:59 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 ... 89 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitminter bitcoin mining pool - shutdown mining 2020-07-01 website 2021-06-01  (Read 324338 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
coinout83
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 25, 2015, 10:41:32 PM
 #681

Hello,
Am new to Bitcoin mining. Opened Bitminter account using my laptop. What else do I need to do in order to mine Bitcoins. Please help me in this regard.

Welcome to bitminter!

What equipment are you planning to use to mine with?

Here is a copy and pasted getting started guide right off the webpage

Getting Started
1. Register

2. Connect your miners to stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333

As user name put your Bitminter user name, an underscore, then a worker name, e.g. DrHaribo_1. There is no password check. You can put X or 123 as password.

If you have firewall issues try port 443 instead of 3333.

start bitminter client For some older USB-based ASICs we offer the easy-to-use Bitminter client. Click the engine start button to launch it. Requires updated Java. Read more in its forum thread.

3. Get a wallet to transfer your coins to. Make sure you secure your wallet.

Let us know if you have any more questions.



The problem is I have registered with an username and password. Now it says " Connect your miners to stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333 "
How to do that , bcos there is no option that says " Connect your miners " inside the Bitminter web page " https://bitminter.com/members " .
Therefore as an novice in mining I want some step-by-step manual/online guide in order to mine bitcoins using Bitminter .
Thanks in Advance.
1638288959
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638288959

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638288959
Reply with quote  #2

1638288959
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638288959
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638288959

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638288959
Reply with quote  #2

1638288959
Report to moderator
1638288959
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638288959

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638288959
Reply with quote  #2

1638288959
Report to moderator
1638288959
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638288959

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638288959
Reply with quote  #2

1638288959
Report to moderator
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2015, 11:05:32 PM
 #682

A laptop was OK in 2009, but that's a long time ago now. Yes, you will need to buy bitcoin ASIC mining machines.

It would literally take millions of years to mine a single coin with a laptop now.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
coinout83
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 26, 2015, 10:45:40 AM
 #683

A laptop was OK in 2009, but that's a long time ago now. Yes, you will need to buy bitcoin ASIC mining machines.

It would literally take millions of years to mine a single coin with a laptop now.


Thank You DrHaribo for everything. Since I am an entry level miner, would you suggest any entry-level mining hardware so that I purchase the same in order to start the process from my home.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2015, 04:59:08 PM
 #684

Thank You DrHaribo for everything. Since I am an entry level miner, would you suggest any entry-level mining hardware so that I purchase the same in order to start the process from my home.

I'd suggest getting a stand-alone machine of 1 TH/s hashrate or higher. You could find Antminer S-series models, or machines from KnCMiner and others on ebay and similar places. The only ones currently sold new that I know of are Antminer S7 from bitmaintech.com - it's a fast machine but maybe a bit expensive for starting out.

For a list of bitcoin ASIC machines, see https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

For a very cheap start you could get an Antminer U3. But at only 63 GH/s this is a very slow device. It's also not stand-alone and needs a PC to be able to mine. I don't know how likely it is to break even. You could run it with a low-power computer like the Beaglebone or Raspberry Pi to keep electricity costs down. That's basically how the stand-alone miners work, they have a tiny computer built in.

Don't go for old 1 or 2 GH/s USB sticks. These are useless at this point. They can never break even and they are so slow you won't really see much happening when mining with them. Although they generate less heat and noise, and use less electricity, they are similar to mining with a PC: ridiculously slow.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
gmcroman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 06, 2015, 02:15:56 AM
 #685

It was at least the third time today when I got the sound effect notifying me that a new block was found however, there was no block listed in the "Blocks / minting timeline" - neither BTC or NMC. Is this a bug?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2015, 02:54:17 AM
 #686

It was at least the third time today when I got the sound effect notifying me that a new block was found however, there was no block listed in the "Blocks / minting timeline" - neither BTC or NMC. Is this a bug?

You sure it's not the one BTC and two NMC blocks found today?

Making it only alert on BTC blocks and not NMC is on my TODO list.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
gmcroman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 06, 2015, 10:09:09 PM
 #687

I am positive that there were 3 false alarms (that I know of) while I was around my computer yesterday. It is exciting to hear the sound effect for a new block and I came every time to my computer to see the good news.

I did hear the alarm for one BTC and one NMC that my miners found and I was glad to see my username on the list, however the other 3 times, it was a bit nerve wreaking to hear it but with no "visual" confirmation.

When it will happen the next time, if I will be around, I will take note for the time when it happens and I will let you know.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2015, 10:44:24 PM
 #688

Thanks, that would be helpful. I'll need to look into why this thing is unreliable. Sorry about that!

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
gmcroman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2015, 03:06:44 AM
 #689

The alarm just went off. It is 10:04 PM EST when it happened. False alarm, unfortunately!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2015, 10:49:19 AM
 #690

The alarm just went off. It is 10:04 PM EST when it happened. False alarm, unfortunately!

Thanks - I'll see if I can figure out why that happens.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
flameball1989
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 08, 2015, 10:15:58 PM
 #691

Hello,
Am new to Bitcoin mining. Opened Bitminter account using my laptop. What else do I need to do in order to mine Bitcoins. Please help me in this regard.

Welcome to bitminter!

What equipment are you planning to use to mine with?

Here is a copy and pasted getting started guide right off the webpage

Getting Started
1. Register

2. Connect your miners to stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333

As user name put your Bitminter user name, an underscore, then a worker name, e.g. DrHaribo_1. There is no password check. You can put X or 123 as password.

If you have firewall issues try port 443 instead of 3333.

start bitminter client For some older USB-based ASICs we offer the easy-to-use Bitminter client. Click the engine start button to launch it. Requires updated Java. Read more in its forum thread.

3. Get a wallet to transfer your coins to. Make sure you secure your wallet.

Let us know if you have any more questions.



I am fairly new to mining and having similar troubles my usb miners are up but i cannot get my blade eruptor to work i've read the welcome and how tos with no luck any help would be appreciated
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2015, 08:14:05 AM
 #692

Main server having some issues. We're on backup server now.

If you didn't get reconnected after 1-2 minutes, you may have a broken DNS server that caches entries longer than their TTL. You can fix your DNS or add us2.bitminter.com:3333 and/or eu1.bitminter.com:3333 as backup pools on your miner.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2015, 08:15:00 AM
 #693

I am fairly new to mining and having similar troubles my usb miners are up but i cannot get my blade eruptor to work i've read the welcome and how tos with no luck any help would be appreciated

How to mine with ASICMiner Blade: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg3046129#msg3046129

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
HerbPean
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1005



View Profile
December 09, 2015, 03:36:30 PM
 #694

Main server having some issues. We're on backup server now.

If you didn't get reconnected after 1-2 minutes, you may have a broken DNS server that caches entries longer than their TTL. You can fix your DNS or add us2.bitminter.com:3333 and/or eu1.bitminter.com:3333 as backup pools on your miner.


I used us2 as backup, my miners jumped on it right away. It was all good on my part. I was looking at the pool when it happens, the hashrate came back pretty quickly.

/Highfive for the backup server ;-)

BannedDK
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 09, 2015, 05:03:15 PM
 #695

Will the ASICtube 800gh Work with this pool?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2015, 09:45:51 PM
 #696

Will the ASICtube 800gh Work with this pool?

All bitcoin mining hardware should work with the Bitminter pool. If anyone knows anything that doesn't work, please let me know about it.

Connect your miners to stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333

As user name put your Bitminter user name, an underscore, then a worker name, e.g. DrHaribo_1. There is no password check. You can put X or 123 as password.

I used us2 as backup, my miners jumped on it right away. It was all good on my part. I was looking at the pool when it happens, the hashrate came back pretty quickly.

Yeah, it looked like about 1100 people reconnected within 2 minutes and about 100 people took longer. Out of those 100 people I guess some took a few minutes longer because they had a different pool as backup and their software takes some time to switch back, while others were disconnected for the full 50 minutes the server was out of operation because they have a broken DNS setup. I was not watching the whole time so I don't know exactly how many were in that boat.

I'd recommend doing like HerbPean and set a backup. You can use us2.bitminter.com:3333 and/or eu1.bitminter.com:3333 - especially if you were one of the few who had a 50 minute downtime. If your DNS isn't working properly (cheap home router with flaky caching DNS server maybe?) and you don't set backups then it is difficult for me to get you onto a working server again if something goes wrong. You may also want to add a different pool among your backups - for the good of bitcoin you will want to choose one outside the country that now controls 65% of the hashpower. No ill will towards China. Bitcoin just needs to be more decentralized than this.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
BannedDK
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 09, 2015, 09:48:01 PM
 #697

Alright thanks, ill try the ASICtubes tomorrow
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2015, 08:33:46 AM
 #698

The website is having some issues right now. Mining is working.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2015, 08:54:11 AM
 #699

Back to normal. Looks like only some users were affected and it did not last long.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
gb1971
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 07:44:37 PM
 #700

4 in a row again  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes i love this pool Grin
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 ... 89 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!