Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:24:47 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: FPGA development board "Lancelot" - accept bitsteam developer's orders.  (Read 95981 times)
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
November 05, 2012, 06:03:21 PM
 #401

sorry guys, i test the bitsteam with the 2nd batch of Lancelot, which is default using 9.09K(9.1K can use) for R56 and R47. (1.24V Vcore)it's about 20~30% improvement compare to V3.

today i find a very few 1st batch Lancelot, with 10K for R56 and R47. (1.16V Vcore) it seems will much slower than the 2nd batch. but on average there is still about 10%~15% improvement.

so if possible, i suggest you to change R56 and R 47 for a additional benefit. notice that the 2 resistors is very important, the soldering quality is important. and do not let Vcore above ~1.3V when idling.

how to know which board is 2nd batch: all 2nd batch board have a soldered black 40PIN header, that 1st batch haven't.

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
1481012687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012687
Reply with quote  #2

1481012687
Report to moderator
1481012687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012687
Reply with quote  #2

1481012687
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
November 05, 2012, 06:21:52 PM
 #402

nghzang (or someone else),
i am not good with hardware at all. is it possible just to take a shot of lancelot an mark where two resistors are. otherwise i have a friend to do soldering for me but pcb schematics are beyond our knowledge Sad

 

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
luffy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 606



View Profile
November 05, 2012, 06:24:39 PM
 #403

yes, an image about v1 and v2 differencies and location of resistors will be great! Wink
rgzen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93



View Profile
November 05, 2012, 07:26:52 PM
 #404

I faced the same issue. It was because you trying to flash a corrupt bitstream file.

I suggest you download the whole Lancelot project file as a zip file and then unzip it locally in this way you could got a correct bitstream file.

Oooh! yes that is...
Thanks
Dexter770221
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1026


View Profile
November 05, 2012, 10:44:43 PM
 #405

After 2 hours of fight with ISE WebPack finally I was able to load new bitstream. Of course, ISE throw on me some idiotic messages insted of simple one that would say "Hey idiot, iMpact do not support slx150 becuse it's a part of WebPack". Reinstall and new lic key done the job right Wink
Mine board achieves 420MH/s (batch 1). Cgminer doubles that and shows 840 Smiley. I've run it with option --icarus-timing long. Reported values are also wrong 1.2ns and should be ~2.4ns. After tommorow I will solder ekstra resistors and see if that will improve performance.

Under development Modular UPGRADEABLE Miner (MUM). Looking for investors.
Changing one PCB with screwdriver and you have brand new miner in hand... Plug&Play, scalable from one module to thousands.
rgzen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93



View Profile
November 05, 2012, 11:36:03 PM
 #406

Hello,
I have done some examinations and I think I found the resistors...
I write here for confirm if I am right or not. So I do not guarantee it at all!!!
Could someone confirm it?

(You can see the boxed text in the status bar of the schematics where it is written the name of the component selected with its value)

R47:

http://anonymouse.org/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://anonymouse.org/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/1702/r47h.jpg

R56:

http://anonymouse.org/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://anonymouse.org/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://img839.imageshack.us/img839/4534/r56rz.jpg
libertybuck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 01:18:14 AM
 #407

Mine board achieves 420MH/s (batch 1). Cgminer doubles that and shows 840 Smiley

Oh. So good ?!

Pity that my board is icarus bought from xiangfu. Could not utilize the powerful update.

luffy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 606



View Profile
November 06, 2012, 07:48:32 AM
 #408

you should check only the Utility (U:) . my icarus has 5.2 but lancelot with new bitstream 4.9, thus old bitstream is
better. i will see if i can solder new registors, i guess v1 is the board that is shown in the very first picture of this thread
by ngzhang  Smiley
Dexter770221
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1026


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 09:38:21 AM
 #409

U: 5.7 after 1 hour.

Under development Modular UPGRADEABLE Miner (MUM). Looking for investors.
Changing one PCB with screwdriver and you have brand new miner in hand... Plug&Play, scalable from one module to thousands.
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 09:44:34 AM
 #410

U: 5.7 after 1 hour.
Assuming it doesn't die, the U value will begin to converge on the expected average after a few days ... on a 1 diff pool.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
libertybuck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 01:37:41 PM
 #411

you should check only the Utility (U:) . my icarus has 5.2 but lancelot with new bitstream 4.9, thus old bitstream is
better.

Sir, can you please tell me which version of bitstream your icarus is using ?  V3 or which one ?

hardcore-fs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2012, 01:55:12 PM
 #412

nghzang (or someone else),
i am not good with hardware at all. is it possible just to take a shot of lancelot an mark where two resistors are. otherwise i have a friend to do soldering for me but pcb schematics are beyond our knowledge Sad

 

If someone is in Hong Kong or can donate a "Lancelot"  I can take a look at this and do a tutorial, including an idiots guide to loading/flashing the bitstream, possibly WITHOUT using the ISE.
Then I can sit down and run a set of bench marks.

I'm just sat about waiting for delivery of ASIC boards/ Stock trading, so I need a project to keep me busy.

HC

BTC:1PCTzvkZUFuUF7DA6aMEVjBUUp35wN5JtF
luffy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 606



View Profile
November 06, 2012, 02:05:12 PM
 #413

you should check only the Utility (U:) . my icarus has 5.2 but lancelot with new bitstream 4.9, thus old bitstream is
better.

Sir, can you please tell me which version of bitstream your icarus is using ?  V3 or which one ?

i am not sure but i guess the final batch since Lancelot was already announced Smiley
to avoid misunderstandings, i haven't flashed Icarus. It is using the default bitstream.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 02:21:15 PM
 #414

I just wanna share my result so far...
All Lancelot's are v1 lower core voltage


 ICA  0:                | 758.9M/858.7Mh/s | A:2699 R:0 HW:71 U:  5.62/m
 ICA  1:                | 870.0M/888.8Mh/s | A:2822 R:1 HW:49 U:  5.87/m
 ICA  2:                | 884.2M/889.8Mh/s | A:2780 R:2 HW:26 U:  5.78/m
 ICA  3:                | 880.9M/874.2Mh/s | A:2757 R:0 HW:54 U:  5.74/m
 ICA  4:                | 865.6M/880.2Mh/s | A:2724 R:2 HW:52 U:  5.67/m
 ICA  5:                | 857.9M/876.1Mh/s | A:2748 R:0 HW:35 U:  5.72/m
 ICA  6:                | 873.7M/865.3Mh/s | A:2777 R:0 HW:56 U:  5.78/m
 ICA  7:                | 857.5M/867.4Mh/s | A:2735 R:0 HW:34 U:  5.69/m
 ICA  8:                | 866.8M/866.5Mh/s | A:2790 R:0 HW:54 U:  5.80/m
 ICA  9:                | 708.7M/861.4Mh/s | A:2698 R:0 HW:43 U:  5.61/m
 ICA 10:                | 880.1M/874.1Mh/s | A:2736 R:0 HW:70 U:  5.69/m


Average utilization with stock v3 bitstream was about 5.2 - 5.3 which is about 10% improvement
My next step will be to bump up core voltage to 1.26 as suggested and i will share results..
Nghzang,
Can we bump input voltage a little bit more? Is it safe to stay below 1.3 V as you suggested. Probably 1.295 IDLE will be even better instead of 1.24?

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
rgzen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93



View Profile
November 06, 2012, 03:24:17 PM
 #415

I have U: 6.6/m after 25 minutes, v1 with resistors changed.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 03:44:25 PM
 #416

I have U: 6.6/m after 25 minutes, v1 with resistors changed.
Pls let us know what will happen with U 24 hours later. Have you measured Core voltage before/after changing resistors?


Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
rgzen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93



View Profile
November 06, 2012, 03:51:10 PM
 #417

I have U: 6.6/m after 25 minutes, v1 with resistors changed.
Pls let us know what will happen with U 24 hours later. Have you measured Core voltage before/after changing resistors?


Yes I measured before (1.178 and 1.181 aprox) and after (1.238 and 1.236 aprox).

And now it has 50 minutes running and it is at 5.63/m
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 03:55:00 PM
 #418

5.63 seems like no improvment? What about utility before changing the res? Have you measured that?

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
rgzen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93



View Profile
November 06, 2012, 03:58:43 PM
 #419

I have not notice much improvement without change the resistors. May be a 5 % or so...
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 04:01:57 PM
 #420

That is why i plan to bump voltage on mines little bit more using potentiometer (Zetex voltmod  probably i will get 500K in parallel)
I will do it this weekend and will share the results  - i plan to bumop it around 1.28-1.29 < 1.30 just to be on a safe side as nghzang suggested:)

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!