Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2019, 07:16:28 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GTX 1060 discussion thread  (Read 288669 times)
RealSwissMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 15


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2017, 07:37:39 AM
 #1061

Any idea about Asus 1060 strix DC2 memory type, should I expect Micron or Hynix (as see no chance of samsung)

Micron probably. I mostly saw Hynix on the 3gb versions of the 1060. Seems to be the bigger lottery as some even have samsung

Mining and investment blog - https://swisscryptominer.blogspot.ch
1563304588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563304588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563304588
Reply with quote  #2

1563304588
Report to moderator
1563304588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563304588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563304588
Reply with quote  #2

1563304588
Report to moderator
1563304588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563304588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563304588
Reply with quote  #2

1563304588
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1563304588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563304588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563304588
Reply with quote  #2

1563304588
Report to moderator
Marvell2
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 686
Merit: 120


View Profile
December 26, 2017, 08:46:32 AM
 #1062

Any idea about Asus 1060 strix DC2 memory type, should I expect Micron or Hynix (as see no chance of samsung)

Micron probably. I mostly saw Hynix on the 3gb versions of the 1060. Seems to be the bigger lottery as some even have samsung

I'm done with 1060s , to many trash hynix mem cards out there

last week i orderd 10 one of each popular 6GB brand , two had micron , all the others were hynix garbage even my laptop 1060 mines at least 22 eth

these garbage hynix can barely get past 19mhs

RealSwissMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 15


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2017, 09:37:34 AM
 #1063

Any idea about Asus 1060 strix DC2 memory type, should I expect Micron or Hynix (as see no chance of samsung)

Micron probably. I mostly saw Hynix on the 3gb versions of the 1060. Seems to be the bigger lottery as some even have samsung

I'm done with 1060s , to many trash hynix mem cards out there

last week i orderd 10 one of each popular 6GB brand , two had micron , all the others were hynix garbage even my laptop 1060 mines at least 22 eth

these garbage hynix can barely get past 19mhs



I agree the difference is huge when it comes to ETH, noticeable also for other algos. I sold or returned my hynix cards even when losing 10% of my iniital investment. The cards are just inferior in so many ways.

Mining and investment blog - https://swisscryptominer.blogspot.ch
Lenorag
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 26, 2017, 09:57:12 AM
 #1064

Any idea about Asus 1060 strix DC2 memory type, should I expect Micron or Hynix (as see no chance of samsung)

Micron probably. I mostly saw Hynix on the 3gb versions of the 1060. Seems to be the bigger lottery as some even have samsung

I'm done with 1060s , to many trash hynix mem cards out there

last week i orderd 10 one of each popular 6GB brand , two had micron , all the others were hynix garbage even my laptop 1060 mines at least 22 eth

these garbage hynix can barely get past 19mhs



try to mine something others, nvidias are actually not the best sollution for eth mining, but for another algos it did great job
MagicSmoker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 182



View Profile
December 26, 2017, 12:43:12 PM
 #1065

Meh, I just bought (2) of the Asus 3GB OC edition 1060 both with the supposedly preferable Samsung memory, and an XFX RX 570 with Elpida memory and right out of the box the hashrates for Ethash were 18.8 MH/s for the 1060s and 21.6 MH/s for the RX 570; in other words, pretty lackluster, especially for the 1060s.

After flashing a new BIOS to the RX 570 I was able to bump it up to 25.4 MH/s, while OC'ing the memory on the 1060s by +300 got them up to 22 MH/s. I realize there is probably a lot of OC room left on the 1060s, but that is what I am trying for now. Using Ethminer 0.12.0 for both (set to CUDA mode for the 1060s and OpenCL mode for the RX 570).

Dr.Cupido
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 26, 2017, 02:26:48 PM
 #1066

https://abload.de/img/ethixstk.png
6*GTX 1060 2*3GB & 4*6GB at 57-61% Powerlimit. Power Consumption at the wall = 480W

Yes its lottery if you get a gtx 1060 with samsung memory. but if u get them, you get the best Hash/Watt ratio.

ETH Dual mining is not worth the trouble. You get less ETH and a lot of negative aspects such as more heat, more power, more problems.


 
Rickirs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 26, 2017, 04:39:07 PM
 #1067

For Strix DC2, will see when it arrives.

Alright, I understand.
But now getting RX570 or 580 is more like luck. They get out of stock even before you blink your eyes. Tongue

I know that Gigabyte 1060 6GB windforce is Hynix almost all the time, however, any idea bout Gigabyte 1060 6GB G1 Gaming, micron or hynix ?
RealSwissMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 15


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2017, 06:03:51 PM
 #1068

For Strix DC2, will see when it arrives.

Alright, I understand.
But now getting RX570 or 580 is more like luck. They get out of stock even before you blink your eyes. Tongue

I know that Gigabyte 1060 6GB windforce is Hynix almost all the time, however, any idea bout Gigabyte 1060 6GB G1 Gaming, micron or hynix ?

All my G1 models were micron so far. I have to say that I am not that happy with the card layout itself. But thats more a personal taste.

Mining and investment blog - https://swisscryptominer.blogspot.ch
zorlgub
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 26, 2017, 07:21:05 PM
 #1069

For Strix DC2, will see when it arrives.

Alright, I understand.
But now getting RX570 or 580 is more like luck. They get out of stock even before you blink your eyes. Tongue

I know that Gigabyte 1060 6GB windforce is Hynix almost all the time, however, any idea bout Gigabyte 1060 6GB G1 Gaming, micron or hynix ?
Just got this week a Gigabyte windforce 1060 oc 6gb and memory is micron not hynix
Sn1p3r
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 26, 2017, 10:11:23 PM
 #1070

For Strix DC2, will see when it arrives.

Alright, I understand.
But now getting RX570 or 580 is more like luck. They get out of stock even before you blink your eyes. Tongue

I know that Gigabyte 1060 6GB windforce is Hynix almost all the time, however, any idea bout Gigabyte 1060 6GB G1 Gaming, micron or hynix ?
Just got this week a Gigabyte windforce 1060 oc 6gb and memory is micron not hynix

Well from my personal experience I think you need to be really "lucky" to get 6GB version to be Hynix!
They are really not common, and last time (couple weeks ago) I purchased 12 1060 6GB-s and all of them were Micron
dejan_p
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 130
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 27, 2017, 12:19:59 AM
 #1071

i had the same experience with gainward 1060 6gbs model

all of the cards I owned had Samsung memory, got the new batch, was looking forward building that rig because I really love these cards, and baaam, these had hynix, giving 20% less

y u put crap memory chips, y Huh
oh well

▌▌   Anonymous and Untraceable     ›› ››   DeepOnion  ‹‹ ‹‹     TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED    ▌▌
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬     ANN  Whitepaper  FACEBOOK  Twitter  Youtube  Forum     ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
▌▌   ••  JOIN AIRDROP 🚀  ••  |||   Download DeepOnion   |||   ✅ Verified with DeepVault    ▌▌
preda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 27, 2017, 01:45:33 AM
 #1072

all my 1060 3gb bought in june are all samsung memory and they are very very good!



 '
STC.
║║
║║
[/b]
☑ NO ICO ● ▬▬▬▬▬ ☑ AIRDROPS ● ▬▬▬▬▬ ☑ PoS ● ▬▬▬▬ ☑ PoW ●

heavyarms1912
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 107



View Profile
December 27, 2017, 03:33:18 AM
 #1073

i had the same experience with gainward 1060 6gbs model

all of the cards I owned had Samsung memory, got the new batch, was looking forward building that rig because I really love these cards, and baaam, these had hynix, giving 20% less

y u put crap memory chips, y Huh
oh well

Coz, they have reserved the Samsung memory chips for mining cards I guess.
bigjee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 107



View Profile
December 27, 2017, 05:03:27 AM
 #1074

So what speeds are you getting on ETH with micron memory.
agismaniax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 27, 2017, 06:53:38 AM
Last edit: December 28, 2017, 01:12:48 AM by agismaniax
 #1075

I think this setting is the most stable for my Galax GTX 1060 6GB OC edition with Hynix memory and dstm equihash miner 0.5.7.
Efficiency is not my target at the moment. In flypool I can get avg 330 H/s.

https://i.imgur.com/R47oTjM.png

UPDATE:
the most efficient for my galax gtx 1060 6gb
https://i.imgur.com/cuIFstK.png
preda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 28, 2017, 12:29:24 AM
 #1076

So now all new cards are with not fast memory? I was planning to buy others.... I'll need to change


 '
STC.
║║
║║
[/b]
☑ NO ICO ● ▬▬▬▬▬ ☑ AIRDROPS ● ▬▬▬▬▬ ☑ PoS ● ▬▬▬▬ ☑ PoW ●

Marvell2
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 686
Merit: 120


View Profile
December 28, 2017, 12:38:05 AM
 #1077

So what speeds are you getting on ETH with micron memory.
micron mostly can do around 23.4 mhs with a 650 memoc
farkest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 28, 2017, 05:05:00 AM
 #1078

So what speeds are you getting on ETH with micron memory.
micron mostly can do around 23.4 mhs with a 650 memoc

Well looks good, i get the same with my samsungs and cant pass 650~700 without a soon crash when multiple GPU mining. (using 65% power)
MagicSmoker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 182



View Profile
December 28, 2017, 10:33:58 AM
 #1079

So now all new cards are with not fast memory? I was planning to buy others.... I'll need to change

The Asus GTX 1060 3G OC "White" edition cards I just bought from New Egg came with Samsung memory, yet performed just like Hynix out of the box. From what I gathered reading other posts here, Samsung memory is supposed to have higher initial Ethash performance and accept much more mem overclocking to get to around 29 MH/s. So far I've only pushed the mem overclock by 300, and was able to get ~22 MH/s out of them (implying about 1 MH/s per 100 MHz of mem overclock).

They do quite well at Equihash with stock settings (~295 Sols/s each) and Lyra2v2 is also pretty good out of the box (22.8 MH/s). I haven't played with the overclocks much on Equihash - one card was running at 1866 while the other is at 1936, so I "OC'ed" the first one to match the second - and I only mined a Lyra2v2 coin for a few minutes to check speed, not actually do useful work (mainly because that coin is VTC, which seems to screw me over no matter which pool I use).

HellSpawn23
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 28, 2017, 12:42:12 PM
 #1080

Hi to all got a big problem:

Just buyed

4x gtx 1060 6gb zotac
1x Asus Z270-p
Celeron
128SSD
4gb ram ddr4
EVGA 1000GQ

I've started with a brand new WIN 10, with just antivirus, malware bytes and ethminer (cuda optimized version).

Afterburner core +0 +50 +100 (no big changes opn mh/s) + 600 memory clock

After a few days of working and some bios setup like PCI EXPRESS from auto to GEN1 and 4g option I was scoring 90-98 mh/s

Then I've add to the ALLOW list of malwarebytes the ethminer and POP 110-120 mh/s.

I was happy as a kid on xmas and after 4-5 houirs of works I've noticed that I've lost like 3mh/s so i reboot the CMD and now I'm working at 94-95... WTF happened? any ideas?

What I've done now:

Stopped all the background services
Delete all the useless programs and malware bytes too.
Changed 2 option in the nvidia cpanel
Tried also the cuda parallel

but nothing changed I can't get back to the 112-120mh/s.

P.S. I have a lot of problem with the motherboard GPU, the monitor now is connected to the internal gpu and if I see the GPU list I just saw the 4x1060, the internal gpu happear and disappear, depends on reboot dunno.

sorry for my bad english hope you can understand all and help me.

merry xmas and happy new year to all
Pages: « 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!