Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 05:08:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Data Center Mining Garage and Man Mining Cave ( PART 2 !!!!!!!!)  (Read 95978 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
darkshaddows
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
March 07, 2017, 12:07:57 PM
 #201

Marvel - You wouldn't have this issue if you had more powerful PSU!  HAhahaha........  7 x 470 and you can't power it?  COME ON, stop buying 1KW PSU!! The FANs are waiting.  Shut down another rig and bring another baby PSU over to help.  Just kidding.    Thanks for the update. You make me very happy as I have 15 of these.

4-5KW Baby 4-5KW Baby!  Holla at Finksy, time for a upgrade.  I have 5 on the way in preparation for VEGAs and 2 for Protypes.

A little PEEP Show of my progress.  I'm ALL ABOUT DA BASS!!!!!!!!!!! THE CRYPTO BASS!  5th Rack is 50% populated with GPUs on the way to fill em. 

6th reserved for the VEGAAAAAAAAS!










Hi,

what exact is the model of server rack that you are using?

Also, are you throwing the hot air up the rack? or from the front?

Thanks
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513444088
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513444088

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513444088
Reply with quote  #2

1513444088
Report to moderator
1513444088
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513444088

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513444088
Reply with quote  #2

1513444088
Report to moderator
1513444088
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513444088

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513444088
Reply with quote  #2

1513444088
Report to moderator
m1n1ngP4d4w4n
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154

CryptoLearner


View Profile
March 07, 2017, 04:35:13 PM
 #202

Looking great there yun, keep up the good work  Cool

BTC - 1B1RBYkzxiTmrbnFe2vj8EaNPSYftW8186 for tips Wink
CryptoWatcher420
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294

Small Time Miner, Rig Builder, Crypto Trader


View Profile
March 07, 2017, 07:47:21 PM
 #203

Marvel - You wouldn't have this issue if you had more powerful PSU!  HAhahaha........  7 x 470 and you can't power it?  COME ON, stop buying 1KW PSU!! The FANs are waiting.  Shut down another rig and bring another baby PSU over to help.  Just kidding.    Thanks for the update. You make me very happy as I have 15 of these.

4-5KW Baby 4-5KW Baby!  Holla at Finksy, time for a upgrade.  I have 5 on the way in preparation for VEGAs and 2 for Protypes.

A little PEEP Show of my progress.  I'm ALL ABOUT DA BASS!!!!!!!!!!! THE CRYPTO BASS!  5th Rack is 50% populated with GPUs on the way to fill em. 

6th reserved for the VEGAAAAAAAAS!










Hi,

what exact is the model of server rack that you are using?

Also, are you throwing the hot air up the rack? or from the front?

Thanks
he is using various brand server racks but there all 42U server racks, which can fit about 9 to 10 of the 4u server cases

Support Custom PCI-Express/riser cables & EPS 12v plus pigtail for a pico Psu for GPU MINING RIGS! - Donations are welcome and help keep things going!
Donations - 15aSLkuKDF5BvV6E3HUy4b5UYyamB97Fb7
Join Me on Discord! https://discord.gg/VDwWFcK
<iframe src="https://discordapp.com/widget?id=290395610165805056&theme=dark" width="350" height="500" allowtransparency="true" frameborder="0"></iframe>
takagari
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


View Profile
March 07, 2017, 09:11:36 PM
 #204

Do you guys use the cheaper open air racks or the pricey fancy racks for those?

Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


INS Ecosystem


View Profile
March 07, 2017, 09:34:23 PM
 #205

Do you guys use the cheaper open air racks or the pricey fancy racks for those?

I think for a large scale deployment like he is doing this is the best way to do it since you can better control the direction of heat


███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █

█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
●  Whitepaper
●  ANN Thread
●  Reddit
●  Telegram
●  Twitter
●  Facebook

███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
yun9999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
March 07, 2017, 10:29:28 PM
 #206

@  onefinecoin  - Still considered Domestic as it's still all at home.  Only hosting I do is for a friend at cost as he's the one that show me Eth mining.  =)

@ darkshaddows - Dell and HP 42U Racks.  

@ m1n1ngP4d4w4n -  Thanks...........just getting warm up bud.  Got more crazier / sexier prototypes coming out of my lab in a few weeks

@ takagari - Open Air if you can easily modified structures like my Shed, warehouse, etc.  Cheapest, fast to deploy and if you can mod structure, it's not hard to control heat.  This style is due to limited control of what I can do for heat removal.  Lots more work but I also want clean no cable mess and sexiness.  =)
joaocha
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 222


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 12:18:42 AM
 #207

Soooo very happy the MB's work!  Saved a ton and ready for a full rack's worth of expansion now.  

This 4k is moving from 390s to Vega Smiley.



Which PSU are you using?
yun9999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 12:20:40 AM
 #208

The same PSU, I've been discussing.  2 x IBM 2KW PSU Finksy sells plus his 4KW board.  
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296.0

It also work with the IBM DPS2500W PSU too making it over 4500W.  Many of the large miners use it as they had it from the Bitcoin mining.  You pair this Beast with the PICOs you get many Beauties.  More to come on that.  Waiting on PICOs, PSU and FANs from Finksy.
Zimmsquad
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 02:10:29 AM
 #209

Yun9999,

Can you explain how in the future we would be able to use the 4kw server PSU to power the entire computer? Or is that not what you want from finsky? I guess I don't really know what PICO is. I would love to be able to get PSUs for cheaper with nice efficiency ratings
yun9999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 02:28:21 AM
 #210

I will show step by step on that.  Here is short idea.

OLD WAY
Baby ATX PSU (Crap efficiency and reliability)  powers risers and MB.  Bulky, cheap but not cheap enough and if you go really cheap (Below $45-50), it's more headache then it's worth.  More wires and a big ATX PSU behind your rig blocking flow and your acccessibility to the GPUs. 

PICO OLD Way
Expensive and the built in CPU connector is too short to reach our mining Rig CPU connection.  You need to use bulky AC adapter which makes it more expensive and more connections and things to plug in and hide. $40-60 each!  Too much money

*********PICO NEW WAY***************
Powered completely by Server PSU via 6 pin direct to soldered PICO connection or via 2.5MM Barrel connector.  It would also split to power the CPU connections.  The PICO PSU comes with at least 1 molex and 1 SATA connection so you can power SSD, etc.  98% of your power will come from the SERVER PSU.  Even if you got a crappy Pico, if it dies.  It's a cheap $20-25 replacement.  The PICO PSU is tiny and the size of the motherboard connector head.  You won't see it.  The server PSU cable can go up to 48" easily.  Using PCI powered risers and splitters, you reduce all the SATA, MOLEX, MB cable clutters.  Also no ATX PSU in the rear of the rig.  So better airflow.  I will have lots of examples later but look at my previous examples on the Ebay PICO I bought.
Zimmsquad
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 03:00:28 AM
 #211

Wow that sounds great. So are we just waiting for Finsky/hawkfish to work together and offer these to the community here so we can buy them?

Also, how many plugs from the server PSU do you need for the mobo connector and CPU spot on the mobo? Curious how many rigs you can power with 1 of the 4kw psus using this new pico method.
yun9999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 03:16:54 AM
 #212

The goal is to just use 1 PCI slot per PICO PSU.  So you can easily power 4 rigs no issues using splitter cables.  1 6pin cable split to power both the GPU and the 6pin  riser.  It's going to be DAMN SEXY and SO CLEAN.  Please with the longer cablings, you can do very funky designs.   Finksy just got back from Vaca.  He's going to send me a bunch of stuff for the many different prototypes.  The possibility is endless and so is the POWER!  FORGET 1KW, 1300 or even EVGA 1600 limitations!!!  4-4500W!!!   RIDICULOUS POWER and READY for any GPU u want to throw at it.   All my 4KW is tied up so I'm waiting for more from Finksy and a ton of PICOs to do many different designs.


P.S Cryptowatcher will be my main man for Custom cabling.  It will be known as MY CRYPTO CABLES!!  I can see him filling in our community needs for custom cablings.  Will see what he can come up with for my Prototypes.  Very excited with everyone's contribution to my project.
CryptoWatcher420
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294

Small Time Miner, Rig Builder, Crypto Trader


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 05:54:46 AM
 #213

The goal is to just use 1 PCI slot per PICO PSU.  So you can easily power 4 rigs no issues using splitter cables.  1 6pin cable split to power both the GPU and the 6pin  riser.  It's going to be DAMN SEXY and SO CLEAN.  Please with the longer cablings, you can do very funky designs.   Finksy just got back from Vaca.  He's going to send me a bunch of stuff for the many different prototypes.  The possibility is endless and so is the POWER!  FORGET 1KW, 1300 or even EVGA 1600 limitations!!!  4-4500W!!!   RIDICULOUS POWER and READY for any GPU u want to throw at it.   All my 4KW is tied up so I'm waiting for more from Finksy and a ton of PICOs to do many different designs.


P.S Cryptowatcher will be my main man for Custom cabling.  It will be known as MY CRYPTO CABLES!!  I can see him filling in our community needs for custom cablings.  Will see what he can come up with for my Prototypes.  Very excited with everyone's contribution to my project.

yes yes, custom cables for nhan's prototypes! as soon as I get most of the supplies I need I will post up some pic's of the cables after making some

Support Custom PCI-Express/riser cables & EPS 12v plus pigtail for a pico Psu for GPU MINING RIGS! - Donations are welcome and help keep things going!
Donations - 15aSLkuKDF5BvV6E3HUy4b5UYyamB97Fb7
Join Me on Discord! https://discord.gg/VDwWFcK
<iframe src="https://discordapp.com/widget?id=290395610165805056&theme=dark" width="350" height="500" allowtransparency="true" frameborder="0"></iframe>
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


winter*juvia


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 07:35:57 AM
 #214

yun - this air flow strategy -- does it work?



Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
m1n1ngP4d4w4n
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154

CryptoLearner


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 07:56:33 AM
 #215

@ m1n1ngP4d4w4n -  Thanks...........just getting warm up bud.  Got more crazier / sexier prototypes coming out of my lab in a few weeks

Damn man, i would dream to have enough means to realize all the craziness going through my head, at least i can vicariously realise a portion of that through you ahah  Grin

yun - this air flow strategy -- does it work?

This is respecting the optimised air flow scheme you can find in any good datacenters, the principles of cold / hot aisles, in the cold aisle in front of the racks, you bring AC air from the ground, then this air get sucked up from the front of the rack, pass through the servers, and get rejected in the back in the hot aisle, where it's sucked up from the ceiling ventilation system. The tarp at the top of the rack serve as a separation between both aisles for optimised air flow and balanced negative pressure

here is a schematic explaining this system.



Yun does it with normal air circulation instead of AC air, but the principle is the same.

BTC - 1B1RBYkzxiTmrbnFe2vj8EaNPSYftW8186 for tips Wink
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


winter*juvia


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 09:12:41 AM
 #216

@ m1n1ngP4d4w4n -  Thanks...........just getting warm up bud.  Got more crazier / sexier prototypes coming out of my lab in a few weeks

Damn man, i would dream to have enough means to realize all the craziness going through my head, at least i can vicariously realise a portion of that through you ahah  Grin

yun - this air flow strategy -- does it work?

This is respecting the optimised air flow scheme you can find in any good datacenters, the principles of cold / hot aisles, in the cold aisle in front of the racks, you bring AC air from the ground, then this air get sucked up from the front of the rack, pass through the servers, and get rejected in the back in the hot aisle, where it's sucked up from the ceiling ventilation system. The tarp at the top of the rack serve as a separation between both aisles for optimised air flow and balanced negative pressure

here is a schematic explaining this system.



Yun does it with normal air circulation instead of AC air, but the principle is the same.

Fascinating -- will be looking forward to the final build. Thanks for sharing this in detail.

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
m1n1ngP4d4w4n
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154

CryptoLearner


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 09:27:45 AM
 #217

Fascinating -- will be looking forward to the final build. Thanks for sharing this in detail.

You're welcome, yun will probably dazzle us with more infos later on hehe  Grin

BTC - 1B1RBYkzxiTmrbnFe2vj8EaNPSYftW8186 for tips Wink
takagari
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 03:20:25 PM
 #218

@ takagari - Open Air if you can easily modified structures like my Shed, warehouse, etc.  Cheapest, fast to deploy and if you can mod structure, it's not hard to control heat.  This style is due to limited control of what I can do for heat removal.  Lots more work but I also want clean no cable mess and sexiness.  =)
Figured it would work, some board/plastic panels ont he sides would make your $130 machine as effective as 1300 lol. maybe not as pretty
s for cabling, I'm pretty anal about that so it would be cleaned.

citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


winter*juvia


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 03:32:00 PM
 #219

Hi yun- I need help on getting the Biostar connected to SRR.

How did you layout your pins?

Thanks

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
KaydenC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Developer of EscrowMyEther dApp


View Profile WWW
March 08, 2017, 04:53:22 PM
 #220

Might be a very long shot, but this Msi Mobo has 6 Pcie slots and 3 M2 slots. 9Gpu system anyone?

Link: https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/Z270-GAMING-M7.html#productSpecification-section

There is no mention that using any of the M.2 slots will disable Pcie slots. To my understanding, Z270 has 24 pcie lanes. If they route it this way, it might be possible. x8/x4/x4 (16x slots) , x1/x1/x1 (1x slots), x1/x1/x1 (M.2 slots)

Check out EscrowMyEther, a secure and convenient platform to transact in Eth with escrow protection. http://escrowmyether.com/
I offer escrow services for 1.25%  fee: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2221107
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!