Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2017, 04:09:52 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Data Center Mining Garage and Man Mining Cave ( PART 2 !!!!!!!!)  (Read 87216 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
yun9999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 05:19:32 AM
 #301

@ Tasty Potato - If you're only planning for 1 x 480 rig, I would say sell that 750W and go with 1 EVGA 1300 even if it's used.  Just find one that have 10 year warranty and still hv plenty left.  There are some that are only 3yrs, you can check against EVGA site with the serial # from the seller to confirm.  A quality used PSU will keep your rig stable while keeping cost low.  You should be able to find cheap used one between $110-140.  EVGA support is the best in the industry, they often replace your beat up PSU for brand new ones.  Cable replacements are hassle free.  You can mine for 2 years and get most if not more than your money back due to inflation.  To give you an idea, I purchased most of mine for $80-110 used 2 years ago and 149 new.  They go for much higher now.  It's like free Rental.  You don't want to ugly mess of 2 bulky PSU.   Now if you think your plan is to have more than 1 rig, then PICO and server PSU is definitely a good option as you can upgrade in increments.  The IBM 4KW cannot be matched in power with ATX.

@ Cryptowatcher - I can't recommend this HP 1200W.  I have 10 of them.  Perhaps with YSLUNG board, you can glue a fan closer to keep it cooler which will help with the noise.   However the USA versions, are flat which means getting in between the exhaust n the PCI connector requires a thin fan which are typically weaker and only the bottom 20% will hit the intake.  I'm using a BEEFY FINKSY Fan to keep this little Sucker cool but inside my heat wall test of 95F+.  It will get high pitch noisy.  We would either need a better breakout board or a funnel so that we can funnel 100% of the fan cooling to that path vs 80% being lost.  You still need a PICO with this solution.

@p4n -Welcome and interesting username.

@ ysylung - Not sure what is the BB board?  IS that the HP 1500W?  The IBM 2KW won't fit, I've tried.  It goes a little over where the MB sits and the breakout board extends too far into the GPU space.  I also don't want bullet holes thru the side of my sexy cases.  These HP 1200W PSU are driving me up the walls.  I have a very SEXY design for them, but I must solve this ridiculous high pitch noise by keeping it cooler.  This breakout board I have layout makes it very hard to funnel.   Yeah I agree, I love both the Gaming 5 and the TB85.  I especially like the fact that it's very cheap, plug and play and no emulator required to boot just like the Gaming 5.  That is my only gripe with the H81 as they need emulators but are still my favorite go to board when available as ASROCK offers the fastest RMA services in the States.  

@ stef_stef - Welcome and you will need a Pico PSU or another ATX to power the MB / SSD.  See the picture where I describe Finksy custom Pico which should be available in a few weeks and will be AWESOME!

@Marvell1 - Yeah, this is the reason why I didn't want to sell these board to you or anyone.  I got offers for up to $100 for them and my cost is only $61.  Still it wasn't worth my headache nor would I want to put someone else thru it.  I did keep 5 just to play.   Got a new Toy to play with now rather than waste time on Racing but too busy to power it up.  Support 7 GPU and have LEDs.................hopefully will have time to power it up next week.  


















 
1508386192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508386192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508386192
Reply with quote  #2

1508386192
Report to moderator
Bitcoin addresses contain a checksum, so it is very unlikely that mistyping an address will cause you to lose money.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508386192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508386192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508386192
Reply with quote  #2

1508386192
Report to moderator
1508386192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508386192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508386192
Reply with quote  #2

1508386192
Report to moderator
1508386192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508386192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508386192
Reply with quote  #2

1508386192
Report to moderator
yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 05:59:05 AM
 #302

ah ahahaha ...

BB = ibm bb 2000/2500

what i meant was to drill holes on top of the BB & mount 2 x 120mm fans on top so you can cool them if it fits onto the case, as i thought, most likely it won't fit, too big, same for my rack style/sizes too. maybe u can put the BB in other positions ? yeah drilling on the case would be the minimal damage, way better than cutting a hole.

i am in the process of making HP vertical breakout boards almost identical to the ones i am using now. i hope there will be enough interest, not that cheap as there's a MOQ to fill, the more the cheaper but i don't want too much $ of mine stuck only in a breakbout board but i'm still gonna get a small batch for own use 1st. prototype coming soon.

for the HP, sadly those little high rpm fans are a killer/turn off but atm the only couple of solutions

1) provide CAI. Cold Air Intake or forced cold/cooler air to the intake
2) placement of the psu, avoid being in a hot position/location- airflow direction
3) reduce air turbulence/resistance by clearing the intake path
4) mining rig/rack is at a very cold location

if 1, 2 & 3 is OK, then no need for 4.

the 1500W is a little quieter & lesser high pitch, running now on my 7 gpu test rig. cooler too, prolly less stress & better efficiency. 7 gpu, mixed 470's dual mining getting about 202 mhs/ 2757 mhs on dcr at the wall 1190-1210W.

my personal general rule of thumb is best/at least to have a 20% allowance from the PSU's max output.

tb85 is a direct PnP just small changes to bios when 1st booted up & nothing else needed but for gaming 5 1 extra installation for network after win installation. both works very well.

ok back to work.
stef_stef
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 10:47:54 AM
 #303


@ stef_stef - Welcome and you will need a Pico PSU or another ATX to power the MB / SSD.  See the picture where I describe Finksy custom Pico which should be available in a few weeks and will be AWESOME!
 

Yup, I did see those, but it was too much info at once for me to grasp anything Smiley I assume you are the one responsible for the breakout boards?

Furthermore, is there a solution (part from using a pico PSU) to power the MB/SSD from the server PSU?

Lastly, I was able to find this page online

http://holybitcoin.com/product/the-beast-adapter-board-2880w/

Is this the place to buy from, or? Is there a EU warehouse maybe?

Thanks!
CryptoWatcher420
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 191

Small Time Miner, Rig Builder, Crypto Trader


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 11:51:50 AM
 #304

@yunn9999 apon getting the hp 1200w psu, im goind to do a little modification to it, gunna try and attempt to cut a hole, I can attach a fan to say the top side to better cool it, depends on how noisey it is for me, none the less will prolly mod it anyways just in case

Support Custom PCI-Express/riser cables & EPS 12v plus pigtail for a pico Psu for GPU MINING RIGS! - Donations are welcome and help keep things going!
Donations - 15aSLkuKDF5BvV6E3HUy4b5UYyamB97Fb7
Join Me on Discord! https://discord.gg/VDwWFcK
<iframe src="https://discordapp.com/widget?id=290395610165805056&theme=dark" width="350" height="500" allowtransparency="true" frameborder="0"></iframe>
yun9999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 02:38:50 PM
 #305

@ yslyung - Keep up the good work my Mad Scientist friend.  Keep us in the loop so we can avoid other potential issues / work around.  Looking forward to hear more about the 1500W, but need to find a better work around for the 1200W since I got 10 of them.  

@ stef_stef - You don't want that one unless you're putting it in a place where noise is not a concern.  It's very loud, there are mods for it but why bother when you can get a compact 4KW beast that is quieter and more powerful.  You can ping Finksy for server PSU.  He carry the 2880 or 2980 (Platinum) that you're looking at as we well as the IBM 4KW which is a combination of adding 2x2KW PSU together via a breakout board.  The 4KW version doesn't come with FANs but Finsy sells the FAN mount and you can choose his FAN which are Super powerful and can handle any temperature.  Because they move a lot of air, they are also loud but a comfortable loud like box fans not annoying high pitch noise like the 2880 or HP 1200W.  They can be use indoor by pairing with quieter fans.  See below link for more detail.  Currently you have to pair all server PSU with either a baby ATX PSU or a Pico.  There will be future breakout board that will be combining everything from 1 server PSU breakout board but I see limitations in ports and higher prices on those option per rig.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296.80

@ Cryptowatcher - Keep on messing with it.  Hopefully you an find something good. I gave up last night as it was still screetching even after I did funneling with a strong fan about 4" away powering 6 GPUs.  It will do better if I put it outside instead of under my rig but won't be as sexy of design.  Hope you can discover something better.
dagarair
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 289


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 02:45:51 PM
 #306

Hey Yun, did you get the power co to run that cable to you meter base?  I always thought they were responsible to my meter base and if I wanted more Amps they would provide it and or course I was responsible past my meter base.  Oncor as it turns out said nope.  We will run the wire for free to provide more but you need to trench and run 2 x 3 inch PVC pipes and have it all ready for us before we do that.  What did they do for you?
Tasty Potato
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 02:51:10 PM
 #307

I'd like some advise.

When all you big miners were little and say had a 750W PSU what second PSU unit would you suggest to buy for a complete future 6 RX 480 cards ETH mining?

So far I see ~850W Gold or Platinum with 4 PCI-e 8 pins as candidates. Thx


I would do a smaller build  with the 750 watt psu.

and do a separate 6 card build.

If you know you are not going to scale to say 20x 6 card rigs  and you may max  at 6 to 12 cards..

plus you have a 750 watt psu.   build a smaller rig first then  if you like mining go for a six card build if you dare.

there is a lot to be said about having 2 rigs vs 1 rig.

A 2 cards and a 4 card

or 2 card  three card rigs.

or a 3 card and a 6 card rig


@ Tasty Potato - If you're only planning for 1 x 480 rig, I would say sell that 750W and go with 1 EVGA 1300 even if it's used.  Just find one that have 10 year warranty and still hv plenty left.  There are some that are only 3yrs, you can check against EVGA site with the serial # from the seller to confirm.  A quality used PSU will keep your rig stable while keeping cost low.  You should be able to find cheap used one between $110-140.  EVGA support is the best in the industry, they often replace your beat up PSU for brand new ones.  Cable replacements are hassle free.  You can mine for 2 years and get most if not more than your money back due to inflation.  To give you an idea, I purchased most of mine for $80-110 used 2 years ago and 149 new.  They go for much higher now.  It's like free Rental.  You don't want to ugly mess of 2 bulky PSU.   Now if you think your plan is to have more than 1 rig, then PICO and server PSU is definitely a good option as you can upgrade in increments.  The IBM 4KW cannot be matched in power with ATX.

If wishes were fishes we'd all swim in riches -.-

I jumped from GTX 970 to 3 RX 480 in 3-5 months, so right now I am on my way to make a compete 6 cards rig with my personal/work related PC.

Noise is an issue here too. Loudest fan is at 62%, but I will be playing with open case later on. And server psu is nice per cost/wattage, but is louder and should be in a mining shed, imo.

Plus the golden rule - low the cost, so I am guessing I'll take 750~850 PSU unit and complete 6 RX 480 rig. Here Evga 1300 is almost x3 price of my current 750W. I guess I'll have to stick with Sparta sexiness at the moment Grin

And hopefully I'll start new Vega rig by winter ^=^



m1n1ngP4d4w4n
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

CryptoLearner


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 04:22:11 PM
 #308

30$ ETH, good lord yun gonna rack up those profits  Cool i can already see shed v3.0 coming  Grin

BTC - 1B1RBYkzxiTmrbnFe2vj8EaNPSYftW8186 for tips Wink - Please don't PM about sharing my tools, they're not for share.
CryptoWatcher420
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 191

Small Time Miner, Rig Builder, Crypto Trader


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 07:40:03 PM
 #309

30$ ETH, good lord yun gonna rack up those profits  Cool i can already see shed v3.0 coming  Grin
lol I know right, man wish I had as much hashing power even just for a day or two *drools*

Support Custom PCI-Express/riser cables & EPS 12v plus pigtail for a pico Psu for GPU MINING RIGS! - Donations are welcome and help keep things going!
Donations - 15aSLkuKDF5BvV6E3HUy4b5UYyamB97Fb7
Join Me on Discord! https://discord.gg/VDwWFcK
<iframe src="https://discordapp.com/widget?id=290395610165805056&theme=dark" width="350" height="500" allowtransparency="true" frameborder="0"></iframe>
flminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 07:45:40 PM
 #310

Been following this thread for a while....AWESOME setup and info here! Just got an RX 480 dropped on my doorstep today. Thought I saw in here that the crimson drivers suck. What driver would you guys that know what you're doing suggest for this?
cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 740

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 07:55:37 PM
 #311

i use a strix rx480 and im running crimson 16.6 on mine and getting around 306 H/s and its clock speed is 1312 MHz and 2000Mhz on memory and -72 mV and locked fan speed at 55% running the card around 52-54 degrees C im not a video card miner but im working on it to try

same rig is running a r7 240 and r9 380 also

flminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 07:58:51 PM
 #312

Much appreciated! Am very new to this so could use all the tips I can get  Grin
yun9999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 09:24:14 PM
 #313

@ dagarair - The Power company only hook up the wire.  You have to pay for the trench work to your panel.  It's stupid expensive for the trench work.  You can call your utility company to mark where all the Gas, cable and stuff are.  Hire some cheap day labor to dig per your city standard and lay the wire for the Electrician. Have the Electrician do the rest.  This will save you a few thousands easily.

@ Tasty Potato Chips - Whatever is crunchiest for you.  Go for it.

@ m1n1ngP4d4w4n - My Day job still pays more, yet I'm neglecting it to follow my Love and Passion which is mining.    Would love to have Shed V3 as V2 is filled up.  Just stupid H.O.A.  I need another house.  =)  

@ flminer - You can use the latest driver right before it is call ReLive.  Never use the latest driver or anything that say Relive or too old where they had Signature issues if you use Mod Roms.

@ CryptoWatcher420 -  Haha, you also don't want to see my monthly bills.  Nothing to get excited when we see income go nuts for a few days or week.  It can drop just as fast like it did in Dec / Jan.  I end up only making a few hundred in gain vs thousands.   I also cashed out all my Eth at crap prices.  Ce La Vie.  Hindsight is always 20/20 but let's hope this LAST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Surely this will invite even faster stupid  high difficulty increases.  
Tasty Potato
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 09:30:01 PM
 #314

I keep wondering how new AMD drivers impact hashrate. And see it in a table form  Roll Eyes

Have seen this lately - https://www.techpowerup.com/228536/amd-bios-signature-check-re-enabled-with-relive-locks-out-polaris-bios-modders

Is there any1 bold and tech-thirsty to try and/or maybe compare the hashrate of the old/current drivers with new ones? RX 480 8Gb mining Eth is greatly welcome  Cheesy
matmator
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 09:37:21 PM
 #315

OMG !!!!!!

Impressive !!! respect !

flminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 09:54:07 PM
 #316

just got my new 480 going on Nicehash (my first gpu for mining lol) and it put me on zcash. Am getting 231 sol/s. Is that good or should I try to push it more?

edit: up to 247 and still climbing....going to wait till it settles
       260 now
cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 740

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 10:29:52 PM
 #317

just got my new 480 going on Nicehash (my first gpu for mining lol) and it put me on zcash. Am getting 231 sol/s. Is that good or should I try to push it more?

edit: up to 247 and still climbing....going to wait till it settles

i use claymore 12.3 from here
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1670733.0

really easy to use software... and i point mine to the zec pool at suprnova.cc

yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 10:58:13 PM
 #318

@ yslyung - Keep up the good work my Mad Scientist friend.  Keep us in the loop so we can avoid other potential issues / work around.  Looking forward to hear more about the 1500W, but need to find a better work around for the 1200W since I got 10 of them. 

heh mad scientist ... well, i think we just have to push ourselves to certain limits & must have those dare to try + push & take the next step attitude in order to be able to achieve what each of us want for ourselves. just my own opinion. yeps, i've got a few REALLY crazy stuff coming up, just gotta be patient including myself, most parts ordered, on it's way to me.

cryptowatcher did come out with a solution with drilling holes onto psu cover (width is about 8.5cm) + adding a fan (9cm) there to improve the cooling just like the method i suggested to you with the ibm BB's.

lemme dig the diagram/schematic out, if you intend to do that, find the "sweet" spot where the temp sensor is & cool it. HP cs psu are very compact psu's, just for more info, you can also manually adjust the voltage output for this psu too.

i just ordered another 20 of them but all of them are 1200w platinum ones. 1500's are still a rare species now & they do cost alot more. 2 x 1200w plat's are cheaper than 1 x 1500w.

i think i've spent a little over 4K USD yesterday just stocking parts up. alot more to come. stay tuned.

citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


winter*juvia


View Profile
March 14, 2017, 01:02:34 AM
 #319

just got my new 480 going on Nicehash (my first gpu for mining lol) and it put me on zcash. Am getting 231 sol/s. Is that good or should I try to push it more?

edit: up to 247 and still climbing....going to wait till it settles

i use claymore 12.3 from here
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1670733.0

really easy to use software... and i point mine to the zec pool at suprnova.cc


v12.3 can push up to 300 sols/s for RX480

But..... RX cards is better for ETH mining.

Citronick's BTC : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
bughatti
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
March 14, 2017, 01:18:56 AM
 #320

@yun9999

If that is the msi z170A gaming pro carbon, please let me know if you get more than 4 cards working.  I have one running now and all the hacks in the bios I still could not get more than 4 cards running without a smOS crash. 
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!