Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2017, 07:08:01 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Data Center Mining Garage and Man Mining Cave ( PART 2 !!!!!!!!)  (Read 87116 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
yun9999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 05:51:17 AM
 #21

@kryptonite - Newegg.com, from other members, Ebay, Amazon, Jet.com.  You can always have friends or family order for you.  Amazon and Newegg QTY limits resets after 48hrs, rinse, repeat.

@Bhugatti - Yeah the one in my garage is 10/100.  It does the job well and I only need a spare.  But for anyone else, I think it's better to pay a little extra and get the 1gb version, hoping the newer one doesn't require crossover connections like my 10/100 version did.  These switch are SOLID and for $100, getting a used NetGear ProSafe or the Cisco is the best money you can spend.  Skip those little Personal switch, it's going to give you headache in the longer run and the cost saving is not much.   
1508267281
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508267281

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508267281
Reply with quote  #2

1508267281
Report to moderator
1508267281
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508267281

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508267281
Reply with quote  #2

1508267281
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508267281
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508267281

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508267281
Reply with quote  #2

1508267281
Report to moderator
1508267281
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508267281

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508267281
Reply with quote  #2

1508267281
Report to moderator
m1n1ngP4d4w4n
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

CryptoLearner


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 07:07:30 AM
 #22

@Bhugatti - Yeah the one in my garage is 10/100.  It does the job well and I only need a spare.  But for anyone else, I think it's better to pay a little extra and get the 1gb version, hoping the newer one doesn't require crossover connections like my 10/100 version did.  These switch are SOLID and for $100, getting a used NetGear ProSafe or the Cisco is the best money you can spend.  Skip those little Personal switch, it's going to give you headache in the longer run and the cost saving is not much.    

It's important indeed to get good switch when your installation is becoming decent sized, a network derp equal alot of mining time lost. You can find as you demonstrated cheap used switchs. No need to go for super pro ones but good brand & good quality is a must.

I recommend for a good switch, very stable, and can be chained with optical fiber for a low cost, also rackable.

https://www.netgear.com/business/products/switches/smart/GS724Tv4.aspx they cost around 150$ and they're rock solid. You can also find v2 or v3 that are still rock solid (used ones MTBF on those is like forever and they also benefit from a LIFETIME warranty) for half this price. there is also the 50 port one, but it's hard to centralise everything on a 50 port switch even with racks, and they cost about twice the price, so it's preferable to go for the 25 port one Smiley

I use 8 of those throughout my whole home, all linked with dual optical fibers, bought them at bulk price (i got v2/v3) for about 1000$, they're rock solid, never one derp, like ever.

BTC - 1B1RBYkzxiTmrbnFe2vj8EaNPSYftW8186 for tips Wink - Please don't PM about sharing my tools, they're not for share.
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 770


summer*juvia


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 09:51:04 AM
 #23

Thanks guys for the sharing of network gear.

This odd network issue is very recent and the only 2 things I added into the environment : SRR and 10 more X11 ASICs for one of my group members.

TPlink, Linksys and Cisco are the 3 brands in the warehouse and in fact ALL of them are switches (so I dont have any old routers - pheww!)

A call to my network security buddy explained to me over the phone the following points:

1. Don't mess with cheapo network gear. Those XYZ brands from China even had built in backdoors to get into your system! He mentioned something about a hacked Motorola chip that every network gear uses...

2. He okayed TPlink, Linksys and Cisco but encouraged me to use all Gigabit class switches because they can do all the hard work; ie. do the "auto negotiation between switches and they actually learn all the pathways, packet type, share them with the other switches and write it to a master table in the switch". He told me to get HP Procurve... LOL... yeah right.

3. Limit up to 4 levels of cascading between switches. Thats the rule of thumb to avoid bottlenecks but since mining is not heavy duty, he advise to focus on redundancy instead of buying good to have enterprise class network gear - at this point we agreed I dont need Procurves. He further explained that I should get 1 or 2 spare switches, a bunch of network cables - a few long ones, on site just in case for emergencies, since mining downtime is money down the drain.

We also chatted for awhile on whats what on security... he said big issue on that Cloudflare hack recently. Its fixed now but he said change passwords, etc etc just in case. There are lot of bad guys out there.

OK thats all for now.

SRR... 22 rigs now on SRR, I have 11 more to go.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 11:58:29 AM
 #24

Thanks guys for the sharing of network gear.

This odd network issue is very recent and the only 2 things I added into the environment : SRR and 10 more X11 ASICs for one of my group members.

TPlink, Linksys and Cisco are the 3 brands in the warehouse and in fact ALL of them are switches (so I dont have any old routers - pheww!)

A call to my network security buddy explained to me over the phone the following points:

1. Don't mess with cheapo network gear. Those XYZ brands from China even had built in backdoors to get into your system! He mentioned something about a hacked Motorola chip that every network gear uses...

2. He okayed TPlink, Linksys and Cisco but encouraged me to use all Gigabit class switches because they can do all the hard work; ie. do the "auto negotiation between switches and they actually learn all the pathways, packet type, share them with the other switches and write it to a master table in the switch". He told me to get HP Procurve... LOL... yeah right.

3. Limit up to 4 levels of cascading between switches. Thats the rule of thumb to avoid bottlenecks but since mining is not heavy duty, he advise to focus on redundancy instead of buying good to have enterprise class network gear - at this point we agreed I dont need Procurves. He further explained that I should get 1 or 2 spare switches, a bunch of network cables - a few long ones, on site just in case for emergencies, since mining downtime is money down the drain.

We also chatted for awhile on whats what on security... he said big issue on that Cloudflare hack recently. Its fixed now but he said change passwords, etc etc just in case. There are lot of bad guys out there.

OK thats all for now.

SRR... 22 rigs now on SRR, I have 11 more to go.

never hurts to have:
spare router---------   your entire network could be down
spare switch -------- a 16 size means 16 pcs are not down
spare cables -------- cheap prices for a 10 pack

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1371

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 01:04:04 PM
 #25


never hurts to have:
spare router---------   your entire network could be down
spare switch -------- a 16 size means 16 pcs are not down
spare cables -------- cheap prices for a 10 pack

cable tester cant hurt either.
emdje
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 668


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2017, 01:43:18 PM
 #26

Dahm that is an immense setup you've got there.
Little bit jealous here  Tongue

AmDD
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 997



View Profile
February 27, 2017, 02:07:14 PM
 #27

Replying to get the updates here as well. Good work, cant wait to see whats next!

BTC tip jar: 18EKpbrcXxbpzAZv3T58ccGcVis7W7JR9w
LTC tip jar: Lgp8ERykAgx6Q8NdMqpi5vnVoUMD2hYn2a
darkshaddows
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 05:09:46 PM
 #28

Hi,

Love your thread!
What cases are you using for the rigs to mount them into the rack?

Are you getting them pre-configured(to install GPU Rigs) or do all the stuff yourself ?

Thanks

CryptoWatcher420
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 191

Small Time Miner, Rig Builder, Crypto Trader


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 06:35:53 PM
 #29

Thanks guys for the sharing of network gear.

This odd network issue is very recent and the only 2 things I added into the environment : SRR and 10 more X11 ASICs for one of my group members.

TPlink, Linksys and Cisco are the 3 brands in the warehouse and in fact ALL of them are switches (so I dont have any old routers - pheww!)

A call to my network security buddy explained to me over the phone the following points:

1. Don't mess with cheapo network gear. Those XYZ brands from China even had built in backdoors to get into your system! He mentioned something about a hacked Motorola chip that every network gear uses...

2. He okayed TPlink, Linksys and Cisco but encouraged me to use all Gigabit class switches because they can do all the hard work; ie. do the "auto negotiation between switches and they actually learn all the pathways, packet type, share them with the other switches and write it to a master table in the switch". He told me to get HP Procurve... LOL... yeah right.

3. Limit up to 4 levels of cascading between switches. Thats the rule of thumb to avoid bottlenecks but since mining is not heavy duty, he advise to focus on redundancy instead of buying good to have enterprise class network gear - at this point we agreed I dont need Procurves. He further explained that I should get 1 or 2 spare switches, a bunch of network cables - a few long ones, on site just in case for emergencies, since mining downtime is money down the drain.

We also chatted for awhile on whats what on security... he said big issue on that Cloudflare hack recently. Its fixed now but he said change passwords, etc etc just in case. There are lot of bad guys out there.

OK thats all for now.

SRR... 22 rigs now on SRR, I have 11 more to go.

never hurts to have:
spare router---------   your entire network could be down
spare switch -------- a 16 size means 16 pcs are not down
spare cables -------- cheap prices for a 10 pack

so whats this SRR that I keep hearing about?

Support Custom PCI-Express/riser cables & EPS 12v plus pigtail for a pico Psu for GPU MINING RIGS! - Donations are welcome and help keep things going!
Donations - 15aSLkuKDF5BvV6E3HUy4b5UYyamB97Fb7
Join Me on Discord! https://discord.gg/VDwWFcK
<iframe src="https://discordapp.com/widget?id=290395610165805056&theme=dark" width="350" height="500" allowtransparency="true" frameborder="0"></iframe>
m1n1ngP4d4w4n
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

CryptoLearner


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 06:42:43 PM
 #30

so whats this SRR that I keep hearing about?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1695298.0

BTC - 1B1RBYkzxiTmrbnFe2vj8EaNPSYftW8186 for tips Wink - Please don't PM about sharing my tools, they're not for share.
yun9999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 06:52:44 PM
 #31

@ Citronik, since it's 1 Warehouse, I think it's best to have 1 big Core switch like Bhugatti's recommendation of the 48 Gigabit Cisco.  I have that switch but the older 10/100 which great but I think the Gigabit one is much better as it can handle negotiation better with newer switches.  It does P.O.E as well so you can power your security camera via Ethernet which is anothe plus.  Put it in a location where it is easy to run to other devices.  If your warehouse is not massive, the distance should be well within the latency range.  I run from garage to Shed which is over 100 ft wires, and no latency issues.  Best part is that it's super Cheap and is Enterprise class even better than Biz class.

Yes, people are reporting great results with SRR.  Mine is coming soon and I can't wait.  Right now I'm trying to see when the Expansion pack will be available.  My goals is to use multiple SRR bases.  One for each of my Rack so that if a client wants to reboot or work with their Rack, they can do so without asking for my assistance.  For my Shed it would require just 1 base SRR and 1 Expansion pack.  The APC haven't help me save any money, if anything, it cost me over $600 more for the 6 APC over using my more powerful Dell PDUs that I already have.  The more rigs you have, the more likely 1 of them is going to act up.  SRR will pay for itself very fast.  

@ darkshaddows - Rosewill cases.  I do everything myself as it's too expensive to buy prebuilt nor would that solution meet my need for the Furies.  One man show.  However I break it down to assembly line type style where even my kids and wife can help move the line and I get things done in 1/4 the average time someone else would do these.  I will discuss that assembly line in later.    I do have a demanding full time job so efficiency is a must because at the end of the day, I must still leave some time to enjoy dinner with my kids and wife plus walk my wonderful Dog.  
thedue
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 506


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 07:27:46 PM
 #32

I do have a demanding full time job so efficiency is a must because at the end of the day, I must still leave some time to enjoy dinner with my kids and wife plus walk my wonderful Dog.  

Kudos to you!! That´s the hardest but most important part  Wink if you have a full time job + aren´t retired or do mining as a full time job

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 08:55:41 PM
 #33

@ Citronik, since it's 1 Warehouse, I think it's best to have 1 big Core switch like Bhugatti's recommendation of the 48 Gigabit Cisco.  I have that switch but the older 10/100 which great but I think the Gigabit one is much better as it can handle negotiation better with newer switches.  It does P.O.E as well so you can power your security camera via Ethernet which is anothe plus.  Put it in a location where it is easy to run to other devices.  If your warehouse is not massive, the distance should be well within the latency range.  I run from garage to Shed which is over 100 ft wires, and no latency issues.  Best part is that it's super Cheap and is Enterprise class even better than Biz class.

Yes, people are reporting great results with SRR.  Mine is coming soon and I can't wait.  Right now I'm trying to see when the Expansion pack will be available.  My goals is to use multiple SRR bases.  One for each of my Rack so that if a client wants to reboot or work with their Rack, they can do so without asking for my assistance.  For my Shed it would require just 1 base SRR and 1 Expansion pack.  The APC haven't help me save any money, if anything, it cost me over $600 more for the 6 APC over using my more powerful Dell PDUs that I already have.  The more rigs you have, the more likely 1 of them is going to act up.  SRR will pay for itself very fast.  

@ darkshaddows - I do everything myself as it's too expensive to buy prebuilt nor would that solution meet my need for the Furies.  One man show.  However I break it down to assembly line type style where even my kids and wife can help move the line and I get things done in 1/4 the average time someone else would do these.  I will discuss that assembly line in later.    I do have a demanding full time job so efficiency is a must because at the end of the day, I must still leave some time to enjoy dinner with my kids and wife plus walk my wonderful Dog.  

What kind of Dog?

I lived at my Aunt's house near stony brook college. I help her car for 5 dogs while i went to college.

1 Bulldog ----------------------------- Alfie
1 Poodle ------------------------------ Mitzy
1 German Short Haired Pointer ----- Albertina
2 Pointer/lab Mixes------------------- M&Ms, Francis

Walking all five of them was fun until they see a rabbit Grin

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
yun9999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 09:03:12 PM
 #34

His name is also Alfie.  He is a Malti-Poo and He Poo all day long!!  Wife brought him home for the kids so we finally are living the American Dream.  A House, 2 kids and a Dog.  I would also add it's a Miner's American Dream as the mining Shed is finally a reality.   =)




He loves to Party like me!  

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 09:34:39 PM
 #35

Looks very much like my first family dog Brandy.

White/tan poodle my mom got in 1972 I was 15 at the time.

I walked it every night around 11pm as it was a way to get out of my house. And hang out with my friends an extra ½ hour at night.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


🌟 COMSA ICO: 10/02/17 🌟


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 11:25:49 PM
 #36

Thanks guys for the sharing of network gear.

This odd network issue is very recent and the only 2 things I added into the environment : SRR and 10 more X11 ASICs for one of my group members.

TPlink, Linksys and Cisco are the 3 brands in the warehouse and in fact ALL of them are switches (so I dont have any old routers - pheww!)

A call to my network security buddy explained to me over the phone the following points:

1. Don't mess with cheapo network gear. Those XYZ brands from China even had built in backdoors to get into your system! He mentioned something about a hacked Motorola chip that every network gear uses...

2. He okayed TPlink, Linksys and Cisco but encouraged me to use all Gigabit class switches because they can do all the hard work; ie. do the "auto negotiation between switches and they actually learn all the pathways, packet type, share them with the other switches and write it to a master table in the switch". He told me to get HP Procurve... LOL... yeah right.

3. Limit up to 4 levels of cascading between switches. Thats the rule of thumb to avoid bottlenecks but since mining is not heavy duty, he advise to focus on redundancy instead of buying good to have enterprise class network gear - at this point we agreed I dont need Procurves. He further explained that I should get 1 or 2 spare switches, a bunch of network cables - a few long ones, on site just in case for emergencies, since mining downtime is money down the drain.

We also chatted for awhile on whats what on security... he said big issue on that Cloudflare hack recently. Its fixed now but he said change passwords, etc etc just in case. There are lot of bad guys out there.

OK thats all for now.

SRR... 22 rigs now on SRR, I have 11 more to go.

never hurts to have:
spare router---------   your entire network could be down
spare switch -------- a 16 size means 16 pcs are not down
spare cables -------- cheap prices for a 10 pack

so whats this SRR that I keep hearing about?
I can atest to poor switches i had around 5 asus 8 p
port gigabit switches , every few days my entire network would go down
could not connect to internet, lan was slow the works thought i was a virus or
i had a machine brodcasting . to fix it id have to shut off all my pcs and router firewall etc
but coukd never figure it out just by luck one of those asus died swiched it out with a netgear pro
on a whim network was good withoute having to shut everything down. took out all the asus swith sx
and bam stable network for months now. its best to buy high end network gear fo. anything more than 10 pcs


                               ,,,,╓╖µpp╖╖,,,,
                         ,╓g▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄µ╖          ,╖
                     ,╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓Ñ╖    ,@▓▌
                  ,á▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓µ╫▓▓▓▌
                ╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▀╜╙            '╙▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▌
              ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▀`                       ╙▀▓▓▓███████▌
             @▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▀`            ,,,,,         ,g▓███████▀`
           ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓██▀         ,µ▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▓▓▄@, ,@▓███████▀
          ]▓▓▓▓███▓`       ╓▄▓█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█████████████▓╜
         ]▓▓▓▓█▓█╝       ╓▓█████▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓████████████▀╜
         ▓▓▓▓███▌       ╙▓███████▓▒       "▀▓██████▀`
        ╫▓▓▓███▌          "▀████████▄        '▓██▀
        ▓█▓███▓▒            `▀████████▄,       `
       ]▓█████▌                ╙████████▓,
       ]▓█████▌                  ╙▓█▓█▓▓▓█▓╖
       ]▓█████▌                    ╙▀█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╖
        ▓█████▓[            ,,       `▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄
        ▓██████[            ╓@        ╙▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╖
        ╠██████▓          ╓▓▓▓▓m        ╙▓█▓▓▓▓▓█▓@
         ▓█████╜       ,g▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄╖╖,,,╓╖▓▓██▓▓▓▓▓▓
         └▓█▓╜       ,@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓████████████▓▓█▀
          '"       ╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▓▓▓▓█████████████▀╙        ,
                 ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╜    ╙▀▀▀▀▓▓▓▀▀▀▀╜          ╓▓▓▓╖
               g▓█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓`                          ,g▓▓▓▓▓▓▓w
            ,g▓██████████▓▄,                    ,╓@▓▓█▓▓▓█▓██╜
            ▓████████████████▓▄▄p╖,,     ,,╓µ▄▄▓██████████▓╜
            ▓█████╜╙▀███████████████████████████████████▀`
            ▓██▓╜     "▀▀███████████████████████████▀╜`
            ▓▀`            ╙▀▀▀███████████████▀▀▀"
. COMSA
ICO: Oct 2 - Nov 6
█████
▄▄▄
███
███
▀▀▀
███
███
███
▀▀▀
███
███
███
█████
█████
▄▄▄▄▄
█████
█████
▀▀▀▀▀
█████
█████
█████
▀▀▀▀▀
█████
█████
█████
█████
onefinecoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


View Profile
February 28, 2017, 12:48:38 AM
 #37

for updates this is  Grin
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
February 28, 2017, 01:03:35 AM
 #38

The guy that told you it was ok to nest up to 4 switches I dont think has ever dealt with a large scale network before. There is a good chance if you have enough clients on each switch you are ARP flooding your own network. I would get a switch that allows you to port mirror and wireshark the traffic to better see whats going on if you continue to have strange issues like that.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
bughatti
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
February 28, 2017, 02:22:11 AM
 #39

The guy that told you it was ok to nest up to 4 switches I dont think has ever dealt with a large scale network before. There is a good chance if you have enough clients on each switch you are ARP flooding your own network. I would get a switch that allows you to port mirror and wireshark the traffic to better see whats going on if you continue to have strange issues like that.

Don't think anyone ever said its the best idea to nest switches, but I also am pretty sure no one on here is using a UCS class switch/router to run mining gear.  Going 1 deep with unmanaged switches off of a business class layer 2 managed switch is fairly ok from a home perspective.  Granted if you can afford 10 x 150 dollar 24 port business class switches it would be better to handle broadcast storms.  Also why the suggestion was made to run something like nagios/zenoss with nmap to find the issue.  If someone has more than 15 years background in a enterprise class environment that has affordable suggestions to the home user, by all means pipe up.  I always tell people in my daily travels, don't ever say no to something unless you have an alternate suggestion to provide at the same time.  Smiley
yun9999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
February 28, 2017, 02:42:33 AM
 #40

I always believe in the K.I.S.S Method.  Keep It SIMPLE SILLY!  Those Cisco and NetGear Prosafe switch are dirt cheap used.  1 of them is more than sufficient for most home mining.  Two is the most you may need unless you have a big shop.  That should allow wide coverage.  For less than $200.  If you need a 48 port switch and are using almost that, that means a day of down time cost about that already.  If you must use tiny switches like I did, keep it to 1 and connect everything thru the Monster 48.  When I was searching for switches I didn't know any better and decent 48 port switches cost over $450 so I went with 2 x cheapy 24 port.  Worst decision ever, all it took me is 1 down day and many  problematic half day to make me realized, time to do it right.  

Just glad that there are cheap used alternative so it really doesn't make any sense to go Cheap.  I now avoid any brand that have the word "Link" in it, they tend to cause Link issues.  No DLINK, TPLINK, Linksys for me.  I own all of those brands and nothing but headaches.  My last upgrade was removing my Expensive TPLINK router which have great reviews however is crappy in real life use with over 30 hosts connected.  I still have 2 DLink, 1 TPLink, 3 Netis, and 1 Linksys in my garage collecting dust.  Combined those cover me over $300.  Wasted money.  If you have less than 10 rigs, it's ok to use cheapy 24 ports as you're not really pushing it hard.  If you're doing over 10 rigs, do yourself a favor and get a Biz class or Cheap used enterprise class switch since they are less than $100.  Not worth gambling.  As I am writing this, I just won a 24 port HP Procurve Enterprise switch for $3 plus 17 shipping.  Hahaha.  Great for backup in my office.  I don't need anything beyond 10/100 for mining.



P.S If you have DSL and you're forced to use their Router / DSL Modem, that could cause some headache if it's underpowered once you have over 20 hosts.  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!