Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 02:32:16 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Data Center Mining Garage and Man Mining Cave ( PART 2 !!!!!!!!)  (Read 95126 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
BeerMan81
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 04:18:40 AM
 #641

I must say, this thread has totally inspired me.  Grin  After some research, I officially diving in!  Grin The parts were ordered today! 9 cards and 2 Power Supplies. I split the cost 50/50 with the old man who lives in my spare bedroom.

After much planning this weekend, I decided to use my main daily driver, my dad's daily driver, and 2 spare PCs that we have and are not currently being used. So, after doing a lot of power calculations and planning. We have a planned phased approach.

Phase 1 - install graphics cards in existing PCs without any need for risers,  
My daily driver (PC 1) - install 2 MSI Armor OC RX 480s
My dad's daily driver (PC 2) - install 2 MSI Armor OC RX 480s
Spare Dell T3500 (PC 3) - install a higher wattage PS and install 2 MSI Armor OC RX 580s
Spare Custom PC (PC 4) - install a higher wattage PS and install 3 MSI Armor OC RX 580s

Phase 2 - convert Spare PCs to risers (9 risers, and 4 more cards), build wooden riser cases
Spare Dell T3500 (PC 3) - install 4 risers and add 2 more cards
Spare Custom PC (PC 4) - install 5 risers and add 2 more cards

Phase 3 - install additional cards and risers to max out the remaining daily driver PCs (10 risers, 6 more cards and 1 more PS)
My daily driver (PC 1) - install 5 risers and add 3 more cards
My dad's daily driver (PC 2) - install a higher wattage PS, install 5 risers, and add 3 more cards

So, by utilizing as much existing hardware, I should be able to get 9 cards up and running quickly while lowering our initial cost and risk! In a couple months, we will be doubling our hashing power with only a minimal incremental investments at each phase. Conservatively, 19 cards should net about 500 MH/s.

Also, the thought is to learn a bit on the way. Each phase has goals to meet. Not only to begin hashing, but to also test. Test capabilities of the 480s/580s, tweak and tune the cards, ROMs, etc. And then, learn the tricks of the riser setup. After that, we should be good to build a some more dedicated riser rigs from ground up.

Please, if you have some thoughts, or advice, I would love to hear from you. Most importantly, what do your wives think?
1512959536
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512959536

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512959536
Reply with quote  #2

1512959536
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1512959536
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512959536

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512959536
Reply with quote  #2

1512959536
Report to moderator
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 392


Hobby Miner - Twitter for Crypto Info - @elderiii


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 06:01:35 AM
 #642

I think that is a wise way to do it; start small and learn the ropes a bit then work your way upwards once you have some experience and coins/$ coming back in. Smiley

As for what my wife thinks of it.... well she works on them with me and is now doing the vast majority of all the daily logs and book work for finances/taxes. She's getting more confident with setting up and/or adjusting hardware, but it may be awhile before she gets interested in the software tweaking aspect of it. Anyways, I'm sure our case is a bit unusual.... but a decade ago she didn't even know that you could build a computer yourself let alone name a single part in them. lol

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Segwit | Core 0.14 | Masternodes
XEVAN | DK3 | Electrum soon
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
Litebit.eu | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 06:41:58 AM
 #643

been really really bz ... finally some pizza boxes arrived !

deadsix
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Fail to plan, and you plan to fail.


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 06:51:02 AM
 #644

been really really bz ... finally some pizza boxes arrived !

Whoa ... how??? I cant even find used Gaming 5's anywhere.

Minimalist Indian Ethereum Exchange https://ethx.in/
Ethereum/Zcash/Monero Mining Bangalore https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1703592
flminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 07:18:03 AM
 #645

Do you have above 4gb decoding enabled and have win10 installed in eufi mode? also try pcie lane timing thing from 32 to 64 and peg0/peg1 to gen1 or auto.. I have 7gpu working on my msi z170a pro gaming carbon

 I have z270a win10 with 8gpu EUFI mode, rember also not use last driver with signature check or if you try to patch them then window not will start cause it is in EUFI mode, in legacy mode they will start but you can't run with more 7 gpu. i use also gen 3 but i don't see different between 1/3

@drrobert   What 270 mobo is it you are running? AMD or Nvidia gpu? Been wanting to try an 8 gpu rig. Thanks

Where can I find some good instructions for a huge newb to compile miners for windows? Much appreciated  Smiley
bel123
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 01:40:37 PM
 #646

Can somebody suggest where to buy breakout board + picopsu with cables for HP 1200W PSU in good price?

Anybody tried make breakout board/picopsu or something for hp 2450W? As i know they are not so loudy and more efficient then HP 1200W.
BeerMan81
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 02:24:53 PM
 #647

I think that is a wise way to do it; start small and learn the ropes a bit then work your way upwards once you have some experience and coins/$ coming back in. Smiley

As for what my wife thinks of it.... well she works on them with me and is now doing the vast majority of all the daily logs and book work for finances/taxes. She's getting more confident with setting up and/or adjusting hardware, but it may be awhile before she gets interested in the software tweaking aspect of it. Anyways, I'm sure our case is a bit unusual.... but a decade ago she didn't even know that you could build a computer yourself let alone name a single part in them. lol

Thanks for the advice, the wife is bored anyway. I'll deligate!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 03:42:56 PM
 #648

interesting day . . . but SUPER busy. more to come soon. hopefully.

 



tbh, not so much fun yet with this series but i'm sure more will come.




Eager to see the numbers Smiley

Just went to hawkfish's amazon checkout  ordered a six pack of risers

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06XDZ5H14/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?


same day shipping I should get them by 8pm today.

I have 5 rs 480's running on a gigabyte z270


https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N2V0AHI/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?


these are running at smos

posted here as I do not do many 5 card rigs. Forget about six Grin
but this rig will use risers pointed out on this thread.
and the op sent me a nice break out board.
and yslyung sent me some cables and a nice pico board.

So between me
philpma1957
yslyung
hawkfish
yun9999

the rig got built


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
chrysophylax
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980


--- ChainWorks Industries ---


View Profile WWW
May 08, 2017, 05:25:27 PM
 #649

aaand ...

how the hell did i miss this thread ...

awesome work ... seriously awesome ...

the only pics i have of thefarm - when i first started out - is a messy array of components and a spagetti bowl of wiring and cables ...

great job - everyone here that is into this - great job ...

the rebuild of thefarm is a lengthy one - and a unique one ... there are some nice ideas here ...

#crysx

grn - Gfz2cXMkhMZYWSFvLEMnM8bXk7X5Mtq2J2 . exchange - https://www.cryptopia.co.nz/Exchange/?market=GRN_BTC . cwi thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1563601 . email - crysx@gnxs.com .
BeyondDeception
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 06:15:56 PM
 #650

This is an amazing thread and very inspiring, but as someone new to the game I have to ask this question. You have a full-time job and an amazing set-up, one that seems like you should be making money hand over fist. Do you choose to work a full-time job along with mining or is there something I'm overlooking and the money isn't there?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 06:58:47 PM
 #651

This is an amazing thread and very inspiring, but as someone new to the game I have to ask this question. You have a full-time job and an amazing set-up, one that seems like you should be making money hand over fist. Do you choose to work a full-time job along with mining or is there something I'm overlooking and the money isn't there?

    The last year gpu mining has been really good  amazing good.  But mining successfully depends on  difficulty ,your gear, your  power cost  and price of coins.
So while many people are making good money  it could slow up and prices good fall. I would never count on this to last  at this level for years to come.  But  for one or two years it could happen.  Op could make say 4000 a month for 2 straight years.  I could make say 1000 a month for 2 straight years.

But I live in New Jersey  and you kind of need 5000 a month  after taxes to live decently.
Op lives in Texas  has a wife and kids   So 5000 a month after taxes most likely is not enough for him.

My guess he keeps his day job just in case.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
BeyondDeception
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 07:05:43 PM
 #652

This is an amazing thread and very inspiring, but as someone new to the game I have to ask this question. You have a full-time job and an amazing set-up, one that seems like you should be making money hand over fist. Do you choose to work a full-time job along with mining or is there something I'm overlooking and the money isn't there?

    The last year gpu mining has been really good  amazing good.  But mining successfully depends on  difficulty ,your gear, your  power cost  and price of coins.
So while many people are making good money  it could slow up and prices good fall. I would never count on this to last  at this level for years to come.  But  for one or two years it could happen.


Okay - that makes sense to me. So basically, cryptocurrencies aren't quite there yet, meaning they aren't stable in price and there are all sorts of variables from speculation to power cost. So while it's good today, it may not be tomorrow and we should all be prepared for that. And that unless you've made it, you probably shouldn't give up your day job for something that is still developing/maturing.

Got it - thank you!
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 392


Hobby Miner - Twitter for Crypto Info - @elderiii


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 07:59:47 PM
 #653

Can somebody suggest where to buy breakout board + picopsu with cables for HP 1200W PSU in good price?

Anybody tried make breakout board/picopsu or something for hp 2450W? As i know they are not so loudy and more efficient then HP 1200W.
Check out www.parallelminer.com --- they have a few different sizes of HP server PSUs along with breakout boards etc... as well as cables, risers, open frame cases and more.



been really really bz ... finally some pizza boxes arrived !



That is the best kind of pizza. Wink

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Segwit | Core 0.14 | Masternodes
XEVAN | DK3 | Electrum soon
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
Litebit.eu | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
mettalmag
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


≡v≡


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 09:00:28 PM
 #654

Can somebody suggest where to buy breakout board + picopsu with cables for HP 1200W PSU in good price?

Anybody tried make breakout board/picopsu or something for hp 2450W? As i know they are not so loudy and more efficient then HP 1200W.
Check out www.parallelminer.com --- they have a few different sizes of HP server PSUs along with breakout boards etc... as well as cables, risers, open frame cases and more.



been really really bz ... finally some pizza boxes arrived !



That is the best kind of pizza. Wink
I was browsing paralleminer and got a little bit more confused than I'm usually are, so if I will let's say buy this http://www.parallelminer.com/product/gpu-mining-power-supply-kit-hp-1500-watt-94-platinum/ I will able to power up 6 or more GPUs, but for mobo, risers and CPU I will need another PSU?
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 392


Hobby Miner - Twitter for Crypto Info - @elderiii


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 09:08:45 PM
 #655

That is correct, provided that the 6 GPUs you have don't take more then 8 PCIE connectors total between the 6 of them. You would need an ATX PSU to power your motherboard, cpu, ssd/hdd, any fans, and the PCIE risers (usually via a sata adapter). You can buy a cheaper, less efficient PSU for this since it will not have a very high load on it.

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Segwit | Core 0.14 | Masternodes
XEVAN | DK3 | Electrum soon
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
Litebit.eu | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
mettalmag
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


≡v≡


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 09:11:47 PM
 #656

That is correct, provided that the 6 GPUs you have don't take more then 8 PCIE connectors total between the 6 of them. You would need an ATX PSU to power your motherboard, cpu, ssd/hdd, any fans, and the PCIE risers (usually via a sata adapter). You can buy a cheaper, less efficient PSU for this since it will not have a very high load on it.
I understood this part, is it possible to like get more powerful server PSU and power up all other things to? Isn't the PICO what does this? Or I'm wrong?
If above statement is wrong I found two 550w PSUs I used to power up antminer S1, they will do the mobo and risers job I guess
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 392


Hobby Miner - Twitter for Crypto Info - @elderiii


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 09:15:22 PM
 #657

Yes I believe that is possible but you would need custom cables. I don't know of anywhere that sells them already set to go, but one of the guys on this forum makes them. He has a post with pictures of the cables he makes 2-3 pages back in this thread. I think they would do exactly what you're looking for.

*You do need 240v for that 1500 watt HP server PSU, so that might be an issue if you are in the USA.

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Segwit | Core 0.14 | Masternodes
XEVAN | DK3 | Electrum soon
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
Litebit.eu | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
mettalmag
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


≡v≡


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 09:20:24 PM
 #658

Yes I believe that is possible but you would need custom cables. I don't know of anywhere that sells them already set to go, but one of the guys on this forum makes them. He has a post with pictures of the cables he makes 2-3 pages back in this thread. I think they would do exactly what you're looking for.

*You do need 240v for that 1500 watt HP server PSU, so that might be an issue if you are in the USA.
I;m on the other side of the globe, anyway thanks for your time, I'll do research and find a better option for 3+ GPU rigs. 95% of my rigs are with only 3 GPUs and 750W Zalmans are dong their job quite well, that's why I was asking.
bel123
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 09, 2017, 12:36:35 AM
 #659

Can somebody suggest where to buy breakout board + picopsu with cables for HP 1200W PSU in good price?

Anybody tried make breakout board/picopsu or something for hp 2450W? As i know they are not so loudy and more efficient then HP 1200W.
Check out www.parallelminer.com --- they have a few different sizes of HP server PSUs along with breakout boards etc... as well as cables, risers, open frame cases and more.



They do not have picopsu Sad
VoskCoin
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 252


YouTube.com/VoskCoin


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2017, 01:40:03 AM
 #660

OP and all others in this thread

First off this is an awesome application of the concept I've been inspired to do and a ton of awesome info in here

I'd like to ask if you all would be willing to offer some input on my build (same project but not as impressive as this one xD)

Currently I am about to take the big leap and finalize the blueprints and am seeking all info and ideas

Check out my Crypto YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/VoskCoin
If you enjoy my content click Subscribe
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!