Bitcoin Forum
July 19, 2019, 04:41:16 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 ... 182 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Klondike - 16 chip ASIC Open Source Board - Preliminary  (Read 434693 times)
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2013, 02:52:08 AM
 #181

Right. If the temperature got above a certain limit, we could disable the output of the regulator supplying the ASICs and generate a fault.

As for parts, are we looking at just 85C parts, or are there some you want at 105C?
I was just pricing at 85C commercial parts. I really hope we don't run over about 60-65C. It's mainly the PIC if I recall because I think most of the others are rated higher, but I'd have to double check, and it's very little more for the industrial series. It's not right near an ASIC and generates little heat itself. And the ASICs, well, have no idea what they'll be but assuming they're rated higher since they sure burn the watts.

1563511276
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563511276

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563511276
Reply with quote  #2

1563511276
Report to moderator
1563511276
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563511276

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563511276
Reply with quote  #2

1563511276
Report to moderator
Goat says: "Bitcoin is NOT Illegal in Thailand. There is no law against Bitcoin in Thailand!"
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1563511276
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563511276

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563511276
Reply with quote  #2

1563511276
Report to moderator
1563511276
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563511276

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563511276
Reply with quote  #2

1563511276
Report to moderator
1563511276
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563511276

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563511276
Reply with quote  #2

1563511276
Report to moderator
Bicknellski
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 03:11:21 AM
Last edit: May 06, 2013, 03:23:34 AM by Bicknellski
 #182

If you do the heatsink correctly there would be no need to go to higher temp components. Having at look at the therms on the Avalon miner you can see that most of the heat is at the chip and is under 62C + the surrounding board reaches 55C + maybe? If you have the vias designed properly and with what BKKcoins has designed already I don't think we will have issues I hope.





Dogie trust abuse, spam, bullying, conspiracy posts & insults to forum members. Ask the mods or admins to move Dogie's spam or off topic stalking posts to the link above.
Enigma81
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 04:39:20 AM
 #183

What do you mean spend 10$ for test boards?  The setup cost is usually several hundred dollars.

I can order 10pcs, 5cm x 5cm boards for $10 plus shipping.

Gotta love
http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/fusion-pcb-service-2-layers-p-835.html?cPath=185
and
http://imall.iteadstudio.com/open-pcb/pcb-prototyping/im120418001.html

I use them both fairly often..

Enigma
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2013, 04:51:07 AM
 #184

What do you mean spend 10$ for test boards?  The setup cost is usually several hundred dollars.

I can order 10pcs, 5cm x 5cm boards for $10 plus shipping.

Gotta love
http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/fusion-pcb-service-2-layers-p-835.html?cPath=185
and
http://imall.iteadstudio.com/open-pcb/pcb-prototyping/im120418001.html

I use them both fairly often..

Enigma
Oh darn you. Smiley
Now I have to hold back the cad files until I've earned something for my work.

daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 05:05:50 AM
 #185

Don't you need 4 layer?

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2013, 05:17:20 AM
 #186

Don't you need 4 layer?
Yes.

My tentative plans were to offer 6 products:
Board Only and Board w/Parts kit.

For each,

Klondike 1  - thumb size
Klondike 16 - 10x10cm
Klondike 64 - 20x20cm

Once I have a working prototype I'll start an "OpenBitcoinstore" site to take pre-orders. That way I know how big a PCB batch to run, and how many components. I'll have a bulk order rate for assemblers who want to source everything needed (but ASICs) the easy way.

I may offer an pre-assembled "Klondike 1" as well since I figure that's not beyond my means to build here. The rest I'm looking at shipping parts to my home in Canada, packing kits and shipping from both there and across the border in WA state (because Canada Post is too costly for x-border).

At least that's my thinking now unless I get talked into some better idea.

bassclef
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 06:47:19 AM
 #187

My tentative plans were to offer 6 products:
Board Only and Board w/Parts kit.

For each,

Klondike 1  - thumb size
Klondike 16 - 10x10cm
Klondike 64 - 20x20cm

I like this idea very much. I would likely order a number of each.
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2013, 07:04:07 AM
 #188

Klondike 1  - thumb size

+1 . Horizontal scaling FTW

punin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2013, 07:16:24 AM
 #189

You might want to stich that ground plane.

Head of Product Development
Bitfury Group
www.bitfury.com
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2013, 07:22:56 AM
 #190

You might want to stich that ground plane.
Yes, I need to do that. Is there a best practices doc about ideal location and how many?
I was going to google it soon but haven't quite got there as I'm setting up the firmware project right now.

Bicknellski
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 08:08:33 AM
 #191

So

8  20 x 20 please.
2  10 x 10 please.

I am looking at housing my farm collocated at a datacenter just to make it easier for myself and cheaper in the long run.

Dogie trust abuse, spam, bullying, conspiracy posts & insults to forum members. Ask the mods or admins to move Dogie's spam or off topic stalking posts to the link above.
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 09:09:42 AM
 #192

What happens when one ASIC dies? Gracefully, like just switching itself off, not burning and creating a crater.. ;-)
Will just this ASIC be missing, or all following in the "chain", or the whole board?
Would the 64 ASIC board be the same, all following or all 64 fail if one fails?

Seems like burnin's board is not fault tolerant against individual ASIC fails.

Ente
punin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2013, 09:35:29 AM
 #193

You might want to stich that ground plane.
Yes, I need to do that. Is there a best practices doc about ideal location and how many?
I was going to google it soon but haven't quite got there as I'm setting up the firmware project right now.

It depends, your PCB manufacturer can comment on that after you send first version of gerbers to them for a quote.

Head of Product Development
Bitfury Group
www.bitfury.com
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2013, 09:39:44 AM
 #194

What happens when one ASIC dies? Gracefully, like just switching itself off, not burning and creating a crater.. ;-)
Will just this ASIC be missing, or all following in the "chain", or the whole board?
Would the 64 ASIC board be the same, all following or all 64 fail if one fails?

Seems like burnin's board is not fault tolerant against individual ASIC fails.

Ente
It's hard to say right now without docs. If they are daisy chained then one failed "may" prevent the others after it from working. I say may because it depends on the failure mode. It could just stop hashing correctly, or it could "blow" hard and prevent data from shifting through at all.

If they're not chained and have some kind of serial bus then likely one failing would not stop the others but would be a range of nonces that never gets hashed.

In both cases one board should not affect other boards and the 64 chip board would be identical to 4 separate 16 chips boards - as that's what it is.

Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 10:14:40 AM
 #195

What happens when one ASIC dies? Gracefully, like just switching itself off, not burning and creating a crater.. ;-)
Will just this ASIC be missing, or all following in the "chain", or the whole board?
Would the 64 ASIC board be the same, all following or all 64 fail if one fails?

Seems like burnin's board is not fault tolerant against individual ASIC fails.

Ente
It's hard to say right now without docs. If they are daisy chained then one failed "may" prevent the others after it from working. I say may because it depends on the failure mode. It could just stop hashing correctly, or it could "blow" hard and prevent data from shifting through at all.

If they're not chained and have some kind of serial bus then likely one failing would not stop the others but would be a range of nonces that never gets hashed.

In both cases one board should not affect other boards and the 64 chip board would be identical to 4 separate 16 chips boards - as that's what it is.

Sounds good, thank you!

So, it's time for some open-sourcing on side of avalon! :-)

Ente
fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 11:45:10 AM
 #196

Ay ideas on heatsinks ?
sensei
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 12:13:27 PM
 #197

Ay ideas on heatsinks ?


We had a member, Knecke, who was looking into providing them.
Bicknellski
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 03:05:53 PM
 #198

Could be off the rack / shelf alternative laying around in some warehouses in China. Might be worth a look. I have sent out a number of emails on this already. Have heard from one supplier... but would need to ask BKK on what holes required and what sort of mounting arrangement as well. Certainly a lot of people can provide a basic aluminum extruded 10 x 10 heat sink to specifications. That might be just about the easiest part to find I think.

I was also looking at vga after market heatsinks for gpu's with built in fans but again depends on what is possible for mounting and are fans really required?

Dogie trust abuse, spam, bullying, conspiracy posts & insults to forum members. Ask the mods or admins to move Dogie's spam or off topic stalking posts to the link above.
Kuma
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 03:25:50 PM
 #199

I would order around 10 Klondike 64, but it really depends on price and ETA.
sensei
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 03:58:29 PM
 #200

Do we have enough room to have a 2-3mm keepout zone around the edge so that we can have the option of sliding the card into an edge guide rail instead of stacking?

On 2 sides only of course. In the format your board was presented, it would be the top and bottom.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 ... 182 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!