Bitcoin Forum
June 26, 2019, 01:15:09 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 ... 182 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Klondike - 16 chip ASIC Open Source Board - Preliminary  (Read 434693 times)
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 10:56:29 AM
 #621

Avalon released some new spec...
NEW GAME FORMAT
JACKPOT UP TO $50000+
Guess The Symbols Of a Real Ethereum Hash
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1561554909
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561554909

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561554909
Reply with quote  #2

1561554909
Report to moderator
1561554909
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561554909

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561554909
Reply with quote  #2

1561554909
Report to moderator
1561554909
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561554909

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561554909
Reply with quote  #2

1561554909
Report to moderator
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
May 16, 2013, 11:34:12 AM
 #622

Avalon released some new spec...
Thanks for the heads up. Reading it now.

sensei
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 16, 2013, 11:35:14 AM
 #623

Just a question BKKcoins... will each board have a serial / id number?

Maybe a sticker with a serial number in a keepout zone?

I noticed that some manufactures offer the service of embedding an RFID chip in the board material itself. I wonder what the cost is, but I'd bet it would double the cost of this board.
tom_o
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 11:37:58 AM
 #624

Just a question BKKcoins... will each board have a serial / id number?

Maybe a sticker with a serial number in a keepout zone?

I noticed that some manufactures offer the service of embedding an RFID chip in the board material itself. I wonder what the cost is, but I'd bet it would double the cost of this board.

I think he means in the firmware so mining software can differentiate.

Couldn't the share LED's be used for troubleshooting? A raspi could be setup to monitor how often they blink with the new camera attatchment.
Chefnet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 11:38:03 AM
 #625

Perhaps BKKcoins can recommend someone from his country?

I'm assuming assembly in Thailand would be ALOT cheaper then in the US or EU.
I may look into this later after having a working board and if no board assembler steps up with a more attractive offer. The cost for board assembly in the US/EU is insane. Hundreds of $$ each, obviously aimed more at specialist prototyping, as nowadays any real cost effective production must be done in Asia.

I can tell you that there are many board assemblers in Thailand. Large producers like Western Digital, Seagate, Nikon, AMD and many more are here making products, and there are support industries around these. And then there are small shops. It's probably no easy feat to find the right combination of quality and price. I had an inquiry from someone in Bkk on the forum, back a few weeks ago, who wanted to set this type of thing up, but my recent messages to him have been ignored so maybe he's moved on to something else.


another question for that is the ce, rohs certificate and an invoice because without export/import in eu is a problem.
and if we can arrange a better quantity the price should be lower (but think if something is sold from a company the guarentee must be considered and so there is some profit for handle that)

@bkk I will send you a pm with some questions.

Update: serialnumber can be done from the assembler with different methods: sticker, lasered, ... what you need and pricing is not much (have no detailed price)

sensei
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 16, 2013, 12:09:17 PM
 #626

Just a question BKKcoins... will each board have a serial / id number?

Maybe a sticker with a serial number in a keepout zone?

I noticed that some manufactures offer the service of embedding an RFID chip in the board material itself. I wonder what the cost is, but I'd bet it would double the cost of this board.

I think he means in the firmware so mining software can differentiate.

Couldn't the share LED's be used for troubleshooting? A raspi could be setup to monitor how often they blink with the new camera attatchment.

I though of that, but if I bought all the parts and put together the board and flashed it, how would it get a different serial number? You would have to have a programming station that serializes the firmware when programming each part.

Maxim makes several serial number ICs such as the DS2401, but they are all expensive with the cheapest one I've seen at $1.43 each in quantities of 500.
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
May 16, 2013, 12:30:48 PM
Last edit: May 16, 2013, 01:06:20 PM by BkkCoins
 #627

So, I've read thru the comm. specs and we're golden. All looks like it will work ok, and is pretty darn close to expectations.

I'd optimized out one RES line and will have to put it back in as the data is encoded across both lines. I've already done that in the schematic but have to lay that track again on the board. It'll be fine even though it's getting pretty tight in some areas now.

Also, for the k16s; are there many raised components on the back of the board? IE will we be able to use a flat heatsink that is bigger than the total board footprint, got an old TEC waterblock I'd love to use!
The whole bottom has been kept clear. No parts. There is mask over most of the area but exposed pads 1cm x 1cm under each chip. See bottom mask in gerbers on github for exact size/location. Small thermal pads or, even better, copper pads (I've seen these real cheap on ebay) between large heat sink and board would make ideal heat conductors but also keep the heat sink slightly off the board. I'll be trying different things when the time comes. Bicknellski is arranging some heat sinks coming my way that we can source cheaply.

another question for that is the ce, rohs certificate and an invoice because without export/import in eu is a problem.
and if we can arrange a better quantity the price should be lower (but think if something is sold from a company the guarentee must be considered and so there is some profit for handle that)
Ya, I don't know about that EU certification stuff. It's a bare board that doesn't plug into the wall. It should be classifiable as exempt under some special use gear for development purposes or something. You guys in the EU will have to figure out what all that means, and if you're going to have hassles during import.

I do know that the assembler in Bkk says they build to RoHS compliance if need be. So maybe they know how to get stickers etc.

Hmmm. Let me guess - if you had to wait 6 months to get a sticker, you'd be ok with that...


I though of that, but if I bought all the parts and put together the board and flashed it, how would it get a different serial number? You would have to have a programming station that serializes the firmware when programming each part.
Why on earth would you want a serial # if you bought a board and assembled it yourself? You can just make up whatever number you like.

PS: i am not mentioning the fact that there might be other usb devices in the system and multiple instances of cgminer to be executd one for Icarus one for Klondike and so on. Having the option to assign unique name to each ttyUSb will save us a lot of trouble. the cgminer will be feed with -S/dev/TTY accordingly
If USB protocol has a place to stuff in a serial# when attaching then I can have the PIC supply that info so you can do udev rules or whatever. I was planning to put a serial# in the flash code anyway, only so it'll have some unique ID. It does just appear as a serial tty device.

loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 12:52:08 PM
 #628

So, I've read thru the comm. specs and we're golden. All looks like it will work ok, and is pretty darn close to expectations.

If USB protocol has a place to stuff in a serial# when attaching then I can have the PIC supply that info so you can do udev rules or whatever. I was planning to put a serial# in the flash code anyway, only so it'll have some unique ID. It does just appear as a serial tty device.
Sounds great!
We just need to have some udev info different for each PIC so we can distinguish between them. It is not necessary to be the serial number. Any way you have more important stuff to deal with. We will discuss it when time comes Wink

Thank you BkkCoins!!!!


Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
Bicknellski
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 16, 2013, 01:03:44 PM
 #629

Great news then... so... what are the next steps BKKcoins?

Can we get a rough development run down from here on out?

Dogie trust abuse, spam, bullying, conspiracy posts & insults to forum members. Ask the mods or admins to move Dogie's spam or off topic stalking posts to the link above.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 01:18:28 PM
Last edit: May 16, 2013, 01:33:30 PM by loshia
 #630

Great news then... so... what are the next steps BKKcoins?

Can we get a rough development run down from here on out?
Calm down dude Smiley

I guess next steps are
1. finish PCB
2. Order prototypes
3. Code PIC FW meanwhile
4. Get chips from somewhere
5. Debug
6. fix issues if any
7. repeat 2-6
and so on...
do not pressure on BKK he is working like crazy already safe him some time answering pls
What we can do is to collect some BTC and buy broken AVALON hash unit or two and send to BKK this will speedup the process. I am in with BTC as long as someone finds it for sale ate reasonable price. He will need just 20-30 chips i guess. There were threads with damaged/broken modules already

PS:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=189334.0 PM'd already asking if he can sale us something

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=178168.20 - Another thread

There was a post here with blown caps but i can not find it. That is what we need to get and find out the guy and ask

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
May 16, 2013, 01:43:04 PM
 #631

Even one chip would be super useful. More would be cool. 8 would be awesome as that's a full bank. And 16 would be super awesome as that's a full board. So keep me in mind when samples start popping up. You'll get them back eventually, if you want, unless I blow one up or do something retarded.

I guess next steps are
1. finish PCB
2. Order prototypes
3. Code PIC FW meanwhile
4. Get chips from somewhere
5. Debug
6. fix issues if any
7. repeat 2-6
and so on...
Ya, pretty much.
I've got a skeleton of the firmware coded and I'm filling in bits now. I'm waiting on PIC chips so I start a cycle of code/program/test. They're already on the way from digikey. I'm doing some board changes. When I think I won't find any more errors I'll order a test batch. I've got an order in at mouser for other parts like power supply, connectors, lots of caps. That will come in later. I'm off to Bkk in a couple days to pick up some stuff already arrived.

loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 01:46:23 PM
 #632

Even one chip would be super useful. More would be cool. 8 would be awesome as that's a full bank. And 16 would be super awesome as that's a full board. So keep me in mind when samples start popping up. You'll get them back eventually, if you want, unless I blow one up or do something retarded.


I have that in mind from day 1!
I will try to find something for you in advance before samples come out:)
When arer you going to need them Yesterday?

No jocks when do you think you will get to the point that lack of chips will stop the development?

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
May 16, 2013, 01:56:15 PM
 #633

I have that in mind from day 1!
I will try to find something for you in advance before samples come out:)
When arer you going to need them Yesterday?

No jocks when do you think you will get to the point that lack of chips will stop the development?
I won't be ready to really use them until I have a PIC programmed and signalling data to the ASIC pins. I doubt that will be within a week. It should be before two weeks, end of May.

If I have boards first I'll build and test one without the ASIC. If I don't have boards first I'll put an ASIC on a proto-board already sitting in Bkk, and connect the PIC to test my code. It should mine even if at low clock to prevent overheating. (Thank you Dangerous Prototypes for making easy, cheap proto-boards). That way when a board arrives I'll know the code works and it's just the board I'm debugging. Or the other way round.

If I get into June and have a programmed PIC and working power supply on board but no chips, then I'll be stalled.

loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 02:00:37 PM
 #634

I have that in mind from day 1!
I will try to find something for you in advance before samples come out:)
When arer you going to need them Yesterday?

No jocks when do you think you will get to the point that lack of chips will stop the development?
I won't be ready to really use them until I have a PIC programmed and signalling data to the ASIC pins. I doubt that will be within a week. It should be before two weeks, end of May.

If I have boards first I'll build and test one without the ASIC. If I don't have boards first I'll put an ASIC on a proto-board already sitting in Bkk, and connect the PIC to test my code. It should mine even if at low clock to prevent overheating. (Thank you Dangerous Prototypes for making easy, cheap proto-boards). That way when a board arrives I'll know the code works and it's just the board I'm debugging. Or the other way round.

If I get into June and have a programmed PIC and working power supply on board but no chips, then I'll be stalled.

OK.
PM me a week before you get stuck if chips are not available i will took them from my unit and i will send them to you
Or i will send some if there are available as samples from my zefir order


Guy's
Please help us and try to find a post (i can not find it) of the guy with blown caps - he has a module with 10 chips out of his unit. it will just do the job.
PM him and ask if he will sell it so we can collect BTC and organize it for BKK

10X

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
tom_o
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 02:04:21 PM
 #635

OK.
PM me a week before you get stuck if chips are not available i will took them from my unit and i will send them to you
Or i will send some if there are available as samples from my zefir order


Guy's
Please help us and try to find a post (i can not find it) of the guy with blown caps - he has a module with 10 chips out of his unit. it will just do the job.
PM him and ask if he will sell it so we can collect BTC and organize it for BKK

10X


Wow ripping chips out of your avalon, that's true dedication to being helpful!
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 02:13:28 PM
 #636

Mrb bought that broken unit. However, i think bkk have enough time.
Loshia, you are from eu?
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 02:17:20 PM
 #637

Mrb bought that broken unit. However, i think bkk have enough time.
Loshia, you are from eu?
Yes i am from EU

Can you post full nick of Mrb or link to his profile

10X

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 02:25:01 PM
 #638

Thread link

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=189334.0

profile link Mrb

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=3076

Will try to find other broken modules and update my findings.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 02:30:17 PM
 #639

Thread link

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=189334.0

profile link Mrb

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=3076

Will try to find other broken modules and update my findings.
10X

I have just pm'ed Mrb

Please try to find the one with blown caps. This one looks damaged and unusable and is removed from the unit already. 10 Chips doing nothing on a blown PCB just perfect Smiley Our chances are bigger there i guess

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 02:36:26 PM
 #640

Thread link

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=189334.0

profile link Mrb

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=3076

Will try to find other broken modules and update my findings.
10X

I have just pm'ed Mrb

Please try to find the one with blown caps. This one looks damaged and unusable and is removed from the unit already. 10 Chips doing nothing on a blown PCB just perfect Smiley Our chances are bigger there i guess

Is this thread what you mean?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=178168.0

Arvico profile
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=62663
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 ... 182 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!