Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2018, 02:10:55 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 [98] 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 396686 times)
kev7112001
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 479
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 11:08:46 PM

Think about the noise ! Servers are noisy (and will also generate heat), you don't want to sleep close to them.

my workstation is super silent at 1.55 gets up to 22 primespersec and im still overclocking them just harder as this has no overclocking options

MCXNOW MODERATOR
1542593455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542593455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542593455
Reply with quote  #2

1542593455
Report to moderator
1542593455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542593455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542593455
Reply with quote  #2

1542593455
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kev7112001
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 479
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 11:15:18 PM

I wonder if splitting up the sievepercentage and the round between the cores if that would be more efficient then them all doing the same type of work

MCXNOW MODERATOR
CryptoBeggar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 11:56:06 PM

2 million is typically seen as the best although I use 2000001 as it is prime :wink:

I did not see any consensus regarding 2M being the best.

Sources ?

You should check the testnet if you pursue fine optimization of your miners.


Anyway I'm not really sure why isn't it a bit more efficient to use a prime number as size of the sieve. Do you know the basic principle behind how the sieve works?

First MasterCoin protocol transaction -> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=265488.msg2940318#msg2940318; please refer to thread disclosed for more information
manawenuz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 02:48:52 AM

i have small farm of servers , and i'm using them to mine prime coins , the servers differ from dual 2650s to dual 5680s down to 2*5620s as well as core i5 , in total there are 20 servers , and i earn like from as low as 3-4 blocks to 8-10 blocks a day ,
on 5680s and 2650s i have cent 6 64 , so i've compiled hp9 with ease , but on 5620s i only have el5.5 64 , and i couldn't compile hp9 , so i've installed xen on them and on xen installed cent 6 and hp9 on them they give .
first of all is there anyway to install hp9 directly on el 5 ? does anyone have a compiled version even ?
second of all , what sieve size would give best performance , i didn't see that much of difference between 1m and 2m so i'm using 2m .
also, is there a way that i can install a server like ypool and connect everyone to it and work like a cluster together ?


hey man sorry to hear that, you look like a total bro... Are you sure you are not paying more for electricity than actually earning?

2 million is typically seen as the best although I use 2000001 as it is prime :wink:

i don't care that much about the electricity bill , since the servers are colocated elsewhere and mostly are idle , i just renice the process , though in about a month or two i'll need to stop mining Smiley , cause we'll enter another phase in our project Wink
still with electricity prices as low as here , i guess i'm still earning something , let's say the farm is earning 50XPM/day , and each server is using some 450Watts excluding cooling ofcourse , 20*450=9KVA since it's UPSed it'll be like 9*1.2 = 10.8 , and with the electricity prices of here which ranges from 0.01$/KWH to 0.05$/KWH depending on your usage , let's assume 0.05$/KWH , it all equals to 12.96$ electricity bill , and with current prices of 0.735 i'd have total earnings of 36.75$/day net profit of 23.79$/day.
i agree that it's not that good , but considering that other cryptocurrencies don't pay any better , it's this or nothing Smiley
yet i'm adding a 5639 to my mining pool , i cross my fingers for better luck , FYI i've changed the sieve size from 2M to 1M , and got 20% boost for my chains per day Smiley
right now i'm getting 1.26191589 ch/day on virtualized 5620s
, 2.64356530ch/day on 2650s and about 2.59502632 on 5680s Smiley
manawenuz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 02:55:14 AM

2 million is typically seen as the best although I use 2000001 as it is prime :wink:

I did not see any consensus regarding 2M being the best.

Sources ?

You should check the testnet if you pursue fine optimization of your miners.


Anyway I'm not really sure why isn't it a bit more efficient to use a prime number as size of the sieve. Do you know the basic principle behind how the sieve works?

i doubt that using a prime number helps at all !!! , my brother explained it to me , but i'm not as a math geek as he is Cheesy , yet from my understanding it's for eliminating numbers in a fast manner , it tries to find if a number is prime or not by dividing the number by the first X primes , let's say you'll use 1M , it means that it'll have (imagine a database of) first 1Million primes , and divides your number very fast to them if the remainder is 0 , it just skips the number , the sieve size ofcourse matters but from my understanding larger sieve doesn't mean better performance , as the prime number get's bigger the calculation time rises , and so does your performance drop , i don't know how much is a sweet spot for sieve , after i've dropped from 2M to 1M , my chains/day increased by a hofty 20% !!
shazbits
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 02:55:45 AM

That surely is a profit, but how much did you pay for the xeons? The ones you listed that get 2+ cpd range from $1000 to $1700 alone.
bcp19
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 03:00:22 AM

I finally got brave today and checked all of my computers.  6 days, 5 computers (2@~.8 and 3@~.45 chains per day), 4 blocks.

Needless to say, I are happy!

Do you mean you're not checking at all? At least, you make sure that everyone is still mining, right? It would be too bad to have idle miners for days Grin
I have one main system I use with 4 others in the house currently operating (need a PSU for one, some troubleshooting on another and an old AMD laptop I doubt would get .05 chains per day).  Since I was clueless about wallets, I have 1 on each system.  I guess I should check that they are running more often, it's just that if I saw 2 blocks one day and no blocks for 3 days(which did happen), I might get discouraged and switch and miss the next 2 blocks.  Mining is still in the 'hobby' stage for me, so the 'loss' would not be a big deal.  Being retired, I don't have a huge need for the mining income, but it's nice to see Wink

I do not suffer fools gladly... "Captain!  We're surrounded!"
I embrace my inner Kool-Aid.
manawenuz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 03:01:41 AM

That surely is a profit, but how much did you pay for the xeons? The ones you listed that get 2+ cpd range from $1000 to $1700 alone.

i'm not looking for ROI !!! , cause i didn't invest the money !, these servers would have been idle otherwise .
well as far as i know they've paid some 120-150K$ for all of them , they have all the bells and whistles you can imagine , HP DL380 G7 and G8 servers with SSDs and SAS disks some supermicros with SAN and such and such.
all i'm saying is that the servers are idle for another month , it's better to put them to good use Smiley
Tuck Fheman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
August 24, 2013, 03:26:52 AM

Anyone been tweaking the roundsievepercentage value ?
I seem to get a +10% increase in CPD with 75 instead of 70 with minimal impact on pps. That is on my core i7, doesn't work that good on my vps.

Still wondering what the best sievesize is too, we know it's cache dependent but are there any rule of thumb to apply on a known cache size ?

Trying to get the best of my few miners still running, mining is really harder now than it was at the beginning of the month...

I'm using 80% w/a 25% sievepercentage, 1600000 sievesize, 1000000 primes. I've locked L1cache @ 672000 and saw a lot of 7ch, but after I let it autotune on another 24 hour run I saw an increase in 8ch w/same 7ch output or better (it's at 800000 now) and primoral multiplier at 43 usually.  (i7/860@3.22/Win7)

manawenuz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 06:28:37 AM

Anyone been tweaking the roundsievepercentage value ?
I seem to get a +10% increase in CPD with 75 instead of 70 with minimal impact on pps. That is on my core i7, doesn't work that good on my vps.

Still wondering what the best sievesize is too, we know it's cache dependent but are there any rule of thumb to apply on a known cache size ?

Trying to get the best of my few miners still running, mining is really harder now than it was at the beginning of the month...

I'm using 80% w/a 25% sievepercentage, 1600000 sievesize, 1000000 primes. I've locked L1cache @ 672000 and saw a lot of 7ch, but after I let it autotune on another 24 hour run I saw an increase in 8ch w/same 7ch output or better (it's at 800000 now) and primoral multiplier at 43 usually.  (i7/860@3.22/Win7)

can you send your primecoin.conf ?
Tamis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 08:54:15 AM

Those are ypool stats I believe and have nothing to do with hp9.
Tuck Fheman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
August 24, 2013, 11:00:36 AM

Those are ypool stats I believe and have nothing to do with hp9.

He is correct. lulz, I'm in the wrong thread. I visit that thread, then this one, then the gpu and got mixed up. Sorry.

bidji29
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 01:46:19 PM

Did the devellopement of the HP release will continue or Mikaelh is occupied with the official client?

I saw in the previous page there is a 6% improvement possible. Maybe with some other trick, we could go to +10% with HP10.

http://www.freebieservers.com/  100% FREE GAME SERVERS
atariguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 02:51:39 PM

I finally got brave today and checked all of my computers.  6 days, 5 computers (2@~.8 and 3@~.45 chains per day), 4 blocks.

Needless to say, I are happy!

Do you mean you're not checking at all? At least, you make sure that everyone is still mining, right? It would be too bad to have idle miners for days Grin
I have one main system I use with 4 others in the house currently operating (need a PSU for one, some troubleshooting on another and an old AMD laptop I doubt would get .05 chains per day).  Since I was clueless about wallets, I have 1 on each system.  I guess I should check that they are running more often, it's just that if I saw 2 blocks one day and no blocks for 3 days(which did happen), I might get discouraged and switch and miss the next 2 blocks.  Mining is still in the 'hobby' stage for me, so the 'loss' would not be a big deal.  Being retired, I don't have a huge need for the mining income, but it's nice to see Wink

Why would you care about having a different wallet on each system?

bcp19
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 04:23:01 PM

I finally got brave today and checked all of my computers.  6 days, 5 computers (2@~.8 and 3@~.45 chains per day), 4 blocks.

Needless to say, I are happy!

Do you mean you're not checking at all? At least, you make sure that everyone is still mining, right? It would be too bad to have idle miners for days Grin
I have one main system I use with 4 others in the house currently operating (need a PSU for one, some troubleshooting on another and an old AMD laptop I doubt would get .05 chains per day).  Since I was clueless about wallets, I have 1 on each system.  I guess I should check that they are running more often, it's just that if I saw 2 blocks one day and no blocks for 3 days(which did happen), I might get discouraged and switch and miss the next 2 blocks.  Mining is still in the 'hobby' stage for me, so the 'loss' would not be a big deal.  Being retired, I don't have a huge need for the mining income, but it's nice to see Wink

Why would you care about having a different wallet on each system?
My understand from reading about the VPS' is that one wallet with 10,000+ 'addresses' can be used on multiple systems and thus you only need to check 1 to see all.  Since I have 5 wallets on 5 systems, I have to manually check each system to see if it mined anything or not.  Call me lazy, but I prefer not ro run from computer to computer throughout the house checking balances daily.

I do not suffer fools gladly... "Captain!  We're surrounded!"
I embrace my inner Kool-Aid.
binaryFate
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1001


Still wild and free


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 04:35:12 PM

I finally got brave today and checked all of my computers.  6 days, 5 computers (2@~.8 and 3@~.45 chains per day), 4 blocks.

Needless to say, I are happy!

Do you mean you're not checking at all? At least, you make sure that everyone is still mining, right? It would be too bad to have idle miners for days Grin
I have one main system I use with 4 others in the house currently operating (need a PSU for one, some troubleshooting on another and an old AMD laptop I doubt would get .05 chains per day).  Since I was clueless about wallets, I have 1 on each system.  I guess I should check that they are running more often, it's just that if I saw 2 blocks one day and no blocks for 3 days(which did happen), I might get discouraged and switch and miss the next 2 blocks.  Mining is still in the 'hobby' stage for me, so the 'loss' would not be a big deal.  Being retired, I don't have a huge need for the mining income, but it's nice to see Wink

Why would you care about having a different wallet on each system?
My understand from reading about the VPS' is that one wallet with 10,000+ 'addresses' can be used on multiple systems and thus you only need to check 1 to see all.  Since I have 5 wallets on 5 systems, I have to manually check each system to see if it mined anything or not.  Call me lazy, but I prefer not ro run from computer to computer throughout the house checking balances daily.

Just set up a script that sends the funds as soon as they mature to a central wallet. If you're on linux, it's just a oneliner to execute periodically:
Code:
b=$(primecoind getbalance); if [ $(echo "$b > 0" | bc) -eq 1 ]; then bminusfee=$(echo "$b - 0.01" | bc) && primecoind sendtoaddress <your_central_wallet_address> $bminusfee; fi

(not tested)

Monero's privacy and therefore fungibility are MUCH stronger than Bitcoin's. 
This makes Monero a better candidate to deserve the term "digital cash".
atariguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 04:52:47 PM

Why would you care about having a different wallet on each system?
My understand from reading about the VPS' is that one wallet with 10,000+ 'addresses' can be used on multiple systems and thus you only need to check 1 to see all.  Since I have 5 wallets on 5 systems, I have to manually check each system to see if it mined anything or not.  Call me lazy, but I prefer not ro run from computer to computer throughout the house checking balances daily.

Yeah, I've been manually checking each and then exporting immature blocks to one wallet to track them (and also in case I blow through my credits on Azure before they mature). At least I'm half efficient that way. Wink

But how does that work (the one wallet idea) since each block that's mined gets a new address?

mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 06:26:06 PM

I pushed some big optimizations for -hp10 to github so that more people can test them.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 06:29:29 PM

I pushed some big optimizations for -hp10 to github so that more people can test them.

Any chance of getting a compiled Windows binary? I'd like to test on a 32 core Opteron rig and a 3930k.
crendore
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 07:42:48 PM

I pushed some big optimizations for -hp10 to github so that more people can test them.

Thanks man!

Pages: « 1 ... 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 [98] 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!