Bitcoin Forum
July 04, 2022, 03:02:51 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 397536 times)
maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 07, 2013, 03:41:46 AM
 #1621

Has anyone mined a block with the same address more than once?  I am community oriented, maybe someone else has an idea or a solution?

I have used keypools=10000 to start a new wallet with 10,000 addresses (which is what I thought keypools would do, similar to bitcoin)

 Any idea why I am receiving a block with the same address more than once during solo mining?
1656903771
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1656903771

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1656903771
Reply with quote  #2

1656903771
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1656903771
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1656903771

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1656903771
Reply with quote  #2

1656903771
Report to moderator
1656903771
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1656903771

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1656903771
Reply with quote  #2

1656903771
Report to moderator
eCoinomist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


Independent Analyst


View Profile WWW
August 07, 2013, 05:22:42 AM
 #1622

Has anyone mined a block with the same address more than once?  I am community oriented, maybe someone else has an idea or a solution?

I have used keypools=10000 to start a new wallet with 10,000 addresses (which is what I thought keypools would do, similar to bitcoin)

 Any idea why I am receiving a block with the same address more than once during solo mining?

That is typical if you have multiple miners sharing the same wallet. Each miner will randomly pick an address out of 10,000 keypools, and there is destined to be duplicates between miners for picking the same key at some point.

superresistant
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114
Merit: 1111



View Profile
August 07, 2013, 07:27:34 AM
 #1623

Sorry, I don't understand what "chainspermin", "chainsperday", "primespersec" mean and why it isn't proportional ?
What is important among the 3 ?

If I got the essential ones of the last several hundred posts right, the "chainsperday" seems to be the best indicator for the speed of the miner, whereas the other two seem to be not as useful for indicating the mining speed.

Simple question simple answer. Thank you so much.
OnlyC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 07, 2013, 07:34:00 AM
 #1624

Anyone mining with 16core VPS? What OS do you use and how many block can you get in 1day, 1 week?
Thanks very much.
Lyddite
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 07, 2013, 07:43:50 AM
 #1625

Getting a LOT of orphans today :/

I noticed that if you start a machine where the blockchain is not up to date and where the wallet is more current, transactions show up as orphans until the blockchain is synced.

- Lyddite -
Tamis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 07, 2013, 06:18:49 PM
 #1626

Getting a LOT of orphans today :/

I noticed that if you start a machine where the blockchain is not up to date and where the wallet is more current, transactions show up as orphans until the blockchain is synced.


That happened once yesterday, I had just started a new vps and found a block in 30 seconds that was as you say an orphan. I went from nice surprise to being pissed in a second.
The other orphans were not from fresh install. How do I check if I'm in a fork ? I doubt this is the case as most of the blocks are plain normal.
gigawatt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 07, 2013, 09:42:25 PM
 #1627

Well, block payments just dropped below 11 and difficulty passed 9.54

It's amazing how much a software update and better parameters can get you.
On that note, I'm starting to think the chains/day measurement is becoming less accurate.  Either that or I've been quite unlucky.

BTC: 1E2egHUcLDAmcxcqZqpL18TPLx9Xj1akcV   Ψ: AWHJbwoM67Ez12SHH4pH5DnJKPoMSdvLz2   Primecoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Quarkcoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Metiscoin VPS Pool Mining Script
zax983
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 156
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 12:03:09 AM
 #1628

Getting a LOT of orphans today :/
Oh crap... hope ZAX don't read this...  He thinks he's the orphan king...

I think he changed the nickname to:  Grin

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=268941.msg2879280#msg2879280
Hm, maybe the SCAM added not with "ZAX", but with "za*"  Grin

Better not make worker with Z !!! But not with T too. Just with b or r Wink

Dsfyu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 08, 2013, 12:17:18 AM
 #1629

Well, block payments just dropped below 11 and difficulty passed 9.54

It's amazing how much a software update and better parameters can get you.
On that note, I'm starting to think the chains/day measurement is becoming less accurate.  Either that or I've been quite unlucky.

It seems to not be accurate for me - I haven't gotten any blocks since the 25th (other than an orphan on the 25th) on my desktop though so I feel it's hard to tell.  Then again my sister got three blocks on saturday with the same cpu... It seems like it's a rough average that was accurate when it was added but is slowly becoming less useful for judging how often you might get a block from my experiences.

Don't just trade, get paid to Atomic⚛Trade !!!
Disclaimer: I am a noob. Assume I know nothing until proven otherwise.
tinnvec
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0



View Profile
August 08, 2013, 01:18:33 AM
 #1630

Well, block payments just dropped below 11 and difficulty passed 9.54

It's amazing how much a software update and better parameters can get you.
On that note, I'm starting to think the chains/day measurement is becoming less accurate.  Either that or I've been quite unlucky.

It seems to not be accurate for me - I haven't gotten any blocks since the 25th (other than an orphan on the 25th) on my desktop though so I feel it's hard to tell.  Then again my sister got three blocks on saturday with the same cpu... It seems like it's a rough average that was accurate when it was added but is slowly becoming less useful for judging how often you might get a block from my experiences.

I wonder if there's a way to use  stats like jhPrimeminer (ypool client) does but in this build. Basically counts how many chains per hour of different lengths. For instance, my AMD Phenom II X4 is currenlty 17 6-length chains per hour, 193 5 length/hour, and 2046 4-length/hour. There are more stats of course, but that gives you an idea. If you let it run for a day or so, it is quite accurate.
bcp19
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 08, 2013, 01:24:04 AM
 #1631

Well, block payments just dropped below 11 and difficulty passed 9.54

It's amazing how much a software update and better parameters can get you.
On that note, I'm starting to think the chains/day measurement is becoming less accurate.  Either that or I've been quite unlucky.

It seems to not be accurate for me - I haven't gotten any blocks since the 25th (other than an orphan on the 25th) on my desktop though so I feel it's hard to tell.  Then again my sister got three blocks on saturday with the same cpu... It seems like it's a rough average that was accurate when it was added but is slowly becoming less useful for judging how often you might get a block from my experiences.
One major misconception on this coin is people think it acts like any other coin out there... in one way it does, but for the most part it doesn't.  Bitcoin, Litecoin, etc, all use a hash.  Since the hash needed is random, it takes time to find.  This is the only area where primecoin is like the others, in that it is a random chance to get the right variable to find a prime.  Where primecoin diverges is that it can never reuse a number already found.  Bitcoin and Namecoin can use the same hash and be 'merged mined', primecoin alone can never be merge mined.

The basis behind blocks is finding Cunningham Chains of length N where N is the difficulty rating.  What does this mean?  The smallest known length 9 chains are:85864769  and
857095381 (1st and 2nd kind).  The proof of work on this coin is such that once a prime chain has been found, it cannot be reused.  So each prime found means the one less prime that can be found.  Look at the records primecoin has found in length 9 chains: 2030793138184474269420052163338592688212588454185304749794006580858788424425799 69*179#-1 is 151 digits long!  In a way, the nice thing on this is that as time goes by and the length of these primes gets up into the 1000+ digit range, difficulty will start coming down as they become harder to find and we'll start finding larger 8 chains and larger 7 chains.

Therefore the metric for finding blocks is ever changing, you can't count on what works today being the best thing to do in 2 weeks time as well.  This is an ever changing coin and people really need to start thinking outside the box.

I do not suffer fools gladly... "Captain!  We're surrounded!"
I embrace my inner Kool-Aid.
mhps
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 516
Merit: 500


CAT.EX Exchange


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 01:24:58 AM
 #1632

Well, block payments just dropped below 11 and difficulty passed 9.54

It's amazing how much a software update and better parameters can get you.
On that note, I'm starting to think the chains/day measurement is becoming less accurate.  Either that or I've been quite unlucky.

It seems to not be accurate for me - I haven't gotten any blocks since the 25th (other than an orphan on the 25th) on my desktop though so I feel it's hard to tell.  Then again my sister got three blocks on saturday with the same cpu... It seems like it's a rough average that was accurate when it was added but is slowly becoming less useful for judging how often you might get a block from my experiences.

I wonder if there's a way to use  stats like jhPrimeminer (ypool client) does but in this build. Basically counts how many chains per hour of different lengths. For instance, my AMD Phenom II X4 is currenlty 17 6-length chains per hour, 193 5 length/hour, and 2046 4-length/hour. There are more stats of course, but that gives you an idea. If you let it run for a day or so, it is quite accurate.

You are proposing to build a model to predict how many blocks can be found per day. As I understandd that was basicly why Sunny added the chains per day gauge. However Sunny pointed out somewhere that chain/d is not block/day. They are just closely related.




|(
▄▄██████████▄▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄█████▀ ▀█████▀ ▀██████▄
██████ ███ ▀▀▀ ███ ███████
██████▀▄███████████▄▀███████
███████ █████████████ ████████
███████ █████████████ ████████
████████▄▀█████████▀▄█████████
██████████▄ █████ ▄█▀▄▄▄▀█████
██████████ ████▌▐█ █▀▄█ ████
████████▌▐█████ █▌▐█▄▄████
▀█████▀ ██████▄ ▀ █████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀▀██████████▀▀
)(.
)
▌   ANNOUNCE THREAD   ▌▐   BOUNTY   ▐
TWITTER  |  FACEBOOK  |  TELEGRAM  |  DISCORD
(((((((   MOBILE APP [ ANDROID / IOS ]   )))))))
)
tinnvec
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0



View Profile
August 08, 2013, 01:29:44 AM
 #1633

Well, block payments just dropped below 11 and difficulty passed 9.54

It's amazing how much a software update and better parameters can get you.
On that note, I'm starting to think the chains/day measurement is becoming less accurate.  Either that or I've been quite unlucky.

It seems to not be accurate for me - I haven't gotten any blocks since the 25th (other than an orphan on the 25th) on my desktop though so I feel it's hard to tell.  Then again my sister got three blocks on saturday with the same cpu... It seems like it's a rough average that was accurate when it was added but is slowly becoming less useful for judging how often you might get a block from my experiences.

I wonder if there's a way to use  stats like jhPrimeminer (ypool client) does but in this build. Basically counts how many chains per hour of different lengths. For instance, my AMD Phenom II X4 is currenlty 17 6-length chains per hour, 193 5 length/hour, and 2046 4-length/hour. There are more stats of course, but that gives you an idea. If you let it run for a day or so, it is quite accurate.

You are proposing to build a model to predict how many blocks can be found per day. As I understandd that was basicly why Sunny added the chains per day gauge. However Sunny pointed out somewhere that chain/d is not block/day. They are just closely related.

Well less of a model to predict blocks/day and more of a way to measure performance. For instance, it could help someone tweak their setup to finding longer chain lengths instead of shorter. Or really, just help people understand what their tweaks are doing to performance
pocesar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2013, 03:17:12 AM
 #1634

Well, block payments just dropped below 11 and difficulty passed 9.54

It's amazing how much a software update and better parameters can get you.
On that note, I'm starting to think the chains/day measurement is becoming less accurate.  Either that or I've been quite unlucky.

It seems to not be accurate for me - I haven't gotten any blocks since the 25th (other than an orphan on the 25th) on my desktop though so I feel it's hard to tell.  Then again my sister got three blocks on saturday with the same cpu... It seems like it's a rough average that was accurate when it was added but is slowly becoming less useful for judging how often you might get a block from my experiences.
One major misconception on this coin is people think it acts like any other coin out there... in one way it does, but for the most part it doesn't.  Bitcoin, Litecoin, etc, all use a hash.  Since the hash needed is random, it takes time to find.  This is the only area where primecoin is like the others, in that it is a random chance to get the right variable to find a prime.  Where primecoin diverges is that it can never reuse a number already found.  Bitcoin and Namecoin can use the same hash and be 'merged mined', primecoin alone can never be merge mined.

The basis behind blocks is finding Cunningham Chains of length N where N is the difficulty rating.  What does this mean?  The smallest known length 9 chains are:85864769  and
857095381 (1st and 2nd kind).  The proof of work on this coin is such that once a prime chain has been found, it cannot be reused.  So each prime found means the one less prime that can be found.  Look at the records primecoin has found in length 9 chains: 2030793138184474269420052163338592688212588454185304749794006580858788424425799 69*179#-1 is 151 digits long!  In a way, the nice thing on this is that as time goes by and the length of these primes gets up into the 1000+ digit range, difficulty will start coming down as they become harder to find and we'll start finding larger 8 chains and larger 7 chains.

Therefore the metric for finding blocks is ever changing, you can't count on what works today being the best thing to do in 2 weeks time as well.  This is an ever changing coin and people really need to start thinking outside the box.

That's really interesting info, I couldn't figure out how the block hashes were determined in Primecoin. This shows Primecoin to have a really bright future!

https://github.com/pocesar - BTC 1KLRAFHGGhE2WiRASkASatvMR1vALmkB9L
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 03:19:44 AM
 #1635

Well less of a model to predict blocks/day and more of a way to measure performance. For instance, it could help someone tweak their setup to finding longer chain lengths instead of shorter. Or really, just help people understand what their tweaks are doing to performance

Exactly. Even if the prediction is way off, that isn't a big problem as long as something half the speed is also equally off with half the prediction. Need some way to compare hardware and know which machines are faster miners than others, etc.
maka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 03:27:58 AM
 #1636

Well, block payments just dropped below 11 and difficulty passed 9.54

It's amazing how much a software update and better parameters can get you.
On that note, I'm starting to think the chains/day measurement is becoming less accurate.  Either that or I've been quite unlucky.

It seems to not be accurate for me - I haven't gotten any blocks since the 25th (other than an orphan on the 25th) on my desktop though so I feel it's hard to tell.  Then again my sister got three blocks on saturday with the same cpu... It seems like it's a rough average that was accurate when it was added but is slowly becoming less useful for judging how often you might get a block from my experiences.
One major misconception on this coin is people think it acts like any other coin out there... in one way it does, but for the most part it doesn't.  Bitcoin, Litecoin, etc, all use a hash.  Since the hash needed is random, it takes time to find.  This is the only area where primecoin is like the others, in that it is a random chance to get the right variable to find a prime.  Where primecoin diverges is that it can never reuse a number already found.  Bitcoin and Namecoin can use the same hash and be 'merged mined', primecoin alone can never be merge mined.

The basis behind blocks is finding Cunningham Chains of length N where N is the difficulty rating.  What does this mean?  The smallest known length 9 chains are:85864769  and
857095381 (1st and 2nd kind).  The proof of work on this coin is such that once a prime chain has been found, it cannot be reused.  So each prime found means the one less prime that can be found.  Look at the records primecoin has found in length 9 chains: 2030793138184474269420052163338592688212588454185304749794006580858788424425799 69*179#-1 is 151 digits long!  In a way, the nice thing on this is that as time goes by and the length of these primes gets up into the 1000+ digit range, difficulty will start coming down as they become harder to find and we'll start finding larger 8 chains and larger 7 chains.

Therefore the metric for finding blocks is ever changing, you can't count on what works today being the best thing to do in 2 weeks time as well.  This is an ever changing coin and people really need to start thinking outside the box.

Prime chains are plenty.  I don't think we will ever reach 1000 digit zone, not in 100 years at least.
Tuck Fheman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2013, 04:44:30 AM
 #1637

I don't think we will ever reach 1000 digit zone, not in 100 years at least.

Has fontas sent a future tweet yet for the pump?  I want to make sure I have my coins ready.


bruter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 05:51:23 AM
 #1638

I've only been mining for about a week now, and I occasionally get the following error/crash:

Assertion failed!

Program: D:\Primecoin\primecoin-qt.exe
File: src/checkqueue.h, line 171

Expression: pqueue->nTotal == pqueue->nIdle


primecoin-0.1.2-hp9-winx64.zip
Dsfyu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 08, 2013, 05:55:18 AM
 #1639

I've only been mining for about a week now, and I occasionally get the following error/crash:

Assertion failed!

Program: D:\Primecoin\primecoin-qt.exe
File: src/checkqueue.h, line 171

Expression: pqueue->nTotal == pqueue->nIdle


primecoin-0.1.2-hp9-winx64.zip

It's a bug in the primecoin client - It's been partially fixed but everyone gets it occasinally. From what I have heard systems with more cores (6+)tend to get it more often. All we can do is just restart the primecoin client to deal with it for now.

Don't just trade, get paid to Atomic⚛Trade !!!
Disclaimer: I am a noob. Assume I know nothing until proven otherwise.
mumus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 291
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 08, 2013, 07:57:09 AM
 #1640

Hi,
Did anyone tried to play with the nL1CacheElements constant in prime.cpp ?

Yesterday, I tried a set of values and was a bit puzzled by the results.
It did not seem to affect the number of blocks  found, however it had a strong impact on primesperday, chainspermin and chainsperday.
I am using default mining settings: sievesize=1000000, etc.

With default nL1CacheElements=200000 ; let's assume I measure a chainsperday of 1
With nL1CacheElements=10000, chainsperday is multiplied by 6, but primesperday is multiplied by 0.1
With nL1CacheElements=20000, chainsperday is multiplied by 2, but primesperday is multiplied by 0.8
With nL1CacheElements=65536, chainsperday is multiplied by 0.5
With nL1CacheElements=90000, chainsperday is multiplied by 0.6666
With nL1CacheElement=100000, chainsperday is multiplied by 1.6
With nL1CacheElements=400000, chainsperday is multiplied by 0.5555

I am guessing that chainsperday metric is  affected somehow by the number of loops performed to combine the candidates arrays; but couldn't understand how.
I know that primesperday is not an accurate performance metric, however I am wondering whether chainsperday is a reliable efficiency measurement.
Maybe getting the best for both values indicates maximal efficiency, or not...  Undecided

Hi,
In the modified version of the jhPrimeminer that is used for ypool.net I did some kind of auto tuning for the nL1CacheElements by measuring the time it takes to execute the Wave() function. Indeed the default is not the optimal most of the time. I also found that for some settings even higher (1.000.000+) nL1CacheElements performs better. Based on test using profiling tools I concluded that the most time consuming code is writing to the memory and also this is done less linearly but to more random positions. So I think in this case the CPU cache has less role. Maybe I'm not right, I never done these kind of tunings before.
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!