Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2018, 10:43:04 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 [75] 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 ... 133 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 396551 times)
igysa
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 01, 2013, 11:34:09 PM
 #1481

500 servers self funded ?!?!

such wasted resources on poor XPM..

surelly u use them for something else ? Wink Tongue

BTC 1Hm2qSb1XZ8iAuogEqCBod17KQPHepjwF
LTC LWu3fAQuw36UVm6vASQgk6yQjgLgKmeWPD
YAC YKVQi33Jv7UaBtStgTDiCB2uL6vsYdX7be
1540291384
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540291384

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540291384
Reply with quote  #2

1540291384
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540291384
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540291384

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540291384
Reply with quote  #2

1540291384
Report to moderator
1540291384
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540291384

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540291384
Reply with quote  #2

1540291384
Report to moderator
1540291384
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540291384

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540291384
Reply with quote  #2

1540291384
Report to moderator
Lauda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1634


GUNBOT Licenses up to 50% OFF - 'GrumpyKitty'.


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2013, 11:36:21 PM
 #1482

No tricks. 500 8-core opteron servers running mikhaels hp8.
I simply took the best scripts from this thread and used some recommendations from members.

Do you know how much percentage of the network are you representing? 10%?

Minting about 8% of the daily XPM supply.
500 8core opteron?  Shocked Shocked
Not bad supply, botnets performing better I'd say.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
jimoc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 01, 2013, 11:45:48 PM
 #1483

No tricks. 500 8-core opteron servers running mikhaels hp8.
I simply took the best scripts from this thread and used some recommendations from members.

Do you know how much percentage of the network are you representing? 10%?

Minting about 8% of the daily XPM supply.

Aha!!!! Finally I find the reason why I'm getting so few blocks Smiley

I'm currently running a few EC2 instances but my luck is very hit and miss.
bcp19
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 12:03:04 AM
 #1484

It's can't be my faul, coz I use recomended software from owner. So it's steal my ~200 XPM. It's all...

He or who think it's not fair, can correct this in any time with sending me any compensation here: AYt9xqb8vCDEQoL6W1hKxJmLwwQ6BvjFA6

Thanks in advance!
Damnation, I get less whine from my Uncle's cellar!  Heck, even a 2 bit whore whines less than you do.

Dude, *NOT* your fault? ROFLMAO!  You're in the High Performance thread talking about using the unmodified client!!!  How freaking dumb are you?
On top of that, I personally told you 3-4 days ago what I was using at ypool.  I've made 33xpm while you've had your thumb up your ass.
But hey, go ahead and blame the client, stupid people blame the tools all the time.

I do not suffer fools gladly... "Captain!  We're surrounded!"
I embrace my inner Kool-Aid.
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 01:21:57 AM
 #1485

When mining on multiple machines you can just use the same wallet on each of them can't you? I assume in that case, any block found would show as a deposit to the wallet on all of the machines at the same time.
blackboy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 02:09:34 AM
 #1486

When mining on multiple machines you can just use the same wallet on each of them can't you? I assume in that case, any block found would show as a deposit to the wallet on all of the machines at the same time.

Yep.. there's a script to move immature blocks around to have them on a central wallet. You could also use your wallet until addresses diverge or increase the keypool.

Resistance is futile. Embrace cryptocurrencies.
1l1l11ll1l
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 02:38:00 AM
 #1487

I'm about to start renting dedicated servers by the dozen. I think that I found n4ru's special place...

Supposing a GPU miner comes up next week, how could I monetize the servers?




Care to share your settings?

Platio
Smart Banking Ecosystem


█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄     
█  ████     █▀█▄   
█  ████     █  ▀█▄
█  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  ▀▀▀▀▀▀█
█  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █
█  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █
█  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █
█  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █
█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█

                   ████
 █ ███████████████████▄
                  ▀█████
                       ████
                          ████
                             ███
                                ███
                 ████             ████
  ████████████████████████████████████████████████
                 ████             ████
                                ███
                              ███
                           ████
                        ████
                   ▄█████
█ ███████████████████▀


          ▄▄███████▄▄         ▄█████
        ▄█████████████▄      ███████
       █████████████████    ████████    ▄█████▄
      ███████████████████  █████████   █████████
      ███████████████████  █████████   █████████
      ███████████████████  █████████   █████████
       █████████████████    ████████    ▀█████▀
        ▀█████████████▀      ███████
          ▀▀███████▀▀         ▀█████

                                     ████
                             ▄█████████████████████
                          ████▀      ████
                       █████
                     ████
                  ████
               ████
           █████
██████████████ ████████ ██████ ████████ ██████████
           █████
               ████
                  ████       
                    █████
                       █████
                          ████▄          ████
                             ▀██████████████████████
                                         ████
Smart Banking Ecosystem for crypto, fiat and
stocks, based on EOS blockchain technology

.
GET WHITELISTED NOW
Platio
Smart Banking Ecosystem
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 02:59:28 AM
 #1488

Is Primecoin pretty much cpu limited, or does memory speed play a big role as well?

My tests show that memory is not very important for primecoin. I believe its mostly CPU speed and cpu-cache that are important. However, inadvertently on most high end systems with fast processors you will also have fast RAM, especially true of gaming systems (less so on servers but they are different story because of ECC RAM).

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
LlamaMaster
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 03:42:07 AM
 #1489

Is there any way to test mining performance with certain parameters aside from just waiting and seeing how many blocks you get?  I don't have a server farm, so it seems impossible for me to tell if changing a setting makes anything better.
blackboy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 03:58:49 AM
 #1490

I'm about to start renting dedicated servers by the dozen. I think that I found n4ru's special place...

Supposing a GPU miner comes up next week, how could I monetize the servers?



Care to share your settings?

I'm using dedicated servers from server4you with hp8 and ecoinomist instrumentation scripts. I think n4ru was using ovh.co.uk servers. I suspect that he rented a couple thousand of the cheapest servers. I didn't want to manage so many servers so I went bigger. I have another script to move immatures and a central wallet. I left all the settings at their default.


Resistance is futile. Embrace cryptocurrencies.
watchzerg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 06:41:31 AM
 #1491

hi,mikaelh. Since you joined the primecoin devteam, Will this high performance version merge into the trunk?
Tamis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 09:20:53 AM
 #1492

Does hp8 compile with only 256mb of ram ?
idny
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 09:35:30 AM
 #1493

I'm about to start renting dedicated servers by the dozen. I think that I found n4ru's special place...

Supposing a GPU miner comes up next week, how could I monetize the servers?



Care to share your settings?

I'm using dedicated servers from server4you with hp8 and ecoinomist instrumentation scripts. I think n4ru was using ovh.co.uk servers. I suspect that he rented a couple thousand of the cheapest servers. I didn't want to manage so many servers so I went bigger. I have another script to move immatures and a central wallet. I left all the settings at their default.



This script sounds interesting. I'll have to hunt it down.
I was moving coins manually like a noob!
Lyddite
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 09:45:58 AM
 #1494

Does hp8 compile with only 256mb of ram ?

I noticed that at a certain point, probably when compiling main.cpp, compilation would fail due to lack of memory. The compiler was using about 600 Megs at the time believe.
The error from gcc didn't say anything about memory but dmesg showed a problem.

Code:
Out of memory: Kill process 10876 (cc1plus) score 949 or sacrifice child
Killed process 10876 (cc1plus) total-vm:615808kB, anon-rss:578368kB, file-rss:776kB

If you set up some swap space, perhaps a half a gig, hp8 should compile without problem.  I believe the extra memory is only needed for compiling main.cpp.

- Lyddite -
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 11:26:53 AM
 #1495

hi,mikaelh. Since you joined the primecoin devteam, Will this high performance version merge into the trunk?

Well, the short answer is no. I will explain some of the reasons here.

Using GNU MP is a bit cumbersome because of the licensing. GMP is licensed under LGPL while Primecoin is licensed under its own conditional version of the MIT/X11 license. That means we would be forced to include GMP as an external library via dynamic linking. That would become a maintenance burden in the future when external miners are developed.

We also want the stock miner to be a good reference miner. That means we want to keep it simple so that people can see the math behind the algorithm. That doesn't mean there won't be any more optimizations added to the stock miner. I will probably port some optimizations from my miner to the stock miner. However, the stock miner is unlikely to be fully competitive with other miners.

I'm going to keep maintaining the high performance version for as long as it stays relevant. When we have reasonable external miner options, I will eventually stop developing my high performance tree.
Tamis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 11:32:13 AM
 #1496

I was thinking that swap should do it.

Thx Lyddite !
blackboy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 12:26:01 PM
 #1497

Does hp8 compile with only 256mb of ram ?

No. Compile in a 1 gig of ram machine and then move the compiled script to your 512mb one.

Resistance is futile. Embrace cryptocurrencies.
one4many
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 497
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 01:27:36 PM
 #1498

No tricks. 500 8-core opteron servers running mikhaels hp8.
I simply took the best scripts from this thread and used some recommendations from members.
Cloud you please share your primecoin.conf settings ... somehow is my 8-core Opteron processor hugely under-performing compared to my XEON quard core. :-/

Thx!

     one4many
blackboy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 01:32:57 PM
 #1499

No tricks. 500 8-core opteron servers running mikhaels hp8.
I simply took the best scripts from this thread and used some recommendations from members.
Cloud you please share your primecoin.conf settings ... somehow is my 8-core Opteron processor hugely under-performing compared to my XEON quard core. :-/

Thx!

     one4many

Just overclock it. Use mikhael's Linux build so the system uses the most adequate library for your processor.

Resistance is futile. Embrace cryptocurrencies.
gigawatt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 01:56:13 PM
 #1500

Does hp8 compile with only 256mb of ram ?

No. Compile in a 1 gig of ram machine and then move the compiled script to your 512mb one.

Sounds like somebody needs to make a swapfile.

This will make a 1GB swapfile so you can compile on < 512mb RAM.

Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile

BTC: 1E2egHUcLDAmcxcqZqpL18TPLx9Xj1akcV   Ψ: AWHJbwoM67Ez12SHH4pH5DnJKPoMSdvLz2   Primecoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Quarkcoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Metiscoin VPS Pool Mining Script
Pages: « 1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 [75] 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 ... 133 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!