Bitcoin Forum
July 06, 2022, 12:28:26 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 [75] 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 ... 131 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 397536 times)
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 03:05:18 PM
 #1481

What's the default keypool size? Is a key only "used up" when a block is found?
1657067306
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1657067306

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1657067306
Reply with quote  #2

1657067306
Report to moderator
1657067306
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1657067306

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1657067306
Reply with quote  #2

1657067306
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1657067306
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1657067306

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1657067306
Reply with quote  #2

1657067306
Report to moderator
1657067306
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1657067306

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1657067306
Reply with quote  #2

1657067306
Report to moderator
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1002


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 03:06:33 PM
 #1482

What's the default keypool size? Is a key only "used up" when a block is found?

A key is the magic number that allows you to spend the coins at an address.  When you find a block it uses up an address/key.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
masterOfDisaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 321
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 03:07:29 PM
 #1483

What's the default keypool size? Is a key only "used up" when a block is found?
The default keypool size is 100. A key is used each time a block is solved or a transaction is incoming.
gigawatt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 03:18:02 PM
 #1484

What's the default keypool size? Is a key only "used up" when a block is found?

A key is the magic number that allows you to spend the coins at an address.  When you find a block it uses up an address/key.

But I've mined multiple blocks with the same address... so wouldn't that prove the "used up" aspect incorrect?

BTC: 1E2egHUcLDAmcxcqZqpL18TPLx9Xj1akcV   Ψ: AWHJbwoM67Ez12SHH4pH5DnJKPoMSdvLz2   Primecoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Quarkcoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Metiscoin VPS Pool Mining Script
blackboy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 16



View Profile WWW
August 02, 2013, 04:03:41 PM
 #1485

You could also use your wallet until addresses diverge or increase the keypool.

Could you elaborate on this?

primecoind --daemon --keypool=10000

I get that part.  What did you mean about the addresses diverging?  As long as each node has the exact same wallet, that shouldn't be a problem, correct?

Initially, wallets have a limit of 100 addresses. Once you generate more than 100 blocks, trouble shows up.

Resistance is futile. Embrace cryptocurrencies.
blackboy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 16



View Profile WWW
August 02, 2013, 05:52:24 PM
 #1486

Well... did some tuning and now it seems that everything is running at 3M PPS.
Will post the config details after I confirm the block rate is better. So in an hour or so...

Resistance is futile. Embrace cryptocurrencies.
superfluouso
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 06:15:50 PM
 #1487

No tricks. 500 8-core opteron servers running mikhaels hp8.
I simply took the best scripts from this thread and used some recommendations from members.

500!

Self funded? Or do you work in a data centre Roll Eyes ?

Self funded.
How does one even set up 500 servers?  Just that task alone to order that many sounds massive.  And at $70/month for the cheapest dedicated 8core opteron...$35,000?I must be missing something somewhere.  Can you elaborate?
blackboy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 16



View Profile WWW
August 02, 2013, 06:27:35 PM
 #1488

So this is the configuration that works best for me

Sieve size 1M
Sieve percentage 3
Round sieve size 45

It gives 6.2k PPS per machine on average

And about 850 5-chains/h

Resistance is futile. Embrace cryptocurrencies.
blackboy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 16



View Profile WWW
August 02, 2013, 06:31:23 PM
 #1489

No tricks. 500 8-core opteron servers running mikhaels hp8.
I simply took the best scripts from this thread and used some recommendations from members.

500!

Self funded? Or do you work in a data centre Roll Eyes ?

Self funded.
How does one even set up 500 servers?  Just that task alone to order that many sounds massive.  And at $70/month for the cheapest dedicated 8core opteron...$35,000?I must be missing something somewhere.  Can you elaborate?

You build once and clone 499 times. Pretty simple actually.

Then you put a script on each server that makes it mine automatically.

I didn't get the 35K right away, I just took some of the money I was making while mining. I starting mining with 500 Amazon EC2 instances when diff was about 8, and then took the winnings to double down on dedicated servers with opteron processors (that perform about 20x better).

So Amazon practically financed my server farm.

Resistance is futile. Embrace cryptocurrencies.
superfluouso
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 06:40:52 PM
 #1490

No tricks. 500 8-core opteron servers running mikhaels hp8.
I simply took the best scripts from this thread and used some recommendations from members.

500!

Self funded? Or do you work in a data centre Roll Eyes ?

Self funded.
How does one even set up 500 servers?  Just that task alone to order that many sounds massive.  And at $70/month for the cheapest dedicated 8core opteron...$35,000?I must be missing something somewhere.  Can you elaborate?

You build once and clone 499 times. Pretty simple actually.

Then you put a script on each server that makes it mine automatically.

I didn't get the 35K right away, I just took some of the money I was making while mining. I starting mining with 500 Amazon EC2 instances when diff was about 8, and then took the winnings to double down on dedicated servers with opteron processors (that perform about 20x better).

So Amazon practically financed my server farm.

I see..thanks!  So you're the reason XPM fell to .60 from 1.50 Wink
Lauda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 2923


Terminated.


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2013, 06:48:22 PM
 #1491


You build once and clone 499 times. Pretty simple actually.

Then you put a script on each server that makes it mine automatically.

I didn't get the 35K right away, I just took some of the money I was making while mining. I starting mining with 500 Amazon EC2 instances when diff was about 8, and then took the winnings to double down on dedicated servers with opteron processors (that perform about 20x better).

So Amazon practically financed my server farm.

I see..thanks!  So you're the reason XPM fell to .60 from 1.50 Wink
He definently is  Cheesy

"The Times 03/Jan/2009 Chancellor on brink of second bailout for banks"
😼 Bitcoin Core (onion)
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 07:48:46 PM
 #1492

You build once and clone 499 times. Pretty simple actually.

Then you put a script on each server that makes it mine automatically.

I didn't get the 35K right away, I just took some of the money I was making while mining. I starting mining with 500 Amazon EC2 instances when diff was about 8, and then took the winnings to double down on dedicated servers with opteron processors (that perform about 20x better).

So Amazon practically financed my server farm.

I use EC2 for my TRC pool, and other Amazon goodies like SQS/SMS etc. Wish I'd known about Primecoin a bit sooner. Smiley I tried running some CC2 instances last night mining primecoin (about 8500 pps each) but even with 20 going, only found one block in a couple hours. Don't think I can break even with that, even with the spot price so low. I'd need a couple blocks per hour.

Still, Amazon is pretty amazing and I did finally learn about the @reboot date trick with crontab to make rolling out the auto-starting servers easier.

Edit: And actually, after this experiment, I rolled out some virtual Windows Server 2012 machines to run the ypool miner (about 20 val/h using latest client they provide) but that's way below break even, sadly.
blackboy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 16



View Profile WWW
August 02, 2013, 08:05:13 PM
 #1493

You build once and clone 499 times. Pretty simple actually.

Then you put a script on each server that makes it mine automatically.

I didn't get the 35K right away, I just took some of the money I was making while mining. I starting mining with 500 Amazon EC2 instances when diff was about 8, and then took the winnings to double down on dedicated servers with opteron processors (that perform about 20x better).

So Amazon practically financed my server farm.

I use EC2 for my TRC pool, and other Amazon goodies like SQS/SMS etc. Wish I'd known about Primecoin a bit sooner. Smiley I tried running some CC2 instances last night mining primecoin (about 8500 pps each) but even with 20 going, only found one block in a couple hours. Don't think I can break even with that, even with the spot price so low. I'd need a couple blocks per hour.

Still, Amazon is pretty amazing and I did finally learn about the @reboot date trick with crontab to make rolling out the auto-starting servers easier.

Edit: And actually, after this experiment, I rolled out some virtual Windows Server 2012 machines to run the ypool miner (about 20 val/h using latest client they provide) but that's way below break even, sadly.

Send a message to gigawatt. He's got some cool settings to optimize EC2 instances.

Resistance is futile. Embrace cryptocurrencies.
gigawatt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 08:40:22 PM
 #1494


Send a message to gigawatt. He's got some cool settings to optimize EC2 instances.

You say that, but it's more of a setup script.  It's in my signature if anybody is interested.
I'll probably post an update in a bit.

BTC: 1E2egHUcLDAmcxcqZqpL18TPLx9Xj1akcV   Ψ: AWHJbwoM67Ez12SHH4pH5DnJKPoMSdvLz2   Primecoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Quarkcoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Metiscoin VPS Pool Mining Script
teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 252


555


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2013, 09:52:12 PM
 #1495

Sounds like somebody needs to make a swapfile.

This reminds me of building bitcoind on ARM machines with 128 MB of RAM. These days primecoind compiles and runs fine on a 256 MB Buffalo Linkstation. Of course, ccache and distcc help a lot.

OT: It's nice that cryptocurrencies make people learn unix, but I wonder if there should be separate threads/FAQs about these. After all, the same issues seem to come up every time a new coin is released...

world famous math art | masternodes are bad, mmmkay?
Every sha(sha(sha(sha()))), every ho-o-o-old, still shines
matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1025


cryptoscaper.com


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2013, 11:09:41 PM
 #1496

Yes obviously you can no longer break even with VPS, it was only the case when the difficulty was not catching up. But it's actually a good thing for individual miners that are pooling and who now get the full pie, although only tiny slices.

Cryptoscaper · Live cryptocurrency market data
altsay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 03, 2013, 07:51:20 AM
 #1497

It's much better to trade than mining now. Both VPS and rig owners barely break even if they're lucky enough.
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 03, 2013, 09:13:51 AM
 #1498

Version 0.1.2-hp9 is finally out! (Download links are on the first page as usual.)

Here's the list of notable changes:
 * Sunny's mining optimizations from 0.1.2.
 * Minor mining optimizations from mtrlt and gatra.
 * Small sieve optimizations for 32-bit processors.
 * Sunny's new chains/day estimate.
 * Sunny's new 'listprimerecords' RPC command.
 * New default value for roundsievepercentage is 70 on mainnet (better chains/day, equal 5-chains/h).

This release should hopefully provide big performance improvements on mainnet. I don't have the resources to confirm the block rate on mainnet but I have done extensive testing on testnet. The new chains/day estimate is not very accurate currently. Therefore it should not be used to estimate mining profitability etc. but it should be useful for finding better mining settings. Currently the estimate is about 20% bigger than the observed chain rate on testnet. The difference may be even greater on mainnet.

I wrote a couple of posts about chains/day earlier:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=255782.msg2847844#msg2847844
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=255782.msg2848092#msg2848092
Kalshnikov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 03, 2013, 09:26:22 AM
 #1499

"primespersec" 12-15 times down?

G1610 - 1500 on hp8/ 116 on hp9?

Any comments?



{
"blocks" : 94903,
"chainspermin" : 0,
"chainsperday" : 0.05914120,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"difficulty" : 9.21033770,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"roundsievepercentage" : 70,
"primespersec" : 116,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"sievepercentage" : 10,
"sievesize" : 1000000,
"testnet" : false
}


mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 03, 2013, 09:40:45 AM
 #1500

"primespersec" 12-15 times down?

G1610 - 1500 on hp8/ 116 on hp9?

Any comments?

Yes, primes/sec is likely to go down with HP9. Sunny's optimizations and my new default settings actually reduce it. But as I have written before, primes/sec does not correlate with your mining performance. If you still want more primes/sec, you can add 'roundsievepercentage=30' to your config file.
Pages: « 1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 [75] 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 ... 131 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!