Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2018, 02:57:35 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 [89] 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 396549 times)
gigawatt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 12, 2013, 05:38:59 PM
 #1761

....

I've found that if you get a node with crap performance, you can destroy the node, get your account credited, then rebuild the node elsewhere.  In all, it costs ~$0.65 to destroy and rebuild, but getting 35% more performance is worth it.

Not bad at all ... the CPU is at least quite recent and it has loads of cache available, you should get around ~1.3 chains per day.

You'd think so.  As pointed out previously, the chains/day stat is for finding a chain with length equal to the integer part of the difficulty.  It'll be less than that once you take into consideration the fractional part.  (Please correct me if I'm wrong)

I do average about 0.90 to 1.00 chains/day metric on each of the nodes though.  Even if it's less than half of what's reported, as long as I hit ~2 blocks on each node, they pay for themselves.



As a side note, don't count on being able to use the CPU cache to full efficiency.  It is shared hardware after all. Wink

BTC: 1E2egHUcLDAmcxcqZqpL18TPLx9Xj1akcV   Ψ: AWHJbwoM67Ez12SHH4pH5DnJKPoMSdvLz2   Primecoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Quarkcoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Metiscoin VPS Pool Mining Script
1540090655
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540090655

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540090655
Reply with quote  #2

1540090655
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
gigawatt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 12, 2013, 05:59:22 PM
 #1762

A question for Sunny King or Mikaelh:

Does the round primorial have a direct or inverse affect on the likely length of a prime chain?
For example: will a larger round primorial result (on average) in longer or shorter prime chains?

BTC: 1E2egHUcLDAmcxcqZqpL18TPLx9Xj1akcV   Ψ: AWHJbwoM67Ez12SHH4pH5DnJKPoMSdvLz2   Primecoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Quarkcoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Metiscoin VPS Pool Mining Script
Tamis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 12, 2013, 07:24:49 PM
 #1763

The XPM is rising hard today Smiley

Probably due to less mining return !
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 13, 2013, 03:21:35 AM
 #1764

The XPM is rising hard today Smiley

Probably due to less mining return !

"I have to PAY for DigitalOcean now???!!!"

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
Tamis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 13, 2013, 11:14:28 AM
 #1765

DO only cost me money... never made an xpm on it, never tried to much either.
5 droplets is a joke with the cpu they offer !
Qantaqa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 13, 2013, 02:43:31 PM
 #1766

DO only cost me money... never made an xpm on it, never tried to much either.
5 droplets is a joke with the cpu they offer !

Was having the same issue with droplets, you wont make a penny on them anymore. I shared a post of a new VPS I am using now that is still on good earnings. With 1.6 chains a day it will even cover the time it costs: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=272755.0

I was getting somewhere between 0.1 and 0.2 chains on DO, so the difference is huge.

Qantaqa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 13, 2013, 02:52:08 PM
 #1767

Got myself a 20€/month dedicated server (not a wimpy virtual machine), already worth it. And I didn't get it for mining either, so doubly worth it?

A dedicated server for 20€ sounds nice for any purpose, might I ask where?
Lauda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1634


GUNBOT Licenses up to 50% OFF - 'GrumpyKitty'.


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2013, 03:46:34 PM
 #1768

Got myself a 20€/month dedicated server (not a wimpy virtual machine), already worth it. And I didn't get it for mining either, so doubly worth it?

A dedicated server for 20€ sounds nice for any purpose, might I ask where?
http://www.kimsufi.com/fr/

However I think their new policy is against resellers now, so it's likely going to be limited by where you live. Maybe
https://www.ovh.co.uk/dedicated_servers/kimsufi.xml or https://www.ovh.ie/dedicated_servers/kimsufi.xml
Nice
Website Y U NO in english?

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
gigawatt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 13, 2013, 04:25:31 PM
 #1769

Got myself a 20€/month dedicated server (not a wimpy virtual machine), already worth it. And I didn't get it for mining either, so doubly worth it?

A dedicated server for 20€ sounds nice for any purpose, might I ask where?
http://www.kimsufi.com/fr/

However I think their new policy is against resellers now, so it's likely going to be limited by where you live. Maybe
https://www.ovh.co.uk/dedicated_servers/kimsufi.xml or https://www.ovh.ie/dedicated_servers/kimsufi.xml
Nice
Website Y U NO in english?

Get Chrome, it'll offer to translate for you.

BTC: 1E2egHUcLDAmcxcqZqpL18TPLx9Xj1akcV   Ψ: AWHJbwoM67Ez12SHH4pH5DnJKPoMSdvLz2   Primecoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Quarkcoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Metiscoin VPS Pool Mining Script
bitwhizz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 13, 2013, 05:03:20 PM
 #1770

My wallet won't sync, i have done my research around a few sites and i'm aware of the config with nodes,

such as a previous user wrote on this thread

Use addnode to add alive nodes:

13:33:16 getpeerinfo

"addr" : "98.246.157.85:9911",
"addr" : "31.25.188.253:9911",
"addr" : "173.45.227.186:9911",
"addr" : "108.61.47.228:9911",
"addr" : "23.23.0.40:9911",
"addr" : "198.199.111.77:9911",
"addr" : "54.224.255.186:9911",
"addr" : "54.242.222.9:9911",

But what do i do with this, save it as what and where Huh?

ANy help would be apreciated greatly as i just want to get some prime coins as they are awesome, and store them safely

THanks
bitwhizz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 13, 2013, 05:23:23 PM
 #1771

My wallet won't sync, i have done my research around a few sites and i'm aware of the config with nodes,

such as a previous user wrote on this thread

Use addnode to add alive nodes:

13:33:16 getpeerinfo

"addr" : "98.246.157.85:9911",
"addr" : "31.25.188.253:9911",
"addr" : "173.45.227.186:9911",
"addr" : "108.61.47.228:9911",
"addr" : "23.23.0.40:9911",
"addr" : "198.199.111.77:9911",
"addr" : "54.224.255.186:9911",
"addr" : "54.242.222.9:9911",

But what do i do with this, save it as what and where Huh?

ANy help would be apreciated greatly as i just want to get some prime coins as they are awesome, and store them safely

THanks


Found the answer with some more research, posting for future reference if anyone else runs into the same problem



Here are some good nodes I've found. Go to your program files folder where primecoin-qt.exe is. Make a text file called primecoin.bat and paste this text in to it

primecoin-qt.exe -addnode=137.116.230.21 -addnode=94.23.215.174 -addnode=87.98.146.72

When you relaunch it should synchronize fairly quickly
k0vic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 13, 2013, 05:50:44 PM
 #1772

Check to make sure time is correct on your machine.

LTC- LKNm2UVuBgMLJNPU7pV5cgQnGx6PWGk7Ju
BTC- 1NHcECfk8oxJe83m9bPME2cdUCY72vuA2Y
bitwhizz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 13, 2013, 05:54:32 PM
 #1773

Right well i've done that step thinking it would work and made sense, opened up the prime coin.bat which had nodes in the txt  and it still wouldn't sync, my time is perfect, i've also tried deleting everything from roaming appdata , i've reinstalled primecoin qt three times, still cant find nodes or sync, this issue really needs to be sorted out by the developers as quite alot of people seem to come across this problem

Any suggestions as to what i should do ?
k0vic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 13, 2013, 05:57:17 PM
 #1774

Right well i've done that step thinking it would work and made sense, opened up the prime coin.bat and it still wouldn't sync, my time is perfect, i've also tried deleting everything from roaming appdata , i've reinstalled primecoin qt three times, still cant find nodes or sync, this issue really needs to be sorted out by the developers as quite alot of people seem to come across this problem

Any suggestions as to what i should do ?


I'm running this on 20-30 machines (windows) and the only time I had the issue was when I didn't have the nodes added or the time was off. So the issue was on my end.

LTC- LKNm2UVuBgMLJNPU7pV5cgQnGx6PWGk7Ju
BTC- 1NHcECfk8oxJe83m9bPME2cdUCY72vuA2Y
bitwhizz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 13, 2013, 06:23:25 PM
 #1775

Right well i've done that step thinking it would work and made sense, opened up the prime coin.bat and it still wouldn't sync, my time is perfect, i've also tried deleting everything from roaming appdata , i've reinstalled primecoin qt three times, still cant find nodes or sync, this issue really needs to be sorted out by the developers as quite alot of people seem to come across this problem

Any suggestions as to what i should do ?


I'm running this on 20-30 machines (windows) and the only time I had the issue was when I didn't have the nodes added or the time was off. So the issue was on my end.
well i'm truly happy for you, its really frustrating, i have now decided to just change computers which i shouldv've done many steps ago and its working  Grin
Stinky_Pete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 13, 2013, 08:03:24 PM
 #1776

this issue really needs to be sorted out by the developers as quite alot of people seem to come across this problem

Any suggestions as to what i should do ?

i have now decided to just change computers which i shouldv've done many steps ago and its working  Grin

I think an apology to the developers may be in order

Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 12:20:55 AM
 #1777

Right well i've done that step thinking it would work and made sense, opened up the prime coin.bat and it still wouldn't sync, my time is perfect, i've also tried deleting everything from roaming appdata , i've reinstalled primecoin qt three times, still cant find nodes or sync, this issue really needs to be sorted out by the developers as quite alot of people seem to come across this problem

Any suggestions as to what i should do ?


I'm running this on 20-30 machines (windows) and the only time I had the issue was when I didn't have the nodes added or the time was off. So the issue was on my end.
well i'm truly happy for you, its really frustrating, i have now decided to just change computers which i shouldv've done many steps ago and its working  Grin

Probably a firewall permission problem or misconfiguration. I note that on some windows installations it does not warn or prompt you that it has blocked primecoin exe and you must manually go and resolve the issue.

Because I operate several hosts that run primecoin, I find that this command works well when a new host has fresh primecoin install and needs to begin connecting to peers and sync:

Code:
addnode <local IP address of fully sync'd node> add

Then within a few seconds it can make its first node connection and then through that find more nodes.

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
k0vic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 12:43:14 AM
 #1778

Right well i've done that step thinking it would work and made sense, opened up the prime coin.bat and it still wouldn't sync, my time is perfect, i've also tried deleting everything from roaming appdata , i've reinstalled primecoin qt three times, still cant find nodes or sync, this issue really needs to be sorted out by the developers as quite alot of people seem to come across this problem

Any suggestions as to what i should do ?


I'm running this on 20-30 machines (windows) and the only time I had the issue was when I didn't have the nodes added or the time was off. So the issue was on my end.
well i'm truly happy for you, its really frustrating, i have now decided to just change computers which i shouldv've done many steps ago and its working  Grin

Happy that you took my hint and the issue was between the keyboard and your chair? Smiley

LTC- LKNm2UVuBgMLJNPU7pV5cgQnGx6PWGk7Ju
BTC- 1NHcECfk8oxJe83m9bPME2cdUCY72vuA2Y
Bunny84
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 08:59:27 AM
 #1779

Hi guys,

I've got a problem with hp9 (not sure if it occured with earlier version). I use primecoind on Windows Server 2008 launched as a service (indirectly) with an external program which does this. I use few VPS for mining purpose and it's sometimes on every of them that blocks stop downloading. When I type primecoind getmininginfo I can see the same number of blocks every time I check it and it's stuck. When it doesn't download blocks, the mining cannot run properly. Anyone encountered this and know how to solve?
TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
August 14, 2013, 09:11:37 AM
 #1780

Hi guys,

I've got a problem with hp9 (not sure if it occured with earlier version). I use primecoind on Windows Server 2008 launched as a service (indirectly) with an external program which does this. I use few VPS for mining purpose and it's sometimes on every of them that blocks stop downloading. When I type primecoind getmininginfo I can see the same number of blocks every time I check it and it's stuck. When it doesn't download blocks, the mining cannot run properly. Anyone encountered this and know how to solve?
How many connections? Sometimes it just hangs, especially on first run. Will happen with all daemons, though.
If you lose connections (can use "getpeerinfo" to see). If you have multiple vps's, you can add them as nodes to download from. i.e. "primecoind addnode 10.244.27.72 add"

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
Pages: « 1 ... 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 [89] 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!