Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2022, 02:38:39 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 397535 times)
FoldingTime
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 08:00:30 PM
 #1801

So what are some good VPS hosts that everyone is using?

We're at a point where all "good" vps providers are too expensive !

At least all I know of, dif is still going up even if really slowly so some must have found better farming place than I did...
The ones I have researched and used are now break even at best. Some others may have better luck or better deals. Buying old kit off EBay sounds a good idea from one of the other posters.
1656124719
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1656124719

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1656124719
Reply with quote  #2

1656124719
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1656124719
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1656124719

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1656124719
Reply with quote  #2

1656124719
Report to moderator
teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 252


555


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2013, 10:09:24 PM
 #1802

Hi, I am just starting to look at Primecoin and wanted to know if anyone has advise on which miner is best. After looking through the threads it seems there are two main options:

Holy Satoshi! I thought this thread was all about VPS providers, rather than the actual technology and the coin Wink Thanks for getting it back on track Smiley

world famous math art | masternodes are bad, mmmkay?
Every sha(sha(sha(sha()))), every ho-o-o-old, still shines
bcp19
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 17, 2013, 11:51:08 PM
 #1803

I have to admit I'm having mixed feelings about -hp9.  7 days ago I took my 2400 and 2500 out of ypool and started running -hp9.  The 2500 found a block that very day, I was happy.  Day 3 the 2500 found another one.  Day 6 and 7 it  also finds blocks.  The 2400 completely struck out and been switched back to ypool.  I estimate I was getting 5-7 XPM/day at ypool before I switched.  The 4 blocks plus 9xpm at ypool seems to indicate I did well, but that goosegg on the 2400 kind of rankles :/

I do not suffer fools gladly... "Captain!  We're surrounded!"
I embrace my inner Kool-Aid.
bcp19
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 18, 2013, 12:14:37 AM
 #1804

I have this on one VPS:

    "chainsperday" : 1.13775088,

Is that about 1 block a day?
I'm at .86 and found 4 blocks over 7 days.  Maybe in the long run, yes, but random still affects.

I do not suffer fools gladly... "Captain!  We're surrounded!"
I embrace my inner Kool-Aid.
bcp19
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 18, 2013, 12:25:09 AM
 #1805

I have this on one VPS:

    "chainsperday" : 1.13775088,

Is that about 1 block a day?
I'm at .86 and found 4 blocks over 7 days.  Maybe in the long run, yes, but random still affects.

Alright, thanks. I am still deciding to mine this or other alt coins w/ CPU power.  Roll Eyes
Personally I don't think the other CPU only coins are as profitable.  I could be wrong though.

I do not suffer fools gladly... "Captain!  We're surrounded!"
I embrace my inner Kool-Aid.
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 18, 2013, 03:01:32 AM
 #1806

I have this on one VPS:

    "chainsperday" : 1.13775088,

Is that about 1 block a day?

No, because the diff is ~9.75 now. The chainsperday refers only to the integer (9) difficulty not the fractional part (0.75)

So actually your chance of finding a block is closer to 0.3 per day, assuming no variance.


BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
samos123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 18, 2013, 03:07:44 AM
 #1807

With the fractional difficulty reaching a high level a useful optimization might be the "Sieve depth", represented as nBits in this line of code from prime.cpp

lpsieve = new CSieveOfEratosthenes(nSieveSize, nBits, mpzHash, mpzFixedMultiplier, pindexPrev);

Right now it it is searching for 9 chains, but increasingly these are going to be discarded because of the fraction test. It might be best to search for 10 chains now. I added a -h parameter to the pool miner as described below and it was quite effective at searching for the desired length of chain:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=257623.msg2820614#msg2820614

I propose -h 10 might be the best until the diff reaches 10.5 or so.

This chart also shows it being very difficult to find chains using the existing miners when the fractional part is high:
http://192.241.170.170/

I support this idea.  Although, to my knowledge all that will affect is the roundPrimorial which you can crank up by jacking with roundSievePercentage.

So should we make roundSievePercentage higher or lower, it's currently 70% at my configs. Does this also depend on what kind of CPU we're using?
hasle2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 18, 2013, 06:32:10 AM
 #1808

What are you guys doing to tune your AMD processors? I have an FX 8150 and only get around 0.45 chains/day on it running hp9. It also does about 1/2 of what a i7 3770 can do on jhPrimeminer.
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 19, 2013, 12:26:54 AM
 #1809

My client has developed a bug on one of my machines where for over 24 hours it just sat on one block using 100% CPU meanwhile the blockchain is actually more than 1000 blocks ahead.

The client has 8 active connections and so it seems it is not a connectivity issue.

EDIT: 29 hours it seems, based on how much the restarted client must catch up. That agrees with the end of the debug log where it stops reporting mining stats at a few minutes after midnight when I was asleep:

Code:
2013-08-19 00:24:44 primemeter   4005206 prime/h  69499048 test/h  660 5-chains/h 0.671895 chain/d
2013-08-19 00:25:44 primemeter   3893025 prime/h  68190130 test/h  240 5-chains/h 0.658989 chain/d
2013-08-19 00:26:44 primemeter   3964314 prime/h  69105828 test/h  480 5-chains/h 0.669175 chain/d
dumpaddr thread stop
msghand thread interrupt
addcon thread interrupt
opencon thread interrupt
net thread interrupt
Flush(false)
DBFlush(false) ended               0ms
StopNode()
PrimecoinMiner terminated
keypool return 15
PrimecoinMiner terminated
keypool return 14
PrimecoinMiner terminated
PrimecoinMiner terminated
keypool return 17
keypool return 12
Flushed 11181 addresses to peers.dat  164ms
Committing 3 changed transactions to coin database...
Flush(true)
wallet.dat refcount=0
wallet.dat checkpoint
wallet.dat detach
wallet.dat closed
DBFlush(true) ended              94ms


BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
hasle2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 19, 2013, 04:40:19 AM
 #1810

Hmm the difficulty has been rising pretty sharply for the last 20 hours or so:

http://192.241.170.170/

The site is slow to load sorry, I have not had the time to do ajax data loading. It is updated every 10 mins however.

Any speculations on what might be going on?

I could also still use some advice on how to tune my FX 8150 too Wink I've tried using -O3 and -march=native but am still only getting 0.45 chains Sad

maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 19, 2013, 04:52:19 AM
 #1811

Hmm the difficulty has been rising pretty sharply for the last 20 hours or so:

Yes, I am noticing earning shares coming in less than what it was 24 hours ago.

It was 10.50/XPM per block, and now its much less than that.
vinne81
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 19, 2013, 05:51:34 AM
 #1812

Any speculations on what might be going on?

Errr. I guess more people mining  Grin
vinne81
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 19, 2013, 05:51:52 AM
 #1813

Hmm the difficulty has been rising pretty sharply for the last 20 hours or so:

Yes, I am noticing earning shares coming in less than what it was 24 hours ago.

It was 10.50/XPM per block, and now its much less than that.

Isn't it still 10.47 or so?
masterOfDisaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 321
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 19, 2013, 06:04:13 AM
 #1814


Isn't it still 10.47 or so?

The last block reward I got was 10.47. With the current difficulty of 9.76620036 (block 123751) one should get 10.47 XPM reward. But maybe I'm on a wrong chain - with all my miners... Wink
Btw blockhash for "my" block 123751 is 103c5b2d0c5b3fd3531b662d17460e4b5832f56af74003b981c24be1d86d56b8
Is that the same for anyone else?
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 19, 2013, 08:01:49 AM
 #1815

Hmm the difficulty has been rising pretty sharply for the last 20 hours or so:

http://192.241.170.170/

The site is slow to load sorry, I have not had the time to do ajax data loading. It is updated every 10 mins however.

Any speculations on what might be going on?

I could also still use some advice on how to tune my FX 8150 too Wink I've tried using -O3 and -march=native but am still only getting 0.45 chains Sad



I am not sure what you are on about, your chart indicates that over roughly the last 7 days difficulty has risen by ~0.03 difficulty. This agrees with what I have been seeing on my miners this last week with getmininginfo.

I have mined on a variety of AMD and Intel CPU now and in conclusion the way to 'tune' your CPU is to buy a faster one. The only way you could have 'detuned' your CPU is if you installed a 32-bit OS on a 64-bit CPU or if its reducing its own clocks because it is detecting that its temperatures have reached a thermal protection threshold. I have a laptop that will do this (i5) and it will never go its highest multiplier. It just adjusts itself to be around 80 deg C. The maximum Tcase temperature according to intel is 105 deg C though.

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
crendore
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 19, 2013, 10:40:45 AM
 #1816

Hmm the difficulty has been rising pretty sharply for the last 20 hours or so:

http://192.241.170.170/

The site is slow to load sorry, I have not had the time to do ajax data loading. It is updated every 10 mins however.

Any speculations on what might be going on?

I could also still use some advice on how to tune my FX 8150 too Wink I've tried using -O3 and -march=native but am still only getting 0.45 chains Sad



I am not sure what you are on about, your chart indicates that over roughly the last 7 days difficulty has risen by ~0.03 difficulty. This agrees with what I have been seeing on my miners this last week with getmininginfo.

I have mined on a variety of AMD and Intel CPU now and in conclusion the way to 'tune' your CPU is to buy a faster one. The only way you could have 'detuned' your CPU is if you installed a 32-bit OS on a 64-bit CPU or if its reducing its own clocks because it is detecting that its temperatures have reached a thermal protection threshold. I have a laptop that will do this (i5) and it will never go its highest multiplier. It just adjusts itself to be around 80 deg C. The maximum Tcase temperature according to intel is 105 deg C though.

If you zoom in more you can see the blip he is talking about.

Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 19, 2013, 11:39:12 AM
 #1817

Hmm the difficulty has been rising pretty sharply for the last 20 hours or so:

http://192.241.170.170/

The site is slow to load sorry, I have not had the time to do ajax data loading. It is updated every 10 mins however.

Any speculations on what might be going on?

I could also still use some advice on how to tune my FX 8150 too Wink I've tried using -O3 and -march=native but am still only getting 0.45 chains Sad



I am not sure what you are on about, your chart indicates that over roughly the last 7 days difficulty has risen by ~0.03 difficulty. This agrees with what I have been seeing on my miners this last week with getmininginfo.

I have mined on a variety of AMD and Intel CPU now and in conclusion the way to 'tune' your CPU is to buy a faster one. The only way you could have 'detuned' your CPU is if you installed a 32-bit OS on a 64-bit CPU or if its reducing its own clocks because it is detecting that its temperatures have reached a thermal protection threshold. I have a laptop that will do this (i5) and it will never go its highest multiplier. It just adjusts itself to be around 80 deg C. The maximum Tcase temperature according to intel is 105 deg C though.

If you zoom in more you can see the blip he is talking about.

All I see is the occasional aberration where there is a sharp fall and rise. This is probably only a few data points (minutes) due to the way the network diff adjusts itself or some other insignificant anomaly.

I do not see any sharp rises, in fact if you keep an eye on the diff axis as you continuously zoom out you can see that diff is now rising slower within the last 24 hours than it has been during the last days.

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
crendore
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 19, 2013, 11:57:47 AM
 #1818

I am not making his argument, but i see what he is talking about. see my crudely drawn best fit line.

bcp19
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 19, 2013, 12:04:34 PM
 #1819

If you consider for that for 4 days difficulty hovered arouns 9.75 and is now approaching 9.77 it can be considered a spike.  Unlike BTC where you are going 50mil... 50mil... 50mil... 50mil... 67MIL!!!, this is constantly changing.  Since the schema of this coin is slow to react, a rise like this is very indicative of a spike in mining.  I could be wrong, but I could swear I remember Sunny saying something that made me think this is almost but not quite a logarithmic progression.

I do not suffer fools gladly... "Captain!  We're surrounded!"
I embrace my inner Kool-Aid.
crendore
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 19, 2013, 01:18:49 PM
 #1820

Just read in mcxnow chat that someone has a working GPU miner they coded themselves.  They claim to have earned nearly 300,000 XPM with their 25 x 7950s.  And they also claim to have sold 150,000 of that over the past few days, which would explain the dip in price recently.

Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!