Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2018, 09:46:17 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 »
  Print  
Author Topic: The big VTC Vertcoin settings thread  (Read 263607 times)
financial_analyst
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 03, 2014, 09:43:58 PM
 #201

I added +4 GB of RAM and I can mine. However, in a rig of 1 7950 and 1 280x, only the 280x is working properly with 290kh/s. The other one gets 7-8 kh/s. Any ideas?
1542447977
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542447977

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542447977
Reply with quote  #2

1542447977
Report to moderator
1542447977
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542447977

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542447977
Reply with quote  #2

1542447977
Report to moderator
1542447977
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542447977

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542447977
Reply with quote  #2

1542447977
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542447977
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542447977

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542447977
Reply with quote  #2

1542447977
Report to moderator
mjb504
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 12:20:01 AM
 #202

I added +4 GB of RAM and I can mine. However, in a rig of 1 7950 and 1 280x, only the 280x is working properly with 290kh/s. The other one gets 7-8 kh/s. Any ideas?

Sounds like you need different settings.  in particular it probably isn't handling two threads well.  Can you put it into a different rig?
glerant
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535
Merit: 315



View Profile
February 04, 2014, 12:22:51 AM
 #203

Has anyone checked out Vertcoin price;

Solid rocket boosters AND main engines are definitely throttled up  Grin

mjb504
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 12:27:13 AM
 #204

Anyone running vertminer 0.5.3 on BAMT?

I got the latest version from GitHub and installed it with these instructions:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=404364.msg4668635#msg4668635

It works, but seems I can't change GPU settings. Not from thecgminer.conf, not from the command line, not from the vertminer. Also, I can't see the card temps at all. The web monitor shows the temps just fine though on http://myip/cgi-bin/status.pl

Even the ./vertminer --help shows only these gpu options, so I suppose the rest are actually missing?
--disable-gpu|-G    Disable GPU mining even if suitable devices exist
--gpu-dyninterval <arg> Set the refresh interval in ms for GPUs using dynamic intensity (default: 7)
--gpu-platform <arg> Select OpenCL platform ID to use for GPU mining (default: -1)
--gpu-threads|-g <arg> Number of threads per GPU (1 - 10) (default: -1)
--lookup-gap <arg>  Set GPU lookup gap for scrypt mining, comma separated
--intensity|-I <arg> Intensity of GPU scanning (d or -10 -> 21,default: d to maintain desktop interactivity)

The only way to change core/mem is to set new defaults in gpu bios and flash the card with that. Which is a bit annoying when searching for the best values.. Undecided

Had this same problem two different times (two weeks apart so I forgot the solution) - be sure to run ./buildit.sh and NOT sudo ./buildit.sh. running as superuser seems to break the Open-GL / ADL stuff from what I can tell (assuming you copied the ADL_SDK .h files into the appropriate folder?)

I managed to make it myself. If you want to build it on BAMT it's quite easy:

1 - Open Root Terminal (or Run LXTERMINAL)
2 - Type: cd ~/Downloads/ *(if this folder does not exist, "type: mkdir ~/Downloads/" then type cd ~/Downloads/)
3 - Type: git clone https://github.com/Bufius/vertminer-gpu
4 - Wait for it to clone the GIT for vertminer
5 - Type: cp /opt/miners/cgminer/ADL_SDK/* ~/Downloads/vertminer-gpu/ADL_SDK/
6 - Type: cd vertminer-gpu
7 - Type: ./builtit.sh

You've succesfully built/compiled vertminer-gpu and now you need to set up a .sh (shell) that starts vertminer with your config of choice.

1 - Still in the Terminal window, Type: cd /home/user/Desktop
2 - Now type: nano start.sh and enter the following code:
Code:
export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100 #if you mine with 280x or 7970, set this to 200
export CGMINER_BIN=/root/Downloads/vertminer-gpu/vertminer
$CGMINER_BIN --scrypt-vert \
--config "/home/user/Desktop/config.conf \

3 - press CTRL + O (Write Out to file) - Save it as start.sh - then press CTRL + X
4 - Type: chmod +x start.sh
5 - Now type: nano config.conf and enter the following code:
Code:
{
"pools" : [
    {
        "url" : "stratum+tcp://yourpool.org:3333",
        "user" : "yourusername",
        "pass" : "yourpassword"
    },
],
"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : false,
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "80",
"gpu-fan" : "0-100",
"intensity" : "SET PREFERRED INTENSITY",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "256",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"thread-concurrency" : "SET YOUR TC HERE",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "60",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "SET YOUR THREADS HERE",
"gpu-engine" : "SET YOUR CLOCK HERE",
"gpu-memclock" : "SET YOUR CLOCK HERE",
"gpu-powertune" : "20",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"no-submit-stale" : true,
"queue" : "9",
"scan-time" : "30",
"scrypt" : true,
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
6 - CTRL + O and save it as config.conf - then press CTRL + X
7 - Type: screen and hit space
8 - Type: ./start.sh and this will launch vertminer-gpu with your config, and voila!

If you ever need to edit your config, open it with leafpad or edit with nano (i.e: nano /home/user/Desktop/config.conf)

Need help? Ask me. Want to throw some VTC to me? Vga61x3oxTV5CQDtqSW1KVdWjZnFeh3zJ9

The other thing I would do on BAMT is as follows:

Code:
mv /opt/miners/cgminer /opt/miners/cgminer-current
mkdir /opt/miners/cgminer
cp -R /home/user/vertminer-gpu/* /opt/miners/cgminer/
ln -s /opt/miners/cgminer/vertminer /opt/miners/cgminer/cgminer
cp /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf.SCRYPT
Then put your config file into /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf

This will then start and stop with the usual BAMT commands, and a 'service mine start' or 'service mine stop' works.  Haven't got it working with the stats page correctly yet though, or through mgpumon.
Scorg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 01:28:45 AM
 #205

My r9  270 OC settings: -I 12 -w 256 -g 2 -v 1 --thread-concurrency 4448 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-engine 1086 --gpu-memclock 1499

Hurrah!
Have given this a go and no HW Errors.
Although i12 is the limit, but getting around 170kh from the 7850 (gpu = 1000 mem 1250)
mrbrdo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 143
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 03:51:24 AM
 #206

My sapphire 7950 on a computer with 4gb ddr2 cannot go past -i 13 without getting hardware errors, I've tried thread-concurrencies for hours. Currently it's only doing 160kh/s

Yes! Same problem here, what the hell is this.. Anything over 13 gives me loads of HW errors on Sapphire 7950 Boost.

iOS/Android app for miners - Altcoin Monitor - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=419844.msg4927994
Rig management software - FarmCP - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=439402.msg4827394
normandy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 05:00:09 AM
 #207

My sapphire 7950 on a computer with 4gb ddr2 cannot go past -i 13 without getting hardware errors, I've tried thread-concurrencies for hours. Currently it's only doing 160kh/s

Yes! Same problem here, what the hell is this.. Anything over 13 gives me loads of HW errors on Sapphire 7950 Boost.

need 8G ram
genba
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 07:12:34 AM
 #208

my 280xs, which usually get 741kh/s @ 80ºc are getting 234kh/s @ 73ºc, although i saw the one cardjump to 290kh/s @ 76ºc. had to drop tc to 4096 and i to 12 to avoid tons of hw. i could probably tinker with them more, but i think i'll leave them be for now. been pushin them at 80ºc nearly nonstop for a while.
Munkee915
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 07:24:47 AM
 #209

I have 2 sapphire 7970s i get 750khs each mining doge.  First i tried using the same settings i used for doge mining on the vert modified cgminer:

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1

Set PARAM0=--scrypt -I 13 --worksize 256 --thread-concurrency 8192 --no-submit-stale
Set PARAM1=--lookup-gap 2 --gpu-threads 2
Set PARAM2=--gpu-engine 1080 --gpu-memclock 1496 --gpu-vddc 1.100 --gpu-powertune 20
Set PARAM3=-o  stratum+tcp://stratum.vertco.in:8080 -u x.x -p x
cgminer %PARAM0% %PARAM1% %PARAM2% %PARAM3%
 
with this i get 275 khs on gpu 1 and 14 khs on gpu 2

I tried this from earlier in this thread:

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1

cgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://stratum.vertco.in:8080 -u x.x -p x --gpu-platform 0 -w 256 -v 1 -I 13 -g 2 -l 1 -T --thread-concurrency 8192

I get an error that all devices are disabled and i cant mine

I found these settings as well and tried them w/ vert miner:

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1

vertminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.vertco.in:8080 -u x.x -p x --scrypt-vert --intensity 13 --worksize 256 --gpu-threads 2 --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --temp-target 75 --gpu-fan 35-95 --auto-fan --gpu-engine 1050 --gpu-memclock 1470 --gpu-vddc 1.081

Like this i'm back to 260khs and 14 khs.  What am i doing wrong?
Munkee915
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 07:37:02 AM
 #210

welp nevermind.  restarted my miner and used vertminer with:

vertminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.vertco.in:8080 -u x.x -p x --scrypt-vert --intensity 13 --worksize 256 --gpu-threads 2 --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --temp-target 75 --gpu-fan 35-95 --auto-fan --gpu-engine 1050 --gpu-memclock 1470 --gpu-vddc 1.081

and now im getting 315 and 285 on each gpu.  When in doubt, reboot.

Further update, changed clocks to gpu 1000 and mem 1640 and now pulling about 350 khs per card.  These are sapphire vapor-x 7970 ghz flashed w/ dual-x bios.
daynomate
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 11:17:29 AM
 #211

Anyone running vertminer 0.5.3 on BAMT?

I got the latest version from GitHub and installed it with these instructions:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=404364.msg4668635#msg4668635

It works, but seems I can't change GPU settings. Not from thecgminer.conf, not from the command line, not from the vertminer. Also, I can't see the card temps at all. The web monitor shows the temps just fine though on http://myip/cgi-bin/status.pl

Even the ./vertminer --help shows only these gpu options, so I suppose the rest are actually missing?
--disable-gpu|-G    Disable GPU mining even if suitable devices exist
--gpu-dyninterval <arg> Set the refresh interval in ms for GPUs using dynamic intensity (default: 7)
--gpu-platform <arg> Select OpenCL platform ID to use for GPU mining (default: -1)
--gpu-threads|-g <arg> Number of threads per GPU (1 - 10) (default: -1)
--lookup-gap <arg>  Set GPU lookup gap for scrypt mining, comma separated
--intensity|-I <arg> Intensity of GPU scanning (d or -10 -> 21,default: d to maintain desktop interactivity)

The only way to change core/mem is to set new defaults in gpu bios and flash the card with that. Which is a bit annoying when searching for the best values.. Undecided

Had this same problem two different times (two weeks apart so I forgot the solution) - be sure to run ./buildit.sh and NOT sudo ./buildit.sh. running as superuser seems to break the Open-GL / ADL stuff from what I can tell (assuming you copied the ADL_SDK .h files into the appropriate folder?)

I managed to make it myself. If you want to build it on BAMT it's quite easy:

1 - Open Root Terminal (or Run LXTERMINAL)
2 - Type: cd ~/Downloads/ *(if this folder does not exist, "type: mkdir ~/Downloads/" then type cd ~/Downloads/)
3 - Type: git clone https://github.com/Bufius/vertminer-gpu
4 - Wait for it to clone the GIT for vertminer
5 - Type: cp /opt/miners/cgminer/ADL_SDK/* ~/Downloads/vertminer-gpu/ADL_SDK/
6 - Type: cd vertminer-gpu
7 - Type: ./builtit.sh

You've succesfully built/compiled vertminer-gpu and now you need to set up a .sh (shell) that starts vertminer with your config of choice.

1 - Still in the Terminal window, Type: cd /home/user/Desktop
2 - Now type: nano start.sh and enter the following code:
Code:
export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100 #if you mine with 280x or 7970, set this to 200
export CGMINER_BIN=/root/Downloads/vertminer-gpu/vertminer
$CGMINER_BIN --scrypt-vert \
--config "/home/user/Desktop/config.conf \

3 - press CTRL + O (Write Out to file) - Save it as start.sh - then press CTRL + X
4 - Type: chmod +x start.sh
5 - Now type: nano config.conf and enter the following code:
Code:
{
"pools" : [
    {
        "url" : "stratum+tcp://yourpool.org:3333",
        "user" : "yourusername",
        "pass" : "yourpassword"
    },
],
"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : false,
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "80",
"gpu-fan" : "0-100",
"intensity" : "SET PREFERRED INTENSITY",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "256",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"thread-concurrency" : "SET YOUR TC HERE",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "60",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "SET YOUR THREADS HERE",
"gpu-engine" : "SET YOUR CLOCK HERE",
"gpu-memclock" : "SET YOUR CLOCK HERE",
"gpu-powertune" : "20",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"no-submit-stale" : true,
"queue" : "9",
"scan-time" : "30",
"scrypt" : true,
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
6 - CTRL + O and save it as config.conf - then press CTRL + X
7 - Type: screen and hit space
8 - Type: ./start.sh and this will launch vertminer-gpu with your config, and voila!

If you ever need to edit your config, open it with leafpad or edit with nano (i.e: nano /home/user/Desktop/config.conf)

Need help? Ask me. Want to throw some VTC to me? Vga61x3oxTV5CQDtqSW1KVdWjZnFeh3zJ9

The other thing I would do on BAMT is as follows:

Code:
mv /opt/miners/cgminer /opt/miners/cgminer-current
mkdir /opt/miners/cgminer
cp -R /home/user/vertminer-gpu/* /opt/miners/cgminer/
ln -s /opt/miners/cgminer/vertminer /opt/miners/cgminer/cgminer
cp /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf.SCRYPT
Then put your config file into /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf

This will then start and stop with the usual BAMT commands, and a 'service mine start' or 'service mine stop' works.  Haven't got it working with the stats page correctly yet though, or through mgpumon.

Hi thanks for the tutorial, but I couldn't get it to work:

Code:
root@bamt-miner:/tmp/vertminer-gpu# ./builtit.sh
bash: ./builtit.sh: No such file or directory

I used /tmp instead of downloads but that shouldn't make any diff right?

Maybe it's because i'm using Litecoin BAMT 1.3 and not the normal BAMT
mrbrdo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 143
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 11:42:11 AM
 #212

My sapphire 7950 on a computer with 4gb ddr2 cannot go past -i 13 without getting hardware errors, I've tried thread-concurrencies for hours. Currently it's only doing 160kh/s

Yes! Same problem here, what the hell is this.. Anything over 13 gives me loads of HW errors on Sapphire 7950 Boost.

need 8G ram
You are wrong. I have another rig with 4x 280X, 4 GB RAM, and it works fine. This one was just 2x 7950 and 4 GB RAM, and had the issue.

The solution is to run these cards with gpu-threads 2 and intensity 13. Getting stable 300 KH/s per card and no errors.

iOS/Android app for miners - Altcoin Monitor - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=419844.msg4927994
Rig management software - FarmCP - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=439402.msg4827394
mrbrdo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 143
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 12:17:03 PM
 #213

Code:
root@bamt-miner:/tmp/vertminer-gpu# ./builtit.sh
bash: ./builtit.sh: No such file or directory
I used /tmp instead of downloads but that shouldn't make any diff right?

Maybe it's because i'm using Litecoin BAMT 1.3 and not the normal BAMT
Try to read this pages:
http://www.spellzone.com/unit02/page1.cfm
http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/build

iOS/Android app for miners - Altcoin Monitor - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=419844.msg4927994
Rig management software - FarmCP - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=439402.msg4827394
DieJohnny
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 12:20:13 PM
 #214


R9 290:


"gpu-engine" : "1000",
"gpu-memclock" : "1500",
"gpu-powertune" : "20",
"intensity" : "13",
"temp-overheat" : "80",
"temp-cutoff" : "85",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "512",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"thread-concurrency" : "24550"

have a sapphire 290x and anything higher than 8166 thread-concurrency gives me an out of memory error.

running 6 GB of ram on my PC and no other miner running.

the most I can get out of this 290x is 80 khs running intensity 18 with thread-concurrency 8166.

I am a total novice miner so any help appreciated.....

Those who hold and those who are without property have ever formed distinct interests in society
Maseo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 12:24:33 PM
 #215

Code:
root@bamt-miner:/tmp/vertminer-gpu# ./builtit.sh
bash: ./builtit.sh: No such file or directory
I used /tmp instead of downloads but that shouldn't make any diff right?

Maybe it's because i'm using Litecoin BAMT 1.3 and not the normal BAMT
Try to read this pages:
http://www.spellzone.com/unit02/page1.cfm
http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/build

yeah that was my mistake, typo on my end. Smiley
treative
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 12:40:18 PM
 #216

My sapphire 7950 on a computer with 4gb ddr2 cannot go past -i 13 without getting hardware errors, I've tried thread-concurrencies for hours. Currently it's only doing 160kh/s

Yes! Same problem here, what the hell is this.. Anything over 13 gives me loads of HW errors on Sapphire 7950 Boost.

need 8G ram
You are wrong. I have another rig with 4x 280X, 4 GB RAM, and it works fine. This one was just 2x 7950 and 4 GB RAM, and had the issue.

The solution is to run these cards with gpu-threads 2 and intensity 13. Getting stable 300 KH/s per card and no errors.

He's not wrong, 7950's need high TCC's to perform well. High TCC's need more RAM. 8GB recommended. You can't compare to 280x's because they work on 2 threads with low TCC's.
CoinBuzz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 04, 2014, 12:55:10 PM
 #217

I Could solve the HW errors with running these two settings before run the vertminer. other things are normal and i did not specify thread concurrency at all !

export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100
export DISPLAY=:0


Currently my R9 280x giving 303KH/s, 7950 Dual-x at 256 and 7950 Reference at 253.

Maseo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 12:57:12 PM
 #218

set GPU_MAX_ALLOX to 200 when using 280x or7970's Smiley
oudekaas
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 263
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
February 04, 2014, 01:41:33 PM
 #219

hi i am mining this for a bit, what can I earn per Mhs? is there a calculator somewhere? Is mining with a 4720 i7 processor worth the hassle?

▂▂ ▃▃ ▅ ▆ ▇ █ TeraWATT █ ▇ ▆ ▅ ▃▃ ▂▂
≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒
WEBSITE』『WHITEPAPER
Global LED Adoption Through Blockchain Technology
≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒『ICO IS LIVE』≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒
≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒≒
TWITTER』『TELEGRAM

CoinBuzz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 04, 2014, 01:46:31 PM
 #220

Now my problem is, vertminer is not showing GPU temperatures.

What should i do?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!