Bitcoin Forum
July 05, 2015, 05:30:56 PM *
News: ♦♦♦ If you are using any wallet other than Bitcoin Core 0.10.x or 0.9.5, then you should not trust incoming transactions until they have ~30 confirmations. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 ... 137 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Litecoin - a lite version of Bitcoin. Launched!  (Read 607500 times)
grod
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile

Ignore
October 17, 2011, 02:20:03 AM
 #681

LTC prices are insanely high given the current difficulty.  We could use fewer people throwing money at it and more people throwing CPU at it.  This is the most promising CPU backed chain, it's a bit too early to have the speculators running things.

What this means: if you're long TBX or SC you may consider mining LTC, shorting LTC to prop up your favorite currency.  Because of no scamtastic premine there's not enough supply to satisfy LTC demand and prices being bid are completely nutball.  We got a day 1 bubble, in other words.


1436117456
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1436117456

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1436117456
Reply with quote  #2

1436117456
Report to moderator
CEX.IO Buy & Sell Bitcoins like a Pro Easy deposits with credit card Now available in USA
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1436117456
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1436117456

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1436117456
Reply with quote  #2

1436117456
Report to moderator
1436117456
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1436117456

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1436117456
Reply with quote  #2

1436117456
Report to moderator
BitcoinPorn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


Posts: 69


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 17, 2011, 04:36:21 AM
 #682

Another new pool I did not see posted, the user will make his own announce thread I'm sure, so will just post the link here for you guys plus his pretty amusing post.

stupid newbi section let me out please running http://pool-x.it.cx

To be a newbie again lol

http://pool-x.it.cx/about.php

Quote
this pool is mining litecoin

pool is 0% fees and transactions "withdrawels" are paid by pool

payout system is PPLNS - Pay Per Last N Shares. Similar to proportional, but instead of looking at the number of shares in the round,
instead looks at the last N/250,000 shares, regardless of round boundaries.

resulting in much more even payout on small aswell as on big blocks for all users

contact:
irc: g2x3k [at] Freenode iRC #litecoin or #pool-x
skype: add ag2x3k


Pool server specs:
AMD Phenom II 940 4x3ghz
3072 MB DDR2 Corsair Dominator
OCZ-Vertex 30GB SSD (AHCI/direct-access)
more info

pennytrader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253


View Profile

Ignore
October 17, 2011, 06:16:43 AM
 #683

ozco.in is a great pool. I like it.

please donate to 1P3m2resGCP2o2sFX324DP1mfqHgGPA8BL
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 17, 2011, 08:05:58 AM
 #684

I would keep the Litecoins like the Bitcoins, mined and keep, never sell.

coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 17, 2011, 08:44:13 AM
 #685

Thanks everyone for being so supportive of Litecoins!

I said this in the first post last week:
Yes, it is true that without a stash of premined coins, we will not be able to afford to pay for bounties, but we believe people will see the virtue of this coin, invest in it as early adopters, and will be willing to spend time creating services to make this coin better.

I'm pleasantly surprised that this has already come true in the first week! We now already have:
 - a nice homepage (thanks to terrytibbs): http://litecoin.org
 - 3 pools (that I know of): http://litecoinpool.dyndns.org/ https://lc.ozco.in/ http://pool-x.it.cx/
 - an exchange (with another coming soon): https://btc-e.com/exchange/ltc_btc
 - a block explorer: http://blockexplorer.sytes.net/chain/Litecoin
 - some kick ass graphs: http://litecoin.kicks-ass.org/graphs/graphs.html
 - a Litecoin lottery site: https://btclot.com/ltc/

All this, and I didn't have to pay a single bounty!


Party Hard
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile

Ignore
October 17, 2011, 12:29:18 PM
 #686

Thanks everyone for being so supportive of Litecoins!
I'm pleasantly surprised that this has already come true in the first week! We now already have:
 - a nice homepage (thanks to terrytibbs): http://litecoin.org
 - 3 pools (that I know of): http://litecoinpool.dyndns.org/ https://lc.ozco.in/ http://pool-x.it.cx/
 - an exchange (with another coming soon): https://btc-e.com/exchange/ltc_btc
 - a block explorer: http://blockexplorer.sytes.net/chain/Litecoin
 - some kick ass graphs: http://litecoin.kicks-ass.org/graphs/graphs.html
 - a Litecoin lottery site: https://btclot.com/ltc/

All this, and I didn't have to pay a single bounty!

Rock on Coblee! Hey, are you thinking of starting a pool? I'd think about join yours. The ones available now are OK, but still lacking - probably just too new for all the features.

Ladies ladies, one at a time.
michaelmclees
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 620


View Profile

Ignore
October 17, 2011, 12:54:24 PM
 #687



All this, and I didn't have to pay a single bounty!



Of course you didn't have to pay a bounty!  Get people motivated about the coin and they'll contribute to it for free; premine it for all its worth and everyone will have their hand out.
BitcoinPorn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


Posts: 69


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 17, 2011, 07:00:46 PM
 #688

Quote
So NOW we know why everyone is selling their BTC -- to buy LTC.

http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/lf205/litecoin_ltc_cpu_based_mining_pools_exchanges/

ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


Drama Junkie


View Profile

Ignore
October 17, 2011, 07:06:18 PM
 #689

Quote
So NOW we know why everyone is selling their BTC -- to buy LTC.

http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/lf205/litecoin_ltc_cpu_based_mining_pools_exchanges/
Well not yet, couple of guys are busy on the BTC-E exchange spreading LTC FUD. (Well sort of)

If I knew this was happening I wouldn't have gone in so soon but no way I'm gonna sell them @this price if all fails I'll keep them till hell freezes over  Roll Eyes

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile

Ignore
October 17, 2011, 09:13:44 PM
 #690

Anyone having trouble with the daemon stopping?
I run a few of them at home so I can look at the block-chains - which also means I modify it a bit: I add 2 getblock functions

However, the Litecoin one has simply stopped outputting anything once is the last 12 hours and then the second time a double free crash.
I haven't had this happen with any of the others (including bitcoin 0.4.0 with my same changes which I also have been running non-stop), and just wondering if others have had the same issue?
(while I try and work out where the bug is - but it doesn't happen when I'm using getblock)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Coinbuck @ BTCLot
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 541

The future begins today


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 17, 2011, 09:16:15 PM
 #691

Thanks everyone for being so supportive of Litecoins!

I said this in the first post last week:
Yes, it is true that without a stash of premined coins, we will not be able to afford to pay for bounties, but we believe people will see the virtue of this coin, invest in it as early adopters, and will be willing to spend time creating services to make this coin better.

I'm pleasantly surprised that this has already come true in the first week! We now already have:
 - a nice homepage (thanks to terrytibbs): http://litecoin.org
 - 3 pools (that I know of): http://litecoinpool.dyndns.org/ https://lc.ozco.in/ http://pool-x.it.cx/
 - an exchange (with another coming soon): https://btc-e.com/exchange/ltc_btc
 - a block explorer: http://blockexplorer.sytes.net/chain/Litecoin
 - some kick ass graphs: http://litecoin.kicks-ass.org/graphs/graphs.html
 - a Litecoin lottery site: https://btclot.com/ltc/

All this, and I didn't have to pay a single bounty!



You've done the most important thing, making a decent alternative currency, thats all we ask  Cheesy

By the way we also have Poker (so it's not just a normal lottery website).

~IMPORTANT TO BTCLOT LITECOIN USERS~
There were some login issues reported in our poker service and the poker deposit service but they have been fixed, I'm sorry if it caused you any trouble. If you find any issues please report them back.

Bitcoin is the future !
simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


View Profile

Ignore
October 18, 2011, 04:32:48 AM
 #692

Anyone having trouble with the daemon stopping?
I run a few of them at home so I can look at the block-chains - which also means I modify it a bit: I add 2 getblock functions

However, the Litecoin one has simply stopped outputting anything once is the last 12 hours and then the second time a double free crash.
I haven't had this happen with any of the others (including bitcoin 0.4.0 with my same changes which I also have been running non-stop), and just wondering if others have had the same issue?
(while I try and work out where the bug is - but it doesn't happen when I'm using getblock)

I've had some issues with minerd crashing.  It's happening quite often (always when I'm not around to notice of course).  Win 7, 64bit.    I've switched to the 64bit optimised version so hopefully that helps.
coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 18, 2011, 04:44:06 AM
 #693

I'm starting to work on a feature to add the ability to mine from the client. Here's what I plan to add and the order I'm working on:

1) Turn generate on/off in the options and for that option to stick.
2) Show in the UI the mining hashrate and other mining related information
3) Add option to point to a pool instead.

What do you guys think? Would this be useful?

Party Hard
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile

Ignore
October 18, 2011, 04:44:48 AM
 #694

I've switched to the 64bit optimised version so hopefully that helps.

Where be the 64bit version? Couldn't find it on gethub just now.

Ladies ladies, one at a time.
johnj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile

Ignore
October 18, 2011, 04:45:32 AM
 #695

I'm starting to work on a feature to add the ability to mine from the client. Here's what I plan to add and the order I'm working on:

1) Turn generate on/off in the options and for that option to stick.
2) Show in the UI the mining hashrate and other mining related information
3) Add option to point to a pool instead.

What do you guys think? Would this be useful?

sounds great.  but maybe the pools could be in a user-editable table, or have that option as well? (kinda like gui miner).

Also, is this going to come with just a general miner, or every optimized one released thus far?

keep up the great work!

1AeW7QK59HvEJwiyMztFH1ubWPSLLKx5ym
TradeHill Referral TH-R120549
coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 18, 2011, 04:53:17 AM
 #696

I'm starting to work on a feature to add the ability to mine from the client. Here's what I plan to add and the order I'm working on:

1) Turn generate on/off in the options and for that option to stick.
2) Show in the UI the mining hashrate and other mining related information
3) Add option to point to a pool instead.

What do you guys think? Would this be useful?

sounds great.  but maybe the pools could be in a user-editable table, or have that option as well? (kinda like gui miner).

Also, is this going to come with just a general miner, or every optimized one released thus far?

keep up the great work!

Maybe initially, it will just be an option to set 1 pool and just have the generic miner that's already included in the client.
Once I have that done, I will see what the interest is to include something like minerd with the client.

Intention
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile

Ignore
October 18, 2011, 05:48:21 AM
 #697

I'm starting to work on a feature to add the ability to mine from the client. Here's what I plan to add and the order I'm working on:

1) Turn generate on/off in the options and for that option to stick.
2) Show in the UI the mining hashrate and other mining related information
3) Add option to point to a pool instead.

What do you guys think? Would this be useful?

sounds great.  but maybe the pools could be in a user-editable table, or have that option as well? (kinda like gui miner).

Also, is this going to come with just a general miner, or every optimized one released thus far?

keep up the great work!

Maybe initially, it will just be an option to set 1 pool and just have the generic miner that's already included in the client.
Once I have that done, I will see what the interest is to include something like minerd with the client.
One problem I have with the miner built in the client is on a slow download speed and sharing the connection with multiple people in my house to run a miner (currently minerd) on multiple pc's they are all constantly downloading the blocks when I only need it on my main computer thus making the internet even slower for everyone else.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


View Profile

Ignore
October 18, 2011, 05:49:12 AM
 #698

I'm starting to work on a feature to add the ability to mine from the client. Here's what I plan to add and the order I'm working on:

1) Turn generate on/off in the options and for that option to stick.
2) Show in the UI the mining hashrate and other mining related information
3) Add option to point to a pool instead.

What do you guys think? Would this be useful?

Definitely.  Especially number 3.
coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 18, 2011, 06:14:12 AM
 #699

I'm starting to work on a feature to add the ability to mine from the client. Here's what I plan to add and the order I'm working on:

1) Turn generate on/off in the options and for that option to stick.
2) Show in the UI the mining hashrate and other mining related information
3) Add option to point to a pool instead.

What do you guys think? Would this be useful?

Ok, implemented 1 and 2: https://github.com/coblee/litecoin/commit/d7ff5b84be27512e6811a92540824245a9702913
You can now start/stop mining from the option pages. You can also limit the number of processors used.
The status bar now has a new icon. Unfortunately, the icon doesn't change, but the tool tip will show you your hashrate.

Who wants to help me create a colored mining icon that I can use?

I'm building a Windows client binary now.

worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 18, 2011, 06:26:49 AM
 #700

That would be great, because now running gen=1 results in 100% utilization.  I rather prefer being able to control more easier.  Thanks a bunch!

I'm starting to work on a feature to add the ability to mine from the client. Here's what I plan to add and the order I'm working on:

1) Turn generate on/off in the options and for that option to stick.
2) Show in the UI the mining hashrate and other mining related information
3) Add option to point to a pool instead.

What do you guys think? Would this be useful?

Ok, implemented 1 and 2: https://github.com/coblee/litecoin/commit/d7ff5b84be27512e6811a92540824245a9702913
You can now start/stop mining from the option pages. You can also limit the number of processors used.
The status bar now has a new icon. Unfortunately, the icon doesn't change, but the tool tip will show you your hashrate.

Who wants to help me create a colored mining icon that I can use?

I'm building a Windows client binary now.

That would be great, because now running gen=1 results in 100% utilization.  I rather prefer being able to control more easier.  Thanks a bunch!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 ... 137 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!