Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2019, 08:22:49 AM *
News: 10th anniversary art contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 [342] 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256293 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
promojo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 413
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 03:29:27 PM
 #6821

I only like eligius becase they allow merged mining and no fees, but yeah i think ill move to multipool.us

Sorry, never heard of that one.. merged mining?   Please explain.
1571473369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571473369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571473369
Reply with quote  #2

1571473369
Report to moderator
1571473369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571473369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571473369
Reply with quote  #2

1571473369
Report to moderator
1571473369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571473369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571473369
Reply with quote  #2

1571473369
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571473369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571473369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571473369
Reply with quote  #2

1571473369
Report to moderator
1571473369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571473369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571473369
Reply with quote  #2

1571473369
Report to moderator
Airwhale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 03:41:00 PM
 #6822

I only like eligius becase they allow merged mining and no fees, but yeah i think ill move to multipool.us

Sorry, never heard of that one.. merged mining?   Please explain.

Merged mining is when you submit answers to multiple blockchains.  In eligius's case,  your proof of work goes to solving in both the namecoin and the bitcoin blockchains.
jpass022
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 03:42:12 PM
 #6823

What is the big delay with the GB coupons?
promojo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 413
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 03:44:38 PM
 #6824

I only like eligius becase they allow merged mining and no fees, but yeah i think ill move to multipool.us

Sorry, never heard of that one.. merged mining?   Please explain.

Merged mining is when you submit answers to multiple blockchains.  In eligius's case,  your proof of work goes to solving in both the namecoin and the bitcoin blockchains.

Interesting... I will send you a PM regarding this.
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 04:13:21 PM
 #6825

I only like eligius becase they allow merged mining and no fees, but yeah i think ill move to multipool.us

Sorry, never heard of that one.. merged mining?   Please explain.

Merged mining is when you submit answers to multiple blockchains.  In eligius's case,  your proof of work goes to solving in both the namecoin and the bitcoin blockchains.

Interesting... I will send you a PM regarding this.


Correct . so you basically are mining two coins at once.  You are supposed to get payouts for both.

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
bobsmoke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 02, 2014, 04:59:40 PM
 #6826

For those who already upgraded the SP30s..

To upgrade the machines you just need to push upgrade button, right?
Is there any dependency of SP infrastructure?
Is it recommended to upgrade firmware from 2.2.30 to last version (2.2.47)?
wanna4fun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119
Merit: 100

noobie


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 05:33:08 PM
 #6827

For those who already upgraded the SP30s..

To upgrade the machines you just need to push upgrade button, right?
Is there any dependency of SP infrastructure?
Is it recommended to upgrade firmware from 2.2.30 to last version (2.2.47)?

Yes, it is, this version correct a lot of bug.
You shall always update to the latest firmware but read release note before.
>> http://www.spondoolies-tech.com/blogs/technical-blog <<

As a general guidance, only upgrade if you need the feature in the upgrade or if it is recommend by the manufacturer.

JPage
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 400
Merit: 101



View Profile
September 02, 2014, 06:19:39 PM
 #6828

For those who already upgraded the SP30s..

To upgrade the machines you just need to push upgrade button, right?
Is there any dependency of SP infrastructure?
Is it recommended to upgrade firmware from 2.2.30 to last version (2.2.47)?

Yeah, where are the precise instructions to perform the upgrade?  I don't want to start this and end up with a brick.  Especially since it is now running fine.
braindead
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 452
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 06:30:58 PM
 #6829

For those who already upgraded the SP30s..

To upgrade the machines you just need to push upgrade button, right?
Is there any dependency of SP infrastructure?
Is it recommended to upgrade firmware from 2.2.30 to last version (2.2.47)?

Yeah, where are the precise instructions to perform the upgrade?  I don't want to start this and end up with a brick.  Especially since it is now running fine.


In the management console, under firmware upgrade, there is a button that you can click to upgrade your firmware. clicking the button will upgrade to the latest version available.
Zelek Uther
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


Run a Bitcoin node.


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 07:30:58 PM
 #6830

I bought them from a UK company, who shipped them to me on the other side of the world (New Zealand). You can see prices on their web site: http://www.acoustiproducts.com/en/ucoustic_active.asp The one in my video is the Wood panelled product (in Maple).

So you go the big one? But the site tells "providing a thermal load capacity of up to 7.2 kW", so that's no more than 2 x SP30/31 with 1200W left for a S2/S4 at best. So why did you go for the big one if you can't put more in due to thermal load restriction?

I'm anxious about the video.
I started work on my cellar (basement) project near the start of this year. This was before Spondoolies-Tech came onto the scene. The cabinet is designed for normal IT gear, 7.2kW is plenty for 24U worth of modern energy-efficient servers... not so good for modern bitcoin miners.

Run a Bitcoin node, support the network.
bobsmoke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 02, 2014, 07:51:34 PM
 #6831

For those with experience measure KW/hour costs.  Could you please tell me if the following calculation is correct:

1 Month with 30 Days has 720 Hours
24h x 30 days = 720 hours

1 SP30 = 3Kw

To calculate engery : Energy = Power x Time
So the SP consumption Kw/h will be : 3 x 720 = 2160  Kw/Hour

If the price would be 0.1$/KWh then one would pay 216 USD per month?

Thank you
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 07:57:59 PM
 #6832

For those with experience measure KW/hour costs.  Could you please tell me if the following calculation is correct:

1 Month with 30 Days has 720 Hours
24h x 30 days = 720 hours

1 SP30 = 3Kw

To calculate engery : Energy = Power x Time
So the SP consumption Kw/h will be : 3 x 720 = 2160  Kw/Hour

If the price would be 0.1$/KWh then one would pay 216 USD per month?

Thank you

This sounds about right. ~220$/month.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
faraway
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 07:59:30 PM
Last edit: September 02, 2014, 08:41:54 PM by faraway
 #6833

For those with experience measure KW/hour costs.  Could you please tell me if the following calculation is correct:

1 Month with 30 Days has 720 Hours
24h x 30 days = 720 hours

1 SP30 = 3Kw

To calculate engery : Energy = Power x Time
So the SP consumption Kw/h will be : 3 x 720 = 2160  Kw/Hour

If the price would be 0.1$/KWh then one would pay 216 USD per month?

Thank you

This calculation is correct; With may just notice that K upper case is for Kelvin (temperature), 'k' lower case is the right one for kilo; And 'W' upper case is the right symbol for 'Watt'...
wanna4fun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119
Merit: 100

noobie


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 08:01:24 PM
 #6834

For those with experience measure KW/hour costs.  Could you please tell me if the following calculation is correct:

1 Month with 30 Days has 720 Hours
24h x 30 days = 720 hours

1 SP30 = 3Kw

To calculate engery : Energy = Power x Time
So the SP consumption Kw/h will be : 3 x 720 = 2160  Kw/Hour

If the price would be 0.1$/KWh then one would pay 216 USD per month?

Thank you

you're right but not the way you understand it...

kW/h*h = kW

Quote
1 SP30 = 3kW/h

To calculate consumption : consumption = energy used over time x Time
So the SP consumption Kw/h will be : 3kW/h x 720h = 2160  kW

Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 09:18:59 PM
 #6835

so I got my hands on a few cheap metered APC pdus :
Input: 208V , Connection: NEMA L6-30P , Cord Length: 12 feet
Output: 208V , Connections: IEC 320 C13,IEC 320 C19


I have an electrician coming in to wire to new cicuits for  and he said this :
Quote
Now, are these dryers and or ranges you are installing?  Do you have the model numbers?  The old 3 pronged outlets are grandfathered in for repairs only, but for new installs you need (and probably want, for increased safety reasons) 4 prong outlets. This requires 10/3 wire (which has 4 conductors) as opposed to 10/2 (3 conductors).

my questions to experts here :
-the NEMA L6-30P is three prong, but really only good for pdu's and computer stuff, should i let him do the 4 prong outlet and look for an adapter ?

-I don't want to pay another $100 for an adapter for each outlet.  he said something about buying pigtails from APC to convert the outlet but that looks expensive.

-Anoying thing is do wire up the  NEMA L6-30P, seems to require a permit pull which i don't want to pay for.

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
wh00per
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 02, 2014, 10:03:24 PM
Last edit: September 03, 2014, 11:34:49 AM by wh00per
 #6836

4 prong outlet is where the NULL and the GROUND are different.Mine are shunted. If in your case, they're the same like mine, you can use the three prong.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=521520.msg8182756#msg8182756

See there in the panel drawing the difference between a 3 wire and a 4 wire circuit. The three prong connector can be used in one of the two cases there where you bring the null or the ground to the device. What you bought there is a 208V rated PDU, intended to be used with a 3-phase service. Have a read on it if it's good up to 260V.

Just tell the electrician you need to power a computer. Not a dryer. The computers have 3 pins for power and there's no reason to install 4 pin sockets.

CSA/cUL Certified Power Distribution Panels - Basic, Switched, Metered. 1-3 phases. Up to 600V. NMC:N4F9qvHz11BHcc4nh1LCJFsrZhA1EWgVwj
BitCoin Operated Boy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 03, 2014, 02:57:16 AM
 #6837

Does anyone know if there has been some national holiday in Israel since yesterday?
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
September 03, 2014, 03:16:45 AM
 #6838

Does anyone know if there has been some national holiday in Israel since yesterday?

No more holidays in Israel for the rest of the year.

http://www.timeanddate.com/holidays/israel/

(New Year's, Rosh Hashana, starts on September 25th.)

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
September 03, 2014, 04:30:38 AM
 #6839

Hey, we've got a p2pool node up for testing. Anyone want to try it out?

74.82.237.66:9332

0% fees, 0% author contribution, hosted in central WA on one of our 100 Mbps symmetrical fiber links. IP address will change eventually, and we might be rebooting it, so don't expect it to be reliable just yet.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
promojo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 413
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 03, 2014, 05:48:44 AM
 #6840

Hey, we've got a p2pool node up for testing. Anyone want to try it out?

74.82.237.66:9332

0% fees, 0% author contribution, hosted in central WA on one of our 100 Mbps symmetrical fiber links. IP address will change eventually, and we might be rebooting it, so don't expect it to be reliable just yet.

Count me in!
Pages: « 1 ... 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 [342] 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!