Bitcoin Forum
November 27, 2020, 05:48:34 AM *
News: Bitcointalk Community Awards
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 [153] 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 ... 2092 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency  (Read 4633548 times)
MarcusCisero45
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 12:01:59 PM
 #3041

I also have a problem with my wallet not updating. Not related to a pool though..
I downloaded the program last night and installed the program, updated the blockchain, made a wallet and started mining. Everything seemed to be working and so I went to an exchange and bought some Monero's and sent them to my wallet address this morning. Now several hours later they are still not showing up in my wallet. The blockchain seems up to date and I'm still able to mine but the coins aren't there. Have checked the address I sent them to several times and it's correct. Anyone have any ideas what's wrong?

Appreciate any help.

thanks.
1606456114
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1606456114

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1606456114
Reply with quote  #2

1606456114
Report to moderator
1606456114
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1606456114

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1606456114
Reply with quote  #2

1606456114
Report to moderator
1606456114
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1606456114

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1606456114
Reply with quote  #2

1606456114
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1606456114
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1606456114

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1606456114
Reply with quote  #2

1606456114
Report to moderator
1606456114
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1606456114

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1606456114
Reply with quote  #2

1606456114
Report to moderator
1606456114
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1606456114

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1606456114
Reply with quote  #2

1606456114
Report to moderator
drawingthesun
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1003


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 12:03:01 PM
 #3042

This is the scenario that seems problematic - for me at least. Even announcing such a plan could make Monero crash. It's too high a dependency in terms of investment.

If this were true, it would also crash all other anonymous coins.

Bytecoin clones would immediately be inferior to the new "prototype". Non-bytecoin clones will not necessarily lag in comparison with a v2 of bytecoin. It depends what they use in terms of blockchain tech and where they are with their development.

Ok now you're going a little overboard with this line of thinking.

Bytecoin 2.0 is made by developers of Bytecoin 1.0 and worked with CryptoNote. CryptoNote developers may very well be working on Monero by now.

Also Monero has first mover advantage for CryptoNote coins outside of Bytecoin.

You're making some large assumptions here, what is this generation two technology you're talking about? If it's based on the current chain tech then Monero can easily add that on board.

These Bytecoin developers do not seem to be the brains behind the technology, Bytecoin had many limitations that Monero fixed in weeks where Bytecoin had a year to fix it.

I do see your point but this is just FUD:

Bytecoin clones would immediately be inferior to the new "prototype"
Gambiman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 12:40:11 PM
 #3043

Just started mining this, liking it so far, my rigs gpus have been mining for a longtime and now my cpus can get in on the action. Not a single wasted computing cycle, because ain't nobody got time for that.

Good approach. CPU coins and GPU coins can be very complimentary.

When doing this it is usually best to reduce the priority on your CPU coin BTW (using nice or the Windows equivalent) and/or reduce threads by one or two.




Thank you for the tip. not really sure what i'm doing, pointed 7 cpus to extremepool.org using that easyminer program. all Fx-6300 cpus.. they arent beasts by any measure of the imagination but it's better than nothing. extremepool says my hash rate is 19.27 H/s is that any good?

I just started mining with my laptop with an 4 core i5. getting around 12-10H/s. So I think you should have more? I will try later with my desktop's FX 8350. What is you power consumption? I noticed that CPU mining uses a lot more than GPU mining watt-wise.(at least for other algo). So I kinda abandonned the idea, but it is not running at 100% on the laptop, I believe it will be the same on the desktop?

So I tested with the FX 8350 on 7 threads, hashing at about 130 -140 Hash/s (pool says 250H/s). Power consumption is high though. Would need to test it for a day or 2 and see the profitability. but how come difficulty is that high?

Trade markets with Bitcoins ! Including Forex, Commodities and Stocks SimpleFX
Transfer Money accross borders with so little fee that it is silly !
cubydu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2014, 12:44:18 PM
 #3044

Did anybody  successful withdrew MRO from poloniex ?

I had been trying 3 times and each time I had been  waiting few hours and  received  error.

Gambiman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 12:47:29 PM
 #3045

Did anybody  successful withdrew MRO from poloniex ?

I had been trying 3 times and each time I had been  waiting few hours and  received  error.

humm thats embarassing I just made a BTC deposit to buy MRO. But if problems withdrawing I might think twice about buying.. I have never used Poloniex, is it generally ok?

Trade markets with Bitcoins ! Including Forex, Commodities and Stocks SimpleFX
Transfer Money accross borders with so little fee that it is silly !
fluffypony
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1057


GetMonero.org / MyMonero.com


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2014, 12:53:43 PM
 #3046

Did anybody  successful withdrew MRO from poloniex ?

I had been trying 3 times and each time I had been  waiting few hours and  received  error.

humm thats embarassing I just made a BTC deposit to buy MRO. But if problems withdrawing I might think twice about buying.. I have never used Poloniex, is it generally ok?

I haven't had an issue, they're quite reliable. Sometimes if the wallet silently crashes they have to manually restart it before MRO withdrawals are completed.

smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1167



View Profile
May 21, 2014, 12:59:32 PM
 #3047

Did anybody  successful withdrew MRO from poloniex ?

I had been trying 3 times and each time I had been  waiting few hours and  received  error.

humm thats embarassing I just made a BTC deposit to buy MRO. But if problems withdrawing I might think twice about buying.. I have never used Poloniex, is it generally ok?

I had some trouble withdrawing BTC once. It was some kind of temporary glitch and it cleared itself, but meanwhile I had put in a support ticket. They did get back to me and seem to genuinely trying to be helpful. At this point I wouldn't be terribly worried, but certainly cautious.



cubydu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2014, 01:07:20 PM
 #3048

Did anybody  successful withdrew MRO from poloniex ?

I had been trying 3 times and each time I had been  waiting few hours and  received  error.

humm thats embarassing I just made a BTC deposit to buy MRO. But if problems withdrawing I might think twice about buying.. I have never used Poloniex, is it generally ok?

I haven't had an issue, they're quite reliable. Sometimes if the wallet silently crashes they have to manually restart it before MRO withdrawals are completed.


So problem can be on my side ? Maybe my wallet is corrupt ?
But today I withdrew MRO from cryptonote.exchange.to without errors

nakaone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 01:08:31 PM
 #3049

haha there was this great phrase in the darkcoin thread which could not be more true

thanks all the shitcoins for hiding dark so long on coinmarketcap - let us see how long this holds true for monero Cheesy
georgeandy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 21, 2014, 01:11:29 PM
 #3050

Why poloniex frozen MRO now?
Anybody have any idea??
Jasmin68k
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 01:14:06 PM
 #3051

Did anybody  successful withdrew MRO from poloniex ?

I had been trying 3 times and each time I had been  waiting few hours and  received  error.

Worked for me yesterday without issues.

Had them in my wallet within roughly 20-30 minutes.
AlexGR
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1036



View Profile
May 21, 2014, 01:16:56 PM
 #3052

You're making some large assumptions here, what is this generation two technology you're talking about? If it's based on the current chain tech then Monero can easily add that on board.

Yes, the issue would be if they made it purposefully incompatible with gen1 so that they can sell gen2 as superior and gen1 as obsolete.

If Bytecoin people are greedy but capable coders/hackers who want money, that's an issue that I must factor in: Their "revenge" from MRO + getting the money that they aim for.
darkota
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 01:19:59 PM
 #3053

http://www.coindesk.com/poloniex-loses-12-3-bitcoins-latest-bitcoin-exchange-hack/



Poloniex was hacked for 12% of the bitcoins stored there.

I would never deposit any bitcoins on there...you might lose them all.
solid12345
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 21, 2014, 01:23:48 PM
 #3054

http://www.coindesk.com/poloniex-loses-12-3-bitcoins-latest-bitcoin-exchange-hack/

I would never deposit any bitcoins on there...you might lose them all.

Any computer connected to a network is at risk, you shouldn't keep a significant amount of wealth on ANY exchange, didn't anyone learn from Mt. Gox?
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1004



View Profile
May 21, 2014, 01:27:20 PM
 #3055

Hey guys, in the airport right now

I'm aware a lot of large commits have been pushed to amjuarez/bytecoin. I get back late Friday night so I probably won't get it done until the weekend, but this weekend I should be able to take care of syncing monero to the most recent code.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Quanttek
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 01:27:46 PM
 #3056

GeezUp, poloniex employee: "MRO Unfrozen" Have fun trading!

Enthusiast. Neither trader, nor miner and also no big investor.
Community Manager for Monero
PM if you need mine to exchange or anti-cheat algorithm for node-cryptonote-pool
David Latapie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Monero Core Team


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2014, 01:30:08 PM
 #3057

I am satisfied that the Monero folks have made things right after this initial error in judgment.
I appreciate you took time to update your initial post. This is something people seldom do, especially when it is several pages away Smiley

Monero: the first crytocurrency to bring bank secrecy and net neutrality to the blockchain.HyperStake: pushing the limits of staking.
Reputation threadFree bitcoins: reviews, hints…: freebitco.in, freedoge.co.in, qoinpro
Relaxedsense
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 809
Merit: 1002


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 01:30:33 PM
 #3058

How fast would I mine with a fx8350? The more cores the better am i right? What would be the best cpu to mine?

Cheers
amphibian
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 01:36:31 PM
 #3059

Updated SoloMiner (Merged mining GUI miner) binaries

Download links:
Windows 64
Windows 32
MacOS (OSX)

And source for our lovely Linux friends Smiley
Source

Cheers.
Gambiman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 01:37:20 PM
 #3060

How fast would I mine with a fx8350? The more cores the better am i right? What would be the best cpu to mine?

Cheers
I'm mining at roughly 140H/s with FX8350 on 7 threads. I leave 1 thread free so that I can GPU mine. But if you are only CPU mining and doing nothing else on the PC you could use all 8 threads I suppose and have higher hashrate.

Trade markets with Bitcoins ! Including Forex, Commodities and Stocks SimpleFX
Transfer Money accross borders with so little fee that it is silly !
Pages: « 1 ... 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 [153] 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 ... 2092 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!