Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 01:51:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Fury/Blizzard tuning and mods  (Read 104095 times)
worldlybedouin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 376


View Profile WWW
June 22, 2014, 11:26:46 AM
 #281

I've not had time to read the entire thread since finding it...but I wanted to ask for those folks who applied new TIM to their Blizzards, are you seeing any benefits other than temps?  I see some folks are pushing the clocks pretty high (~380-ish)...but is that with volt-mods or just new TIM applied.

Cheers!

Yes, you can increase your clocks quite a bit from my experience just from using good thermal paste and applying heatsinks to the tops of the chips.  Adding a small fan to blow through the chamber over the circuitboard also helps.

Without the addition of the extra fan, I was able to raise my clocks from 333 with a 4%-5% hw error rate to 350 with a 4%-5% hw error rate.  (roughly about 1.4Mhs).

The addition of the voltmod does allow all the way up to the max clock of 381Mhz though.  We're hoping we can actually overcome that 381Mhz barrier.

I looked at one of my Blizzards and the entire back side of the circuit board looks like it was coated in TIM...doesn't seem quite right.  Should I clean that off and apply some high quality TIM just behind the 6 chips or spread it over the whole board like Zeus did?

Definitely clean the old stuff off first. 
You can either cover the entire back with a nice coat (not really needed in my opinion) or just do the spots with the chips.  Personally, I put three lines across the back of the board under the chips (2 rows for the chips, 1 row for the rest of the components).  I however have a huge 30gram tube of Prolimatek pk-2...so 3 thin rows wasn't really a lot.  Whether you do three rows, cover the whole back, or just do dabs on the backsides of the chips...it will make a huge difference because the stock setup was done for cost efficiency...not thermal transfer efficiency.

Thanks for the clarification...I've already spent way too much on these with the very strong likelyhood they'll never break even....so I'm debating whether to pop more $ for a big tube of TIM or just use the bit I have left to place 6 dots on key areas...probably the latter.

I had some old Zalman VGA heatsinks like someone posted earlier...was thinking I may put those on whichever of the 7 Blizzards has the most HW issues (assuming heat was causing it)...I don't have a means to measure the temps so I'm guessing it could help for that one.

LTC:  LXrAe2E6cBsK52GvUsYraeXkc2s7Ti7R5X
BTC:  1FLTMqVjTZ5MTdCF4npNZGFMEUGyBV4zcj
1511445095
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511445095

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511445095
Reply with quote  #2

1511445095
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ahsbqt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13

luthor from ethereum forum


View Profile
June 22, 2014, 09:33:07 PM
 #282

Hi guys, i wonder if you are runing this mods with the stuck power supply (The 5amp brick) or you are using other psu?  Wink

suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414



View Profile
June 22, 2014, 09:49:50 PM
 #283

Hi guys, i wonder if you are runing this mods with the stuck power supply (The 5amp brick) or you are using other psu?  Wink



I haven't voltmoded yet, but I wouldn't run it with the stock PSU. It's close to dangerous even unmodded, gets very hot, at least the ones that I have.

GAWSOME class action
(Homero Garza throws Stuart Fraser under the bus)
ION: XPY successor
                 Make sure to read

                 BitcoinTalk rules
          /s
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 22, 2014, 09:55:03 PM
 #284

I'm running my small farm from a 700w Seasonic ATX psu (2 rpi, 7 gridseeds, 2 Fury's 5x 120mm fans).  I never even used the adapters that came with my Fury's.
DanZaph
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2014, 02:05:46 AM
 #285

I'm running a few GAW Fury miners from this: supply, 12vdc, 30A, $26.
Below was corrected per posts by others:
The stock Fury at idle draws 22w or 1.8a, hashing twice that: 46w or 3.8a.

For power connectors I used these, cut off the PCIE connector. They are long and a nice gage of wire, I bought some others that were really trashy and tossed them. I crimped lugs on them but the power supply had a nice retention piece on the screw that should work well without lugs.


Old enough to have lived dangerously—great times!
Setting up a ASICMiner Block Erupter Cube
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414



View Profile
June 23, 2014, 04:32:02 AM
 #286

I'm running a few GAW Fury miners from this: supply, 30A, $26. The stock Fury draws 22w, 0.18a at 12vc. Over-kill but I had it from some Bitcoin mining.

For power connectors I used these, cut off the PCIE connector. They are long and a nice gage of wire, I bought some others that were really trashy and tossed them. I crimped lugs on them but the power supply had a nice retention piece on the screw that should work well without lugs.


Fury draws at least 40W+ on an 80+ certified ATX PSU, closer to 50W on these "industrial" types that are less efficient. ~4A at 12V.

22W might be when it's idle perhaps?

GAWSOME class action
(Homero Garza throws Stuart Fraser under the bus)
ION: XPY successor
                 Make sure to read

                 BitcoinTalk rules
          /s
J4bberwock
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840


View Profile
June 23, 2014, 05:13:22 AM
 #287

Hi guys, i wonder if you are runing this mods with the stuck power supply (The 5amp brick) or you are using other psu?  Wink



I had one that melted when I was testing it to see how bad it will handle the load.
Voltmodded fury with 7,5k resistor will draw between 60 and 70 watt.
That's 5-6A

Custom Server PSU breakout boards, 1200w, 1300w, 2000w, 2880w https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0
Btc: 1J4bberWs6f6XVQ53gn3BNc8qHAicmm7wu
Ltc: LNDmMBtzD3cduwjfxANm2wDrxt9jXRk5ZP
J4bberwock
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840


View Profile
June 23, 2014, 07:46:20 AM
 #288

I'm running a few GAW Fury miners from this: supply, 30A, $26. The stock Fury draws 22w, 0.18a at 12vc. Over-kill but I had it from some Bitcoin mining.

For power connectors I used these, cut off the PCIE connector. They are long and a nice gage of wire, I bought some others that were really trashy and tossed them. I crimped lugs on them but the power supply had a nice retention piece on the screw that should work well without lugs.


Fury draws at least 40W+ on an 80+ certified ATX PSU, closer to 50W on these "industrial" types that are less efficient. ~4A at 12V.

22W might be when it's idle perhaps?


Yes, they draw half power when idle. The fan itself should draw up to 8w depending on the build quality. I haven't found the data sheet.

Custom Server PSU breakout boards, 1200w, 1300w, 2000w, 2880w https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0
Btc: 1J4bberWs6f6XVQ53gn3BNc8qHAicmm7wu
Ltc: LNDmMBtzD3cduwjfxANm2wDrxt9jXRk5ZP
DanZaph
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2014, 12:50:33 PM
 #289

Fury draws at least 40W+ on an 80+ certified ATX PSU, closer to 50W on these "industrial" types that are less efficient. ~4A at 12V.
22W might be when it's idle perhaps?
Yes, they draw half power when idle. The fan itself should draw up to 8w depending on the build quality. I haven't found the data sheet.

My mistake both on idle and math, I have corrected my post.

The stock Fury at idle draws 1.8a or 22w, hashing draws: 3.8a or 46w per measurements.

Thanks!

Old enough to have lived dangerously—great times!
Setting up a ASICMiner Block Erupter Cube
worldlybedouin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 376


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2014, 10:05:04 PM
 #290

@nst6563

Would you mind updating the OP with this link for the "Link to thread" you've previously posted?

New link:  https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=20477.0

Quote
Updated build(s) of bfgminer with Zeus support:
  Link to file:  https://github.com/Darkwinde/bfgminer
  Link to thread: https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=16301.msg180380#msg180380

Since Darkwinde updates his OP, it may make more sense to send folks there to get their binaries/help.


LTC:  LXrAe2E6cBsK52GvUsYraeXkc2s7Ti7R5X
BTC:  1FLTMqVjTZ5MTdCF4npNZGFMEUGyBV4zcj
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 23, 2014, 10:26:30 PM
 #291

@nst6563

Would you mind updating the OP with this link for the "Link to thread" you've previously posted?

New link:  https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=20477.0

Quote
Updated build(s) of bfgminer with Zeus support:
  Link to file:  https://github.com/Darkwinde/bfgminer
  Link to thread: https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=16301.msg180380#msg180380

Since Darkwinde updates his OP, it may make more sense to send folks there to get their binaries/help.


I guess I've been going to the new thread not realizing it changed from what I had in the post.
Updated  Wink
worldlybedouin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 376


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2014, 10:30:32 PM
 #292

@nst6563

Would you mind updating the OP with this link for the "Link to thread" you've previously posted?

New link:  https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=20477.0

Quote
Updated build(s) of bfgminer with Zeus support:
  Link to file:  https://github.com/Darkwinde/bfgminer
  Link to thread: https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=16301.msg180380#msg180380

Since Darkwinde updates his OP, it may make more sense to send folks there to get their binaries/help.


I guess I've been going to the new thread not realizing it changed from what I had in the post.
Updated  Wink

Thanks mate!

LTC:  LXrAe2E6cBsK52GvUsYraeXkc2s7Ti7R5X
BTC:  1FLTMqVjTZ5MTdCF4npNZGFMEUGyBV4zcj
happydaze
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 24, 2014, 11:39:51 AM
 #293



Averaging 3,200kh/s with 2 Fury's.  382 Clock, 300 Read Count.  Using current Darkwinde build.  31 hrs running.

I haven't tried different RC settings yet.

60 watts per Fury after putting all of the four fans on a separate power supply.  I had an old fan controller that lets me control RPM to cut down the noise.  One of the extra fans I'm using is a Delta that is (was) very loud.
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 24, 2014, 02:46:52 PM
 #294

That's awesome.  I read that darkwinde was testing at rc of 270 but haven't seen results.

I would use that version but it doesn't work at all with manicminer pool which is where I usually mine at so I'm stuck with dmaxl's build of cgminer.

I'd like to get one miner that works for both gridseeds and Zeus hardware.  In tried building bfgminer with support for both last week but had no luck.  It would see the gridseeds but not the furys.
worldlybedouin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 376


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2014, 06:27:44 PM
 #295



Averaging 3,200kh/s with 2 Fury's.  382 Clock, 300 Read Count.  Using current Darkwinde build.  31 hrs running.

I haven't tried different RC settings yet.

60 watts per Fury after putting all of the four fans on a separate power supply.  I had an old fan controller that lets me control RPM to cut down the noise.  One of the extra fans I'm using is a Delta that is (was) very loud.

happydaze, is that with just cooling and new thermal paste?  Or did you also do the volt-mod?

LTC:  LXrAe2E6cBsK52GvUsYraeXkc2s7Ti7R5X
BTC:  1FLTMqVjTZ5MTdCF4npNZGFMEUGyBV4zcj
Riley600
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185


View Profile
June 24, 2014, 07:50:17 PM
 #296

That's awesome.  I read that darkwinde was testing at rc of 270 but haven't seen results.

I would use that version but it doesn't work at all with manicminer pool which is where I usually mine at so I'm stuck with dmaxl's build of cgminer.

I'd like to get one miner that works for both gridseeds and Zeus hardware.  In tried building bfgminer with support for both last week but had no luck.  It would see the gridseeds but not the furys.
Agreed - I've got a Fury arriving today.  However, BFGminer has been horribly unreliable with my Gridseeds and I can't root out the issue.  Is there a way to get CGminer to work with both the Fury and Gridseed Orbs in the same instance?  Any advice would be appreciated! Smiley
jstefanop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


View Profile
June 24, 2014, 08:23:46 PM
 #297

BTW to people asking questions on the read count, I have done a bit of research in the driver with this and it really won't do much.

Read count is the amount of time before the driver requests new work (in milliseconds, so 300 RC = 30 seconds), so the chips don't sit idle. As long as you keep it under the amount of time it takes to cover a full nonce ranges (which is roughly 200k/chip_count), which for a blizzard is like 3,000 seconds so it would never run out of work before a block is found anyway. You also want it over 10 seconds because of the overhead in processing new work requests in the miner.

Read count would only have a performance impact if zeus decided to put like 500 chips on one machine.

www.AriseChickun.com 0% fee segwit signaling Litecoin Pool!
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
worldlybedouin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 376


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2014, 08:29:37 PM
 #298

My fury is gonna be here today. Is there a Darkwinde Windows binary?

If not which is best to use atm off windows OS?

Anyone have a default settings config for the fury? For windows binary. For scrypt. bfgminer.



OP has a link to DW's thread where he's got binaries linked.

LTC:  LXrAe2E6cBsK52GvUsYraeXkc2s7Ti7R5X
BTC:  1FLTMqVjTZ5MTdCF4npNZGFMEUGyBV4zcj
Hermann1337
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 999


View Profile
June 24, 2014, 08:45:06 PM
 #299

hi guys.
i have a zeus blizzard runnin in hashra lunar controla with cgminer3.1.1

im getting 4,5 % rejects and 5.6% HW at 1.22mh ...
clock is at 328mhs chips set to6

anyone has the same issues?
topnetdeal
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
June 24, 2014, 08:46:32 PM
 #300

My fury is gonna be here today. Is there a Darkwinde Windows binary?

If not which is best to use atm off windows OS?

Anyone have a default settings config for the fury? For windows binary. For scrypt. bfgminer.



OP has a link to DW's thread where he's got binaries linked.

yup. thanks, got it. Got the driver installed. Got bfgminer 4.2.2 on my desktop but no conf or bat.

Now I need a .bat or .conf default settings for the fury for scrypt.
https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=20477.0

bfgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://SERVER:PORT -u WORKER.NAME -p WORKER.PASSWORD --zeus-cc 6 --zeus-clk 340 -S zeus:all --no-submit-stale

BTC : 1F94AoZHaxxg4cN6o8Wvg2eH96DhQKHXzY
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!