Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 10:26:27 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Fury/Blizzard tuning and mods  (Read 104137 times)
jekv2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 13, 2014, 08:49:26 PM
 #741

Nice job jekv2!  I know how hard it was to do mine.  You have good skills to keep it so professional looking.

Thanks, daze.

Man what I do love is how this C2 spreads. Like warm butter.
1511562387
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511562387

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511562387
Reply with quote  #2

1511562387
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511562387
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511562387

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511562387
Reply with quote  #2

1511562387
Report to moderator
1511562387
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511562387

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511562387
Reply with quote  #2

1511562387
Report to moderator
beukhof1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
August 13, 2014, 10:01:00 PM
 #742

What does the --zeus-nocheck-golden do?
jekv2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 01:05:53 PM
 #743

I am also power cycling my fury every day and half for an hour or so until I get 80 hours burned in. From what I read about the C2 is

Quote
Important Reminder:
Due to the unique shapes and sizes of the particles in Céramique 2, it will take a minimum of 25 hours and several thermal cycles to achieve maximum particle to particle thermal conduction and for the heatsink to CPU interface to reach maximum conductivity. (This period will be longer in a system without a fan on the heatsink.) On systems measuring actual internal core temperatures via the CPU's internal diode, the measured temperature will often drop slightly over this "break-in" period. This break-in will occur during the normal use of the computer as long as the computer is turned off from time to time and the interface is allowed to cool to room temperature. Once the break-in is complete, the computer can be left on if desired.


I've already seen a decrease in HW errors from 14% to 9.28%. SO in with the cure time I should see the magic 5%.

------------------------------------

What does the --zeus-nocheck-golden do?

https://litecointalk.org/index.php?PHPSESSID=pd562v4bbnd3pmv15jn1cmneq5&topic=16301.msg178947#msg178947

Quote
it appears that the --nocheck-golden flag overrides the initial device check and substitutes default values for the hash speed instead of measuring the actual speed).
kevin1234a
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


Decentralizing Jesus on the Blockchain


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 12:49:01 AM
 #744

hello there

can we run gridseed miner and GAW miner with same Raspberry pi controller?

jekv2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 12:07:24 PM
 #745

So far the lowest I've seen is 7.87%-8.05% HW errors. @ 350Mhz.

Which minera calculates the % in which are wrong, when done by a calculator its higher than what minera states. "8.80%"
jekv2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 07:38:36 PM
 #746

So far the lowest I've seen is 7.87%-8.05% HW errors. @ 350Mhz.

Which minera calculates the % in which are wrong, when done by a calculator its higher than what minera states. "8.80%"

Now I think I am getting somewhere.

kevin1234a
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


Decentralizing Jesus on the Blockchain


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2014, 04:14:36 AM
 #747

Well, I've added the thermal paste to the back, applied heatsinks to all IC's on the top, and there is a fan blowing air through the case over the heatsinks I applied.  Ambient temp is around 73f.  Temperature probe attached to the side of the case/heatsink reads 82f.

I hadn't known about the higher speed information...however....for kicks I started it running at 350 over 2 hours ago.  Right now it's sitting at 1.39Mhs and around 4% error.



what chips settings you had used for the miners in hashra image?

i am using 2 GAW fury set with chips setting to 12 and clk speed to 250Mhz

nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
August 16, 2014, 02:41:02 PM
 #748

Well, I've added the thermal paste to the back, applied heatsinks to all IC's on the top, and there is a fan blowing air through the case over the heatsinks I applied.  Ambient temp is around 73f.  Temperature probe attached to the side of the case/heatsink reads 82f.

I hadn't known about the higher speed information...however....for kicks I started it running at 350 over 2 hours ago.  Right now it's sitting at 1.39Mhs and around 4% error.

what chips settings you had used for the miners in hashra image?

i am using 2 GAW fury set with chips setting to 12 and clk speed to 250Mhz

For the Fury's you should be using chip setting of 6.  It's a per-miner setting, not a cumulative setting.
kevin1234a
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


Decentralizing Jesus on the Blockchain


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2014, 03:57:50 PM
 #749

Thanks for advise

Ntrain2k
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 522


View Profile
August 16, 2014, 04:01:49 PM
 #750

Thanks for advise

You also should raise that clock speed if they are the 6 chip units. At least 328. I use 340.

https://bitcoin-trader.biz/?ref=Ntrain2k <-Use arbitrage to take advantage of trading. Up to 3%+ a day!
https://www.cryptsy.com/users/register?refid=55203 <--Exchange and trade your coins.
icekohl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

Gamer, wannabee bitillionare


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2014, 07:15:00 PM
 #751

hello there

can we run gridseed miner and GAW miner with same Raspberry pi controller?

Yes, I use Minera for this.  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=596620.0

Member of Hashclub.org Hodler of ALTS
jekv2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 06:19:44 PM
 #752

I am back up to 10% hw error rate with this piece of shit gawminer fury. Makes me fury,,,,
BRADLEYPLOOF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 520


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 11:41:37 PM
 #753

I've been rolling mine at 342 for weeks.  I'm at ~4.7% HW.  Running BFGMiner with the display of each core shows that there are generally a few that HW like mad, while the rest of them are wicked low percentages.  One out of each of the cores in the chips is always >10%.  Neat to see the stats though.  I wish there was a version of BFGminer or CGminer or something that would allow clocking of individual chips. 
CapnBDL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


Crypterium - Digital Mobile Cryptobank For Everyon


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 11:40:24 AM
 #754

Hey all....I've been quietly watching all going on here and I have a couple of questions.

How come when I load up my Zeus/Fury miners /w the latest (4.3.5, I think) CGminer, I get only about a third of the end hashrate? By end hashrate I mean 'at the pool end'. Sure, the GUI for it says I'm right on the money. At a 340 clock speed it shows a 1.7Mh. But that sure isn't what the pool rate says, and that's the one that counts. I even back it off (clock) and still the pool hash is soooo much smaller.   Angry
Here's the kicker...if I go back to the old 3.1.1 curse CGMiner....works fine and I get about what I should. So...WTF? Am I missing something in the translation? I'm no pro, but not a newb either. I've tweaked the .conf file, etc., and it ain't right. Has anyone else been seeing this and if so, how the heck did ya fix it? PLEASE.....tell me!   Huh  I need to know. I've lost sleep. I've been up ALL night.

Second question; Has anyone seen a difference in the hashrates between the GenA releases and the latest? I have a GenA Fury and a newer, recent order one and, WOW. What a difference in those. Can anyone tell me WHY? And Yes...before anyone asks...I've ensured that my informal testing has been on a level playing field. Same drivers, software, etc.

Oh..I should say: Win8.1 64, i7, 16G ram, nVidia, yada, yada. Further, I have 'no clue' how to compile or write code. I work with what's out there and tweak the sh$t out of it. No hardware mods, etc. Out of the box stuff only.

Thanks for any and all help, kind people. It is very much appreciated.   Roll Eyes



░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀


░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀

▀  Twitter
▀  Telegram
▀  Facebook
▀  ANN Thread
▀  Whitepaper
▀  Website
Borsht
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile WWW
August 19, 2014, 05:03:47 PM
 #755

I posted my volt mod results @ http://www.techunboxed.com/2014/08/gaw-miners-fury-mods-voltage-mod.html

the short story is about a 14% increase in hash rate over a reasonable overclock of a stock fury but a 23% increase in power consumption.
CapnBDL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


Crypterium - Digital Mobile Cryptobank For Everyon


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 08:37:10 PM
 #756

Well, I'm back at it again. Sorry to say...the results really suck. I really liked the way that CGMiner 4.3.5 gave me a slight bit more control over these pieces of crud, but it just isn't cutting the mustard. Not about to start doing a voltage mod. Not worth the trouble or time. Someone tell me they have had better luck! I really don't wish to use 3.1.1curses. It's almost as bad as the Furys.

Talk to me peeps....

Thanks



░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀


░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀

▀  Twitter
▀  Telegram
▀  Facebook
▀  ANN Thread
▀  Whitepaper
▀  Website
BRADLEYPLOOF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 520


View Profile
August 20, 2014, 01:31:29 AM
 #757

BFGMiner 4.6 or .7 work great in terms of being able to see every core in one of these things so you can find out which ones are crapping out.  I run mine at 342 with 4.8% HW and 1.42 MH/s.  Everything on it is stock and all I did was put a fan on the front to blow through the whole thing.  Cooling is key and so is adding better heat sink goo.  I'm using an R.Pi. 
jeezy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
August 20, 2014, 07:29:08 AM
 #758

I've been rolling mine at 342 for weeks.  I'm at ~4.7% HW.  Running BFGMiner with the display of each core shows that there are generally a few that HW like mad, while the rest of them are wicked low percentages.  One out of each of the cores in the chips is always >10%.  Neat to see the stats though.  I wish there was a version of BFGminer or CGminer or something that would allow clocking of individual chips. 

Yeah I had the same with my Zeus Blizzards. Would be cool to implement chip wise clock setting. So with the new HW Chip display you could easily isolate the underperforming chips and set them to a lower MHz. Would be awesome.
CapnBDL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


Crypterium - Digital Mobile Cryptobank For Everyon


View Profile
August 20, 2014, 04:48:44 PM
 #759

Hey all....I've been quietly watching all going on here and I have a couple of questions.

How come when I load up my Zeus/Fury miners /w the latest (4.3.5, I think) CGminer, I get only about a third of the end hashrate? By end hashrate I mean 'at the pool end'. Sure, the GUI for it says I'm right on the money. At a 340 clock speed it shows a 1.7Mh. But that sure isn't what the pool rate says, and that's the one that counts. I even back it off (clock) and still the pool hash is soooo much smaller.   Angry
Here's the kicker...if I go back to the old 3.1.1 curse CGMiner....works fine and I get about what I should. So...WTF? Am I missing something in the translation? I'm no pro, but not a newb either. I've tweaked the .conf file, etc., and it ain't right. Has anyone else been seeing this and if so, how the heck did ya fix it? PLEASE.....tell me!   Huh  I need to know. I've lost sleep. I've been up ALL night.

Second question; Has anyone seen a difference in the hashrates between the GenA releases and the latest? I have a GenA Fury and a newer, recent order one and, WOW. What a difference in those. Can anyone tell me WHY? And Yes...before anyone asks...I've ensured that my informal testing has been on a level playing field. Same drivers, software, etc.

Oh..I should say: Win8.1 64, i7, 16G ram, nVidia, yada, yada. Further, I have 'no clue' how to compile or write code. I work with what's out there and tweak the sh$t out of it. No hardware mods, etc. Out of the box stuff only.

Thanks for any and all help, kind people. It is very much appreciated.   Roll Eyes


Arrrgghhh! My hair, my hair!! I'm about to quit and go back to 3.1.1.



░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀


░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀

▀  Twitter
▀  Telegram
▀  Facebook
▀  ANN Thread
▀  Whitepaper
▀  Website
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
August 21, 2014, 01:58:43 AM
 #760

Hey all....I've been quietly watching all going on here and I have a couple of questions.

How come when I load up my Zeus/Fury miners /w the latest (4.3.5, I think) CGminer, I get only about a third of the end hashrate? By end hashrate I mean 'at the pool end'. Sure, the GUI for it says I'm right on the money. At a 340 clock speed it shows a 1.7Mh. But that sure isn't what the pool rate says, and that's the one that counts. I even back it off (clock) and still the pool hash is soooo much smaller.   Angry
Here's the kicker...if I go back to the old 3.1.1 curse CGMiner....works fine and I get about what I should. So...WTF? Am I missing something in the translation? I'm no pro, but not a newb either. I've tweaked the .conf file, etc., and it ain't right. Has anyone else been seeing this and if so, how the heck did ya fix it? PLEASE.....tell me!   Huh  I need to know. I've lost sleep. I've been up ALL night.

Second question; Has anyone seen a difference in the hashrates between the GenA releases and the latest? I have a GenA Fury and a newer, recent order one and, WOW. What a difference in those. Can anyone tell me WHY? And Yes...before anyone asks...I've ensured that my informal testing has been on a level playing field. Same drivers, software, etc.

Oh..I should say: Win8.1 64, i7, 16G ram, nVidia, yada, yada. Further, I have 'no clue' how to compile or write code. I work with what's out there and tweak the sh$t out of it. No hardware mods, etc. Out of the box stuff only.

Thanks for any and all help, kind people. It is very much appreciated.   Roll Eyes


Arrrgghhh! My hair, my hair!! I'm about to quit and go back to 3.1.1.

Who's cgminer fork are you using?  If you're not using Dmaxl's fork I would suggest trying that (https://github.com/dmaxl/cgminer).  I strictly mine using linux based controllers (rpi or PC)...so if you're on Windows I'm not sure what to tell you.  Maybe get an rpi?  It's wicked easy to get things going on the rpi platform.  You can even try rpi mining firmware like Starminer, Minera, Minepeon, etc. 
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!