Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 08:03:21 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Fury/Blizzard tuning and mods  (Read 103996 times)
AJRGale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 761



View Profile
December 08, 2014, 03:42:49 AM
 #821

so i have one of these blizzard thingies, its dead, basically the blue light is just lit up, nothing on the lsusb, windows cant make heads or tails of it, even though it was running on the system for days before its final hash.

im thinking the silicon labs controller is fried, is there any way to test the chips without that ic?
1510949001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510949001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510949001
Reply with quote  #2

1510949001
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kingscrown
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


http://fuk.io - check it out!


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2014, 03:49:50 AM
 #822

anybody wants to buy crushed FURY? chips are fine but electricity entrance part melted.

AJRGale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 761



View Profile
December 08, 2014, 03:54:39 AM
 #823

anybody wants to buy crushed FURY? chips are fine but electricity entrance part melted.

how did you melt the power plug? or you talking about the whole power supply on the board?
Zeta0S
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
December 08, 2014, 12:25:28 PM
 #824

hey guys,
can you split the hashrate of 1.3 mhs gaw fury?
does --balance works using cgminer?
Why divide something so close to 0 ?

Get a HUGE 3% discount with promo code: MOON @ Genesis Mining
https://www.genesis-mining.com
LongAndShort
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
December 08, 2014, 12:37:02 PM
 #825

hey guys,
can you split the hashrate of 1.3 mhs gaw fury?
does --balance works using cgminer?
Why divide something so close to 0 ?

Not to be a jerk but have you looked at your sig. "3%"
Prolly the same reason you would bother going after a 3% discount, that is so close to 0. It all just adds up. Tongue

On another note, i haven't looked at the chips specs in awhile. I forget if we could possibly even convert the fpga to mine something like x11 or some other algo.
I might look because i have quite a few freebie blizzards that would be perfect to play with. Got any idea zeta?
kingscrown
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


http://fuk.io - check it out!


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2014, 11:25:17 PM
 #826

anybody wants to buy crushed FURY? chips are fine but electricity entrance part melted.

how did you melt the power plug? or you talking about the whole power supply on the board?

the cable got so hot [the cable goig nfrom PSU] that parts of it melted and now 1 of machines wont get ON at all - second if you try a few Times [by making circles with the cable] will catch electricity and mine for a bit then disconnect.

im speaking about the cable going out off PSU that melted a bit inside the machine, making it unable to get electricity right way.

machine is too cheap to take it and pay for fixing it by some electrician PRO yet its still worht something - so if somebody can fix it himself, its can be good deal.

so if sopmebody wants to play a bit on my machines feel free to contact me.

sandpaper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374


View Profile
December 10, 2014, 01:32:56 AM
 #827

hey guys,
can you split the hashrate of 1.3 mhs gaw fury?
does --balance works using cgminer?
Why divide something so close to 0 ?

Not to be a jerk but have you looked at your sig. "3%"
Prolly the same reason you would bother going after a 3% discount, that is so close to 0. It all just adds up. Tongue

On another note, i haven't looked at the chips specs in awhile. I forget if we could possibly even convert the fpga to mine something like x11 or some other algo.
I might look because i have quite a few freebie blizzards that would be perfect to play with. Got any idea zeta?

Freebie blizzards? How did you get those if I might ask?
ZiG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 10, 2014, 03:21:32 AM
 #828

anybody wants to buy crushed FURY? chips are fine but electricity entrance part melted.

how did you melt the power plug? or you talking about the whole power supply on the board?

the cable got so hot [the cable goig nfrom PSU] that parts of it melted and now 1 of machines wont get ON at all - second if you try a few Times [by making circles with the cable] will catch electricity and mine for a bit then disconnect.

im speaking about the cable going out off PSU that melted a bit inside the machine, making it unable to get electricity right way.

machine is too cheap to take it and pay for fixing it by some electrician PRO yet its still worht something - so if somebody can fix it himself, its can be good deal.

so if sopmebody wants to play a bit on my machines feel free to contact me.

I could try...I am in Florida, USA...

Where are you located... Huh

Thanks,

ZiG
totoy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 613



View Profile
December 20, 2014, 05:15:59 PM
 #829

hey guys,
can you split the hashrate of 1.3 mhs gaw fury?
does --balance works using cgminer?
Why divide something so close to 0 ?

close to 0 Huh U sure? Lol Grin thanks anyway  Wink
Zeta0S
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
December 20, 2014, 11:32:36 PM
 #830

hey guys,
can you split the hashrate of 1.3 mhs gaw fury?
does --balance works using cgminer?
Why divide something so close to 0 ?

Not to be a jerk but have you looked at your sig. "3%"
Prolly the same reason you would bother going after a 3% discount, that is so close to 0. It all just adds up. Tongue

Haha, good poin taken mate  Grin
Quote
On another note, i haven't looked at the chips specs in awhile. I forget if we could possibly even convert the fpga to mine something like x11 or some other algo.
I might look because i have quite a few freebie blizzards that would be perfect to play with. Got any idea zeta?
I had a interesting personal talk whit the CEO of Mining Asics Technologies (Marc Coumans) 7 months back in his office.
He had a idea to create a miner whit asic chipes and FPGA chips so the miner can be reprogrammed to X11 or new algorithms.
I Know M.A.T. is questionable at the moment, but his idea and details sounded valid at that time. I could contact him to ask the details?

Second, there is a fair chance that X11 already is been mined by a view people in china. Some summary proof has been given i a other topic on this forum


Get a HUGE 3% discount with promo code: MOON @ Genesis Mining
https://www.genesis-mining.com
pehoko
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 211


View Profile
February 15, 2015, 04:38:17 PM
 #831

Hello. My zeus miner thunder x3 (4 plates 128 chips) has stopped working time ago. I need some advice how to repair it. I think that there is some problem with usb microcontroller mounted on main plate, other doesn't have this cp2102. Miner works and show speed but don't accept shares and controller is not recognized in windows device manager. Is there is some standalone usb uart controller which I can test to work on this plate?
Thank you.
AJRGale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 761



View Profile
February 16, 2015, 05:48:54 AM
 #832

Hello. My zeus miner thunder x3 (4 plates 128 chips) has stopped working time ago. I need some advice how to repair it. I think that there is some problem with usb microcontroller mounted on main plate, other doesn't have this cp2102. Miner works and show speed but don't accept shares and controller is not recognized in windows device manager. Is there is some standalone usb uart controller which I can test to work on this plate?
Thank you.

hmm, i cant say for sure if you could just slap a uart usb controller to the boards, but if you look at the pin outs of the cp2102, there is tx and rx pins to the chipsets, that would be where you wire up the external controller.. if you're good at soldering 1mm or less targets, you should be right.

come to think of it, looking at some google images, i think i can see a 4/5 by 2 pin header on the other side of the board, maybe you can use that? could be a test header.

lemme look into it a little more...
pehoko
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 211


View Profile
February 16, 2015, 09:04:53 AM
 #833

Well I think just to wire with serial to OUT:
http://i.imgur.com/XOlcIDT.jpg
I have some external usb-rs232 converter for test
AJRGale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 761



View Profile
February 16, 2015, 11:39:22 PM
 #834

Well I think just to wire with serial to OUT:
http://i.imgur.com/XOlcIDT.jpg
I have some external usb-rs232 converter for test

i would of guessed that was for a fan, but looking closely at it im assuming red is power, black is ground and yellow is TX for the out side?
as for the "IN" side the same applies, but yellow is TX?

get a multimeter on the black and red, it should be 3.3v, check ground to the yellow, should see 0 to 1.3v?

so one should be able to go:       -> TX -> In/RX ->
                                         USB -> RX -> out/TX -> Board
                                                -> Earth -> black ->
pehoko
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 211


View Profile
February 17, 2015, 10:51:44 AM
 #835

Tryed but not working, one usb port seems to be broken
3.10v between black-yellow
3.25v between black-red
AJRGale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 761



View Profile
February 17, 2015, 12:22:49 PM
 #836

Tryed but not working, one usb port seems to be broken
3.10v between black-yellow
3.25v between black-red

black and red is fine at +/-5%

if yellow is data, that i'd say is fine at that voltage if it is moving data, but you cant see anything on uart?

i am assuming you are on linux and you have "cat /dev/ttyUSB0"  for an output
ammi84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
February 17, 2015, 01:49:14 PM
 #837

hi,

i wonder if anybody can help me

is the power-supply-socket of the blizzard capable for a notebook-psu with 5,5*2,5mm Plug?

Thank you
AJRGale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 761



View Profile
February 17, 2015, 05:30:52 PM
 #838

hi,

i wonder if anybody can help me

is the power-supply-socket of the blizzard capable for a notebook-psu with 5,5*2,5mm Plug?

Thank you

its 12vdc that it requires, if you plug a 19v powerpack from a laptop in, things will go pop.
 if you are brave enough to do some wiring and use a computers psu, splice the old powerpacks jack into the 12v rail on a psu, centre pin should be +ive
ammi84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
February 17, 2015, 06:14:14 PM
 #839

sorry - my bad
i meant 12v Power-Supply with 5,5*2,5mm Plug
there are a lot on ebay and stuff
unamis76
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


View Profile
February 17, 2015, 08:32:49 PM
 #840

hey guys,
can you split the hashrate of 1.3 mhs gaw fury?
does --balance works using cgminer?
Why divide something so close to 0 ?

Not to be a jerk but have you looked at your sig. "3%"
Prolly the same reason you would bother going after a 3% discount, that is so close to 0. It all just adds up. Tongue

On another note, i haven't looked at the chips specs in awhile. I forget if we could possibly even convert the fpga to mine something like x11 or some other algo.
I might look because i have quite a few freebie blizzards that would be perfect to play with. Got any idea zeta?

Freebie blizzards? How did you get those if I might ask?

I'm curious too, I'd like to have a few units to play with, without risking much...
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!