Bitcoin Forum
November 25, 2017, 11:58:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Fury/Blizzard tuning and mods  (Read 104151 times)
MobileWill
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2014, 02:54:29 AM
 #641

Quote
One word for you brother: Novec

Got a USA source for this mythical 3M™ Novec™ 7000 Engineered Fluid?

Have you tried going to 3M's website to see if they offer any 'samples' of it?  I have gotten some samples of their Vikuiti LCD backlight films before (made a small 7" standard LCD sunlight readable with them).  They (Like Texas Instruments) offer samples on a lot of their products.  Being samples, it's not much...but it might be enough for a blizzard/fury if they offer it.

:Edit:  http://solutions.3m.com/wps/portal/3M/en_US/3MNovec/Home/Support/RequestSample/   Novec Engineering Fluid is in the list Wink

Just for the hell of it, I submitted for a sample order.

Which version of it did you get? 8200?

miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=80
1511611105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511611105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511611105
Reply with quote  #2

1511611105
Report to moderator
1511611105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511611105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511611105
Reply with quote  #2

1511611105
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
vabchgent
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


★ BitClave $22M/$25M on pre-sale ★


View Profile
July 24, 2014, 03:26:30 AM
 #642

Quote
One word for you brother: Novec

Got a USA source for this mythical 3M™ Novec™ 7000 Engineered Fluid?

Have you tried going to 3M's website to see if they offer any 'samples' of it?  I have gotten some samples of their Vikuiti LCD backlight films before (made a small 7" standard LCD sunlight readable with them).  They (Like Texas Instruments) offer samples on a lot of their products.  Being samples, it's not much...but it might be enough for a blizzard/fury if they offer it.

:Edit:  http://solutions.3m.com/wps/portal/3M/en_US/3MNovec/Home/Support/RequestSample/   Novec Engineering Fluid is in the list Wink

Just for the hell of it, I submitted for a sample order.

They might give you a sample of the novec but there not going to give you the 10.000 dollars worth of equipment to maintain it.

You might want to have a look here
http://www.overclock.net/t/1209583/3m-novec-7000-group

And a interesting video on it here
http://www.youtube.com/embed/aFnk5mentJc?list=UUD3hkfNShisUaVzLcrS5cfA


                  ,'+██':                 
              ,█████████████;             
            .██████████████████           
            .████████████████████         
         █  .███;         ,███████.       
        ██  .█+              '█████'       
      `███  .█+    ,;'':       █████+     
      ████  .█+ ███████████,    ,████+     
     █████  .████████████████,    ████,   
    ██████  .██████████████████   `████   
   ;██████  .█████`      '██████  .█████   
   ████ ██  .███           :████████████. 
  +███  ██  .█.     `..      ████████████ 
  ████  ██  .    .███████'    ███████████`
 ,███   ██      ███████████    ███████████
 ████   ██     █████████████`  `██████████
 ███;  ███    ███████████████   ██████████`
 ███   ███   .████████████████  `█████████'
,███   ███   █████████████████   ██████████
'███  ,███   █████████████████:  ██████████
+███  ;███  `██████████████████  ██████████
████  '███  .██████████████████  +█████████
████  '███  .██████████████████  +█████████
'███  :███   █████████████████'  ██████████
:███   ███   █████████████████   ██████████
 ███   ███'  '████████████████   ██████████
 ███,  ████   ███████████████`  ██████████,
 ████  ,███:  `█████████████+   ██████████
 ;███   ████   `███████████+   ███████████
  ███'  .████    █████████`   +██████████;
  ████   █████     :███'     +███████████ 
   ████   █████`            ████████████+ 
   ████,   ██████`        +█████. +█████   
    ████    █████████++████████`   ████.   
    .████    ;████████████████    █████   
     '████`    +████████████     █████     
      +████+     `'█████+.     .█████     
       +█████.                ██████       
        ,██████;           .███████       
          █████████':,:;█████████.         
           ,███████████████████+           
             .███████████████;             
                `'████████,               
Ruledo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 24, 2014, 01:06:00 PM
 #643

Quote
One word for you brother: Novec

Got a USA source for this mythical 3M™ Novec™ 7000 Engineered Fluid?

Have you tried going to 3M's website to see if they offer any 'samples' of it?  I have gotten some samples of their Vikuiti LCD backlight films before (made a small 7" standard LCD sunlight readable with them).  They (Like Texas Instruments) offer samples on a lot of their products.  Being samples, it's not much...but it might be enough for a blizzard/fury if they offer it.

:Edit:  http://solutions.3m.com/wps/portal/3M/en_US/3MNovec/Home/Support/RequestSample/   Novec Engineering Fluid is in the list Wink

Just for the hell of it, I submitted for a sample order.

They might give you a sample of the novec but there not going to give you the 10.000 dollars worth of equipment to maintain it.

You might want to have a look here
http://www.overclock.net/t/1209583/3m-novec-7000-group

And a interesting video on it here
http://www.youtube.com/embed/aFnk5mentJc?list=UUD3hkfNShisUaVzLcrS5cfA

Novec 7000 and other low temperature boiling coolants evaporate and have to be re-condensed.
As far as I can find, it also costs about $250 a gallon.

I think mineral oil is my only cost effective solution, but I'm still looking.
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
July 24, 2014, 01:48:43 PM
 #644

Quote
One word for you brother: Novec

Got a USA source for this mythical 3M™ Novec™ 7000 Engineered Fluid?

Have you tried going to 3M's website to see if they offer any 'samples' of it?  I have gotten some samples of their Vikuiti LCD backlight films before (made a small 7" standard LCD sunlight readable with them).  They (Like Texas Instruments) offer samples on a lot of their products.  Being samples, it's not much...but it might be enough for a blizzard/fury if they offer it.

:Edit:  http://solutions.3m.com/wps/portal/3M/en_US/3MNovec/Home/Support/RequestSample/   Novec Engineering Fluid is in the list Wink

Just for the hell of it, I submitted for a sample order.

Which version of it did you get? 8200?


I requested 649. 
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
July 25, 2014, 02:51:48 AM
 #645

Pic of the "wall of errors":


And before anyone says "your clocks are too high!"....They ALL work perfectly fine either alone, or in pairs, and all stay within a 5% margin of hw errors.  Put them all together and I randomly get these huge "walls" of hw errors on any one of them.  I even overclocked the rpi to 1Ghz thinking maybe it wasn't fast enough...made no difference. 

For anyone else that may experience this....I solved it.  Swapped out the 4 port USB hub with a new 7-port hub (with individual on/off switches for each port).  Now it works perfect.  The only thing I found is that the falcon doesn't like to play nice with the hub either.  It's using the FTDI USB chip though.  What happens is that even if the hub port is switched off, it still seems to light up the indicator somewhat.  When that happens, cgminer/rpi won't recognize it.  To get it to work, I have to switch the port on first, then plug the falcon in...defeating the purpose of the on/off switch really.  Guess that's what you get for $8 and free shipping.  I believe part of the problem is the falcon feeds voltage through the usb cable and the hub likely doesn't have diodes to block that incoming device voltage.  Dunno...haven't taken the hub apart...and for $8 that resolves the walls of hw errors...I don't really care because I don't intend on making a habit of unplugging things very often.
Zeta0S
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


View Profile
July 25, 2014, 09:02:58 AM
 #646

I will receive a Blizzard X6 next week!
 Grin Grin

Get a HUGE 3% discount with promo code: MOON @ Genesis Mining
https://www.genesis-mining.com
djkyno
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
July 25, 2014, 11:40:08 AM
 #647

Still working on 4 fury. but 1 of them is showing WU: 500 - 600 which is half of what my other miner is doing. How to solve this ?

ZeroGee
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
July 26, 2014, 03:48:35 AM
 #648

So what're we at? I've been running my Thunder x3 for a while now, tempted to get some 8.5x8.5mm heatsinks and redoing the thermal paste. If anything I'm hoping I can possibly reduce the HW rate... I did some probing around, though it uses a different chip for line regulation, mine seems to be set at ~1.3V, though at the end of the chain, I was getting a 1.19V reading.

This is running at 344, showing 32.25MH/s (1.511MH/s Blizzard equivalent) with ~5% HW yielding ~30.5MH/s and the pool count reflects approximately that number. Typically I use 1024 difficulty but occasionally I use 384 when I feel I might miss out on the lucky blocks.

I'm using cgminer 4.3.5 w/zeus support. --zeus-nocheck-golden for decreased startup time/risk. Occasionally it doesn't recognize correctly.

Power supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182285
cgminer 4.3.5 @ 344MHz, Win 7
Ambient temp 74-78F, middle of blade heatsink temp: 100-105F
Vc:1.3 to 1.19V end of chain under load (considering beefing up the connection from the beginning to the end of the chain)
Power draw: 1100W from the wall, verified. I might measure the DC draw later. If I upgrade/mod I'll run two 800W PSUs or something.

So, does anyone think I could reduce my HW rate by beefing up the heatsink/other mods?

cgminermonitor link:  http://cgminermonitor.com/Shared/e6f29634954b4c9ca9ef61e0a8e5f3dd0
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212



View Profile
July 26, 2014, 05:15:52 AM
 #649

Ok,I just got a Hurricane X3.Which USB driver should I use Huh

Can it run from a bat file Huh  Or is compiling necessary Huh

Which is easier,BFG or CGminer Huh

I've tried CGminer 4.3.5 with CP210 & then Zadig drivers,I find no COM port with CP & I get a device showing under USB devices with Zadig,but CG still doesn't see it.

I'm soooo confused  Cheesy   I had 5 Fury's running on CGminer 3.1.1 before with no problem,this Hurricane has me going crazy !!!!!!!!   Cheesy

Thanks for ANY help guys!!!  Cool


BTW,I did read about 15 pages of this thread & many,many other threads & Zeus forum threads......still confused  Cheesy

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
LongAndShort
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile
July 26, 2014, 07:16:00 AM
 #650

Ok,I just got a Hurricane X3.Which USB driver should I use Huh

Can it run from a bat file Huh  Or is compiling necessary Huh

Which is easier,BFG or CGminer Huh

I've tried CGminer 4.3.5 with CP210 & then Zadig drivers,I find no COM port with CP & I get a device showing under USB devices with Zadig,but CG still doesn't see it.

I'm soooo confused  Cheesy   I had 5 Fury's running on CGminer 3.1.1 before with no problem,this Hurricane has me going crazy !!!!!!!!   Cheesy

Thanks for ANY help guys!!!  Cool


BTW,I did read about 15 pages of this thread & many,many other threads & Zeus forum threads......still confused  Cheesy

Check out the wiki www.zeusminer.info and btw the hurricane x3 is a batch 2 item

p.s make sure you click on an ad or two to support the wiki Smiley
SoreGums
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121



View Profile
July 26, 2014, 08:01:12 AM
 #651

Seems that diff 512 is best...

Been running for 8hrs so far





Need to really look into NOMP as it is doing some interesting things with the frontend stats (especially the hasrate) Tongue

Pool: 10512 = 512diff, 11024 = 1024 diff, 12048 = 2048 diff
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212



View Profile
July 26, 2014, 08:10:53 AM
 #652

Ok,I just got a Hurricane X3.Which USB driver should I use Huh

Can it run from a bat file Huh  Or is compiling necessary Huh

Which is easier,BFG or CGminer Huh

I've tried CGminer 4.3.5 with CP210 & then Zadig drivers,I find no COM port with CP & I get a device showing under USB devices with Zadig,but CG still doesn't see it.

I'm soooo confused  Cheesy   I had 5 Fury's running on CGminer 3.1.1 before with no problem,this Hurricane has me going crazy !!!!!!!!   Cheesy

Thanks for ANY help guys!!!  Cool


BTW,I did read about 15 pages of this thread & many,many other threads & Zeus forum threads......still confused  Cheesy

Check out the wiki www.zeusminer.info and btw the hurricane x3 is a batch 2 item

p.s make sure you click on an ad or two to support the wiki Smiley

Thanks man!!! Read about the batch 2 info,but only in one place,so I had my doubts  Roll Eyes

Since I installed USB drivers several times,I did a reinstall of win7 on the PC I'm gonna use.

So,BFGminer & CGminer will use the same USB driver Huh

BTW,can anyone share a bat file config ?? So I can see how much I goofed mine up  Cheesy



BIG EDIT: WhooHoo!!!!!!!!!!!  Grin  I was using the wrong USB driver or a conflict of all the ones I installed  Roll Eyes

Using those USB drivers on the Zeus wiki,for the batch 2's & CGminer 4.3.5,ran on the first try...after I reinstalled OS to get a clean start.

Thanks LongAndShort!!! Cool Cheesy Wink

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
bosondehiggs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
July 27, 2014, 02:17:59 AM
 #653

I just mod my fury!
Change power supply to 12V 20A
Add copper heatsink 8X8X5mm
change thermal paste with artic 5 silver.
make lot of hole on the back and andd 12cm fan.
Add 43kohm on paralel with R7 (1.43V)

@381mhz i have 1680Mh/s (dev HR) on minera and 1500 1800 Mh/s for Pool Hashrate with 5% error for now.

temp seems lower than original setup.

btc: 1GjH79Qn3L1RayqX4utCNJToLQEQLh8Vc7
Ruledo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 27, 2014, 02:44:58 AM
 #654

I just mod my fury!
Change power supply to 12V 20A
Add copper heatsink 8X8X5mm
change thermal paste with artic 5 silver.
make lot of hole on the back and andd 12cm fan.
Add 43kohm on paralel with R7 (1.43V)

@381mhz i have 1680Mh/s (dev HR) on minera and 1500 1800 Mh/s for Pool Hashrate with 5% error for now.

temp seems lower than original setup.

How do you fit a 12cm (120mm) fan onto a fury?
Can you provide a picture?
bosondehiggs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
July 27, 2014, 03:48:59 AM
 #655

the 12cm fan is not fixed!
i put the fury on the side and the fan at 2-3cm of the back.


btc: 1GjH79Qn3L1RayqX4utCNJToLQEQLh8Vc7
Ruledo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 27, 2014, 05:48:33 AM
 #656

the 12cm fan is not fixed!
i put the fury on the side and the fan at 2-3cm of the back.

Thanks!
Still trying to get ideas. Smiley
ernie-
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2014, 06:13:49 AM
 #657

the 12cm fan is not fixed!
i put the fury on the side and the fan at 2-3cm of the back.


How many watts is the 12cm fan? Surely it can't be worth the effort, as the case doesn't even have fins on that side.

bosondehiggs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
July 27, 2014, 06:37:53 AM
 #658

4,32W...
I made many hole in the back

1 hour after my last restart:

btc: 1GjH79Qn3L1RayqX4utCNJToLQEQLh8Vc7
djkyno
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
July 27, 2014, 09:18:05 AM
 #659

Really troubled with this FURY. It's been day for the WU to be in this number. Anything can be done to fix it ?


SoreGums
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121



View Profile
July 27, 2014, 10:49:45 AM
 #660

Really troubled with this FURY. It's been day for the WU to be in this number. Anything can be done to fix it ?



Stop and start?

Every time I restart my miners numbers always change.
Getting about 1100 to 1300 - seems OK.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!