Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 09:03:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Fury/Blizzard tuning and mods  (Read 104106 times)
somatic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile WWW
July 15, 2014, 07:00:51 PM
 #561

How do you determine which batch your Blizzard is from? I can't get cgminer or bfgminer to detect it. Have tried everything I can think of; I spent literally 8 hours yesterday trying to get it to work. I'm on Mint (Ubuntu).

If anyone is willing to take a look it would be greatly appreciated. Here is the thread on Stack Exchange with all of the details of my setup.

What versions / builds of cgminer or bfgminer?  
The cmds are different.  Could be -S zus:all or -S zeus:/dev/ttyUSB2 (notice zus & zeus) depending on which version of bfgminer for example.


Bfgminer 4.4.0-32-gac4e9b3, compiled with --enable-scrypt

BTC: 1FY8hTG8JYqBuJPuHoURdSy4GyPxBi2ASn
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511471009
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511471009

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511471009
Reply with quote  #2

1511471009
Report to moderator
jeezy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
July 15, 2014, 07:41:47 PM
 #562

How do you determine which batch your Blizzard is from? I can't get cgminer or bfgminer to detect it. Have tried everything I can think of; I spent literally 8 hours yesterday trying to get it to work. I'm on Mint (Ubuntu).

If anyone is willing to take a look it would be greatly appreciated. Here is the thread on Stack Exchange with all of the details of my setup.

What versions / builds of cgminer or bfgminer? 
The cmds are different.  Could be -S zus:all or -S zeus:/dev/ttyUSB2 (notice zus & zeus) depending on which version of bfgminer for example.

This one from here: https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=20477.0

There are also some good tips in there for optimizing your performance.
bosondehiggs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
July 15, 2014, 07:52:46 PM
 #563

What is the best choise for raspberry pi?
Hashra Lunar Lander or minera or other

thanks

btc: 1GjH79Qn3L1RayqX4utCNJToLQEQLh8Vc7
somatic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile WWW
July 15, 2014, 07:56:06 PM
 #564

This one from here: https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=20477.0

There are also some good tips in there for optimizing your performance.

Nope. Now I've tried that, cgminer, regular BFG on my linux box AND my windows box. Although it shows up as a connected device in both Linux and Windows (it shows on COM6), no miner software seems to be able to see it.

UPDATE: I've finally got it to respond on my Windows machine, using the custom version of cgminer from Zeusminer.com. So it's not DOA, which is a relief. It has a ton of hardware errors, and the top speed it's reached so far is 1.1MH/s, but it's not dead.

So now I'm back to the drawing board. Something is definitely up with the Linux box. It's running two Rockminers flawlessly, so I dunno.

The fact that it only works with the custom version of cgminer from Zeusminer is a hint, I just don't know about what. If I was a more talented C coder I would look at the source, because the answer must be in there somewhere.

BTC: 1FY8hTG8JYqBuJPuHoURdSy4GyPxBi2ASn
jeezy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
July 15, 2014, 08:24:30 PM
 #565

Say you have 4 Zeus Blizzards, are you guys letting them run in 1 instance of cgminer/bfgminer or are you opening 4 seperate instances for each of them? What's the best practice here?
ZiG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
July 15, 2014, 08:29:09 PM
 #566

Say you have 4 Zeus Blizzards, are you guys letting them run in 1 instance of cgminer/bfgminer or are you opening 4 seperate instances for each of them? What's the best practice here?

Running 5 on 1 instance of BFGMiner 4.4 + Win64 ...No problems, except HW errors of ~5%...no voltmods... Grin

ZiG
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
July 15, 2014, 08:59:19 PM
 #567

Say you have 4 Zeus Blizzards, are you guys letting them run in 1 instance of cgminer/bfgminer or are you opening 4 seperate instances for each of them? What's the best practice here?

When I run all 4 in one instance of cgminer, I get walls of hundreds (sometimes thousands) of errors randomly.  Run 3 fury's in 1 instance....no problems.  Add the 4th and I get those walls of errors (posted a pic above).  Doesn't matter what speed I run them at either.  300, 328, 381....same result.  Each miner or pair works very well as long as they're not in the same instance.

I have absolutely no luck with bfgminer.  I either get high rejects, low hashrate, miners get reported as sick every few minutes, all pools report as 'dead' randomly, or it doesn't work at all with the pool(s).  Doesn't seem to matter what pool I use.  Running on rpi.  Tried starminer, minepeon, hashra lunar lander, and right now I'm on a straight Raspbian Wheezy image running from ssh.  Same results across all images.  
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414



View Profile
July 15, 2014, 09:08:14 PM
 #568

What is the best choise for raspberry pi?
Hashra Lunar Lander or minera or other

thanks

Surprisingly the latest Zeus image works quite well. It's very basic, doesn't really have much of a GUI, but you can get pretty charts elsewhere.

GAWSOME class action
(Homero Garza throws Stuart Fraser under the bus)
ION: XPY successor
                 Make sure to read

                 BitcoinTalk rules
          /s
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
July 15, 2014, 09:27:56 PM
 #569

What is the best choise for raspberry pi?
Hashra Lunar Lander or minera or other

thanks

Surprisingly the latest Zeus image works quite well. It's very basic, doesn't really have much of a GUI, but you can get pretty charts elsewhere.

It also runs each device in it's own miner instance.  So if you have more than just a few miners it becomes a pain in the ass to configure.  I also had issues with it accepting the configuration changes and resorted to WinSCP to manually edit the files.  Also - beware - as soon as it starts up it will detect your miners and start mining for zeus.  Talk about shady tactics.  That right there is TOTAL BS.

But other than those gripes...yes...it is very simple and does work well.
sandpaper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374


View Profile
July 15, 2014, 10:44:34 PM
 #570

=(

I have a batch 1 blizzard that no longer has any accepted shares, but still sometimes reports hashrate. It has 0 accepted / rejected / wu. I contacted zeusminer and they want proof, so I plan to email them screenshots of it running for hours with no accepts. It has worked fine in the current system since I received them back in June and the other 2 are currently fine. Not sure what's up, any ideaS?

I have tried switching power cables / usb cords / connecting directly to computer / different com ports and nothing can get it hashing away and accepting shares.

Help!
ahsbqt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13

luthor from ethereum forum


View Profile
July 15, 2014, 10:51:04 PM
 #571

Hi guys i am using the latest starminer and looking the nst6563 config file, i wonder if i can run my 5 furys at differents speeds, i have 4 that gave me usual 5%HW at 340 clock but a i have one that give 10% even at 328, si can i set a different clock for each one?, thanks

nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
July 15, 2014, 11:29:38 PM
 #572

Hi guys i am using the latest starminer and looking the nst6563 config file, i wonder if i can run my 5 furys at differents speeds, i have 4 that gave me usual 5%HW at 340 clock but a i have one that give 10% even at 328, si can i set a different clock for each one?, thanks



I would like to say "yes"....however I wasn't able to myself.  Despite what my config shows, it seems that the fury's are set to 381 from the "zeus-clock" setting and not the "zeus-options"

However...it should be possible and it's very likely I just don't have syntax right or something (even though the falcon is set to 345 as specified in zeus-options)
Here is some text from dmaxl's github:
Quote
The Zeus driver needs to be configured with two runtime options: the number of chips per ASIC device with --zeus-chips and the desired clock speed in MHz with --zeus-clock. These options are applied to all Zeus miners. To set options for a specific device use --zeus-options ID,chips,clock where ID specifies the device (see below) and chips and clock set the respective options. Multiple ID,chips,clock tuples can be joined together separated by semi-colons.

And then this post from jstefanop on litecointalk ( https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=16301.7545 ) :
Quote
Finally got cgminer 4.3.5 working on windows with Zeus ASICS!



The latest win build is here: https://mega.co.nz/#!dk52wSYC!L1tHEZnXlNU8tp3amI1-_CxxgzdMNEvjbbo1SlVxSy0

This is based off dmaxl's cgminer port for starminer...source here: https://github.com/dmaxl/cgminer so big kudos goes to dmaxl and starminer for porting the zeus driver over to the newer cgminer builds (keep in mind if you want to compile yourself use the zeus_mingw branch)

Basic commands to get this running

./cgminer.exe --scrypt --zeus-chips 96 --zeus-clock 328 --scan-serial //./COM1

obviously replacing chip clock and com port numbers to the correct values...if you want to mix multiple devices here is the format

./cgminer.exe --scrypt  --scan-serial //./COM1  --scan-serial //./COM2 --zeus-options //./COM1,96,328;//./COM2,128,338;

so if you have a mix of different devices use the --zeus-option flag in the format of COMPORT,CHIPCOUNT,CLOCKSPEED;COMPORT,CHIPCOUNT,CLOCKSPEED;etc;etc

If you just have a bunch of the same devices (i.e. a bunch of blizzards) then just use the --zeus-chips --zeus-clock options once and --scan-serial for each device

You can also try --scan-serial zeus:auto to auto scan them.

Thats all for now please report any issues as this is a preliminary build, but it should be much more stable than bfgminer with certain pools/multipools
mykive
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 05:55:00 AM
 #573

No matter what clock i set i get THESE same stats and usually ALOT of HW errors on one of them
ernie-
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2014, 06:08:40 AM
 #574

No matter what clock i set i get THESE same stats and usually ALOT of HW errors on one of them
I had terrible problems with bfgminer and HW errors, changed to cgminer and they all went away.
mykive
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 06:32:38 AM
 #575

i get them on cg too xD
ernie-
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2014, 06:53:38 AM
 #576

i get them on cg too xD
Version 4.3.5? If so try linux with direct I/O instead of Windows. A raspberry Pi is all you need for that.


jeezy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
July 16, 2014, 07:18:43 AM
 #577

Hi guys i am using the latest starminer and looking the nst6563 config file, i wonder if i can run my 5 furys at differents speeds, i have 4 that gave me usual 5%HW at 340 clock but a i have one that give 10% even at 328, si can i set a different clock for each one?, thanks



I would like to say "yes"....however I wasn't able to myself.  Despite what my config shows, it seems that the fury's are set to 381 from the "zeus-clock" setting and not the "zeus-options"

However...it should be possible and it's very likely I just don't have syntax right or something (even though the falcon is set to 345 as specified in zeus-options)
Here is some text from dmaxl's github:
Quote
The Zeus driver needs to be configured with two runtime options: the number of chips per ASIC device with --zeus-chips and the desired clock speed in MHz with --zeus-clock. These options are applied to all Zeus miners. To set options for a specific device use --zeus-options ID,chips,clock where ID specifies the device (see below) and chips and clock set the respective options. Multiple ID,chips,clock tuples can be joined together separated by semi-colons.

And then this post from jstefanop on litecointalk ( https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=16301.7545 ) :
Quote
Finally got cgminer 4.3.5 working on windows with Zeus ASICS!



The latest win build is here: https://mega.co.nz/#!dk52wSYC!L1tHEZnXlNU8tp3amI1-_CxxgzdMNEvjbbo1SlVxSy0

This is based off dmaxl's cgminer port for starminer...source here: https://github.com/dmaxl/cgminer so big kudos goes to dmaxl and starminer for porting the zeus driver over to the newer cgminer builds (keep in mind if you want to compile yourself use the zeus_mingw branch)

Basic commands to get this running

./cgminer.exe --scrypt --zeus-chips 96 --zeus-clock 328 --scan-serial //./COM1

obviously replacing chip clock and com port numbers to the correct values...if you want to mix multiple devices here is the format

./cgminer.exe --scrypt  --scan-serial //./COM1  --scan-serial //./COM2 --zeus-options //./COM1,96,328;//./COM2,128,338;

so if you have a mix of different devices use the --zeus-option flag in the format of COMPORT,CHIPCOUNT,CLOCKSPEED;COMPORT,CHIPCOUNT,CLOCKSPEED;etc;etc

If you just have a bunch of the same devices (i.e. a bunch of blizzards) then just use the --zeus-chips --zeus-clock options once and --scan-serial for each device

You can also try --scan-serial zeus:auto to auto scan them.

Thats all for now please report any issues as this is a preliminary build, but it should be much more stable than bfgminer with certain pools/multipools

Thanks for the info. Will try to let them run each in one instance and all together.
SoreGums
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121



View Profile
July 16, 2014, 07:17:09 PM
 #578

Had a go at compiling bfgminer - following the windows build instructions was pretty straight forward.
Specifically I compiled this: https://github.com/nwoolls/bfgminer/commit/bb5bff44c5bae1a9774f5679c1f193a40de4368c
Result is here if anyone wants a copy: https://www.dropbox.com/s/on4zshwgwdp4vmn/bfgminer%204.4.0-54-gbb5bff4_nwoolls.7z

Seems to be working ok, been running it for 5mins - was running cgminer4.3.5 didn't like when i quit that it didn't show all the summary stats and crashed. Hence why i'm going through this thread then...

I've only managed to read up to page 23 of this thread so far, need to sleep now though, bloody 3am :/
ernie-
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2014, 08:15:24 PM
 #579

Has anyone figured out how to get the power consumption down on these things? Apparently the voltage regulator for the core is meant to be adjustable.


I want to get the efficiency comparable to Gridseed.
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 09:52:42 PM
 #580

Has anyone figured out how to get the power consumption down on these things? Apparently the voltage regulator for the core is meant to be adjustable.



You can always swap the resistor to drop the voltage instead of increase it.  You'll likely have to lower the clock speed as well in order to compensate for the lower voltage.

You could also run them off Solar arrays to take them "off the grid"  Wink

SUPPOSEDLY Zeus is coming out with a lower power variant according to some banter on litecointalk forums.

:edit:meh...just looks like they are under volting and underclocking and adding more chips to make up for the difference in hashrate. 
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!