Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 05:55:05 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Fury/Blizzard tuning and mods  (Read 103991 times)
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 09:51:24 PM
 #61

Exactly what type of cooling are you referring to?  Something similar to the heatsinks on the chips I posted in my picture?  I've already got those + thermal paste on the back of the circuitboard and that let me clock up to 354 (~1.41mhs). 

I have a small 60mm fan blowing through over the circuitboard and heatsinks.  Thermal probe on the heatsink shows 76f-78f (ambient is anywhere from 69f-72f depending if the AC is on or not). 

If I didn't have plans tonight I'd be doing this mod....
1510941305
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510941305

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510941305
Reply with quote  #2

1510941305
Report to moderator
1510941305
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510941305

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510941305
Reply with quote  #2

1510941305
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510941305
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510941305

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510941305
Reply with quote  #2

1510941305
Report to moderator
1510941305
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510941305

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510941305
Reply with quote  #2

1510941305
Report to moderator
1510941305
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510941305

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510941305
Reply with quote  #2

1510941305
Report to moderator
J4bberwock
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 10:23:44 PM
 #62

I forgot to mention that every Zeus miner that you will mod this way will automatically send 10% of your earnings to my wallets  Grin

I'll wait for the undervolt mod that would send money the other way  Grin

try my post just upside and tell me if it works Grin

Custom Server PSU breakout boards, 1200w, 1300w, 2000w, 2880w https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0
Btc: 1J4bberWs6f6XVQ53gn3BNc8qHAicmm7wu
Ltc: LNDmMBtzD3cduwjfxANm2wDrxt9jXRk5ZP
J4bberwock
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 10:29:36 PM
 #63

Exactly what type of cooling are you referring to?  Something similar to the heatsinks on the chips I posted in my picture?  I've already got those + thermal paste on the back of the circuitboard and that let me clock up to 354 (~1.41mhs). 

I have a small 60mm fan blowing through over the circuitboard and heatsinks.  Thermal probe on the heatsink shows 76f-78f (ambient is anywhere from 69f-72f depending if the AC is on or not). 

If I didn't have plans tonight I'd be doing this mod....

with the small extra fan plus heatsinks, you should be ok.
I cut an old VGA heatsink in 3 parts that each goes over 2 chips with arctic ceramique applied for the chips and under the board.
Plus a spare Gridseed blade fan blowing inside the Zeus heatsink.
Not sexy at the moment, but efficient until I find what I'm looking for as custom cooling..
I"ll measure watts used tomorrow. I do expect something in the 70 watt range
Time to sleep for now.

Custom Server PSU breakout boards, 1200w, 1300w, 2000w, 2880w https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0
Btc: 1J4bberWs6f6XVQ53gn3BNc8qHAicmm7wu
Ltc: LNDmMBtzD3cduwjfxANm2wDrxt9jXRk5ZP
Xer0
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840


°^°


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 11:50:02 PM
 #64

if you have a cnc mill,

you could mill a big heatsink down to touch chips only
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 12:59:56 AM
 #65

I did the mod...used a 50k trim pot adjusted down to 7k.

I had to leave but I was running it at 450mhz with a 3% error rate.  I just upped it to 500mhz and so far 0 errors in 10 minutes.  It's averaging 1.52mhs.  I'll let it run at 500 while I'm out and report back.  Temp probe only registered an average 3f increase with my heatsink setup.



Also....if anyone is running Hashra you have to edit the /var/www/index.php to allow those higher speeds
ZiG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 03:28:47 AM
 #66

I did the mod...used a 50k trim pot adjusted down to 7k.

I had to leave but I was running it at 450mhz with a 3% error rate.  I just upped it to 500mhz and so far 0 errors in 10 minutes.  It's averaging 1.52mhs.  I'll let it run at 500 while I'm out and report back.  Temp probe only registered an average 3f increase with my heatsink setup.



Also....if anyone is running Hashra you have to edit the /var/www/index.php to allow those higher speeds

Super...

So...1 Fury/Blizzard/Zeus 1.3MH voltmod & overclocked to 500MHz = 3 Gridseeds voltmod & overclocked to 500M

NOT BAD at all...for $120...only 1 device/connections...vs 3...

Mine is coming...I don't know when... Angry

Cheers,

ZiG

nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 04:01:41 AM
 #67

2nd post updated with J4bberwok's info that was posted. 

Also...my poolside hashrate is a LOT higher than the local reported hashrate. 
Local reported hashrate is around 1.52mh average.  Here's a pic of the poolside rates (under the nst6563.fury2 entry).  Single Fury. 
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile
June 14, 2014, 04:30:01 AM
 #68

Here is a formula to calculate actual hashrate without relying on pool numbers, which can be inaccurate:

difficulty_1_shares * 65536 / time_in_seconds

If you are using cgminer difficulty 1 shares are easy to obtain from the API ("Difficulty Accepted" in "POOLS" data, you can also add "Difficulty Rejected"). Time in seconds is the time elapsed since cgminer started. Newer cgminer versions also have this in the API ("Device Elapsed" in "DEVS") but unfortunately 3.1.1 doesn't so you'll need to get that from somewhere else (e.g. ps in Linux).

There are plenty of examples out there on how to query the API. Here is a quick one for Linux (red things are the ones you type in, green are the important bits):

Quote

such@moon:~$ telnet 127.0.0.1 4028
Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to 127.0.0.1.
Escape character is '^]'.
{"command": "pools"}
{"STATUS":[{"STATUS":"S","When":1402719573,"Code":7,"Msg":"3 Pool(s)","Description":"cgminer 3.1.1"}],"POOLS":[{"POOL":0,"URL":"stratum+tcp://useast.wafflepool.com:3333","Status":"Alive","Priority":0,"Long Poll":"N","Getworks":52,"Accepted":23,"Rejected":0,"Discarded":101,"Stale":0,"Get Failures":0,"Remote Failures":0,"User":"richbeyondimagination","Last Share Time":1402719533,"Diff1 Shares":12288,"Proxy Type":"","Proxy":"","Difficulty Accepted":11776.00000000,"Difficulty Rejected":0.00000000,"Difficulty Stale":0.00000000,"Last Share Difficulty":512.00000000,"Has Stratum":true,"Stratum Active":true,"Stratum URL":"useast.wafflepool.com","Has GBT":false,"Best Share":8956}],"id":1}Connection closed by foreign host.
such@moon:~$ ps -eo pid,cmd,etime | grep cgm
7287 /such/mine/cgminer-zeus -S        15:53
such@moon:~$

EDIT: Lower pool difficulty will give you more accurate numbers, and obviously a longer time period will too.

GAWSOME class action
(Homero Garza throws Stuart Fraser under the bus)
ION: XPY successor
                 Make sure to read

                 BitcoinTalk rules
          /s
J4bberwock
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 09:39:21 AM
 #69

Some update to show you what I mean by serious cooling

The fan was from an HP DL580 G3 power suply, while I'm waiting for a new fan.
Makes same noise as a big vacuum cleaner, but it does the job very well.

Heatsinks are for VRM from arctic accelero L2 plus heatsinks I bent them to give a wider shape.








Still need to add some cardboard or something similar to close the sides where the fan was originally blowing So I'll have a nice airflow there too.



Custom Server PSU breakout boards, 1200w, 1300w, 2000w, 2880w https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0
Btc: 1J4bberWs6f6XVQ53gn3BNc8qHAicmm7wu
Ltc: LNDmMBtzD3cduwjfxANm2wDrxt9jXRk5ZP
J4bberwock
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 10:16:39 AM
 #70

I did the mod...used a 50k trim pot adjusted down to 7k.

I had to leave but I was running it at 450mhz with a 3% error rate.  I just upped it to 500mhz and so far 0 errors in 10 minutes.  It's averaging 1.52mhs.  I'll let it run at 500 while I'm out and report back.  Temp probe only registered an average 3f increase with my heatsink setup.



Also....if anyone is running Hashra you have to edit the /var/www/index.php to allow those higher speeds

Super...

So...1 Fury/Blizzard/Zeus 1.3MH voltmod & overclocked to 500MHz = 3 Gridseeds voltmod & overclocked to 500M

NOT BAD at all...for $120...only 1 device/connections...vs 3...

Mine is coming...I don't know when... Angry

Cheers,

ZiG



I believe we can get 2.2 MH from the chips on the Fury so it will be like 4 Gridseed overclocked pods
Time for lunch, and after that, I'll set up the 2 Furys with server Psu and raspberry in the room with the other miners.
I'll report on the power draw too.

Custom Server PSU breakout boards, 1200w, 1300w, 2000w, 2880w https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0
Btc: 1J4bberWs6f6XVQ53gn3BNc8qHAicmm7wu
Ltc: LNDmMBtzD3cduwjfxANm2wDrxt9jXRk5ZP
wolf_miner
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
June 14, 2014, 10:36:48 AM
 #71

Hi, is available a repository or a git source for compiling CGMINER in Linux with Zeus support, or better an hybrid Zeus and Gridseed support?

Thank in advance W_M
ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
June 14, 2014, 11:01:19 AM
 #72

I think the thing we need the most is the ability to get these running on current versions of BFGMiner and cgminer.
So many of the dam errors are from the ancient cgminer 3.1.1
I would love to see support for it on the newer ones and setup on MinePeon or some such easy to use distro.  That would really help these little beasts out.
I am still not happy I had to add thermal paste to my Blizzard so I could get it stable enough for my review.

happydaze
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 11:42:45 AM
 #73

Would using conductive thermal paste matter on the back of the board?  Does it ground to the enclosure anyway?  (Just trying to use up what I have on hand)

I have 10 3sq cm thermal pads.  It's not enough to cover the back of the board but could be used where the hot spots are.  Do you think thermal paste would perform better than leaving air gaps because of the shortage of pads?  It would take a lot of thermal paste to fill the gaps.

I touched a temperature probe to one Zeus chip at 340 clk.  (Fury was fully assembled) The reading was 50C.

happydaze
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 11:45:53 AM
 #74

I am thinking about canceling my preorder of the fury because what needs to be done to get it stabilized, This thread 98% convinced me to cancel.

I've done nothing to stabilize two Fury's other than run BFGMiner.  Both are 1.4mh/s poolside right now.  340 clk.   
happydaze
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 12:05:45 PM
 #75

Re: Fury/Blizzard tuning and mods

I am thinking about canceling my preorder of the fury because what needs to be done to get it stabilized, This thread 98% convinced me to cancel.

I've done nothing to stabilize two Fury's other than run BFGMiner.  Both are 1.4mh/s poolside right now.  340 clk.   

So no HW errors? No rejects?

Edit:
From my understanding. T.I.M. Needs to be reapplied. That's buying TIM. Heatsinks need to be applied. That requires more purchasing. And I really do not want to be a nuisance again having someone mod a device for me.

This thing should work out of the box without problems.

Hardware 5% & 6% errors.  Seems to get better with each new software build.

Poolside: 0.35% Stale (stale is same as my Gridseeds) 0.00% Invalid - that and poolside hashrate is what matters.   1,401 kH/s & 1,407 kH/s poolside avg now.  I'm pushing the clk too at 340 clk.  328 clk is recommended.

I'm not suggesting you buy one, just wanted to be clear that the ones I have at least exceed advertised performance of 1.3 mh/s.  I haven't taken them apart or anything like that.  So mine work "out of the box" with good results poolside.

ZiG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 02:58:33 PM
 #76



Here we go...SCHEMATICS ...!!!

http://zeusminer.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/BLIZZARD_X6Chips.pdf

Enjoy... Grin

ZiG
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 03:29:37 PM
 #77


Awesome!  2nd post updated.  Thanks Zig!
happydaze
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 03:39:59 PM
 #78

That'll help!  Thanks ZiG.  http://zeusminer.com/shcematics/
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 05:34:30 PM
 #79

Well I've been slowly increasing the clock speed every few hours and it seems that at least with Hashra, it stops displaying the correct hashrate above the 520Mhz mark.  Instead of 1.5mhs or whatever it should be, it shows as .51mhs.  Poolside is showing a range of 1.51 to 1.95mhs though.
J4bberwock
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 05:54:52 PM
 #80

Well I've been slowly increasing the clock speed every few hours and it seems that at least with Hashra, it stops displaying the correct hashrate above the 520Mhz mark.  Instead of 1.5mhs or whatever it should be, it shows as .51mhs.  Poolside is showing a range of 1.51 to 1.95mhs though.


Same thing here with hashra.
 I tried clock 600 and still the same hashrate poolside as clock 500. There must be something else that caps the real frequency in the chips. Maybe playing with  the crystal could help, but we need the datasheet for the chip.

Edit

600 clock gave me less than 515 poolside. Maybe related to cores disabling if I ask too much.
One Fury was reporting 1,5 in hashra and the second one was 0.5
I now have both reported as 1.5 and something like 4Mh/s poolside, so 2Mh each

Custom Server PSU breakout boards, 1200w, 1300w, 2000w, 2880w https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738527.0
Btc: 1J4bberWs6f6XVQ53gn3BNc8qHAicmm7wu
Ltc: LNDmMBtzD3cduwjfxANm2wDrxt9jXRk5ZP
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!