Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:13:57 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 [152] 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 ... 390 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1627410 times)
Mitchell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


Verified awesomeness ✔


View Profile WWW
August 24, 2013, 02:50:14 PM
 #3021

you are right,it is DELL ,very cheap,  600 * MSI 7850  1G , About 240Mhs and 250LTC/day

Let's say you spent the low-end of $200 for your 7850 cards.  Those *alone* would cost you $120,000.00.  Never mind the motherboards, CPU, RAM, ELECTRICITY, etc.  You may mine upwards of $580.00 daily ... but that's still a pretty long payoff.

What I want to know is, where did you get the startup capital to do this?  Where do you buy 600 MSI cards?  I am assuming that took you a while.  I would think that even high volume retailers don't keep that quantity of a particular card on-hand.  And as others are wanting to know - what does your electric bill look like?  I hear stories of "free electricity", but trust me that doesn't last.  Even if your rental contract doesn't have an abuse clause, any judge in his right mind would sign the eviction order to throw you out.  And if you live in the States, you can expect a visit from the DEA.  :-)


hey hey,It is in china,Electricity is cheap,and you can find a place do it easy ,example Small Hydropower or small factory.This began in 2012 with some people, the cost has been recovered in April 2013 , and buy 600 cards is very easy here(because so many cards are made in china...).

Electricity is $ 0.07 / KWh, 6 * 7850 probably consumes at 900W, so one day the electricity is 2160KWh * $ 0.07 = 151.2 USD per day, Electricity is about one-third of income.
Sounds good!

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481436837
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481436837

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481436837
Reply with quote  #2

1481436837
Report to moderator
1481436837
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481436837

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481436837
Reply with quote  #2

1481436837
Report to moderator
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 03:00:52 PM
 #3022

hey hey,It is in china,Electricity is cheap,and you can find a place do it easy ,example Small Hydropower or small factory.This began in 2012 with some people, the cost has been recovered in April 2013 , and buy 600 cards is very easy here(because so many cards are made in china...).

Electricity is $ 0.07 / KWh, 6 * 7850 probably consumes at 900W, so one day the electricity is 2160KWh * $ 0.07 = 151.2 USD per day, Electricity is about one-third of income.

looks like it's time for some Mandarin lessons

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb" / Doge "DHtN2YEFg1obv2VFps8RwQSL6xL1RRYyXN"
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 03:49:51 PM
 #3023

Those look like various IBM redundant PSU. At least 1460 watts, I'd say. FYI you can get 2000 watt bladecenter PSU on ebay pretty cheap! ($60 or less).

See this thread:https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=212431.0

Looks like he's using a small cheap PSU to power the MB, and a LARGE server PSU he's adapter for PCIe cables to power the GPUs. In that thread, I suggested a similar setup would be pretty cheap to implement (rather than buying some big ass 1500 or 1600W PSUs.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
DennisD7
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 04:27:20 PM
 #3024

Update from https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7216.msg2893927#msg2893927
This rig is now 10 GH/s and has been dubbed "fuck the difficulty" by the kids in the newbie forum  Grin

I got a little tired of my rig looking like this, and also shining brightly and making some noise through the night.



So today I put it on two shelves, lowered it to under my desk level, and built it in to take away some noise and of course make it more or less invisible Smiley







Got to tuck away those cables though, but it turned out very nice I think.

Proud ASIC miner and long term Bitcoin investor
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 05:15:47 PM
 #3025

You just put 100W of equipment into a completely enclosed box with no airflow. Aren't you worried about heat?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Kneedle
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 05:24:08 PM
 #3026

My wife saw me reading through this topic, asked about it, then asked what people thought of my rigs..I've never posted a picture of  'em before:

 http://i40.tinypic.com/2vbvhqc.jpg

On the left - a batch 1 Avalon and a batch 3 Avalon blowing out the window.  Each is overclocked at runs around 355mhz - 165 GH/S total on Bitcoin.  The batch one was received on 3/22...yeah baby!

On the bottom right - a monster creation from last year that has served me quite well.  4 5970's.  All water cooled.  Stuffed in a Mountain Mods aluminum cube 2 power supply's - the 1200 you can see plus an Antec 650 on the other side of the case, along with the other 3 radiators.  Temps stay below 50c even on the hottest days.  Currently this rig is running at 3.15 MH/s on scrypt.  Also this is an 8 GPU rig that is running on Windows 7 x64 Smiley.  Its been running for about 16 months. 

On the top right is a franken-puter that is a bunch of leftover parts - 2 5850's - 1 water-cooled, and a water-cooled 5870.  It mines at 1.2 MH/S on scrypt.

There are 3 other rigs scattered about - another water-cooled 3x 5970 rig pulling 2.4 MH/s, my main with one rare 6870 x2, a 7950, and a 7870 at 1.7 MH/S and another with 2 5970's and a 7870 running at 1.8 MH/S

peace!











pixl8tr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 05:28:03 PM
 #3027

You just put 100W of equipment into a completely enclosed box with no airflow. Aren't you worried about heat?

yeah, first thing I thought of too.  Maybe he is trying to "Kiln-dry" his lumber?   Grin

EDIT:  @DennisD7 -That sound absorption material, is it fire resistant?   If there are ANY sparks in your rig,  it makes for nice kindling.... http://youtu.be/D4xaWMKBlw4

who | grep -i blonde | date; cd ~; unzip; touch; finger; bjobs; uptime; strip;. grab; mount; yes; umount; sleep; brun;
Donations: 18ByQvDUmaMKkQbYvUWmnPSu9BWeNxVMoc
Aion2n
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 483


MSI R7970 Lightning


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 06:02:28 PM
 #3028




Благодарности принимаю на: WMX X607679930678 | BTC:1GKKSCAVRKADpsktcz1txyNaYCvX8hr9sv | LTC: LQk3uX51bwU4g1NVtRSdLQvUQko6RrKZkr | FTC: 6jfXP4Vo6YcdnDat3AEJRjgiGsx9W2pF48 | NMC: NCaLhdDMCgYAztVELBaUoU7hguUAssZjur
NVC: 4RtbCF49F69XmEPLJEmD4vZrf8idExddym | TCR: 122BmXhKE5XFNuBXoVJC3jMBM1cbrwE9S1 | PPC: PNHcmpSycTfFbTxQfwPCbofZxy6BrqXHVS | MNC: MUBxk3xyrqTD2ZGENQ2F3nh5oCQ4qzQSDk
Morbid
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 07:00:48 PM
 #3029

shenpeng119 just put us all into shame.

"between 'lives' we all have a great laugh about the parts we have performed in the 'play', and look forward to and have great fun preparing the next chapters to act out."
Epeus
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 07:38:51 PM
 #3030


Pic of the month & Quote of the month !!

Cheers !!
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 08:16:19 PM
 #3031

Those look like various IBM redundant PSU. At least 1460 watts, I'd say. FYI you can get 2000 watt bladecenter PSU on ebay pretty cheap! ($60 or less).

The HP hot swap ones are the best bang for the buck with efficiency in mind. There's so many of them out there you can get nice 1200 watt 80+ silver units for around $50. I've converted a few of them for myself and others for FPGA and GPU purposes. The issue is that what you make up for in original purchase cost you will make up in assembly time. Measuring, cutting, stripping wires, and adding connectors to them will take you a few hours. Obviously, that isn't the work of one person so I'm sure they didn't mind too much.

Example: This is powering 20 ztex quads. (60 wires)


Example 2: 18 ztex quads (54 wires)

Tommazoe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 11:50:16 PM
 #3032

About to be sold, but anyway here it is. Oh and shenpeng119, that's jaw-dropping.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-3XXvq1PKJDo/UheT7Hpkj8I/AAAAAAAACWA/r75rxfzPSyQ/w773-h580-no/2013-08-23+17.58.00.jpg
Mitchell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


Verified awesomeness ✔


View Profile WWW
August 24, 2013, 11:56:37 PM
 #3033

About to be sold, but anyway here it is. Oh and shenpeng119, that's jaw-dropping.

[BIG IMAGE]
Well that doesn't look bad either. Very nice constructing if you ask me. How much do/did you mine with it?

atomicchaos
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
August 25, 2013, 04:56:33 AM
 #3034

<Amazing Setup>

I have just been put to shame. You've got at least double my setup, but in knowing the heat challenges and power needs, that is one amazing setup. I don't see that fan as still clearing all the heat, what's your normal room temp (I run in the 90F-95F with using 26,000 watts). Also, what's your main panel? I've only got 3 phase 400 amps, I'm guessing you have a lot more.

BTC:113mFe2e3oRkZQ5GeqKhoHbGtVw16unnw2
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946



View Profile
August 25, 2013, 09:10:37 AM
 #3035

About to be sold, but anyway here it is. Oh and shenpeng119, that's jaw-dropping.

[BIG IMAGE]
Well that doesn't look bad either. Very nice constructing if you ask me. How much do/did you mine with it?

Thats from Ikea right  Huh Cheesy  Very cool & simple  Wink

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
Uliss
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301



View Profile
August 25, 2013, 10:51:02 AM
 #3036

Farm in the process of making 2х(2х7970+2х7950)





 Now it is so:    - 4х5870 + 5х7950 + 2х(2х7970+2х7950)

sinner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 04:45:15 AM
 #3037

how much maintenance does a GPU rig take?

if you can remotely log in to the rigs and remotely control the power supply, how often would you need to physically go to the rig to fix something?

o rly?
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 07:58:59 AM
 #3038

how much maintenance does a GPU rig take?

if you can remotely log in to the rigs and remotely control the power supply, how often would you need to physically go to the rig to fix something?

Once you set it up, it's not your first rig (so you have some experience) and you have a little luck, a visit twice a year should suffice. You would only clean the dust out of your cards. If you are less lucky you might have to RMA/replace some faulty hardware sooner, change the CMOS battery or change the thermal paste on some/all cards.
datouec
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 08:20:43 AM
 #3039


DennisD7
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 12:19:30 PM
 #3040

You just put 100W of equipment into a completely enclosed box with no airflow. Aren't you worried about heat?

yeah, first thing I thought of too.  Maybe he is trying to "Kiln-dry" his lumber?   Grin

EDIT:  @DennisD7 -That sound absorption material, is it fire resistant?   If there are ANY sparks in your rig,  it makes for nice kindling.... http://youtu.be/D4xaWMKBlw4

Nah, don't worry: I've only sealed those two sides, the back and other side have quite a bit of clearance. Also the foam is "Class '0' accredited fire resistant" so it's all good.
Plus, I have also added a 120 mm fan for extra airflow sideways.
That video though  Embarrassed

Proud ASIC miner and long term Bitcoin investor
Pages: « 1 ... 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 [152] 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 ... 390 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!