Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 07:54:21 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 [108] 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board  (Read 251236 times)
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
September 09, 2012, 03:24:07 PM
 #2141

I told ya your brain was tooooo big!

I updated from the other makomk's shortfin_icarus bitstream to the dcmwd4e variant. Now my 2 boards are 48 hours stable at U: 5.8...a solid 1690 MHs at deepbit. Now to expand the system or what for ASIC...thinking another 2 would be a good step (discount price still)

As a man of my word, I have sent you 0.5BTC as a token of my gratitude.

Regards,

Cranky

Nice it's working for you now and thanks for the coins  Wink

eb
1481054061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054061
Reply with quote  #2

1481054061
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481054061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054061
Reply with quote  #2

1481054061
Report to moderator
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
September 09, 2012, 03:40:10 PM
 #2142

Speaking of USB problems, think I just saw my first one. cm1 fell off the USB bus and had to be physically unplugged and reconnected. Even then it only came back up at USB 1.1 speeds.

[185540.174520] retire_capture_urb: 20 callbacks suppressed
[185540.175036] hub 2-0:1.0: port 5 disabled by hub (EMI?), re-enabling...
Yep, there is a problem with the CM1 USB hardware or firmware.

After 17 hrs of uptime, both my CM1 boards dropped offline. Required unplugging the USB cables and a power cycle of the boards to get them mining again.

[63025.014801] hub 1-0:1.0: port 1 disabled by hub (EMI?), re-enabling...

This is a powered hub. Only CM1 devices are plugged into it. This hub has operated for years with no problems with a variety of other devices. No other USB activities were being done at the time - seeing as how I was asleep.

-- edit --
And they just now dropped again after about 5 hrs of uptime.

[85301.798738] hub 1-0:1.0: port 1 disabled by hub (EMI?), re-enabling...
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 01:37:50 PM
 #2143

Yep, there is a problem with the CM1 USB hardware or firmware.

After 17 hrs of uptime, both my CM1 boards dropped offline.
...
dropped again after about 5 hrs of uptime.
I have a theory. Tossing it out for a sanity check and to see if other's observations might track.

I've now had continuous operation for 20 hrs. (Yes, I know, too short to be definitive.)

Base Conditions:
1) running makomk's 'e' version 210mhz (overclock)
2) one board generates about 0.2% invalids
3) second board generates about 2.25% invalids

New test setup:
1) put boards into 'daisy-chain' configuration
2) connected single USB cable to the board with 0.2% invalids

Results:
No drops so far. Will report back after longer duration of success. (Or, upon next failure.)

The Theory:
Even though I expected the controller to be independent of the 'worker/hashing' FPGAs, perhaps there is some sort of 'feedback' scenario where a glitching 'worker' FPGA can stimulate a failure in the controller/USB circuitry.


Looking forward to y'all's thoughts and observations.
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 07:59:07 PM
 #2144

[very useful stuff]
spiccioli, the post I quoted was tremendously helpful, thank you. (IMO, that info should end up on whatever 'tips and tricks' documentation Enterpoint eventually puts together.)

A question however, while following the steps you suggested the USB ports get correctly recognized, enabled and mapped but are not accessible until I do a "sudo chmod a+rw /dev/ttyUSB*".

Do you have a suggestion so that, from a USB unplug/plug, the ports are usable without that manual step?

FYI, I'm running the Debian 7 beta release as the OS. (Seems the Debian 6 stable wasn't quite good enough. Needed a newer revision kernel to get the USB stuff to behave.) And, shouldn't be relevant, but 'just for kicks' I'm doing it on a PowerPC G4 bit of hardware.
salty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:31:49 PM
 #2145

And, shouldn't be relevant, but 'just for kicks' I'm doing it on a PowerPC G4 bit of hardware.

I have an old mac mini g4 I was going to use as a host when my board arrives, it's relevant to me Smiley
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:35:00 PM
 #2146

Smiley

Well, just a bit of advice. *Don't* try Ubuntu. Go straight to the Wheezy Debian installation.

Although, I don't have cgminer working yet. Seems to be doing OK with MPBM.
salty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:47:05 PM
 #2147

Smiley

Well, just a bit of advice. *Don't* try Ubuntu. Go straight to the Wheezy Debian installation.

Although, I don't have cgminer working yet. Seems to be doing OK with MPBM.

Last time I installed a linux distro was c.2001, so my expectations are low. I am thoroughly looking forward to a lot of progress bar watching, a little cursing, deciphering online unix 'guides' and some man pages. My competence level is 'tenacious hack stabbing in the dark' rather than 'CS major' so it's a good job I've got no work on this week. Cheers for the heads up you've saved me installing a few other distros already. Smiley
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:52:54 PM
 #2148

My first linux installation was Slackware back in the 0.93 days (circa 1991 or '92), so it is good that "expectations are low". Smiley

And do, please, let me know if you get cgminer going.
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 09:47:45 PM
 #2149

[very useful stuff]
spiccioli, the post I quoted was tremendously helpful, thank you. (IMO, that info should end up on whatever 'tips and tricks' documentation Enterpoint eventually puts together.)

A question however, while following the steps you suggested the USB ports get correctly recognized, enabled and mapped but are not accessible until I do a "sudo chmod a+rw /dev/ttyUSB*".

Do you have a suggestion so that, from a USB unplug/plug, the ports are usable without that manual step?

FYI, I'm running the Debian 7 beta release as the OS. (Seems the Debian 6 stable wasn't quite good enough. Needed a newer revision kernel to get the USB stuff to behave.) And, shouldn't be relevant, but 'just for kicks' I'm doing it on a PowerPC G4 bit of hardware.

LazyOtto,

to access them I had to add the group ubuntu adds to every ttyUSB device to the list of secondary groups of the user running cgminer

Code:
$ ls -l /dev/ttyUSB*

...
crw-rw---- 1 root dialout 188,  9 Sep  8 01:04 /dev/ttyUSB9
...

So I issued a

Code:
sudo usermod -G dialout my_login_name

to add user my_login_name to the dialout group.

This made all /dev/ttyUSB* devices fully accessible to the user running cgminer.

spiccioli.
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 10:12:50 PM
 #2150

spiccioli, yep, thank you very much. (I should'a seen that.) Smiley

root@dinky:~# ls -la /dev/ttyUSB*
crw-rw-rwT 1 root dialout 188, 0 Sep 10 16:56 /dev/ttyUSB0
crw-rw-rwT 1 root dialout 188, 1 Sep 10 16:56 /dev/ttyUSB1
crw-rw-rwT 1 root dialout 188, 2 Sep 10 16:56 /dev/ttyUSB2
crw-rw-rwT 1 root dialout 188, 3 Sep 10 16:56 /dev/ttyUSB3
crw-rw-rwT 1 root dialout 188, 4 Sep 10 16:56 /dev/ttyUSB4

I'll send you a, trivial but they add up, tip next time I bring bitcoind up in order to send Glasswalker and makomk their, also deserved, dues from me.

-- edit --

Edit, assuming I can find your address. Smiley
(I routinely run with signatures disabled. Cuts out a lot of 'noise'. But I'll re-enable and search for your's.)
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 772



View Profile WWW
September 11, 2012, 01:34:41 AM
 #2151

Guys,

I've played a bit with CM1 back in July, but I'm not up to date with the latest best practices and not familiar with MPBM. Now I need to catch up, but trying to extract meaningful info from 110+ pages of this thread is driving me crazy.

I'm willing to announce a bounty of 20 BTC for a Quick-start Guide To Mining with CM1. Let's limit it to Windows for now. This guide should cover all the steps necessary to go from an unpacked box of CM1 board(s) to a fully configured rig that is happily hashing using current best practices. Yes, this should include setting up MPBM and Python environment for it.

The bounty will go to the first one who writes such Guide before September, 20th. It will be paid as soon as I'm able to successfully configure my boards following the proposed steps. Going forward, such Quick-start Guide will be very helpful for people new to CM1, so I invite others to increase the bounty if they are so inclined.

Challenge accepted

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 11, 2012, 03:43:27 AM
 #2152

... and after the guide is finished, don't forget to use my cgminer options --icarus-timing and --icarus-options as documented in the cgminer API-README Cheesy

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
September 11, 2012, 04:04:19 AM
 #2153

Yohan, with the new Asic Competitors announced and suggesting that there might be Product around Nov till the end of the year has Enterpoint looked again at making an Asic board? I know you mentioned something a few posts back but I was wondering if with these new announcements if anything had changed.

Id like to buy my Asic from Enterpoint is what I’m saying!

Thanks,

Doff
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 11, 2012, 04:31:40 AM
 #2154

...
LazyOtto,

to access them I had to add the group ubuntu adds to every ttyUSB device to the list of secondary groups of the user running cgminer

Code:
$ ls -l /dev/ttyUSB*

...
crw-rw---- 1 root dialout 188,  9 Sep  8 01:04 /dev/ttyUSB9
...

So I issued a

Code:
sudo usermod -G dialout my_login_name

to add user my_login_name to the dialout group.

This made all /dev/ttyUSB* devices fully accessible to the user running cgminer.

spiccioli.

Heh that reminds me - I should add that to the README FAQ so I can tell people to read the manual when they ask in IRC Cheesy
... done.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
testconpastas2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199



View Profile
September 11, 2012, 04:38:53 AM
 #2155

WEll after  3 days working my 12 cm1 OK. This morning  half ot them was off  


and most anoying is that trying to wake up them, making power cicles, makes randomly  others   "half" fails.  I have them in pairs whit up/down cables and  half of the ports of some  are  failing with my old error.

I have seen one post with something about sudo "COM"   i think its the same error

please fix that USB issue. this is unbearable


ç

2-09-11 06:35:30] Do not have user privileges required to open \\.\COM34
2-09-11 06:35:30] Do not have user privileges required to open \\.\COM35


Edit: I had to make several power cycles  and unisntall problematic devices and COMS in w7 to get them running again.




Bitmessage: BM-2DAetLWJBKWHZoPbNCgg5z8jwaPpDYWwd4
gpg key id:C6EF5CE3
yohan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
September 11, 2012, 09:57:33 AM
 #2156

Yohan, with the new Asic Competitors announced and suggesting that there might be Product around Nov till the end of the year has Enterpoint looked again at making an Asic board? I know you mentioned something a few posts back but I was wondering if with these new announcements if anything had changed.

Id like to buy my Asic from Enterpoint is what I’m saying!

Thanks,

Doff

To be honest we are still looking at technology options of what we might do if anything. So there isn't a definate yes or no on that so far. We do want to do any new project in a very different way and any new design would be much more developed before we announce it. We are aware that a lot of Bitcoiners would like us to do a product and if it is viable for us to do it we will. We have learned a massive amount about Bitcoin mining and Bitcoins in general since we started and that knowledge is highly valuable to us in doing a more advanced project.

We also still have a lot of staff time going into the CM1 build and other supporting things that is a limit to what we can do currently on a CM2 project. That will throttle back in September but then we will be into designs and prep for our only exhibition show that we will do this year. Until that is past mid-November everything else will be on slow motion. So even if we go ahead on one of our concepts as a production item we are likely to be behind the competition in time unless they happen to slip a lot or we somehow work some magic.

 
Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2012, 10:14:13 AM
 #2157

I use Ubuntu 12.04 (64bit) to run my CM1 boards. Not that long ago I run an pretty usual update of various files, as it had been bugging me.
After restarting I found that every time I plugged either of the boards via usb, the system would kinda go through a system crash, everything would slowly stop working.
Commands wouldn't work in the terminal, the GUI would slowly start disappearing and eventually it would do nothing, even though it still responded to basic input, even if it didn't respond with what it should.
It left me no choice but to restart. Everything is fine upon restart as long as I don't plugin the boards back in. It still works fine as a HTPC (XBMC).

I figured one of the USB or FTDI drivers, lib files etc cause the problem, like it got corrupted or one hell of a bad bug. They were just updated but I had no luck tracking down what exactly was the fault, a lot of files were updated and doing my best to revert back didn't work. No one else seems to be reporting a similar bug so assumed it was just an isolated event.

So I backed everything up to my storage unit that was needed and rebuilt Ubuntu, to pretty much the same configuration I had before. That seems to go fine, I didn't remember all of it, but search feature is very useful on these boards, think I got everything.

Problem is, same issue occurred once I got everything redone on a new usb stick. So it's no longer looking like a corrupted file, can't imagine it happening twice in a row like that, on a fresh 8Gb usb stick.
It happens with both CM1 boards, either one can trigger it to happen. I've done a gentle clean of dust off it and they appear to be operating fine.
It has not effected the use of my wireless mouse or usb pen in any of the slots, so I am still assuming it is a software issue, not hardware.

Anyone came across something like this happening before?
Yes it's frustrating I've not been able to mine for a few days, but I get frustrated more when there is something I can't fix.

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
Glasswalker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile WWW
September 11, 2012, 02:28:09 PM
 #2158

please fix that USB issue. this is unbearable

All I can suggest, is try different cables, different hubs, or different ports.

If none of the above help, try a clean install of windows, with clean drivers. And possibly try a different motherboard.

I can say there is nothing wrong with the FTDI chip that Enterpoint used. Those USB->UART chips are used in MILLIONS of devices, and are very well supported. Also there is nothing in the bitstream which directly controls any kind of firmware for the FTDI. It just does it's job.

The only possible thing to consider is possibly something is electrically slightly out of spec. (Ie: a voltage, or some line noise, or impedance somewhere, or whatever). The result would be that certain other devices which are out of spec in the other direction (just slightly) might not be stable with it. So in this kind of situation a *slightly* bad cable that works on 90 other devices (That are all either 100% in spec, or out of spec in the "right" way) could fail miserably with this particular board. Same goes for hubs, and motherboard chipsets (and even differences between different ports on your motherboard).

Unfortunately if there is an issue with the cairnsmore. It's not something that is likely to be "fixed" by enterpoint. Or by the bitstream developers. It's likely going to be something parasitic and lowlevel which gets (hopefully) fixed on a future product. But requiring hardware troubleshooting to work around currently. I can say that my boards mine perfectly fine on both my windows and linux mining hosts for plenty of time. (my dev board on my windows machine has been mining now for at least 36 hours without incident, and my linux board is mining for the past 26 days without incident. But several have reported "odd" usb behavior. So I don't doubt you're experiencing some frustrating problems (I've had to fight with similar issues before myself, and it's a huge pain). But I think unfortunately it's going to boil down to a combination of "environmental" issues (your cables, computer, ports, software, power supplies, power noise, rf noise in the house, and whatever else).

I hope that helps some.


Just trying to make Bitcoin a Success... One crazy project at a time. (13rwPKskyATcAq3PpnCikfFG8989DQ8M3c)
HashVoodoo Open Source FPGA Mining Bitstream: https://github.com/pmumby/hashvoodoo-fpga-bitcoin-miner
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
September 11, 2012, 03:00:53 PM
 #2159

Glasswalker, please look at this:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78239.msg1177532#msg1177532

And comment on my thoughts / sanity. Smiley

I am now up for 46 hrs continuous operation versus the first two failures within 24 hrs.

I don't think this is all related to USB cables and hubs. (But I'm sure they do play a part. Multiple possible points of failure here, after all.)

-- edit --
Although this is not gonna help the guy with his Ubuntu problem.
Glasswalker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile WWW
September 11, 2012, 04:04:51 PM
 #2160

Glasswalker, please look at this:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78239.msg1177532#msg1177532

And comment on my thoughts / sanity. Smiley

I am now up for 46 hrs continuous operation versus the first two failures within 24 hrs.

I don't think this is all related to USB cables and hubs. (But I'm sure they do play a part. Multiple possible points of failure here, after all.)

-- edit --
Although this is not gonna help the guy with his Ubuntu problem.

You are correct, I am pretty sure that a glitching worker FPGA can in fact make the FTDI appear unresponsive (for example by asserting tx/rx for example). I'm not exactly sure how the FTDI reacts in that situation.

If that's the case, the bitstream again isn't "responsible" but the worker "locking up" (as it has in the past and still does occasionally) may cause the FTDI to freak out.

If you're experiencing this with the faster bitstreams, I suggest testing with the first HashVoodoo 175 release that I put out. It's proven extremely stable for most (and it's what I'm running on the linux host I mentioned has been up for like 26 days non stop).

I know it's a 12% or more hit to your hashrate, but it could be a valuable test to confirm if it's still stability in the bitstream.

If it does work for you, I hope to have a new version out soon with dynamic overclocking and a faster overall clock speed. (provided smartxplorer cooperates, so far it's been having a hard time closing timing...) anyway...

But yes there are SEVERAL points of failure in this chain, and unfortunately it's a tricky thing to really isolate them in a large cluster.

I've decided that once I get a "faster" release out with dynamic clocking, I am going to work on a "temp" protocol which will allow use of the up/down link. My hope is that I'll be able to chain 16+ fpgas on a single UART. I'll need to crank the FTDI baud rate for this though, so there are a bunch of variables to consider.

The icarus setup currently sends 512bits of data in a "packet" so that means a 250K baud rate can handle about 488 packets per second. With my setup, you would send one packet per up to 16 FPGAs. (they would "share" the packet). But they would send independant responses (32bit). so without adding more than .1 second of delay, that means you should be able to chain upwards of a couple hundred FPGAs on a single chain without major problems. Mind you transmission latency might become a problem at that point. Anyway, even with 100 FPGAs in a chain, that would allow for 25 boards per single USB connection. Which is why I was bringing this up at this point, ie: that feature may help alleviate this problem that some are experiencing.

The "final" solution will be a from-scratch protocol, using raw USB bandwidth to communicate, allowing for theoretically VERY large clusters. But that one is a ways away. I hope this "temporary" feature will be good enough for now. (also this feature alone is still at least a few weeks away, I'm doing my best).

Hope that helps.

Just trying to make Bitcoin a Success... One crazy project at a time. (13rwPKskyATcAq3PpnCikfFG8989DQ8M3c)
HashVoodoo Open Source FPGA Mining Bitstream: https://github.com/pmumby/hashvoodoo-fpga-bitcoin-miner
Pages: « 1 ... 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 [108] 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!