Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:41:05 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 [103] 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board  (Read 251379 times)
Glasswalker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile WWW
August 24, 2012, 01:34:50 PM
 #2041

Hi everybody - I'm having some problems with my cm1 board (arrived today)

Here's what I did:

Plugged it all in and installed the drivers (Win7 X64) - all ports, etc. created ok

Tried cgminer to com ports 25-28 - nothing working - I assumed it was because the shipping controller runs at 57600 and cgminer assumes 115200 (i read that on the thread)

Used spiprog.exe to update to controller 1.5 - 0 errors and flashing red controller led,so disconnected usb and psu to cm1 and reconnected with all dip switchs on. led still flashing (?)

The red controller led stops flashing if the board is back in programming mode (sw3 & sw6 off), but isn't responding at all

Do I need a JTAG cable to reprogram the controller?



The led on the controller should flash during normal operation. You do not need a JTAG, you can program the controller and bitstream via USB (there are several "mini-howto" in this thread, and the instructions from enterpoint should work fine). It sounds like you flashed it successfully.

You didn't mention which bitstream you have installed? (did you install a bitstream after receiving it?) the shipping bitstream is likely not ideal to use, as MUCH development has happened.

If you're using controller 1.5, I reccomend one of makomk's new dcmwd bitstreams, that seems to currently be getting the best overall performance from the board. If you have any stability problems, you can fall back to my HashVoodoo bitstream from github at https://github.com/pmumby/hashvoodoo-fpga-bitcoin-miner/downloads specifically you want the 08_16 release not the 08_20 one. (08_20 is faster but has stability issues). You may want to download both though, as the readme in the 08_20 one has some added tips/tricks for flashing in it. The 08_16 is rock solid, but only performs at 175Mhash per chip. Where makomk's bitstreams reach upwards of 200 or 210 right now (and his newer ones should solve the stability problems). I have yet to release one with his newest fixes.

Hope that helps.

Just trying to make Bitcoin a Success... One crazy project at a time. (13rwPKskyATcAq3PpnCikfFG8989DQ8M3c)
HashVoodoo Open Source FPGA Mining Bitstream: https://github.com/pmumby/hashvoodoo-fpga-bitcoin-miner
1481319665
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319665

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319665
Reply with quote  #2

1481319665
Report to moderator
1481319665
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319665

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319665
Reply with quote  #2

1481319665
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
steveme
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
August 24, 2012, 02:12:38 PM
 #2042

Hi everybody - I'm having some problems with my cm1 board (arrived today)

Here's what I did:

Plugged it all in and installed the drivers (Win7 X64) - all ports, etc. created ok

Tried cgminer to com ports 25-28 - nothing working - I assumed it was because the shipping controller runs at 57600 and cgminer assumes 115200 (i read that on the thread)

Used spiprog.exe to update to controller 1.5 - 0 errors and flashing red controller led,so disconnected usb and psu to cm1 and reconnected with all dip switchs on. led still flashing (?)

The red controller led stops flashing if the board is back in programming mode (sw3 & sw6 off), but isn't responding at all

Do I need a JTAG cable to reprogram the controller?



The led on the controller should flash during normal operation. You do not need a JTAG, you can program the controller and bitstream via USB (there are several "mini-howto" in this thread, and the instructions from enterpoint should work fine). It sounds like you flashed it successfully.

You didn't mention which bitstream you have installed? (did you install a bitstream after receiving it?) the shipping bitstream is likely not ideal to use, as MUCH development has happened.

If you're using controller 1.5, I reccomend one of makomk's new dcmwd bitstreams, that seems to currently be getting the best overall performance from the board. If you have any stability problems, you can fall back to my HashVoodoo bitstream from github at https://github.com/pmumby/hashvoodoo-fpga-bitcoin-miner/downloads specifically you want the 08_16 release not the 08_20 one. (08_20 is faster but has stability issues). You may want to download both though, as the readme in the 08_20 one has some added tips/tricks for flashing in it. The 08_16 is rock solid, but only performs at 175Mhash per chip. Where makomk's bitstreams reach upwards of 200 or 210 right now (and his newer ones should solve the stability problems). I have yet to release one with his newest fixes.

Hope that helps.

Thanks for the help. I wasn't sure what the purpose of the red flashing light was (it's usually not good  Wink )

I've got it talking to my pc again by plugging it into a different USB port (?) and sucessfully flashed the controller with hashvoodoo_controller_25.bit

I'll start with hashvoodoo_nodynclock_175.bit, following the wipe forward/ program reverse procedure - i've got SW3 and SW6 one question though:

what are the correct running dip switch positions for the the ones near the FPGA's ? all on?
Glasswalker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile WWW
August 24, 2012, 02:26:04 PM
 #2043

Thanks for the help. I wasn't sure what the purpose of the red flashing light was (it's usually not good  Wink )

I've got it talking to my pc again by plugging it into a different USB port (?) and sucessfully flashed the controller with hashvoodoo_controller_25.bit

I'll start with hashvoodoo_nodynclock_175.bit, following the wipe forward/ program reverse procedure - i've got SW3 and SW6 one question though:

what are the correct running dip switch positions for the the ones near the FPGA's ? all on?

The flashing red LED is the clock heartbeat. Shows that the clock is actually running (on my bitstreams the red LEDs next to the FPGAs blink too)

Please make sure you're using the right one, as I said there are 2 releases, the newest one (08_20_2012 I believe) is unstable, it includes a 175 up to 210 roughly I think, and all of them are unstable. They mine, but only for anywhere from 1 hour to 1 day before failing randomly.

The older release 08_16_2012 has a 175oc bit file in it, that one is rock solid stable. Make sure you're using the right one Wink I hope to release one with the full stability and fast speeds (up to 210) soon (hopefully).

Anyway, as long as that's right... Using the HashVoodoo bitstreams, it ignores the dip switches at the FPGA. So it doesn't matter. But on the ones based more closely on Icarus (using an Icarus Pair), on the "front" fpga (the ones closest to the connectors on the board) they are all on I believe, and the back pair have 2 on and 2 off. Enterpoint has a diagram up on the cairnsmore support page that shows the exact positions I suggest referencing that to ensure they are in the right spot. It's best to set it to the "original" setup (with the back 2 having 2on 2off in the proper config) so that if you decide to flash any of makomk's bitstreams it should work seamlessly. My HashVoodoo bitstreams ignore the fpga specific dips anyway.

Does that help? Smiley

Just trying to make Bitcoin a Success... One crazy project at a time. (13rwPKskyATcAq3PpnCikfFG8989DQ8M3c)
HashVoodoo Open Source FPGA Mining Bitstream: https://github.com/pmumby/hashvoodoo-fpga-bitcoin-miner
steveme
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
August 24, 2012, 04:51:40 PM
 #2044


The flashing red LED is the clock heartbeat. Shows that the clock is actually running (on my bitstreams the red LEDs next to the FPGAs blink too)

Please make sure you're using the right one, as I said there are 2 releases, the newest one (08_20_2012 I believe) is unstable, it includes a 175 up to 210 roughly I think, and all of them are unstable. They mine, but only for anywhere from 1 hour to 1 day before failing randomly.

The older release 08_16_2012 has a 175oc bit file in it, that one is rock solid stable. Make sure you're using the right one Wink I hope to release one with the full stability and fast speeds (up to 210) soon (hopefully).

Anyway, as long as that's right... Using the HashVoodoo bitstreams, it ignores the dip switches at the FPGA. So it doesn't matter. But on the ones based more closely on Icarus (using an Icarus Pair), on the "front" fpga (the ones closest to the connectors on the board) they are all on I believe, and the back pair have 2 on and 2 off. Enterpoint has a diagram up on the cairnsmore support page that shows the exact positions I suggest referencing that to ensure they are in the right spot. It's best to set it to the "original" setup (with the back 2 having 2on 2off in the proper config) so that if you decide to flash any of makomk's bitstreams it should work seamlessly. My HashVoodoo bitstreams ignore the fpga specific dips anyway.

Does that help? Smiley

Yes, very much so!

I've managed to get p0 & p1 permaflashed with nodynclock_175, but p2 & p3 fail to verify, but a temp flash seems to succeed. I'm having com port problems so cgminer only sees on usable device, but starts to mine.

I think I'd be better off doing this with Linux...

Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
August 24, 2012, 06:52:25 PM
 #2045


The flashing red LED is the clock heartbeat. Shows that the clock is actually running (on my bitstreams the red LEDs next to the FPGAs blink too)

Please make sure you're using the right one, as I said there are 2 releases, the newest one (08_20_2012 I believe) is unstable, it includes a 175 up to 210 roughly I think, and all of them are unstable. They mine, but only for anywhere from 1 hour to 1 day before failing randomly.

The older release 08_16_2012 has a 175oc bit file in it, that one is rock solid stable. Make sure you're using the right one Wink I hope to release one with the full stability and fast speeds (up to 210) soon (hopefully).

Anyway, as long as that's right... Using the HashVoodoo bitstreams, it ignores the dip switches at the FPGA. So it doesn't matter. But on the ones based more closely on Icarus (using an Icarus Pair), on the "front" fpga (the ones closest to the connectors on the board) they are all on I believe, and the back pair have 2 on and 2 off. Enterpoint has a diagram up on the cairnsmore support page that shows the exact positions I suggest referencing that to ensure they are in the right spot. It's best to set it to the "original" setup (with the back 2 having 2on 2off in the proper config) so that if you decide to flash any of makomk's bitstreams it should work seamlessly. My HashVoodoo bitstreams ignore the fpga specific dips anyway.

Does that help? Smiley

Yes, very much so!

I've managed to get p0 & p1 permaflashed with nodynclock_175, but p2 & p3 fail to verify, but a temp flash seems to succeed. I'm having com port problems so cgminer only sees on usable device, but starts to mine.

I think I'd be better off doing this with Linux...



Steve, if you having problems flashing just some of them, erasing them in full before you flash does work for me.
I wrote a full up guide on this a few pages back.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78239.msg1110647#msg1110647

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
toxicocean
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
August 25, 2012, 09:00:45 AM
 #2046

dcmwd4e_210 is running great on my #0005 board (with 1.3 controller).

Status after running for about 11 hours:

(5s):1014.5 (avg):839.2 Mh/s | Q:900  A:7256  R:36  HW:0  E:806%  U:11.6/m
ICA0                | (5s):419.3 (avg):419.5 Mh/s | A:3663 R:18 HW:0 U:5.9/m
ICA1                | (5s):419.0 (avg):419.8 Mh/s | A:3590 R:18 HW:0 U:5.8/m
Keninishna
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 551



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 10:09:47 AM
 #2047

I'm putting up a 2 btc bounty if anyone can help me program my cm1 controller with a usb blaster cable. I got the drivers for the cable and made a svf file in impact now I'm just trying to get a connection going with urjtag but not getting very far. I have the usb blaster plugged into the up/down port as it uses the same cable (I assume its just a jtag port) but maybe I'm off here.
Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 10:40:37 AM
 #2048

I'm putting up a 2 btc bounty if anyone can help me program my cm1 controller with a usb blaster cable. I got the drivers for the cable and made a svf file in impact now I'm just trying to get a connection going with urjtag but not getting very far. I have the usb blaster plugged into the up/down port as it uses the same cable (I assume its just a jtag port) but maybe I'm off here.

Is this the sort of USB blaster cable you have?
http://www.suntekstore.co.uk/goods.php?id=14003019&utm_source=gbuk

Just to confirm.

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
testconpastas2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199



View Profile
August 26, 2012, 10:42:02 AM
 #2049

in my limited knowledge the two jtag ports in cm1 are the  14pines ones: one next to the usb cable ( for the fpga array) and the second next to the phoenix connector (for the controller).


Bitmessage: BM-2DAetLWJBKWHZoPbNCgg5z8jwaPpDYWwd4
gpg key id:C6EF5CE3
Keninishna
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 551



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 11:08:14 AM
 #2050

I'm putting up a 2 btc bounty if anyone can help me program my cm1 controller with a usb blaster cable. I got the drivers for the cable and made a svf file in impact now I'm just trying to get a connection going with urjtag but not getting very far. I have the usb blaster plugged into the up/down port as it uses the same cable (I assume its just a jtag port) but maybe I'm off here.

Is this the sort of USB blaster cable you have?
http://www.suntekstore.co.uk/goods.php?id=14003019&utm_source=gbuk

Just to confirm.

Yup thats the one, I got off ebay for about 10$

in my limited knowledge the two jtag ports in cm1 are the  14pines ones: one next to the usb cable ( for the fpga array) and the second next to the phoenix connector (for the controller).



This is what I thought and the cable that comes with the usb blaster doesn't fit in that port, blah. I may just buy a cheap xilinx cable.
Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 11:29:59 AM
 #2051

I'm putting up a 2 btc bounty if anyone can help me program my cm1 controller with a usb blaster cable. I got the drivers for the cable and made a svf file in impact now I'm just trying to get a connection going with urjtag but not getting very far. I have the usb blaster plugged into the up/down port as it uses the same cable (I assume its just a jtag port) but maybe I'm off here.

Is this the sort of USB blaster cable you have?
http://www.suntekstore.co.uk/goods.php?id=14003019&utm_source=gbuk

Just to confirm.

Yup thats the one, I got off ebay for about 10$

in my limited knowledge the two jtag ports in cm1 are the  14pines ones: one next to the usb cable ( for the fpga array) and the second next to the phoenix connector (for the controller).



This is what I thought and the cable that comes with the usb blaster doesn't fit in that port, blah. I may just buy a cheap xilinx cable.

I just realised. ( also yes you'll want to make sure it's got the right number of pins )
http://www.enterpoint.co.uk/cairnsmore/cm1_rev_1_5_dip_sw.jpg

You'll notice at the bottom it says something to the effect off, if you want to program it, you have to have it plugged in directly to that board. So you can't plug the cable into the master board and flash program the slave one. I guess this is either not yet a feature or a hurdle that can't be done.

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
Keninishna
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 551



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 12:03:59 PM
 #2052

I have 7 flying leads and from what I understand a standard jtag header only uses 6 pins. The usb blaster has 10 pins and the jtag port on the cm1 has 14. So now I just gotta figure out what pin goes where Tongue
Keninishna
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 551



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 12:09:23 PM
 #2053

http://www.hardwarebook.info/JTAG#Pinout_.2810_pin.29



lets see if this works.

edit: nevermind even the flying leads are too big for the 14 pin port. :/
Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 01:01:23 PM
 #2054

Probably a good thing, when I saw that, I was thinking... if he tries this won't end well.

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
Glasswalker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 02:52:08 PM
 #2055

check out: http://www.jtagtest.com/pinouts/xilinx

Provided you can get the right end, you *should* be able to adapt it just fine. BUT be extremely careful in doing it. Though I doubt you'd do physical damage (As long as you're not directly shorting pins) since jtag is powered by the board, and uses fairly low voltage signals. Still, it's possible to permanently damage the board, so be careful if you attempt this.

The "safe" route, is to buy a xilinx compatible usb jtag (platform cable as xilinx calls it) for $30-$40 on ebay plus shipping.

Just trying to make Bitcoin a Success... One crazy project at a time. (13rwPKskyATcAq3PpnCikfFG8989DQ8M3c)
HashVoodoo Open Source FPGA Mining Bitstream: https://github.com/pmumby/hashvoodoo-fpga-bitcoin-miner
steveme
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
August 26, 2012, 10:07:26 PM
 #2056


Yes, very much so!

I've managed to get p0 & p1 permaflashed with nodynclock_175, but p2 & p3 fail to verify, but a temp flash seems to succeed. I'm having com port problems so cgminer only sees on usable device, but starts to mine.

I think I'd be better off doing this with Linux...



Steve, if you having problems flashing just some of them, erasing them in full before you flash does work for me.
I wrote a full up guide on this a few pages back.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78239.msg1110647#msg1110647

Lethos - I was following your guide of erase 0,l, 2, 3 but programming 3 & 2 always gave a verify error, hence me only permflashing 0&1. I can and have tempflashed 2&3 and can hash badly (e.g. 15min gives):

 
Code:
[2012-08-26 22:54:20] ICA0                | (5s):380.0 (avg):378.9 Mh/s | A:3 R:0 HW:0 U:0.2/m
 [2012-08-26 22:54:20] ICA1                | (5s):169.4 (avg):184.8 Mh/s | A:36 R:0 HW:0 U:2.4/m
 [2012-08-26 22:54:20] ICA2                | (5s):0.0 (avg):272.9 Mh/s | A:5 R:1 HW:0 U:0.3/m
 [2012-08-26 22:54:20] ICA3                | (5s):10.0 (avg):253.8 Mh/s | A:7 R:0 HW:0 U:0.5/m

trying the erase command on 0&1 reports success:

Code:
Cable cm1 type ftdi VID 0x0403 PID 0x8350 dbus data 00 enable 0b cbus data 00 data 00
Using Libftdi, Using JTAG frequency 1500000 from undivided clock
JTAG chainpos: 0 Device IDCODE = 0x3401d093 Desc: XC6SLX150
USB transactions: Write 9 read 6 retries 0

but doesn't seem to do anything - the amber & red LED remain lit as if the FPGA is still waiting for work

permflashing 2&3 report errors such as:

Code:
DNA is 0x192fe44a926474f0
JEDEC: 20 20 0x18 0x00
Found Numonyx Device, Device ID 0x2018
256 bytes/page, 65536 pages = 16777216 bytes total

Page Program failed for flashpage   3073

But the failed flashpage has also been 1, 11265 (p2) &  1, 2049, 3073, 7169, 16385 (p3)

Is this an indicator of a hardware problem?

Should I try reverting to the enterpoint rev 1.5 controller and flash each fpga with a makomk bitstream?

Any help here is much appreciated, thanks!

(edit: for reference, my board SN is 62-0444)

Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
August 26, 2012, 11:03:09 PM
 #2057


Yes, very much so!

I've managed to get p0 & p1 permaflashed with nodynclock_175, but p2 & p3 fail to verify, but a temp flash seems to succeed. I'm having com port problems so cgminer only sees on usable device, but starts to mine.

I think I'd be better off doing this with Linux...




Steve, if you having problems flashing just some of them, erasing them in full before you flash does work for me.
I wrote a full up guide on this a few pages back.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78239.msg1110647#msg1110647

Lethos - I was following your guide of erase 0,l, 2, 3 but programming 3 & 2 always gave a verify error, hence me only permflashing 0&1. I can and have tempflashed 2&3 and can hash badly (e.g. 15min gives):

 
Code:
[2012-08-26 22:54:20] ICA0                | (5s):380.0 (avg):378.9 Mh/s | A:3 R:0 HW:0 U:0.2/m
 [2012-08-26 22:54:20] ICA1                | (5s):169.4 (avg):184.8 Mh/s | A:36 R:0 HW:0 U:2.4/m
 [2012-08-26 22:54:20] ICA2                | (5s):0.0 (avg):272.9 Mh/s | A:5 R:1 HW:0 U:0.3/m
 [2012-08-26 22:54:20] ICA3                | (5s):10.0 (avg):253.8 Mh/s | A:7 R:0 HW:0 U:0.5/m

trying the erase command on 0&1 reports success:

Code:
Cable cm1 type ftdi VID 0x0403 PID 0x8350 dbus data 00 enable 0b cbus data 00 data 00
Using Libftdi, Using JTAG frequency 1500000 from undivided clock
JTAG chainpos: 0 Device IDCODE = 0x3401d093 Desc: XC6SLX150
USB transactions: Write 9 read 6 retries 0

but doesn't seem to do anything - the amber & red LED remain lit as if the FPGA is still waiting for work

permflashing 2&3 report errors such as:

Code:
DNA is 0x192fe44a926474f0
JEDEC: 20 20 0x18 0x00
Found Numonyx Device, Device ID 0x2018
256 bytes/page, 65536 pages = 16777216 bytes total

Page Program failed for flashpage   3073

But the failed flashpage has also been 1, 11265 (p2) &  1, 2049, 3073, 7169, 16385 (p3)

Is this an indicator of a hardware problem?

Should I try reverting to the enterpoint rev 1.5 controller and flash each fpga with a makomk bitstream?

Any help here is much appreciated, thanks!

(edit: for reference, my board SN is 62-0444)



Steveme are you using a powered USB hub when doing the programming? I have found many times that a Powered USB helps smooth out the programming. Also make sure you check the USB cable, the problem you are describing is usually fixed by one of these two things if not both.
Keninishna
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 551



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 11:17:19 PM
 #2058

check out: http://www.jtagtest.com/pinouts/xilinx

Provided you can get the right end, you *should* be able to adapt it just fine. BUT be extremely careful in doing it. Though I doubt you'd do physical damage (As long as you're not directly shorting pins) since jtag is powered by the board, and uses fairly low voltage signals. Still, it's possible to permanently damage the board, so be careful if you attempt this.

The "safe" route, is to buy a xilinx compatible usb jtag (platform cable as xilinx calls it) for $30-$40 on ebay plus shipping.

I just bought a xilinx cable on ebay for 36$ from china. Although I imagine it woulden't be too hard to make a 10 pin to 14 pin connector for cheap.
Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 11:19:15 PM
 #2059


Yes, very much so!

I've managed to get p0 & p1 permaflashed with nodynclock_175, but p2 & p3 fail to verify, but a temp flash seems to succeed. I'm having com port problems so cgminer only sees on usable device, but starts to mine.

I think I'd be better off doing this with Linux...



Steve, if you having problems flashing just some of them, erasing them in full before you flash does work for me.
I wrote a full up guide on this a few pages back.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78239.msg1110647#msg1110647

Lethos - I was following your guide of erase 0,l, 2, 3 but programming 3 & 2 always gave a verify error, hence me only permflashing 0&1. I can and have tempflashed 2&3 and can hash badly (e.g. 15min gives):

 
Code:
[2012-08-26 22:54:20] ICA0                | (5s):380.0 (avg):378.9 Mh/s | A:3 R:0 HW:0 U:0.2/m
 [2012-08-26 22:54:20] ICA1                | (5s):169.4 (avg):184.8 Mh/s | A:36 R:0 HW:0 U:2.4/m
 [2012-08-26 22:54:20] ICA2                | (5s):0.0 (avg):272.9 Mh/s | A:5 R:1 HW:0 U:0.3/m
 [2012-08-26 22:54:20] ICA3                | (5s):10.0 (avg):253.8 Mh/s | A:7 R:0 HW:0 U:0.5/m

trying the erase command on 0&1 reports success:

Code:
Cable cm1 type ftdi VID 0x0403 PID 0x8350 dbus data 00 enable 0b cbus data 00 data 00
Using Libftdi, Using JTAG frequency 1500000 from undivided clock
JTAG chainpos: 0 Device IDCODE = 0x3401d093 Desc: XC6SLX150
USB transactions: Write 9 read 6 retries 0

but doesn't seem to do anything - the amber & red LED remain lit as if the FPGA is still waiting for work

permflashing 2&3 report errors such as:

Code:
DNA is 0x192fe44a926474f0
JEDEC: 20 20 0x18 0x00
Found Numonyx Device, Device ID 0x2018
256 bytes/page, 65536 pages = 16777216 bytes total

Page Program failed for flashpage   3073

But the failed flashpage has also been 1, 11265 (p2) &  1, 2049, 3073, 7169, 16385 (p3)

Is this an indicator of a hardware problem?

Should I try reverting to the enterpoint rev 1.5 controller and flash each fpga with a makomk bitstream?

Any help here is much appreciated, thanks!

(edit: for reference, my board SN is 62-0444)



Generally speaking once one of the chips starts needing a pre-emptive erase it doesn't matter changing to another bitstream or controller.

Try both erasing with and without restarting in between a perma-flash, eventually you might luck out and it works.
But I agree with Doff's advice, a reliable usb hub does make a big difference here.

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
August 26, 2012, 11:40:41 PM
 #2060

Short Info about Makomk's new bitstreams:

I'm using dcmwd4e bitstreams from 200 to 220Mh on 50 boards with controller rev. 1.5 now. Invalids reach from 0.0% up to max. 3%.
And again i got "tested" USB cables from enterpoint and 3! not working with controller 1.5 but with 1.3?!?...

One hour average reported from pool is 42.44GH/s (~848Mh/Board).

Update Power Consumption:
50x CM1(every FPGA! opticed with dcmwd4e bitstream to reach <3% invalids in MPBM)
1x PDB
3x LogiLink 10 Port USBHub (12,95€)
5x PSU Super-Flower SF650P14XE Golden Green Pro 80plus gold - 54 Ampere max. on 12V
2x ASUS Netbook (Win7 32bit, 1GB, Atom N450/Atom N2600) ... I can't run all 50 boards on one Win7 Netbook, Interupts taking up to 100% CPU :-/  ... I think I have to switch to Linux...
2x Windmachines (30cm(50W) + 45cm(130W) Fans) I need this at the moment to keep temps in the rig-room at 28°C. Without it I had temps 38°C-44°C in this room(Window open!). But I will move the rigs to a room in the basement(cellar).
----------
Total: 2212 Watt @ 224 Volt

eb
Pages: « 1 ... 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 [103] 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!