Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 06:17:09 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board  (Read 251074 times)
testconpastas2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 10:17:35 AM
 #1621

Unfortunately Ive never run in to that problem and don't have the coding knowledge to help fix that bug, however I did test 2.6.0 and got the makomk 140 bitstream working for the last 5 hours and its very stable.

ICA 0:                | 346.4/346.9Mh/s | A:723 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.00/m
ICA 1:                | 344.3/348.3Mh/s | A:704 R:1 HW:0 U:  3.90/m

Great numbers.


Doff when you are using makomk's  they show up as two ICA , but how much COM's are they using 2? 1 per ica, 4?

i dont know if I have to add two -S (COMXX) or four

thank you.  

I'm thinking about moving into makomk's bitstream but I had some problems with 1.3 controller and  i dont know if I should wait till they launch a new controller.

Bitmessage: BM-2DAetLWJBKWHZoPbNCgg5z8jwaPpDYWwd4
gpg key id:C6EF5CE3
1480702629
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702629

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702629
Reply with quote  #2

1480702629
Report to moderator
1480702629
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702629

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702629
Reply with quote  #2

1480702629
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 10:49:10 AM
 #1622


Doff when you are using makomk's  they show up as two ICA , but how much COM's are they using 2? 1 per ica, 4?

i dont know if I have to add two -S (COMXX) or four

thank you.  

I'm thinking about moving into makomk's bitstream but I had some problems with 1.3 controller and  i dont know if I should wait till they launch a new controller.

Doff most probably is sleeping right now, so I'll take that.

You need to start makomk's bitstream (I confirm that the 140MH one works on all my boards that run twin_test flawlessly before) with two COM ports only (like you do for twin_test), since the board is treated as two Icarus combined. The only other thing you should take care when switching from twin_test to makomk's is to enable the two back FPGAs (see readme in the bitstream archive).

Good Luck!

makomk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 11:49:19 AM
 #1623

OK, thanks to some minor tweaks I've managed to create a bitstream that does actually run properly at 160 MHash/s. You can download the new set of bitstreams from http://www.makomk.com/~aidan/shortfin_icarus_cm1_20120729.zip - instructions are the same as for the previous set. Might release a mildly overclocked 170 MHash/s bitstream next.

Also, donations to 1CCorPPK8X6Px5iNxCBc5Eciw81iZPVBPh are welcome. I was actually holding off on replying to eberon's comment asking me to post a public donation address until I had good news to report; it just took a bit longer than expected.

Quad XC6SLX150 Board: 860 MHash/s or so.
SIGS ABOUT BUTTERFLY LABS ARE PAID ADS
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 11:59:15 AM
 #1624

Unfortunately Ive never run in to that problem and don't have the coding knowledge to help fix that bug, however I did test 2.6.0 and got the makomk 140 bitstream working for the last 5 hours and its very stable.

ICA 0:                | 346.4/346.9Mh/s | A:723 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.00/m
ICA 1:                | 344.3/348.3Mh/s | A:704 R:1 HW:0 U:  3.90/m

Great numbers.


Doff when you are using makomk's  they show up as two ICA , but how much COM's are they using 2? 1 per ica, 4?

i dont know if I have to add two -S (COMXX) or four

thank you.  

I'm thinking about moving into makomk's bitstream but I had some problems with 1.3 controller and  i dont know if I should wait till they launch a new controller.

Only 2 COM's as it uses the controller version 1.3. It's the same as the twin_test.bit but mining on 4 fpgas.
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 12:47:24 PM
 #1625

How many bitstreams are currently in development?

- Glasswalker is re-writing the Icarus-bitstream, main problem is JTAG noise and meeting the timing?!
- Which bitstream is makomk working on? According to the filename, also some kind of Icarus-rewrite?
- Is EP still working on a (from-scratch) bitstream or are they now waiting for Glasswalker to finish his work?
- Is anyone working on making the TML-bitstream fully compatible with CM1?

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 12:58:27 PM
 #1626

How many bitstreams are currently in development?

- Glasswalker is re-writing the Icarus-bitstream, main problem is JTAG noise and meeting the timing?!    YES
- Which bitstream is makomk working on? According to the filename, also some kind of Icarus-rewrite?   YES
- Is EP still working on a (from-scratch) bitstream or are they now waiting for Glasswalker to finish his work?  Don't know, Yohan?
- Is anyone working on making the TML-bitstream fully compatible with CM1?  YES, chrisp is working on it

Red means, not working/stable.
Green means working, stable and fastest.

Results tested with my 10 boards SN# 400+

 Cheesy
Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2012, 01:35:49 PM
 #1627

I've got my 2 boards working nice and stable for 9 days now.
This is a massive improvement and all came from me moving over to Linux, Ubuntu to be exact.
It only runs of a usb thumb drive though, so I don't have much on there, unless it's really needed.

I am tempted to try the newer bitstreams, is using [virtualbox] programming tools the easiest option even though I am already on linux, or is their another way?

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
testconpastas2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 01:41:31 PM
 #1628


Doff when you are using makomk's  they show up as two ICA , but how much COM's are they using 2? 1 per ica, 4?

i dont know if I have to add two -S (COMXX) or four

thank you.  

I'm thinking about moving into makomk's bitstream but I had some problems with 1.3 controller and  i dont know if I should wait till they launch a new controller.

Doff most probably is sleeping right now, so I'll take that.

You need to start makomk's bitstream (I confirm that the 140MH one works on all my boards that run twin_test flawlessly before) with two COM ports only (like you do for twin_test), since the board is treated as two Icarus combined. The only other thing you should take care when switching from twin_test to makomk's is to enable the two back FPGAs (see readme in the bitstream archive).

Good Luck!


Only 2 COM's as it uses the controller version 1.3. It's the same as the twin_test.bit but mining on 4 fpgas.

thank you.  Seeing  I will need 1.3 controller and I had issues with it  . I'll try with one  card and I will see

Bitmessage: BM-2DAetLWJBKWHZoPbNCgg5z8jwaPpDYWwd4
gpg key id:C6EF5CE3
misternoodle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 02:32:55 PM
 #1629

Strange, with 2 COMS I have 1 FPGA working each instead of 2 per COM.  It only reports 140/140 not 280/280.  Board # 171. Controller version 1.3.
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 02:50:49 PM
 #1630

Strange, with 2 COMS I have 1 FPGA working each instead of 2 per COM.  It only reports 140/140 not 280/280.  Board # 171. Controller version 1.3.

misternoodle,

do you have SW3/SW4 switches correctly set?

They have to be ON-OFF-ON-ON

spiccioli.
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 02:55:20 PM
 #1631

Strange, with 2 COMS I have 1 FPGA working each instead of 2 per COM.  It only reports 140/140 not 280/280.  Board # 171. Controller version 1.3.

what worker are you using? If you use mine, please use the icarus now. My worker was only for the twin_test.bit.
misternoodle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 03:00:33 PM
 #1632

Strange, with 2 COMS I have 1 FPGA working each instead of 2 per COM.  It only reports 140/140 not 280/280.  Board # 171. Controller version 1.3.

misternoodle,

do you have SW3/SW4 switches correctly set?

They have to be ON-OFF-ON-ON

spiccioli.

I will check when I get home tonight. They might be all on, but not 100% sure. 

Thanks.
misternoodle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 03:01:11 PM
 #1633

Strange, with 2 COMS I have 1 FPGA working each instead of 2 per COM.  It only reports 140/140 not 280/280.  Board # 171. Controller version 1.3.

what worker are you using? If you use mine, please use the icarus now. My worker was only for the twin_test.bit.

I'm using MBPM with the icarus worker.
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 03:38:29 PM
 #1634

New Results with makomk 160.bit running smooth so far in cgminer 2.6.0.

Its getting there!

ICA 0:                | 357.4/358.3Mh/s | A:194 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.50/m
ICA 1:                | 361.1/355.3Mh/s | A:205 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.75/m

Doff
makomk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 04:01:19 PM
 #1635

New Results with makomk 160.bit running smooth so far in cgminer 2.6.0.

Its getting there!

ICA 0:                | 357.4/358.3Mh/s | A:194 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.50/m
ICA 1:                | 361.1/355.3Mh/s | A:205 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.75/m
Nice! Out of interest, did you have trouble getting the board to pass cgminer's validation? I'm hoping I found the cause of that problem and fixed it, but...

Quad XC6SLX150 Board: 860 MHash/s or so.
SIGS ABOUT BUTTERFLY LABS ARE PAID ADS
yohan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 04:04:15 PM
 #1636

Ok I have just added what is our official Glasswalker2 release to zip that you download from http://www.enterpoint.co.uk/cairnsmore/cairnsmore1_support_materials.html for the Glasswalker Controller. With serial nos 0051 and onwards boards we would expect 3 FPGA positions to run with this build at 175MHz. You probably only get 2 to run on a pre-0051 at the moment with this particular build.

We do have other taylored versions of this build running at 200 MHz, in 2 FPGAs, on a couple of pre 0051 test boards that we have for testing. We are looking at a pile of options and seeing what we can achieve on these earlier boards and this will take some time to complete. We are looking to get this up to 3 or 4 FPGAs if it is possible and we are investigating the possible issues that are currently restricting us going to 3 or 4 FPGAs.

In a similar vein we are also looking to get 4 FPGAs on the post 0050 boards. We are running a large sample with the 175MHz build on 3 FPGAs as an extended production test now and those appear stable in this setup.

I am struggling to find time to be on this forum currently so I may well be out of date or not aware of things happening here currently due to many commitments including helping the team to make this all work. So I am not answering things here it's because  I am otherwise engaged.
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 04:21:22 PM
 #1637

New Results with makomk 160.bit running smooth so far in cgminer 2.6.0.

Its getting there!

ICA 0:                | 357.4/358.3Mh/s | A:194 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.50/m
ICA 1:                | 361.1/355.3Mh/s | A:205 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.75/m
Nice! Out of interest, did you have trouble getting the board to pass cgminer's validation? I'm hoping I found the cause of that problem and fixed it, but...

Ive never had that error before and cgminer started right up, that's also running with 2 Actual Icarus units. I stopped and started it about 5 times as I moved it from the laptop I program them on to where they actually sit and they started up great each time. I havent written these to flash yet so they are still working with the temporary flash.

One thing I added to make these work better was a powered USB from Zefir's Advice, before the powered USB I was unable to get the 140 bitstream to work.
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 04:52:43 PM
 #1638

New Results with makomk 160.bit running smooth so far in cgminer 2.6.0.

Its getting there!

ICA 0:                | 357.4/358.3Mh/s | A:194 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.50/m
ICA 1:                | 361.1/355.3Mh/s | A:205 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.75/m
Nice! Out of interest, did you have trouble getting the board to pass cgminer's validation? I'm hoping I found the cause of that problem and fixed it, but...

makomk,

I've just flashed 5 of my boards with controller rev. 1.3, one of them, serial nr 62-0104 keeps failing cgminer validation, the other four are working nicely.

spiccioli.

EDIT: a full reset (removing power), it seems SW1 switch 1 OFF is not the same, seems to have solved my issue, now all 5 boards are hashing.
 
chrisp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 05:12:58 PM
 #1639

How many bitstreams are currently in development?

- Glasswalker is re-writing the Icarus-bitstream, main problem is JTAG noise and meeting the timing?!
- Which bitstream is makomk working on? According to the filename, also some kind of Icarus-rewrite?
- Is EP still working on a (from-scratch) bitstream or are they now waiting for Glasswalker to finish his work?
- Is anyone working on making the TML-bitstream fully compatible with CM1?

I'm working on adding native support to the TML-bitstream with the included FTDI chip.  I've had to rewrite the jtag interface so it's been some time, but i'm progressing nicely.
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 05:24:51 PM
 #1640

How many bitstreams are currently in development?

- Glasswalker is re-writing the Icarus-bitstream, main problem is JTAG noise and meeting the timing?!
- Which bitstream is makomk working on? According to the filename, also some kind of Icarus-rewrite?
- Is EP still working on a (from-scratch) bitstream or are they now waiting for Glasswalker to finish his work?
- Is anyone working on making the TML-bitstream fully compatible with CM1?

I'm working on adding native support to the TML-bitstream with the included FTDI chip.  I've had to rewrite the jtag interface so it's been some time, but i'm progressing nicely.

How does that work exactly chrisp, can you still use a miner like cgminer, or do you need a miner provided by Et? I have yet to even look at making anything work with the Et bitstream.
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!