Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:28:47 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 [116] 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board  (Read 251297 times)
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 02:44:35 AM
 #2301

Glasswalker, in doing a review of the cairnsmoreworker.py with dynamic clocking support I have only one question.

-- edit --
Nevermind, I see that idea doesn't work. I'll just increase the required number of shares per speed step during warmup. As you've already provided. Smiley
--

Would it perhaps be more appropriate, or at least more conservative, to only reset the "recentinvalid" count upon a speed decrease rather than also on every speed increase? Might preclude a potential 'runaway' situation.

e.g., "if speedstep < 0:" in the below

Of course, please let me know if I overlooked something which moots this idea.

Code:
   if critical:
      speedstep = -10
      self.initialramp = False
    elif warning:
      speedstep = -1
      self.initialramp = False
    elif not self.recentinvalid and self.recentshares >= threshold:
      speedstep = 1
    else: speedstep = 0    

    if speedstep: self._set_speed(self.speed + speedstep)

    if speedstep:
      self.recentinvalid = 0
      self.recentshares = 0
1481178527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481178527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481178527
Reply with quote  #2

1481178527
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481178527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481178527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481178527
Reply with quote  #2

1481178527
Report to moderator
steamboat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 648


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 02:52:50 AM
 #2302

Ebereon, quick question for you

How many CM1's do you have per instance of mpbm, per netbook? I seem to be getting some instability issues with cards or pairs of chips dropping if i run more than 15.

ASIC miners available for purchase

Those who serve best, profit most.
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 10:35:52 AM
 #2303

Ebereon, quick question for you

How many CM1's do you have per instance of mpbm, per netbook? I seem to be getting some instability issues with cards or pairs of chips dropping if i run more than 15.

I have no instability issues and I use USB-Hubs from EasyLine (2,99€; 4P), MS-TECH (16,99€; 7P) and LogiLink (14,99€; 10P).

But as I run Windows I can only connect 30 boards to one netbook (Atom N2600) and 20 Boards to the other (Atom 450). The system process uses up to 50% only for handling interupts. 40 boards running 1.5 controller (using up/down) with makomk bitstreams 200-220Mhz, 10 boards glasswalker combination. And here is my problem now, the 10 boards with glasswalkers bitstreams increases the cpu load by 10% (interupts), as glasswalkers controller need all 4 COMs from one board.
... I need to switch to linux now...

When a board/fpga droped out I trashed the damn "enterpoint USB cable" and used a new one. That way my boards running rock stable > 20 days. Every problem I had until today was faulty USB cables.

Eb
steamboat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 648


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 02:25:09 PM
 #2304

Ebereon, quick question for you

How many CM1's do you have per instance of mpbm, per netbook? I seem to be getting some instability issues with cards or pairs of chips dropping if i run more than 15.

I have no instability issues and I use USB-Hubs from EasyLine (2,99€; 4P), MS-TECH (16,99€; 7P) and LogiLink (14,99€; 10P).

But as I run Windows I can only connect 30 boards to one netbook (Atom N2600) and 20 Boards to the other (Atom 450). The system process uses up to 50% only for handling interupts. 40 boards running 1.5 controller (using up/down) with makomk bitstreams 200-220Mhz, 10 boards glasswalker combination. And here is my problem now, the 10 boards with glasswalkers bitstreams increases the cpu load by 10% (interupts), as glasswalkers controller need all 4 COMs from one board.
... I need to switch to linux now...

When a board/fpga droped out I trashed the damn "enterpoint USB cable" and used a new one. That way my boards running rock stable > 20 days. Every problem I had until today was faulty USB cables.

Eb

hrm. that may be my issue then. I was very surprised when I connected the new set and all of them were recognized with the enterpoint usb cables, though i noticed cards dropping randomly when I started mpbm. I will do more testing today and let you know what happens.

EDIT: I switched out the cables to the offending boards and all seems to be running smoothly.

ASIC miners available for purchase

Those who serve best, profit most.
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
October 01, 2012, 10:52:23 AM
 #2305

I wonder if anyone was able to set up CM1 board mining with Raspberry Pi already? If yes, how many boards is one RPi able to handle?

I'm running two with my Pi. No problems here. Can probably handle a lot more

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
toxicocean
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
October 01, 2012, 06:19:11 PM
 #2306

I'm mining with a Raspberry Pi too, only 1 board though, but I guess it can handle a few more at least.
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
October 02, 2012, 10:02:25 AM
 #2307

Looks like I'll have to buy a jtag cable.

Does anyone have experience with this one:
http://www.amazon.com/SainSmart-Download-Programmer-Xilinx-Platform/dp/B0057OC5VQ/ref=pd_cp_pc_0
I can report that the SainSmart device works with Xilinx Impact.

My problem board is now fully flashed and hashing again.

--

NOTE: Install stand-alone "LabTools" rather than the WebPack in order for Impact to be able to program/flash the Spartan 6 / 150 FPGAs. Otherwise you'll get a rather unhelpful message about a corrupt file when the problem is really that the free WebPack version isn't licensed to operate on the 'big' FPGA's.
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 774



View Profile WWW
October 03, 2012, 01:53:49 AM
 #2308

Anyone know if the usual suspects, mokokam, is producing a +220MHs bitstream? I am all 220MHs with <0.5% error rates

LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
October 03, 2012, 02:27:13 AM
 #2309

Anyone know if the usual suspects, mokokam, is producing a +220MHs bitstream? I am all 220MHs with <0.5% error rates
Merely FYI, running over 200 will void your warrantee.
(Search posts in this thread or the "Cairnsmore1 Manual - Issue 1.0")

To your question though, so far as I know the only thing currently in the works is Glasswalker's "sea of hashers" approach. That is a complete ground up re-design and I don't think it is reasonable to be expecting it to arrive any time soon.
Keninishna
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 551



View Profile WWW
October 03, 2012, 09:01:26 AM
 #2310

anyone using the latest dynamic glasswalker bitstream in mpbm notice that after a few days the hasrate of most of the chips drops to about 180 mh/s each?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 03, 2012, 09:24:11 AM
 #2311

anyone using the latest dynamic glasswalker bitstream in mpbm notice that after a few days the hasrate of most of the chips drops to about 180 mh/s each?
Send me one and I'll let you know if cgminer does it also Smiley
(after I write the code)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
October 03, 2012, 09:29:20 AM
 #2312

anyone using the latest dynamic glasswalker bitstream in mpbm notice that after a few days the hasrate of most of the chips drops to about 180 mh/s each?
Send me one and I'll let you know if cgminer does it also Smiley
(after I write the code)

I haven't noticed that. Longest I went before I needed to restarted it, unrelated to mining, was 3 days and they were all averaging the same rate they were after their first few hours and stayed there. Did you get more invalids enough to trigger it to dethrottle?

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
Keninishna
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 551



View Profile WWW
October 03, 2012, 11:26:14 AM
 #2313

anyone using the latest dynamic glasswalker bitstream in mpbm notice that after a few days the hasrate of most of the chips drops to about 180 mh/s each?
Send me one and I'll let you know if cgminer does it also Smiley
(after I write the code)

I haven't noticed that. Longest I went before I needed to restarted it, unrelated to mining, was 3 days and they were all averaging the same rate they were after their first few hours and stayed there. Did you get more invalids enough to trigger it to dethrottle?

They had been running for over 4 days without a restart. Maybe the invalids were catching up but they were all within 1% range.
Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
October 03, 2012, 11:37:18 AM
 #2314

anyone using the latest dynamic glasswalker bitstream in mpbm notice that after a few days the hasrate of most of the chips drops to about 180 mh/s each?
Send me one and I'll let you know if cgminer does it also Smiley
(after I write the code)

I haven't noticed that. Longest I went before I needed to restarted it, unrelated to mining, was 3 days and they were all averaging the same rate they were after their first few hours and stayed there. Did you get more invalids enough to trigger it to dethrottle?

They had been running for over 4 days without a restart. Maybe the invalids were catching up but they were all within 1% range.

Depends on your settings, I've tweaked mine a lot since I got it, I forget what the defaults are now.

Mine considers it to be an overload condition if it goes over 1%, which rarely happens (0.01% to 0.6% is typical for mine).
It has a critical at 4%, not sure what that does, but I assume it drops it down to it's min speed straight away, I guess.

However if you leave it long enough if it's invaliding a lot it will dethrottle to a slower speed. Your invalids might be anywhere from 10-20% for a while, at this new slower speed, however give it a few hours, with getting 0 invalids, which will slowly bring down your average so if you didn't notice when it had it's problem, you might be none the wiser.
There is a debug log, but it depends if you want to sift through it to find out when it happened to see if you can explain why it occurred.


Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
makomk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
October 03, 2012, 07:30:52 PM
 #2315

Anyone know if the usual suspects, mokokam, is producing a +220MHs bitstream? I am all 220MHs with <0.5% error rates
I'm actually testing one out now that has a higher maximum cap. Thoroughly voids your warranty of course, as LazyOtto pointed out.

Quad XC6SLX150 Board: 860 MHash/s or so.
SIGS ABOUT BUTTERFLY LABS ARE PAID ADS
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 774



View Profile WWW
October 05, 2012, 02:46:55 AM
 #2316

Anyone know if the usual suspects, mokokam, is producing a +220MHs bitstream? I am all 220MHs with <0.5% error rates
I'm actually testing one out now that has a higher maximum cap. Thoroughly voids your warranty of course, as LazyOtto pointed out.

Given that the CM1 will not be profitable to run shortly after ASIC release, well not profitable in Australia due to high power costs of $0.22 kW/hr, I will not be needing the warranty after ~Q1 2013. So I say "burn baby burn"....happy mining

LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
October 05, 2012, 03:04:16 AM
 #2317

So I say "burn baby burn"....happy mining
<lol>

A noble, and rational, attitude. Smiley

I wish you the best of luck.

And please do post the results you get.
steamboat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 648


View Profile
October 05, 2012, 01:16:20 PM
 #2318

I'm running the dynamic hashvoodoo release capped at 200 on mpbm and a laptop and i've been noticing my rig doesn't like more than 17 boards connected at once. It always drops 2 random boards a few hours after I reset them. Each time one of them drops I swap out the usb cable for a new one. It's possible they aren't getting enough power, but I have them connected to a 1000 watt power supply on a 1500va/1000 watt UPS that hasn't given any warnings, and the rig only draws 950 from the wall, so i should have ~250 watts to spare. I'm going to split the rig up and see what happens over the weekend.


ASIC miners available for purchase

Those who serve best, profit most.
Isokivi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Items flashing here available at btctrinkets.com


View Profile WWW
October 05, 2012, 01:48:34 PM
 #2319

So I say "burn baby burn"....happy mining
<lol>

A noble, and rational, attitude. Smiley

I wish you the best of luck.

And please do post the results you get.

Once the difficulty "gets there" Im also looking to give my cairnsmores a viking burial.

Bitcoin trinkets now on my online store: btc trinkets.com <- Bitcoin Tiepins, cufflinks, lapel pins, keychains, card holders and challenge coins.
yohan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
October 05, 2012, 03:25:49 PM
 #2320

I'm running the dynamic hashvoodoo release capped at 200 on mpbm and a laptop and i've been noticing my rig doesn't like more than 17 boards connected at once. It always drops 2 random boards a few hours after I reset them. Each time one of them drops I swap out the usb cable for a new one. It's possible they aren't getting enough power, but I have them connected to a 1000 watt power supply on a 1500va/1000 watt UPS that hasn't given any warnings, and the rig only draws 950 from the wall, so i should have ~250 watts to spare. I'm going to split the rig up and see what happens over the weekend.



You have to be a little careful on what an individual ATX PSU will do. The additive of individual rails is often more than the overall rating but conversely that doesn't mean you can get the entire 1000 watts out of the 12V rails.

In some power supplies the 12V is also split and individual sections have a limit and it is possible to exceed the limit on one section whilst under capacity either overall or even in other sections.

There is another aspect which probably isn't a big factor in modern ATX supplies but I will mention to be complete and that is where the 5V or 3.3V is underloaded and causes an issue. In older supplies there was often a primary regulation based on usually 5V loading. Low or no load on the 5V typically lowered what I will call the excitation of the power supply and basically it drops too low to provide enough energy to 12V circuits. Some of you may have noticed that we put a small loading on our PDB for 5V and 3.3V to avoid this issue.
Pages: « 1 ... 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 [116] 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!