Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:41:18 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 [73] 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 ... 129 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board  (Read 251380 times)
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
July 22, 2012, 08:38:25 PM
 #1441

Okay now I'm convinced there's something seriously wrong with my two Cairnsmore1 boards.

After trying again today to get them working at full speed, I was flashing Rev 1.2 onto both of my boards using SPIProg.exe, I turned the power off to the boards, then turned it back on. I noticed that one of my boards had different LEDs lit to the other board, even though they were using the exact same documented DIP switch settings (http://www.enterpoint.co.uk/cairnsmore/CAIRNSMORE1_SPI_PROGRAMMING_DIP_SWITCHES_SETTING.jpg).

I tried powering off and on again, and strangely enough, the LEDs matched this time.

I tried it again and they were different again.


To be honest I have no idea what is going on now with my boards. It appears that the controller is not being flashed correctly and that it is reverting back controller revisions after power cycling? Or something possibly could be wrong with my DIP switches and they are malfunctioning?

Either way, all I have at the moment is two very strange boards that net 100Mhash/s each if i'm lucky.
I hope Enterpoint can get this sorted out soon??

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481319678
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319678

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319678
Reply with quote  #2

1481319678
Report to moderator
1481319678
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319678

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319678
Reply with quote  #2

1481319678
Report to moderator
1481319678
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319678

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319678
Reply with quote  #2

1481319678
Report to moderator
misternoodle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108



View Profile
July 22, 2012, 09:30:53 PM
 #1442

Since changing the USB cable as suggested, I've been running the board pretty solid.  I grabbed it from my WD external drive from a few years ago with a USB extension since it's a short cable.  I ordered some new ones and will try those out when they come in.
gigantic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90



View Profile
July 22, 2012, 09:39:01 PM
 #1443

Since changing the USB cable as suggested, I've been running the board pretty solid.  I grabbed it from my WD external drive from a few years ago with a USB extension since it's a short cable.  I ordered some new ones and will try those out when they come in.

Are you sure it was the cables? i have boards that disapearing every several hours, i also tried other cables, but it didnt help.
misternoodle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108



View Profile
July 22, 2012, 09:51:38 PM
 #1444

Since changing the USB cable as suggested, I've been running the board pretty solid.  I grabbed it from my WD external drive from a few years ago with a USB extension since it's a short cable.  I ordered some new ones and will try those out when they come in.

Are you sure it was the cables? i have boards that disapearing every several hours, i also tried other cables, but it didnt help.

I had the issue where they would disappear every 15-30 minutes.  Once I changed out the cable, each chip is up to 4500 shares with no issues.  Prior to that, I would be lucky if it hit 1500 shares. 
Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
July 22, 2012, 10:57:54 PM
 #1445

I went from a Win7 (64) Llano APU laptop, that had a usb port for each CM1 I have.
- It was unstable and would be lucky to last 1-2 hours before com ports disappeared and it stopped mining.

I changed over to a Ubuntu 12.04 Open case Intel Atom, that had to use a 4 port hub (no seperate power) to operate them, due to low number of unused usb ports.
- It has been stable for 24 hours+ first attempt. It's still mining and has been no hassle since.

So the things that changed;
- I changed the OS (Win -> Linux), this obviously effected the system it worked it alot, aswell the drivers.
- I went from a Laptop to a more traditional PC board. It is a lot less powerful of a system, but for the first 12 hours was dedicated to just mining. Later it proved it didn't need to be dedicated, since it still worked fine multiple times to play films, music etc fine while also mining.
- Direct Usb cable to usb port to having a usb hub (this should of been a negative), but appears to had no effect. However their is only 2, maybe the effect would of been worse had I had more on this hub and it not having it's own power source.

For me, It worked moving to linux. For others it works to change their usb cables etc, that was all they needed to do.
Cgminer team has actually made a guide or two on this, if your unsure what or how to do it, check the software subforum.

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
hm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 01:07:17 AM
 #1446

I did not yet switch over to my linux machine (igel-5/3 (via c3 1ghz passive cooled) thin client with debian squeeze on sd card).

After some hours of stable hashing rates using a dual usb cable on a Thinkpad T500, I accidentally disconnected the dual usb cable from the micro usb cable. I did not succeed in reaching stable hashrates again.
So I tried a powered hama usb 2.0 4-port switch, again using dual usb cable for more usb power, but no success in reaching a stable hashrate.
I don't think my cheap chinese ac adapter is the cause of my unstable hashrates, because a friend of mine is using the same ac adapter model and has stable hash rates.

Tomorrow, I'll switch over to the linux box. If this won't help, I'll buy some RAM to revive my now defunct desktop PC.
chrisp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 01:12:04 AM
 #1447

Today I was able to get the Enterpoint cairnsmore to work with the tricone mining software without needing an isolated stand-alone cable, just the FTDI link.  The code is still early in function, and still suffers from some JTAG errors likely due to noise / reflections on the lines which will need better error handling.  I only performed several tests, but was easily able to get stable function with three rings at 100Mhz. (150 Mh/s).

I will keep you guys updated, I should have more time to work on it on Tuesday.

Here's some brief logs from submitted shares, it's fairly garbled from the ascii formatting for the colors.

Code:
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ]   pool accepted share


H:0/0,0,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m38s   |  H:0/0,0,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:0 R:0 T:3m38s
                                                                                    
H:19/0,19,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m40s   |  H:19/0,19,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:3m41s requesting name


                                                                                        
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ] decrypting nonce at address 0x000000b8


H:19/0,19,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m40s   |  H:19/0,19,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:3m41s requesting name


                                                                                        
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ]   encrypted nonce = 0x0d210e79


H:19/0,19,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m40s   |  H:19/0,19,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:3m41s
                                                                                        
H:19/0,19,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m42s   |  H:19/0,19,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:3m43s requesting name


                                                                                        
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ]   found a share: 0xe16ddf30


H:19/0,19,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m42s   |  H:19/0,19,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:3m43s requesting name


                                                                                        
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ]   pool accepted share


H:19/0,19,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m42s   |  H:19/0,19,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:1 R:0 T:3m43s
                                                                                        
H:38/0,38,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m44s   |  H:38/0,38,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:3m45s
                                                                                        
H:37/0,37,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m46s   |  H:37/0,37,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:3m47s
                                                                                        
H:37/0,37,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m49s   |  H:37/0,37,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:3m49s
                                                                                        
H:37/0,37,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m51s   |  H:37/0,37,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:3m51s
                                                                                        
H:36/0,36,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m53s   |  H:36/0,36,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:3m53s
                                                                                        
H:36/0,36,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m55s   |  H:36/0,36,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:3m55s
                                                                                        
H:36/0,36,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m57s   |  H:36/0,36,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:3m58s
                                                                                        
H:35/0,35,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m59s   |  H:35/0,35,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:4m requesting name
requesting name


                                                                                      
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ] prediction: optimalFreq=229mhz, errorrate=40%, hashrate=67MH/s, alpha=0.329 beta=5.887 gamma=-5601.734


H:35/0,35,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m59s   |  H:35/0,35,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:4m requesting name


                                                                                      
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ] setting clock to 65 Mhz, mult=13 div=10


H:35/0,35,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m59s   |  H:35/0,35,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:4m requesting name


                                                                                      
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ]     ramping clock: mult=13 div=10


H:35/0,35,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m59s   |  H:35/0,35,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:4m requesting name
requesting name


                                                                                      
[cairnsmore:1:0.2   ] setting clock to 60 Mhz, mult=6 div=5


H:35/0,35,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m59s   |  H:35/0,35,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:4m requesting name


                                                                                      
[cairnsmore:1:0.2   ]     ramping clock: mult=6 div=5


H:35/0,35,0 X:87 C:60,60,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:3m59s   |  H:35/0,35,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:4m
                                                                                      
H:35/0,35,0 X:90 C:60,65,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:4m2s   |  H:35/0,35,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:4m2s requesting name


                                                                                      
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ] decrypting nonce at address 0x0000005c


H:35/0,35,0 X:90 C:60,65,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:4m2s   |  H:35/0,35,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:4m2s requesting name


                                                                                      
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ]   encrypted nonce = 0x9a6c87ca


H:35/0,35,0 X:90 C:60,65,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:4m2s   |  H:35/0,35,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:4m2s
                                                                                      
H:35/0,35,0 X:90 C:60,65,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:4m4s   |  H:35/0,35,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:4m4s requesting name


                                                                                      
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ]   found a share: 0x615b9649


H:35/0,35,0 X:90 C:60,65,55 E:0/0,0,0 T:4m4s   |  H:35/0,35,0 E:0/0,0,0 A:2 R:0 T:4m4s requesting name


                                                                                      
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ]   pool accepted share

spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 07:28:41 AM
 #1448

Okay now I'm convinced there's something seriously wrong with my two Cairnsmore1 boards.

After trying again today to get them working at full speed, I was flashing Rev 1.2 onto both of my boards using SPIProg.exe, I turned the power off to the boards, then turned it back on. I noticed that one of my boards had different LEDs lit to the other board, even though they were using the exact same documented DIP switch settings

norulezapply,

this is a bug of revision 1.2, sometimes when starting up you get blue/red leds light up.

If you flash revision 1.3 this problem is fixed.

spiccioli.
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 07:52:51 AM
 #1449

Today I was able to get the Enterpoint cairnsmore to work with the tricone mining software without needing an isolated stand-alone cable, just the FTDI link.  The code is still early in function, and still suffers from some JTAG errors likely due to noise / reflections on the lines which will need better error handling.  I only performed several tests, but was easily able to get stable function with three rings at 100Mhz. (150 Mh/s).

I will keep you guys updated, I should have more time to work on it on Tuesday.

Here's some brief logs from submitted shares, it's fairly garbled from the ascii formatting for the colors.

Code:
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ]   pool accepted share
...

nice one! But only with one fpga? What OS you use? If windows then please can you provide the patched urjtag prog.? The code of tml would be also nice.  Wink
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 09:05:24 AM
 #1450

Okay now I'm convinced there's something seriously wrong with my two Cairnsmore1 boards.

After trying again today to get them working at full speed, I was flashing Rev 1.2 onto both of my boards using SPIProg.exe, I turned the power off to the boards, then turned it back on. I noticed that one of my boards had different LEDs lit to the other board, even though they were using the exact same documented DIP switch settings

norulezapply,

this is a bug of revision 1.2, sometimes when starting up you get blue/red leds light up.

If you flash revision 1.3 this problem is fixed.

spiccioli.


Hmm.

The reason I was trying 1.2 was because I'm not getting stable or full hashrates with 1.3.

If it is just a bug with 1.2, how come the same thing is not happening with my 2nd board when I flash it with 1.2? :S

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
chrisp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 10:02:10 AM
 #1451

Today I was able to get the Enterpoint cairnsmore to work with the tricone mining software without needing an isolated stand-alone cable, just the FTDI link.  The code is still early in function, and still suffers from some JTAG errors likely due to noise / reflections on the lines which will need better error handling.  I only performed several tests, but was easily able to get stable function with three rings at 100Mhz. (150 Mh/s).

I will keep you guys updated, I should have more time to work on it on Tuesday.

Here's some brief logs from submitted shares, it's fairly garbled from the ascii formatting for the colors.

Code:
[cairnsmore:1:0.1   ]   pool accepted share
...

nice one! But only with one fpga? What OS you use? If windows then please can you provide the patched urjtag prog.? The code of tml would be also nice.  Wink

All 4 FPGAs work, just a testing run post.  I'm doing it under linux, but it should work fine under Win32/Mac/Linux.  The code actually doesn't use urjtag, but just the modified tml code and FTDI driver. 

It should be much more useful once the JTAG issues are hammered out.

Chris
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 10:36:28 AM
 #1452

Does it work with multible units to?

Can't wait to test it  Cheesy
chrisp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 11:25:20 AM
 #1453

Does it work with multible units to?

Can't wait to test it  Cheesy

Undortunately I'm a one unit owner Smiley

Chris
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 779



View Profile WWW
July 23, 2012, 11:36:09 AM
 #1454

Does it work with multible units to?

Can't wait to test it  Cheesy

Undortunately I'm a one unit owner Smiley

Chris

2 unit owner here...happy to try it if all 4 FPGAs per board get hammering

spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 12:20:25 PM
 #1455

Okay now I'm convinced there's something seriously wrong with my two Cairnsmore1 boards.

After trying again today to get them working at full speed, I was flashing Rev 1.2 onto both of my boards using SPIProg.exe, I turned the power off to the boards, then turned it back on. I noticed that one of my boards had different LEDs lit to the other board, even though they were using the exact same documented DIP switch settings

norulezapply,

this is a bug of revision 1.2, sometimes when starting up you get blue/red leds light up.

If you flash revision 1.3 this problem is fixed.

spiccioli.


Hmm.

The reason I was trying 1.2 was because I'm not getting stable or full hashrates with 1.3.

If it is just a bug with 1.2, how come the same thing is not happening with my 2nd board when I flash it with 1.2? :S

norulezapply,

I don't know, see this and following messages from yohan https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78239.msg1023229;topicseen#msg1023229

spiccioli.

hm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 04:30:16 PM
 #1456

yesterday, I observed a startup issue with controller rev. 1.3:
I connected power, the controller led did blink as usual, but none of the fpga leds did light up.
I thought "there must be something wrong" and just reconnected the ac adapter without further investigation of the situation.
since then, I re-powered the device between five and ten times without any startup problems.

of course, my instable hash rates didn't improve by any re-powering of the device... but now it's time to test a linux box .. it will surely be better than the 20MH/s I'm getting right now using t500/win7 laptop.
Nemesis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 07:25:16 PM
 #1457

I've been following this thread very closely as i'm interested in making a bulk order.

So far, it doesnt make any business sense now. If you think this as an investment, then its terrible. How many ppl have got these board worked at intended speed? and if you did, for how long? I'm not a technical person but spending a month of tinkering is not acceptable. Maybe we should now know why BFL had a long waiting for their production.

As a potential customer, may i know exactly why you sell the boards without a working bitstream?
steamboat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 648


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 08:05:43 PM
 #1458

I've been following this thread very closely as i'm interested in making a bulk order.

So far, it doesnt make any business sense now. If you think this as an investment, then its terrible. How many ppl have got these board worked at intended speed? and if you did, for how long? I'm not a technical person but spending a month of tinkering is not acceptable. Maybe we should now know why BFL had a long waiting for their production.

As a potential customer, may i know exactly why you sell the boards without a working bitstream?

/troll

ASIC miners available for purchase

Those who serve best, profit most.
Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2012, 08:35:35 PM
 #1459

I've been following this thread very closely as i'm interested in making a bulk order.

So far, it doesnt make any business sense now. If you think this as an investment, then its terrible. How many ppl have got these board worked at intended speed? and if you did, for how long? I'm not a technical person but spending a month of tinkering is not acceptable. Maybe we should now know why BFL had a long waiting for their production.

As a potential customer, may i know exactly why you sell the boards without a working bitstream?

I know it won't be easy to convience you otherwise of your view. How ever I will do my best to try.

Quick turn around, they are using the same chips and a similar design than what is already been done. However the made it a bit bigger, using 4 chips. Enterpoint are veterans in the market of making FPGA's, but relatively new to bitcoins, it was their first board. They made it from scratch quicker than any other manufactor, so I got to give them credit there. They had lots of people interested in seeing this as a development board, even if it meant us making the bitstream, so they went ahead with it.

A fully working bitstream was not the problem it should of been, it was a oops in the complication of combining 4 of these chips. It was a calculated risk and hasn't turned out that bad. If I had made orders with another manufacter, I know it would of cost me more, also I'd paid in advance for most of them (not all) and many of them I'd still be waiting for my product in hand. To me, I've come out better off for it. I don't like waiting 3+ months for an item, I certainly don't like waiting that long for an item I already bought. Enterpoint delivered what I expected.

Enterpoint (Yohan) and his team with the CM1, it allowed us to be mining on a development board, which we knew about in advance when we order at a lower than normal price. We saved money buying hardware and only paid when it was ready to ship.

As a programmer/developer this does not bother me, sure there are a few frustrating moments, that is part of being a programmer, you get little irratiable when debugging a problem. Many in this thread are also very technical people, that is the target whom jumped in early before a bitstream was fully ready. The FPGA market is filled with people just like me, so it does make business sense, it did work, he sold quiet a lot of them.

Average Joe, sure this might not be ideal for you, unless you prepared to start learning all what it takes to get a FPGA to work. It's not plug and play, anything more advance than a GUIminer is not, so it should come to no suprise that these won't be.

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 10:16:05 PM
 #1460

If you think this as an investment, then its terrible. How many ppl have got these board worked at intended speed? and if you did, for how long? I'm not a technical person but spending a month of tinkering is not acceptable. Maybe we should now know why BFL had a long waiting for their production.

As a potential customer, may i know exactly why you sell the boards without a working bitstream?

It was sold as a DEVELOPMENT BOARD.

If you had really been following the thread "very closely", you would know this.

BFL is completely different. They have a working bitstream already, and they take money upfront, without shipping anything for months after the quoted delivery time. If you'd rather buy from them, go ahead I say. Enjoy waiting months for your board for no reason whatsoever other than incompetence...

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
Pages: « 1 ... 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 [73] 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 ... 129 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!