Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:15:39 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 [121] 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board  (Read 251219 times)
morphKET
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


We Are All One


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2013, 10:06:01 AM
 #2401

hola, don't mean to sidetrack the thread or anything, but if anyone should be looking to sell, i am more than interested. PM me please; thanks :^)

✰ PrimeDice.com | Instant Bitcoin Gambling | Free BTC Faucet | ( 1% edge) *Thread*
If you like my stories, toss a Satoshi or two:
1CHmp1TGSyus29K76S7X6AMtVUejj7BCcj
1481026539
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026539

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026539
Reply with quote  #2

1481026539
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481026539
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026539

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026539
Reply with quote  #2

1481026539
Report to moderator
gateway
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 08:48:55 PM
 #2402

hola, don't mean to sidetrack the thread or anything, but if anyone should be looking to sell, i am more than interested. PM me please; thanks :^)

Sorry same, please pm me

// Pepper Mining Co. - The Habanero
// Eligius.st - Webmaster
// Donations: btc 1D5K2WV1K4uiv56vZyMS66gBCPYVEdy6v
Bogart
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 03:56:15 AM
 #2403

I recently received a pair of CM1s with "water damage", and I've not been able to get them to work.

Is there any kind of a repair/replacement program offered by Enterpoint (or by anyone else), or are they essentially worthless now?

http://i.imgur.com/Q3AyO6W.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/BMvqbtK.jpg

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
yohan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 09:35:46 AM
 #2404

I recently received a pair of CM1s with "water damage", and I've not been able to get them to work.

Is there any kind of a repair/replacement program offered by Enterpoint (or by anyone else), or are they essentially worthless now?

http://i.imgur.com/Q3AyO6W.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/BMvqbtK.jpg

We don't have a formal repair/replacement program as such. Outside of Bitcoin boards and something very similar I can count the number that have come back to us in one hand and that is in 10 years of making boards and hence we never had a reason to make a formal process. So anything that comes back will go into our normal rework process which is very queued at the moment. There are non-urgent things in that queue that have been there 3-6 months.

We will charge for any repairs outside of warranty but what we can do in a situation like this is have a 2 minute evaluation that we would not charge for. Carriage would be your only cost for that. Out of a 2 minute lookover we can usually tell if it is going to be a long expensive debug/repair (probably a write off board) or a short cheap one. As anyone can do the lookover we can usually do these 2 minute lookovers within 1-2 weeks of getting a board back so if you want to send back the board we will do that.

One comment is that you obviously had a short on the fan connector and have you checked that the board fuse isn't just blown. The grot on the board may cause you problems as well but cleaning can be done but only with the right materials/equipment. Outside of that there are nummerous possibilities so I would only be guessing. 
salty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
April 17, 2013, 11:54:09 AM
 #2405

I'd like to post a thankyou to the Enterpoint team, my Cairnsmore 1 has performed faultlessly since day 3 of ownership, day 1 and 2 were spent trying to get it to work on Mac OS, which I nearly managed, but had USB/tty issues. Since tethering it to my home network's winXP file-server instead it's been plain sailing, and I have mined ~35btc since September using the device. I knew it was a risky bet buying an FPGA after BFL's announcement, but my gamble paid off very nicely thankyou Smiley

Service from your company has been professional, and your product is very well made and maintenance free. Thanks also to the bitstream coders Smiley

(Now am I tempting fate by posting this? Will I wake up tomorrow to a frazzled board?)
jml
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
April 18, 2013, 06:34:47 PM
 #2406

A little update to my board problem..

(The Board did not work at all anymore.. even with a 160MHz bitstream it produced only invalid shares..)

It's working again.. Dont laugh, but i put the board in the fridge, as I've always seen some valid shares, like 2 or 3 valid shares, before only HW errors occured so I always had the feeling it has something todo with temperatures overheating, but when touching the thermalblock or the bottomside of the board it was always handwarm..

Well.. I put it in the fridge, it runs smooth for about an hour with the 160 MHz stream.. I've now installed the 190 MHz bitstream and it is still running in my fridge with 3 degrees C ambient temperature.. As soon as I take it out it produces invalids only within seconds..

As I've mailed Enterpoint for service they replied basically that they have no time for service, it'll take about 12 weeks and I'd have to pay for it too as I've bought the board from a forum member I'll probably take apart the coolers myself and renew the thermal compound. Nice service for such a expensive board..

Very strange problem as temperatures feel totally normal...

oc

The problem I had was similar with a ZTEX board but the board would operate at 25% after a month I applied a cheap variant thermal paste. I was wrong to use a cheap thermal paste. I got the arctic MX-4 thermal paste and I have noticed an increased performance, so it might be that they used a cheap thermal paste.

"Everything is a matter of degree"
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
April 23, 2013, 01:46:00 PM
 #2407

A little update to my board problem..

(The Board did not work at all anymore.. even with a 160MHz bitstream it produced only invalid shares..)

It's working again.. ...."edited"

oc

The problem I had was similar with a ZTEX board but the board would operate at 25% after a month I applied a cheap variant thermal paste. I was wrong to use a cheap thermal paste. I got the arctic MX-4 thermal paste and I have noticed an increased performance, so it might be that they used a cheap thermal paste.

I had similar heat problems with a Ztex board. It changed after i applied good thermal paste  (MX-4 i think) and controlled that the heatsink was placed well and was holding good. After that the quad Ztex board ran till today without issues!

Sometimes these broken it boards can be resurrected with the good old (serious!): "put it in the oven @50° C" Method. Worked with one GPU for me Smiley

I would love to own a crainsmore board btw Wink 

tigerbit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
May 20, 2013, 09:01:51 PM
 #2408

Hello,

Quick question, as of May 2013 -
- As of today what are the Cainsmore bitstreams of choice for max performance and/or stability?
- Where can we download them?
- Controller reflash or just bitstream?

Thanks.

If you found this useful modest tips welcome BTC: 15noAopoPUcA4D4dTJihgDVE8axZh8VWia
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 04:18:04 AM
 #2409

So ... anyone got one of these they want to give away ... or have time to run a test version of a cgminer?
It still doesn't support any clocking, but I'd prefer it to simply run it at the expected speed rather than have cgminer simply ignore them.

No I'm not gonna spend hours messing with the code for a device I don't have
Basically I just need someone to run cgminer a few times with usbmon and also an lsusb output.
Then I'll make some changes and try it again - or give up Smiley

The new driver already supports Lancelot (tested on Black Arrow's), Icarus and Asicminer USB (I have all 3)
Cairnsmore1 is all that's left to add (other than to do windows testing later) before I'm ready to release the first version of the replacement Icarus driver.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
gingernuts
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 08:07:22 AM
 #2410

So ... anyone got one of these they want to give away ... or have time to run a test version of a cgminer?
It still doesn't support any clocking, but I'd prefer it to simply run it at the expected speed rather than have cgminer simply ignore them.

No I'm not gonna spend hours messing with the code for a device I don't have
Basically I just need someone to run cgminer a few times with usbmon and also an lsusb output.
Then I'll make some changes and try it again - or give up Smiley

The new driver already supports Lancelot (tested on Black Arrow's), Icarus and Asicminer USB (I have all 3)
Cairnsmore1 is all that's left to add (other than to do windows testing later) before I'm ready to release the first version of the replacement Icarus driver.

I'm expecting one from the new batch in the next day or two - I'd be happy to give it a go in Linux...
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 12:09:36 PM
 #2411

So ... anyone got one of these they want to give away ... or have time to run a test version of a cgminer?
It still doesn't support any clocking, but I'd prefer it to simply run it at the expected speed rather than have cgminer simply ignore them.

No I'm not gonna spend hours messing with the code for a device I don't have
Basically I just need someone to run cgminer a few times with usbmon and also an lsusb output.
Then I'll make some changes and try it again - or give up Smiley

The new driver already supports Lancelot (tested on Black Arrow's), Icarus and Asicminer USB (I have all 3)
Cairnsmore1 is all that's left to add (other than to do windows testing later) before I'm ready to release the first version of the replacement Icarus driver.

I'm expecting one from the new batch in the next day or two - I'd be happy to give it a go in Linux...
Thanks, PM me when you are up and running then I'll get back to you soon after with a test cgminer binary to run and tell you the usbmon command I need to see.
Basically just need to check the USB initialisation required (and change it if I don't have it correct)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
NR3000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86



View Profile
May 21, 2013, 12:27:25 PM
 #2412

I just bought one. No idea how it run. Possible on mac? Easiest way is windows? What should I do first? reflash the board? where can I get best firmware? Any tutorials please. Thanks.

m14yen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile WWW
May 21, 2013, 01:25:47 PM
 #2413

Its very easy in windows.
download the drivers http://www.enterpoint.co.uk/cairnsmore/cairnsmore1_support_materials.html

install drivers (for me it was 8 devices in device manager that need the drivers)
download and run bitminter
search for the fpgas
click go
mine only hashes at 2x380Mhps but idont want to flash it for fear of breaking it. 760Mhps is better than 0.

http://www.magzter.com/GB/Digital-Publishing-UK/Optimum-Nutrition/Health/19273
NR3000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86



View Profile
May 21, 2013, 02:25:55 PM
 #2414

Its very easy in windows.
download the drivers http://www.enterpoint.co.uk/cairnsmore/cairnsmore1_support_materials.html

install drivers (for me it was 8 devices in device manager that need the drivers)
download and run bitminter
search for the fpgas
click go
mine only hashes at 2x380Mhps but idont want to flash it for fear of breaking it. 760Mhps is better than 0.

I do not need virtual machine? Just drivers? And I can run it? Thank you!

glowkeeper
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
May 21, 2013, 07:59:09 PM
 #2415

I just bought one. No idea how it run. Possible on mac? Easiest way is windows? What should I do first? reflash the board? where can I get best firmware? Any tutorials please. Thanks.

I've got 3 running off a raspberry pi, a usb hub, 500W PSU and running cgminer. Goes like a dream Smiley
glowkeeper
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
May 21, 2013, 08:01:49 PM
 #2416

So ... anyone got one of these they want to give away ... or have time to run a test version of a cgminer?
It still doesn't support any clocking, but I'd prefer it to simply run it at the expected speed rather than have cgminer simply ignore them.

No I'm not gonna spend hours messing with the code for a device I don't have
Basically I just need someone to run cgminer a few times with usbmon and also an lsusb output.
Then I'll make some changes and try it again - or give up Smiley

The new driver already supports Lancelot (tested on Black Arrow's), Icarus and Asicminer USB (I have all 3)
Cairnsmore1 is all that's left to add (other than to do windows testing later) before I'm ready to release the first version of the replacement Icarus driver.

I'm expecting one from the new batch in the next day or two - I'd be happy to give it a go in Linux...
Thanks, PM me when you are up and running then I'll get back to you soon after with a test cgminer binary to run and tell you the usbmon command I need to see.
Basically just need to check the USB initialisation required (and change it if I don't have it correct)

I've got three of these running via raspbian on a raspberry pi. If it'll only interrupt my mining for a few minutes, I'll gladly run it all for you.....
jml
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
May 22, 2013, 07:10:19 PM
 #2417

Hi, I got 2 x CM1's today and I don't seem to find which revision number it is or if I need to to do anything to it before running it on my pi (install bitstream, change DIP switches, etc).

I do have a ZTEX FPGA and its been working pretty well over 3 months now and the instructions were clear on their website. Honestly, the CM1's instructions are a bit all over the place!

Any guidance is welcome.

"Everything is a matter of degree"
dodegkr
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
May 22, 2013, 07:16:10 PM
 #2418

it is loaded with 200bitstream

on the pi you need to do a mod probe then kick off the miner as it doesnt seem to detect on its own
try doing

modprobe ftdi_sio vendor=0x0403 product=6014

plug in the miner

then from your miners directory run the miner this command should be modified to list your devices, i have included 5 miners

./cgminer --icarus-timing long -S /dev/ttyUSB2 -S /dev/ttyUSB3 -S /dev/ttyUSB6 -S /dev/ttyUSB7 -S /dev/ttyUSB10 -S /dev/ttyUSB11 -S /dev/ttyUSB14 -S /dev/ttyUSB15 -S /dev/ttyUSB18 -S /dev/ttyUSB19
dodegkr
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
May 22, 2013, 07:21:33 PM
 #2419


Basically I just need someone to run cgminer a few times with usbmon and also an lsusb output.


pm sent
yohan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
May 22, 2013, 07:24:41 PM
 #2420

Hi, I got 2 x CM1's today and I don't seem to find which revision number it is or if I need to to do anything to it before running it on my pi (install bitstream, change DIP switches, etc).

I do have a ZTEX FPGA and its been working pretty well over 3 months now and the instructions were clear on their website. Honestly, the CM1's instructions are a bit all over the place!

Any guidance is welcome.

Very recent grade-a boards will have a Makomk 200 bitstream and a Controller V1.5. You should not have to touch dip switches as the last thing that is done is a mining test and it will have been set up correctly for that.
Pages: « 1 ... 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 [121] 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!