Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 08:08:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 [112] 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board  (Read 251474 times)
Bitbird
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 233



View Profile WWW
September 19, 2012, 07:20:54 AM
 #2221

Hey guys,

Just received my Quad XC6SLX150 Board. How should I do for setup it with my GPU and BLF single(x1) Linux minning rig? I use cgminer 2.7.5 and have no idea what's the next step after connected Quad XC6SLX150 to the minning rig. Most appreciate for any help!

1481443708
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443708

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443708
Reply with quote  #2

1481443708
Report to moderator
1481443708
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443708

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443708
Reply with quote  #2

1481443708
Report to moderator
1481443708
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443708

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443708
Reply with quote  #2

1481443708
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481443708
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443708

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443708
Reply with quote  #2

1481443708
Report to moderator
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
September 19, 2012, 07:38:14 AM
 #2222

Hey guys,

Just received my Quad XC6SLX150 Board. How should I do for setup it with my GPU and BLF single(x1) Linux minning rig? I use cgminer 2.7.5 and have no idea what's the next step after connected Quad XC6SLX150 to the minning rig. Most appreciate for any help!
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/CM1Quickstart

Recommend upgrading to BFGMiner 2.8.0 tho

Bitbird
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 233



View Profile WWW
September 19, 2012, 05:20:51 PM
 #2223

@Luke-Jr
Thanks! But how could I run BFGMiner on Linux? Can't find the file "bfgminer" in the /bfgminer-2.8.0 directory. Seem not the same as cgminer?

salty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
September 19, 2012, 05:41:14 PM
 #2224

Hey guys,

Just received my Quad XC6SLX150 Board. How should I do for setup it with my GPU and BLF single(x1) Linux minning rig? I use cgminer 2.7.5 and have no idea what's the next step after connected Quad XC6SLX150 to the minning rig. Most appreciate for any help!

Using cgminer 2.7.5 you need to get it to look for the cairnsmore on your com/serial ports when it starts using the option -S "/dev/tty.XXX" -S "/dev/tty.XXX" iirc.

f.e. my cgminer startup command on windows has -S "\\.\COM22" -S "\\.\COM23" included.

You'll need to find out what your cairnsmore's com ports are called, they're listed in /dev and (at least with the bitstream I'm using) there are 2 com ports per board.
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
September 19, 2012, 05:52:43 PM
 #2225

@Luke-Jr
Thanks! But how could I run BFGMiner on Linux? Can't find the file "bfgminer" in the /bfgminer-2.8.0 directory. Seem not the same as cgminer?

What did you download? Binary, source?

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
Bitbird
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 233



View Profile WWW
September 19, 2012, 06:11:19 PM
 #2226

@salty
Thanks! However, I got some messages say:
Quote
Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/ttyUSB0: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
.
.

@tnkflx
http://luke.dashjr.org/programs/bitcoin/files/bfgminer/2.8.0/bfgminer-2.8.0.tbz2  <<This one.

tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
September 19, 2012, 06:14:13 PM
 #2227

@salty
Thanks! However, I got some messages say:
Quote
Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/ttyUSB0: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
.
@tnkflx
http://luke.dashjr.org/programs/bitcoin/files/bfgminer/2.8.0/bfgminer-2.8.0.tbz2  <<This one.

Yeah, that's the source, need to compile that first:

1. Unzip (un-tbz2?Smiley) and "cd bfgminer-2.8.0"
2. ./configure
3. make
4. ./bfgminer
5. ...
6. Profit!

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
salty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
September 19, 2012, 06:24:20 PM
 #2228

@salty
Thanks! However, I got some messages say:
Quote
Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/ttyUSB0: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
.
.

Is that definitely the right tty com port? Try some other ones maybe?
makomk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
September 19, 2012, 07:42:38 PM
 #2229

@salty
Thanks! However, I got some messages say:
Quote
Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/ttyUSB0: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
.
.
That's almost certainly the wrong COM port. Try /dev/ttyUSB2 and /dev/ttyUSB3.


Quad XC6SLX150 Board: 860 MHash/s or so.
SIGS ABOUT BUTTERFLY LABS ARE PAID ADS
salty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
September 20, 2012, 12:54:25 AM
 #2230

@salty
Thanks! However, I got some messages say:
Quote
Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/ttyUSB0: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
.
.
That's almost certainly the wrong COM port. Try /dev/ttyUSB2 and /dev/ttyUSB3.



One way to find out would be to get cgminer to scan them all, then check the log for a message like 'found Icarus on /dev/ttyUSB5' ie:-

Code:
cgminer -S "/dev/ttyUSB0" -S "/dev/ttyUSB1" -S "/dev/ttyUSB2" -S "/dev/ttyUSB3" -S "/dev/ttyUSB4" -S "/dev/ttyUSB5" 2>mining.log

In fact, if your com ports change between reboots, you could just let it check every time you start the miner.



Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 779



View Profile WWW
September 20, 2012, 05:47:08 AM
 #2231

BOINC / F@H use for CM1s?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=110778.0

Bitbird
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 233



View Profile WWW
September 20, 2012, 07:48:20 AM
 #2232

@tnkflx
Quote
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.
Strange..Huh

Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
September 20, 2012, 08:01:10 AM
 #2233

@tnkflx
Quote
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.
Strange..Huh
That's almost surely a result of some error in the previous steps. Can you pastebin the output from those?

Bitbird
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 233



View Profile WWW
September 20, 2012, 09:59:09 AM
 #2234

@salty @makomk
Code:
cgminer -S "/dev/ttyUSB0" -S "/dev/ttyUSB1" -S "/dev/ttyUSB2" -S "/dev/ttyUSB3" -S "/dev/ttyUSB4" -S "/dev/ttyUSB5" 2>mining.log
Already tried this but didn't work. Even when the list seems properly:

Code:
~ $ ls -l /dev/serial/by-id/
總計 0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13  9月 20 15:37 usb-Butterfly_Labs_Inc._BitFORCE_SHA256-if00-port0 -> ../../ttyUSB4
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13  9月 20 15:32 usb-FTDI_Cairnsmore1_FTVPMIN0-if00-port0 -> ../../ttyUSB0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13  9月 20 15:32 usb-FTDI_Cairnsmore1_FTVPMIN0-if01-port0 -> ../../ttyUSB1
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13  9月 20 15:32 usb-FTDI_Cairnsmore1_FTVPMIN0-if02-port0 -> ../../ttyUSB2
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13  9月 20 15:32 usb-FTDI_Cairnsmore1_FTVPMIN0-if03-port0 -> ../../ttyUSB3

update: I'll try on my another rig later.

Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
September 20, 2012, 10:18:30 AM
 #2235

@salty @makomk
Code:
cgminer -S "/dev/ttyUSB0" -S "/dev/ttyUSB1" -S "/dev/ttyUSB2" -S "/dev/ttyUSB3" -S "/dev/ttyUSB4" -S "/dev/ttyUSB5" 2>mining.log
Already tried this but didn't work. Even when the list seems properly:

I've never used any " " to reference the usbports, so I assume that would be the problem.
So it's more like:
Code:
cgminer -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 -S /dev/ttyUSB2 -S /dev/ttyUSB3 -S /dev/ttyUSB4 -S /dev/ttyUSB5
Also it depends on which bitstream you are using to what ports to reference.

Make sure you have issued the modprobe command as well before hand.
Code:
sudo modprobe ftdi-sio product=0x8350 vendor=0x0403

Mak's only uses 2, hashvoodoo uses all 4.
If you need a simple guide on flashing new bitstreams;
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78239.msg1110647#msg1110647

If you search through this thread, there is a ton of information, just a matter of searching for it.

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
yohan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
September 20, 2012, 12:17:56 PM
 #2236

First version of Cairnsmore1 user manual is now available on http://www.enterpoint.co.uk/cairnsmore/CAIRNSMORE1_MANUAL_ISSUE1.pdf. I doubt it is perfect and we will try and improve this again in a few weeks time.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 20, 2012, 12:38:28 PM
 #2237

Try this (old script I got from Xiangfu that I enhanced) on each of the linux USB ports that you expect to work like Icarus:

https://raw.github.com/kanoi/cgminer/ztex/usbtest.py

 ./usbtest.py /dev/ttyUSB0 icarus

It has a habit of clearing any USB problems if that is the cause.
If that's not the cause, well then it wont help Smiley
Also it's not very 'tidy' coz I don't like python Tongue

I've needed it sometimes when I've moved an Icarus from windows to linux
( and I still don't know exactly how python fixes that - even after I wrote copious amounts of termios debug ... as you will see commented out in fpgautils.c ... the problem I get is actually when the port is opened ... and python somehow clears that problem)

... again ... if that's not the cause, well then it wont help.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
makomk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
September 20, 2012, 01:30:16 PM
 #2238

Interesting:
Quote
Some bitstreams such as some current “220” bitstreams can use excessive power and hence generate heat that is impossible to extract from the FPGA packaging. This may damage FPGAs and our warranties will not support boards damaged by running “220” bitstreams or similar. The maximum recommended bitstream is currently “200”. If in doubt email bitcoin.support@enterpoint.co.uk for a list of approved bitstreams.

Quad XC6SLX150 Board: 860 MHash/s or so.
SIGS ABOUT BUTTERFLY LABS ARE PAID ADS
Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
September 20, 2012, 01:36:57 PM
 #2239

Interesting:
Quote
Some bitstreams such as some current “220” bitstreams can use excessive power and hence generate heat that is impossible to extract from the FPGA packaging. This may damage FPGAs and our warranties will not support boards damaged by running “220” bitstreams or similar. The maximum recommended bitstream is currently “200”. If in doubt email bitcoin.support@enterpoint.co.uk for a list of approved bitstreams.

Yeah, that didn't add up to me either. I was always under the impression bitstreams can't effect it's "power" or "voltage", nor would it change automatically even if you pushed it hard via overclocking. The worst that happens is invalids or errors in the output.

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
September 20, 2012, 02:40:16 PM
 #2240

Interesting:
Quote
Some bitstreams such as some current “220” bitstreams can use excessive power and hence generate heat that is impossible to extract from the FPGA packaging. This may damage FPGAs and our warranties will not support boards damaged by running “220” bitstreams or similar. The maximum recommended bitstream is currently “200”. If in doubt email bitcoin.support@enterpoint.co.uk for a list of approved bitstreams.

Yohan, can you comment on this?

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
Pages: « 1 ... 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 [112] 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!