Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2018, 03:47:38 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Genesis Mining Presents: SGMiner-GM - now with Zawawa's GG! [Updated 17/01/2017]  (Read 125710 times)
c2n14
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 12:58:52 AM
 #41

I would start at 'gpu-threads: 1' and 'xintensity: 4620' because I'm not sure whether sgminer accepts rawintensity much larger than 2,000,000.

Wow, thanks! Now we are onto something Cheesy

With the below settings:

Code:
        "worksize": "192",
        "name": "eth",
        "algorithm": "ethash",
        "gpu-threads": "1",
        "xintensity": "4620"
    }],
    "no-extranonce": "true",
    "default-profile": "eth"

I got this:

http://i.imgur.com/31l748y.png

Hashrates are close to Claymores - but they could be a little better Wink

Just those HW errors Sad - Any ideas?

1544629658
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544629658

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544629658
Reply with quote  #2

1544629658
Report to moderator
1544629658
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544629658

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544629658
Reply with quote  #2

1544629658
Report to moderator
1544629658
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544629658

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544629658
Reply with quote  #2

1544629658
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544629658
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544629658

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544629658
Reply with quote  #2

1544629658
Report to moderator
OhGodAGirl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 108

Look, I'm really not that interesting. Promise.


View Profile WWW
September 21, 2016, 08:17:09 AM
 #42

I would start at 'gpu-threads: 1' and 'xintensity: 4620' because I'm not sure whether sgminer accepts rawintensity much larger than 2,000,000.

Wow, thanks! Now we are onto something Cheesy

With the below settings:

Code:
        "worksize": "192",
        "name": "eth",
        "algorithm": "ethash",
        "gpu-threads": "1",
        "xintensity": "4620"
    }],
    "no-extranonce": "true",
    "default-profile": "eth"

I got this:



Hashrates are close to Claymores - but they could be a little better Wink

Just those HW errors Sad - Any ideas?



HW's are normal, as long as they're trickling in and not skyrocketing, it's all good.
c2n14
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 10:42:39 AM
 #43

@OhGodAGirl

Big thanks Smiley

My last questions:
1) sgminer shows hashrate like this: 21.70M/20.21Mh/s - is this 20.21Mh/s my card's hashrate? I got 22 Mh/s @ CM ...
2) WU: 20-21/m for such hashrate - is it OK?

TIA
NaN_PTS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 01:26:54 PM
 #44

@OhGodAGirl

Big thanks Smiley

My last questions:
1) sgminer shows hashrate like this: 21.70M/20.21Mh/s - is this 20.21Mh/s my card's hashrate? I got 22 Mh/s @ CM ...
2) WU: 20-21/m for such hashrate - is it OK?

TIA
The first value is an exponential moving average of your hash rate. Therefore, this value is a good measure of your current hash rate after a few minutes. The second value is an average over the whole run time and it should be equal to the first value after a few hour, if the pool connection is stable. One Radeon RX 480 8GB does about 23.8 MH/s with stock clocks and your card seems to be close to 21.7 MH/s (you have to run it longer).
The WU (work units) are used to calculate the number of HW errors. Let's assume your card mines with an average of 20 MH/s and has an error rate of 2%. Then the expected WU value would be 20/m * (1-0.02) = 19.6/m. The hardware errors are normal, but they aren't shown by other Ethereum miners. A defective card typically produces 10 times more hardware errors then a working one.
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 251


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 01:51:46 PM
 #45

The WU (work units) are used to calculate the number of HW errors. Let's assume your card mines with an average of 20 MH/s and has an error rate of 2%. Then the expected WU value would be 20/m * (1-0.02) = 19.6/m. The hardware errors are normal, but they aren't shown by other Ethereum miners. A defective card typically produces 10 times more hardware errors then a working one.

Genoil's ethminer does report hardware errors.

Code:
FAILURE: GPU gave incorrect result!
YIz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 06:39:54 PM
 #46

Why is the miner abandoned? I'm getting higher hashrates than Claymore's and it's open source! A really good piece of software right there, apart for CPU usage.
c2n14
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 11:17:10 PM
 #47

@NaN_PTS

Thanks, and tomorrow I will check this.

@YIz

What's your card and settings?
NaN_PTS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 22, 2016, 02:41:18 AM
 #48

Why is the miner abandoned? I'm getting higher hashrates than Claymore's and it's open source! A really good piece of software right there, apart for CPU usage.

I told him to use SSE in the regenhash, but NOOOO... it should work on *ALL* the CPUs...
That's the wrong conclusion. The high CPU usage only happens on Windows, so that one core shows 100% usage. Regenhash is executed every ~2s with one GPU.
It seems to be a bug in libwinpthread because earlier sgminer had this issue on Windows, too.
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1001

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 22, 2016, 03:11:57 AM
 #49

I am still playing with settings on a 390 and 390x and have yet to find any settings that come close to Genoil or Claymore's.  I am using 15.12 and have tried a full range of xintensity and worksizes and the best I have done on running it for an hour per setting is about 26mh.  So far definitely not worth converting the farm to it yet but I am sure it will be when I find the correct settings.

Usually when I have problems setting up something it's because I have overly complicated the task--

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
Genoil
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 438
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 22, 2016, 03:54:20 AM
 #50

I get similar/marginally higher speeds using stock settings using 1 RX470 + 1 7950. Also when moving the kernel into my fork. It's good!

ETH: 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4d
BTC: 1Nu2fMCEBjmnLzqb8qUJpKgq5RoEWFhNcW
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1001

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 22, 2016, 04:05:49 AM
 #51

I get similar/marginally higher speeds using stock settings using 1 RX470 + 1 7950. Also when moving the kernel into my fork. It's good!

Need to try that out, except yours doesn't have API support to use with AwesomeMiner - I wish it did Wink

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
64dimensions
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547
Merit: 501


View Profile
September 22, 2016, 05:51:33 AM
 #52

Even with no hash improvement, lot's of operational info in one place.

I take it that the ability to use the GPU-vddc command, will be card dependent?
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1001

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 22, 2016, 10:24:05 AM
 #53

Up to 31.2 on a 390x running 1100/1250 - definitely making headway.  A little more tuning and we have a winner Grin

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
64dimensions
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547
Merit: 501


View Profile
September 22, 2016, 01:06:35 PM
 #54

FYI, command line options:

https://github.com/genesismining/sgminer-gm/blob/master/doc/configuration.md
YIz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 22, 2016, 01:27:39 PM
 #55

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.
YIz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 22, 2016, 04:47:38 PM
 #56

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.

I can fix it with a new binary - just needs to be recompiled against a better pthreads lib.

I'd love to see this miner fixed. would be adopted among miners very quickly.
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1002



View Profile WWW
September 22, 2016, 06:28:15 PM
 #57

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.

I can fix it with a new binary - just needs to be recompiled against a better pthreads lib.

WILL THE SGMINER-GM RECEIVE UPDATES? --

I run this SGminer on a sensitive 280X rig that is not stable with Claymore and dual mining.    Currently, SGminer-gm is running under Ethos 1.1.1 on 4 280X cards, mining at 16.7MH/s at stock clocks.  It runs with less heat than either Genoil v1.1.7 or Claymore, and does not crash as often.  The CPU is a Haswell Celeron 1820 at 2.7GHz.  The rig is not perfectly stable, but it runs.

Are updated binaries gong to be posted for both Linux and Windows?  I am hoping that the repository will be an active one.       --scryptr

TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          ETH - 0x8a42dfAE53612E98daf8614bFA402f3DcD0546Fa    LTC - MKUHfUmRrJUQvELxzajhVaLE5uTPxU2bRK
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1001

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 22, 2016, 06:31:54 PM
 #58

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.

There is my problem, all of my rigs are on Celeron processors.  I thought I was doing something wrong when it was not my settings at all.  I got the 31 on a test bench with an i5 but cannot duplicate it on any rig

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
OhGodAGirl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 108

Look, I'm really not that interesting. Promise.


View Profile WWW
September 22, 2016, 10:26:08 PM
 #59

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.

I can fix it with a new binary - just needs to be recompiled against a better pthreads lib.

WILL THE SGMINER-GM RECEIVE UPDATES? --

I run this SGminer on a sensitive 280X rig that is not stable with Claymore and dual mining.    Currently, SGminer-gm is running under Ethos 1.1.1 on 4 280X cards, mining at 16.7MH/s at stock clocks.  It runs with less heat than either Genoil v1.1.7 or Claymore, and does not crash as often.  The CPU is a Haswell Celeron 1820 at 2.7GHz.  The rig is not perfectly stable, but it runs.

Are updated binaries gong to be posted for both Linux and Windows?  I am hoping that the repository will be an active one.       --scryptr

Hey scryptr,

We do intend to keep it active - but it will be something that won't see an update for a few weeks. Our endgame goal is to keep updating and maintaining it for Genesis Mining, as well as support for future coins. Ethereum support is just the beginning.
OhGodAGirl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 108

Look, I'm really not that interesting. Promise.


View Profile WWW
September 22, 2016, 10:34:05 PM
 #60

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.

I can fix it with a new binary - just needs to be recompiled against a better pthreads lib.

I'd love to see this miner fixed. would be adopted among miners very quickly.

I've notified Genesis and we'll see what we can do - that's a minor fix so it shouldn't take long. Just need to wait until the appropriate people wakeup to push it to the repo. I'll keep the community updated.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!