Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2018, 01:25:18 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Genesis Mining Presents: SGMiner-GM - now with Zawawa's GG! [Updated 17/01/2017]  (Read 125686 times)
Arnoldent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 25, 2016, 11:47:44 AM
 #81

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.

What is the configuration of your R9 Fury?

I included it in the post - 1050/500. stock clocks, didn't change anything.

What is your sgminer setting? For example, gpu threads, work size or the intensity values. do you have lots of hard ware error?
1542677118
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542677118

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542677118
Reply with quote  #2

1542677118
Report to moderator
1542677118
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542677118

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542677118
Reply with quote  #2

1542677118
Report to moderator
1542677118
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542677118

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542677118
Reply with quote  #2

1542677118
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542677118
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542677118

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542677118
Reply with quote  #2

1542677118
Report to moderator
1542677118
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542677118

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542677118
Reply with quote  #2

1542677118
Report to moderator
1542677118
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542677118

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542677118
Reply with quote  #2

1542677118
Report to moderator
YIz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 25, 2016, 12:55:51 PM
 #82

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.

What is the configuration of your R9 Fury?

I included it in the post - 1050/500. stock clocks, didn't change anything.

What is your sgminer setting? For example, gpu threads, work size or the intensity values. do you have lots of hard ware error?


Code:
"gpu-powertune": "0",
"worksize": "192",
"name": "eth",
"algorithm": "ethash",
"gpu-threads": "1",
"xintensity": "1024"


Those are the settings, the intensity doesn't change much on both 512 and 256. 30Mh/s on stock clocks, no errors whatsoever.
fran2k
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
September 25, 2016, 01:20:28 PM
 #83

Nice release guys, will test asap.

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.

I can fix it with a new binary - just needs to be recompiled against a better pthreads lib.

WILL THE SGMINER-GM RECEIVE UPDATES? --

I run this SGminer on a sensitive 280X rig that is not stable with Claymore and dual mining.    Currently, SGminer-gm is running under Ethos 1.1.1 on 4 280X cards, mining at 16.7MH/s at stock clocks.  It runs with less heat than either Genoil v1.1.7 or Claymore, and does not crash as often.  The CPU is a Haswell Celeron 1820 at 2.7GHz.  The rig is not perfectly stable, but it runs.

Are updated binaries gong to be posted for both Linux and Windows?  I am hoping that the repository will be an active one.       --scryptr

Did you manage to run Claymore´s dual miner stable in Ethos? Setup?
Gotottack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 506


View Profile
September 25, 2016, 01:31:01 PM
 #84

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.

What is the configuration of your R9 Fury?

I included it in the post - 1050/500. stock clocks, didn't change anything.

What is your sgminer setting? For example, gpu threads, work size or the intensity values. do you have lots of hard ware error?


Code:
"gpu-powertune": "0",
"worksize": "192",
"name": "eth",
"algorithm": "ethash",
"gpu-threads": "1",
"xintensity": "1024"


Those are the settings, the intensity doesn't change much on both 512 and 256. 30Mh/s on stock clocks, no errors whatsoever.

Do you mean there is no hardware error?

I have R9 nano cards, with xintensity of 256 and work size of 64. there are tons of HW.

nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 251


View Profile
September 25, 2016, 04:16:22 PM
 #85

Can anyone tell me if this miner does stale share submits?  It didn't look like it does, and maybe someone can save me the trouble of digging through the source code.
YIz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 25, 2016, 04:17:57 PM
 #86

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.

What is the configuration of your R9 Fury?

I included it in the post - 1050/500. stock clocks, didn't change anything.

What is your sgminer setting? For example, gpu threads, work size or the intensity values. do you have lots of hard ware error?


Code:
"gpu-powertune": "0",
"worksize": "192",
"name": "eth",
"algorithm": "ethash",
"gpu-threads": "1",
"xintensity": "1024"


Those are the settings, the intensity doesn't change much on both 512 and 256. 30Mh/s on stock clocks, no errors whatsoever.

Do you mean there is no hardware error?

I have R9 nano cards, with xintensity of 256 and work size of 64. there are tons of HW.



What is an hardware error? does the miner report it? because it runs okay here. there is a large number in the "HW:" section of the miner. what does it mean?
BattleField
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 2


View Profile
September 25, 2016, 05:35:38 PM
 #87

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.

What is the configuration of your R9 Fury?

I included it in the post - 1050/500. stock clocks, didn't change anything.

What is your sgminer setting? For example, gpu threads, work size or the intensity values. do you have lots of hard ware error?


Code:
"gpu-powertune": "0",
"worksize": "192",
"name": "eth",
"algorithm": "ethash",
"gpu-threads": "1",
"xintensity": "1024"


Those are the settings, the intensity doesn't change much on both 512 and 256. 30Mh/s on stock clocks, no errors whatsoever.

Do you mean there is no hardware error?

I have R9 nano cards, with xintensity of 256 and work size of 64. there are tons of HW.



What is an hardware error? does the miner report it? because it runs okay here. there is a large number in the "HW:" section of the miner. what does it mean?

That is the hardware error. So even if the reported hash rate is high, with the large HW, your effective rate could be low.
Rugtilf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 25, 2016, 05:38:28 PM
 #88

Can anyone tell me if this miner does stale share submits?  It didn't look like it does, and maybe someone can save me the trouble of digging through the source code.


It does submit the stale shares. I saw in the command window, it says stale share detected, submitting.
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 25, 2016, 07:29:26 PM
 #89

after many days of trying different setting this is what i came up with for my  power color 280 custom water cooled  not the X , i even did a bios edit with VBE7.0.0.7b.exe to lower the voltage to 1.18 i think this card has a locked voltage @ 1.25, after burner doesn't help there .

Code:
sgminer 5.3.0-gm - Started: [2016-09-25 15:20:26] - [0 days 00:02:24]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(5s):18.16M (avg):17.49Mh/s | A:4000000000  R:0  HW:1  WU:23.682/m
ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 15  LW: 190  GF: 0  RF: 0
Connected to  diff 4G as user
Block: 44ca00cd...  Diff:0  Started: [15:22:29]  Best share: 5.09G
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
GPU 0:  46.0C  45%    | 18.09M/17.49Mh/s | R:  0.0% HW:1 WU:24.544/m xI:1024
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[15:20:24] Started sgminer 5.3.0-gm
[15:20:24] * using Jansson 2.7
[15:20:24] Loaded configuration file awesome.conf
[15:20:24] Probing for an alive pool
[15:20:24] Startup GPU initialization... Using settings from pool us1.ethermine.org.
[15:20:24] Startup Pool No = 0
[15:20:24] Building binary ethashTahitigw64l4.bin
[15:20:25] Initialising kernel ethash.cl with nfactor 10, n 1024
[15:20:26] API running in IP access mode on port 4029 (15364)
[15:21:28] Accepted 82a43e75 Diff 5.09G/4G GPU 0


sgminer.conf I use, i get the lest HW errors with these setting , so Fair. I'm all ways trying different setting.

Code:
{
   "pools": [{
        "url": "stratum+tcp://stratumpool.address:port",
        "user": "ethaddress",
        "pass": "x"
   }],
    "profiles": [{
        "gpu-powertune": "20",
        "worksize": "64",
        "name": "eth",
        "algorithm": "ethash",
        "gpu-threads": "1",
        "xintensity": "1024"
    }],
     "no-extranonce": "true",
     "default-profile": "eth",
     "api-allow": "W:127.0.0.1/24,W:192.168.1.0/24",
     "temp-target": "72",
    "auto-gpu": true,
    "gpu-engine" : "1150",
    "gpu-memclock" : "1500",
    "gpu-fan": "45-85",
    "api-port": "4029",
    "temp-cutoff": "82",
    "api-listen": true,
    "auto-fan": true,
    "temp-overheat": "80"
}
I have awesome miner managing it.

next my two MSI Radeon R7 370 2G not water cooled and old 7870 custom water cooled , hope to have this time next month, 1 480 and 1 470.

o yea i also mine XMR while while mining ETH with 4 and 8 core CPU's. that's a whole new tweak thing , I'll do once I have this down.

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
YIz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 25, 2016, 07:32:01 PM
 #90

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.

What is the configuration of your R9 Fury?

I included it in the post - 1050/500. stock clocks, didn't change anything.

What is your sgminer setting? For example, gpu threads, work size or the intensity values. do you have lots of hard ware error?


Code:
"gpu-powertune": "0",
"worksize": "192",
"name": "eth",
"algorithm": "ethash",
"gpu-threads": "1",
"xintensity": "1024"


Those are the settings, the intensity doesn't change much on both 512 and 256. 30Mh/s on stock clocks, no errors whatsoever.

Do you mean there is no hardware error?

I have R9 nano cards, with xintensity of 256 and work size of 64. there are tons of HW.



What is an hardware error? does the miner report it? because it runs okay here. there is a large number in the "HW:" section of the miner. what does it mean?

That is the hardware error. So even if the reported hash rate is high, with the large HW, your effective rate could be low.

The effective hashrate on the pool is what I'm expecting.
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1002



View Profile WWW
September 25, 2016, 07:40:53 PM
 #91

Nice release guys, will test asap.

I'm getting steady 30MH/s on each Fury X on stock clocks (1050/500). Claymore's can only get about 28MH.
A 390 at 1040Mhz gets 29Mh, with some overclocking I can surely can 32-33MH, but my cards warm up too much. Definitely the best miner out there.

The only issue I can spot is the CPU usage, which makes this miner basically worthless on weak CPUs. I couldn't run it on a single-core AMD CPU and a friend of mine had his rig crashing with a dual core Celeron installed. most mining rigs have very weak CPUs, and if this miner gets updated to support them, I am sure it will get much more traction.

I can fix it with a new binary - just needs to be recompiled against a better pthreads lib.

WILL THE SGMINER-GM RECEIVE UPDATES? --

I run this SGminer on a sensitive 280X rig that is not stable with Claymore and dual mining.    Currently, SGminer-gm is running under Ethos 1.1.1 on 4 280X cards, mining at 16.7MH/s at stock clocks.  It runs with less heat than either Genoil v1.1.7 or Claymore, and does not crash as often.  The CPU is a Haswell Celeron 1820 at 2.7GHz.  The rig is not perfectly stable, but it runs.

Are updated binaries gong to be posted for both Linux and Windows?  I am hoping that the repository will be an active one.       --scryptr

Did you manage to run Claymore´s dual miner stable in Ethos? Setup?


CLAYMORE RUNS IN ETHOS--

On my other rigs, Claymore is very stable.  It is easy to set up, but off-topic for this thread.  Make a directory for Claymore in the home directory, copy the Linux binaries there, make sure libjansson is installed, and run Claymore as described in the Claymore README!!!.txt.  The command "sudo-apt-get-ubuntu install libjansson*" will install all of libjansson.  Don't forget the asterisk.  And, turn off mining in EthOS with "disallow" and "minestop".  If your launch scrypt is ready, launch Claymore.

Just a note: Claymore's README!!!.txt is mistaken for a BASH script in a Linux console.  It needs to be renamed with "mv READ*.txt readme.txt".  I could not open it to read without renaming it.       --scryptr

TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          ETH - 0x8a42dfAE53612E98daf8614bFA402f3DcD0546Fa    LTC - MKUHfUmRrJUQvELxzajhVaLE5uTPxU2bRK
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 25, 2016, 07:44:02 PM
 #92

Claymore  is ok if you like being told you have to tip then forced to . I plan to tip for this one as soon as i can . I would have with Claymore  or even paid to unlock no tipping .

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
Za1n
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1011



View Profile
September 25, 2016, 07:58:01 PM
 #93

Can anyone tell me if this miner does stale share submits?  It didn't look like it does, and maybe someone can save me the trouble of digging through the source code.


It does submit the stale shares. I saw in the command window, it says stale share detected, submitting.

Yes, it looks to have stales submitted by default. I believe you can disable this behavior with the
Code:
--no-submit-stale
in command line or with
Code:
"no-submit-stale" : true
in the config file.
OhGodAGirl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 108

Look, I'm really not that interesting. Promise.


View Profile WWW
September 25, 2016, 08:47:07 PM
 #94

After looking at my HW errors and explaining to someone last night in another thread what xI vs I vs rI it occurred to me that the shotgun approach I was using was flawed.

At the settings I was using I was making the GPU work 10 times harder and essentially getting 33mh by loading up the work and accepting the HW.  

So today I used some reasoning- although it is limited by my understanding of "4-way" vs "8-way".  The other quote I accepted was the one made by Oh-God-it's a Girl earlier in this thread.  SHe stated that HW errors are normal, when in fact they are not normal.

So I started from scratch using the info I have on hand.  Global work has been accepted as 16384 or a variation of that number.  Plugging that into the xI formula and knowing a 390 has 2818 shaders the xI equivalent would be about 5.81.  It decreased the HW works but hashrate is about 20mh.  I then decreased the worksize by a factor of 4 to 64 (only because everything in mining is a factor -lol - and we went from 8 way to 4 way) and I increased the the xI by 2^4 and get about 93.  Also increase the xI without decreasing the worksize increased HW.  Plugging those numbers into the miner I am getting respectable Hash rates of about 28mh on a 390 with 1100/1250 with very few HW.  

A little more tweaking and will increase the worksize and double the xI since it appears more threads are available with this miner using 4-way (at least I think)

I said that SOME HW errors are normal. Which they are, according to Wolf0. You should be averaging 1-2ish. Correct?

I never say anything without making sure it's fact. =P

If you're seeing a few, it's normal. As in, expected behavior. We've not figured out why they come in just yet, and how to avoid them.

Also, see NaN's comment here:

@OhGodAGirl

Big thanks Smiley

My last questions:
1) sgminer shows hashrate like this: 21.70M/20.21Mh/s - is this 20.21Mh/s my card's hashrate? I got 22 Mh/s @ CM ...
2) WU: 20-21/m for such hashrate - is it OK?

TIA
The first value is an exponential moving average of your hash rate. Therefore, this value is a good measure of your current hash rate after a few minutes. The second value is an average over the whole run time and it should be equal to the first value after a few hour, if the pool connection is stable. One Radeon RX 480 8GB does about 23.8 MH/s with stock clocks and your card seems to be close to 21.7 MH/s (you have to run it longer).
The WU (work units) are used to calculate the number of HW errors. Let's assume your card mines with an average of 20 MH/s and has an error rate of 2%. Then the expected WU value would be 20/m * (1-0.02) = 19.6/m. The hardware errors are normal, but they aren't shown by other Ethereum miners. A defective card typically produces 10 times more hardware errors then a working one.
OhGodAGirl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 108

Look, I'm really not that interesting. Promise.


View Profile WWW
September 25, 2016, 08:48:06 PM
 #95

Claymore  is ok if you like being told you have to tip then forced to . I plan to tip for this one as soon as i can . I would have with Claymore  or even paid to unlock no tipping .

Thank you toptek, it's super appreciated. A lot of love, sweat and tears was put into this! And anger. Lots of anger. So. Much. Anger.
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1001

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 25, 2016, 10:54:19 PM
 #96

ohGodAGirl- I did not mean to offend you.

Here are some settings that have been useful for me on 390/290's
Worksize- 256 runs well at xI of 190
Worksize of 192 works well at xI of 167-170

Those are on 1100/1250 clocks

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
OhGodAGirl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 108

Look, I'm really not that interesting. Promise.


View Profile WWW
September 25, 2016, 11:11:05 PM
 #97

ohGodAGirl- I did not mean to offend you.

Here are some settings that have been useful for me on 390/290's
Worksize- 256 runs well at xI of 190
Worksize of 192 works well at xI of 167-170

Those are on 1100/1250 clocks


You didn't mate! Don't stress.

Just want to make sure folks understand that one or two HWs are normal and to be expected.

Thank you for sharing the settings!
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1001

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 26, 2016, 03:35:13 AM
 #98

ohGodAGirl- I did not mean to offend you.

Here are some settings that have been useful for me on 390/290's
Worksize- 256 runs well at xI of 190
Worksize of 192 works well at xI of 167-170

Those are on 1100/1250 clocks


You didn't mate! Don't stress.

Just want to make sure folks understand that one or two HWs are normal and to be expected.

Thank you for sharing the settings!

I appreciate the input but I for one have found zero settings that are even remotely close to the other miners available, especially when applying modest overclocks.  I am not sure what is considered an acceptable number of HW, if it's 1-2 per GPU at startup, per hour or per day etc. I am able to get a low number (10%) but the hashrate is less than other available miners.

I have spent several days on 3 different rigs looking for good settings to apply to the whole farm but it has eluded me.  As much as I hate using Claymore's miner it is still the fastest one available on all counts and while I do not like being forced to pay the fee, at least he does provide support.

I do not mind paying for a miner that provides superior hashrates so if you decide to release another Kernal for sale let me know as I would be willing (I missed the last opportunity before it was sold to a private individual). 

Sorry Wolf0, I would have provided you guys the fees I was paying Claymore as a tip on my 5.7gh but as it stands, economically it doesn't make any sense for me to use a miner that is slower.

Good luck guys

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
OhGodAGirl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 108

Look, I'm really not that interesting. Promise.


View Profile WWW
September 26, 2016, 07:23:21 AM
 #99

ohGodAGirl- I did not mean to offend you.

Here are some settings that have been useful for me on 390/290's
Worksize- 256 runs well at xI of 190
Worksize of 192 works well at xI of 167-170

Those are on 1100/1250 clocks


You didn't mate! Don't stress.

Just want to make sure folks understand that one or two HWs are normal and to be expected.

Thank you for sharing the settings!

I appreciate the input but I for one have found zero settings that are even remotely close to the other miners available, especially when applying modest overclocks.  I am not sure what is considered an acceptable number of HW, if it's 1-2 per GPU at startup, per hour or per day etc. I am able to get a low number (10%) but the hashrate is less than other available miners.

I have spent several days on 3 different rigs looking for good settings to apply to the whole farm but it has eluded me.  As much as I hate using Claymore's miner it is still the fastest one available on all counts and while I do not like being forced to pay the fee, at least he does provide support.

I do not mind paying for a miner that provides superior hashrates so if you decide to release another Kernal for sale let me know as I would be willing (I missed the last opportunity before it was sold to a private individual). 

Sorry Wolf0, I would have provided you guys the fees I was paying Claymore as a tip on my 5.7gh but as it stands, economically it doesn't make any sense for me to use a miner that is slower.

Good luck guys

I understand you're frustrated.

We're going to keep working on sgminer-gm - I wish I could provide you settings that would, guaranteed, work, but each card is unique - combine that with all the other factors and it's impossible to give you settings that 'just work' out of the box. Well, not impossible - but beyond our skill and scope right now.

Hopefully in the future, you'll try us again. If it doesn't work for you, economically you shouldn't use it. I totally agree. We'll keep working on it! Promise.
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1001

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 26, 2016, 07:29:36 AM
 #100

ohGodAGirl- I did not mean to offend you.

Here are some settings that have been useful for me on 390/290's
Worksize- 256 runs well at xI of 190
Worksize of 192 works well at xI of 167-170

Those are on 1100/1250 clocks


You didn't mate! Don't stress.

Just want to make sure folks understand that one or two HWs are normal and to be expected.

Thank you for sharing the settings!

I appreciate the input but I for one have found zero settings that are even remotely close to the other miners available, especially when applying modest overclocks.  I am not sure what is considered an acceptable number of HW, if it's 1-2 per GPU at startup, per hour or per day etc. I am able to get a low number (10%) but the hashrate is less than other available miners.

I have spent several days on 3 different rigs looking for good settings to apply to the whole farm but it has eluded me.  As much as I hate using Claymore's miner it is still the fastest one available on all counts and while I do not like being forced to pay the fee, at least he does provide support.

I do not mind paying for a miner that provides superior hashrates so if you decide to release another Kernal for sale let me know as I would be willing (I missed the last opportunity before it was sold to a private individual). 

Sorry Wolf0, I would have provided you guys the fees I was paying Claymore as a tip on my 5.7gh but as it stands, economically it doesn't make any sense for me to use a miner that is slower.

Good luck guys

I understand you're frustrated.

We're going to keep working on sgminer-gm - I wish I could provide you settings that would, guaranteed, work, but each card is unique - combine that with all the other factors and it's impossible to give you settings that 'just work' out of the box. Well, not impossible - but beyond our skill and scope right now.

Hopefully in the future, you'll try us again. If it doesn't work for you, economically you shouldn't use it. I totally agree. We'll keep working on it! Promise.

No worries, I was hoping I could use it for the farm but look forward to your future releases.

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!