Bitcoin Forum
May 21, 2019, 08:06:13 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 [171] 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Klondike - 16 chip ASIC Open Source Board - Preliminary  (Read 434327 times)
QualitySeeds
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183
Merit: 100


Buy Ganjs Seeds with BTC @ www.qualityseeds.nl


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2013, 01:21:09 PM
 #3401

Just was thinking are u using A3256Q48  which are 300 MH/s or the A3255Q48 1 GH/s 

 


U can buy marijuana seeds with BTC here !!!...

www.qualityseeds.nl

Legit Service for over 4 years
Crypto Casino Since 2014
Level Up & Get Even More Rewards!
Daily Treasure Chest
& Much More
Roll Hunt
Rakeback
Blackjack
Jackpot
Dice
Slots
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558425973
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558425973

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558425973
Reply with quote  #2

1558425973
Report to moderator
1558425973
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558425973

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558425973
Reply with quote  #2

1558425973
Report to moderator
Vl4dim1r
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2013, 09:09:10 PM
 #3402

Just was thinking are u using A3256Q48  which are 300 MH/s or the A3255Q48 1 GH/s 

 



Me? I'm using A3256Q48, aka Gen1.

Tips/Payments: 12DXk6FeU1JmKwCyCTJDdwUNKGV8hvZTep
mrm0
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 09:19:03 PM
 #3403

This is a bit off topic from where this thread is going, but I need a little help if anyone can provide it. I have 2 k16s, fully assembled and visually everything checks out, but neither one is recognized when the USB is plugged in. No blinking LEDs, just buzzing caps.
If anyone would mind helping me out, I'd have no problem tipping what I can or test these via your pool/address of choice.

it sounds like you might have a short somewhere in the power supply output. Did you measure voltages with a multimeter? Do you have an oscilloscope?

1BUcKJVz5n34VwuiyiLtPud1PGn3BLkcPb  :-)
Vl4dim1r
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2013, 10:03:06 PM
Last edit: December 05, 2013, 10:37:16 PM by Vl4dim1r
 #3404

This is a bit off topic from where this thread is going, but I need a little help if anyone can provide it. I have 2 k16s, fully assembled and visually everything checks out, but neither one is recognized when the USB is plugged in. No blinking LEDs, just buzzing caps.
If anyone would mind helping me out, I'd have no problem tipping what I can or test these via your pool/address of choice.

it sounds like you might have a short somewhere in the power supply output. Did you measure voltages with a multimeter? Do you have an oscilloscope?


I tried 2 different power supplies, one that I set up just for the k16s, and the other supplying my BE blades. Both are putting out a solid 12v. As for probing the board itself, I'm not sure where on the board is good to test with. Unfortunately, I do not have an o-scope. I've always heard that buzzing caps were normal, although they may have been shorted now that I think about it. It's possible that my heatsink shorted the PCI-e power pins. I noticed there wasn't enough of a gap to feel comfortable with, after I tested them. You think it might just be the caps?

Edit: Also, do we have an IRC channel?

Tips/Payments: 12DXk6FeU1JmKwCyCTJDdwUNKGV8hvZTep
h@shKraker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 403
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 11:22:54 PM
 #3405

Vl4dim1r,

http://projectklondike.org/big-troubleshoot should provide you TONS of GREAT troubleshooting ideas.  Cheers.

H@shKraker

Tips/Payments: 1HaZvsUjJpcAf76QWg7Muu4mnWRWCrRNMs
Vl4dim1r
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2013, 12:05:39 AM
Last edit: December 06, 2013, 09:07:30 AM by Vl4dim1r
 #3406

Vl4dim1r,

http://projectklondike.org/big-troubleshoot should provide you TONS of GREAT troubleshooting ideas.  Cheers.

H@shKraker

Thank you very much for that. I've been to the project klondike site before, I guess I missed the troubleshooting section at the time. I'm going to look around at work tonight and see if I can find an o-scope.


EDIT: Nevermind on that oscilloscope, apparently I'm not "qualified" to operate it because I am just a lowly wrench turner. But I found a Tektronix 2213 60MHz locally for $100!
EDIT2: so after some poking around with a multimeter following the big troubleshoot guide, I'm getting about 10.5v from the power supply through the second can capacitor, and nothing from the 1.2v or 3.3v on either bank.

Tips/Payments: 12DXk6FeU1JmKwCyCTJDdwUNKGV8hvZTep
IrishFBall32
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 06, 2013, 05:44:00 PM
 #3407

Mine is away:

Quote
Status: 0/unconfirmed, broadcast through 6 nodes
Date: 2013-12-06 12:40
To: zipiju (Klondike) 1CKscJAxjdhbJjJPJ9AzL2dWTmB6oc49UE
Debit: -0.02 BTC
Transaction fee: -0.0001 BTC
Net amount: -0.0201 BTC
Transaction ID: 2a4d3bbf0c300ea019ca60b9b7537d189414f735ffb860f065242c9c61546908

Not sure what I would do with a bare PCB - I'm skilled at hand soldering but have never tried SMT... I suppose I should learn (on a cheaper project).
I'm hoping once these 2nd gens test well I can put in an order to have them made like the liquidsynergy one I've acquired.
h@shKraker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 403
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 06:27:50 PM
 #3408

IrishFBall32,

You could TRY to hand solder the board (which would be a TRUE PITA) *OR* you could whip yourself up a DIY arduino reflow oven made from a converted convection toaster oven -> http://www.adafruit.com/blog/2011/07/22/reflow-oven-controller-shield/ .  These things are da *B-O-M-B* for small batch SMT work and they're fairly inexpensive:-D

H@shKraker

Tips/Payments: 1HaZvsUjJpcAf76QWg7Muu4mnWRWCrRNMs
Vl4dim1r
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 09:50:26 PM
Last edit: December 07, 2013, 10:02:31 PM by Vl4dim1r
 #3409

IrishFBall32,

You could TRY to hand solder the board (which would be a TRUE PITA) *OR* you could whip yourself up a DIY arduino reflow oven made from a converted convection toaster oven -> http://www.adafruit.com/blog/2011/07/22/reflow-oven-controller-shield/ .  These things are da *B-O-M-B* for small batch SMT work and they're fairly inexpensive:-D

H@shKraker

If you have a Goodwill Outlet warehouse nearby, i recommend going there. I see low wattage toaster ovens all the time, but the day I went looking for my "reflow oven", I found a 1500W GE , retails about $250, for $3.

EDIT: Question, does anyone have a hot air reflow pen they're willing to sell? I'm having difficulty finding one for btc.

Tips/Payments: 12DXk6FeU1JmKwCyCTJDdwUNKGV8hvZTep
h@shKraker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 403
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 10:37:09 PM
 #3410

Vl4dim1r,

I once got krunk with an oscillator and a standard, bought from the hardware store heat gun.  Be careful though, don't drop that heat gun on your junk after it's been on for any time Undecided

H@shKraker

Tips/Payments: 1HaZvsUjJpcAf76QWg7Muu4mnWRWCrRNMs
Vl4dim1r
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2013, 06:06:40 AM
Last edit: December 09, 2013, 10:08:23 AM by Vl4dim1r
 #3411

Vl4dim1r,

I once got krunk with an oscillator and a standard, bought from the hardware store heat gun.  Be careful though, don't drop that heat gun on your junk after it's been on for any time Undecided

H@shKraker

Unfortunately, I've checked all the local hardware stores and cant find a heat gun. Checked all the craft stores for embossing pens too, with no luck. Maybe they were just hiding somewhere...

EDIT: H@shKraker: Are you in the US? If so, was it one of the main chain hardware stores you found yours? What would I most likely find it with?

Tips/Payments: 12DXk6FeU1JmKwCyCTJDdwUNKGV8hvZTep
QualitySeeds
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183
Merit: 100


Buy Ganjs Seeds with BTC @ www.qualityseeds.nl


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2013, 10:17:50 AM
 #3412

Vl4dim1r,

I once got krunk with an oscillator and a standard, bought from the hardware store heat gun.  Be careful though, don't drop that heat gun on your junk after it's been on for any time Undecided

H@shKraker

Unfortunately, I've checked all the local hardware stores and cant find a heat gun. Checked all the craft stores for embossing pens too, with no luck. Maybe they were just hiding somewhere...

EDIT: H@shKraker: Are you in the US? If so, was it one of the main chain hardware stores you found yours? What would I most likely find it with?
You can get it pretty cheap on Ebay i just bought one for 127$ 4in1 Search for hot air reflow station

U can buy marijuana seeds with BTC here !!!...

www.qualityseeds.nl

Legit Service for over 4 years
h@shKraker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 403
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 04:58:48 PM
 #3413

Vl4dim1r,

This is the heat gun one should never drop on their junk after using it for any time -> http://www.lowes.com/pd_20960-97-0503040_0__?productId=1059297&Ntt=heat+gun&pl=1&currentURL=%3FNtt%3Dheat%2Bgun&facetInfo= ..... or QualitySeeds Ebay idea will also do the trick.

H@shKraker

Tips/Payments: 1HaZvsUjJpcAf76QWg7Muu4mnWRWCrRNMs
h@shKraker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 403
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 05:00:32 PM
 #3414

Zipiju,

Has the PCB run been fully funded?  If so how are things coming?  Hope all is well with you.

H@shKraker

Tips/Payments: 1HaZvsUjJpcAf76QWg7Muu4mnWRWCrRNMs
zipiju
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 09:40:52 PM
 #3415

Zipiju,

Has the PCB run been fully funded?  If so how are things coming?  Hope all is well with you.

H@shKraker

Yep, but I haven't ordered the PCBs yet (because the BTC price plummeted recently).
I'm going to order them in a couple of days (one or two) from iteadstudio.com. They should be here in 10 working days.
I still want the design tested before the december the 24th.
Other components from Mouser should be here this week (hopefully). They are already on their way.

Be sure to check out http://projectklondike.org/ site
1CKscJAxjdhbJjJPJ9AzL2dWTmB6oc49UE
fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 12:57:31 AM
 #3416

Zipiju,
Does the Klondike driver need to be modified to accept the higher frequencies for example (--Klondike-options 1500)
just wondering about firmware and driver changes to support the new chips.
zipiju
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 07:58:24 PM
 #3417

Zipiju,
Does the Klondike driver need to be modified to accept the higher frequencies for example (--Klondike-options 1500)
just wondering about firmware and driver changes to support the new chips.


Yes, they both will have to be modified.
In the firmware, just a small mod to the config that is send to the chips.
In the driver, probably just the stuff around the clock frequency.

Be sure to check out http://projectklondike.org/ site
1CKscJAxjdhbJjJPJ9AzL2dWTmB6oc49UE
Vl4dim1r
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
December 11, 2013, 08:13:08 PM
 #3418

Vl4dim1r,

This is the heat gun one should never drop on their junk after using it for any time -> http://www.lowes.com/pd_20960-97-0503040_0__?productId=1059297&Ntt=heat+gun&pl=1&currentURL=%3FNtt%3Dheat%2Bgun&facetInfo= ..... or QualitySeeds Ebay idea will also do the trick.

H@shKraker


My local lowe's didn't have that specific gun, just the single temp Wagner, But they had a Porter Cable heatgun, same price, same wattage, variable speed, variable temp. I guess I will let it heat up and point it at a thermometer so I can mark on the dial where the necessary temps are. I actually used it to defrost my windshield last night xD

Tips/Payments: 12DXk6FeU1JmKwCyCTJDdwUNKGV8hvZTep
h@shKraker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 403
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 08:02:16 PM
 #3419

Vl4dim1r,

Remember  ...... don't drop it on your junk if it's on or is still HOT  Shocked

H@shKraker

Tips/Payments: 1HaZvsUjJpcAf76QWg7Muu4mnWRWCrRNMs
Vl4dim1r
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2013, 08:04:43 PM
 #3420

Vl4dim1r,

Remember  ...... don't drop it on your junk if it's on or is still HOT  Shocked

H@shKraker


Yes, that is common sense. But I'll keep a barrier of sorts on my lap while I'm reworking, just to be safe Cheesy

Tips/Payments: 12DXk6FeU1JmKwCyCTJDdwUNKGV8hvZTep
Pages: « 1 ... 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 [171] 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!