Bitcoin Forum
May 20, 2019, 07:39:58 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 [132] 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Klondike - 16 chip ASIC Open Source Board - Preliminary  (Read 434327 times)
cardcomm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 26, 2013, 05:21:21 PM
 #2621


If I could source all the parts I would offer that. Same for assembled K1s. But as long as I can't get some items at all, I won't take orders. At this time the inductors are probably doable, but the IR3895 is still impossible and more PICs are at least a few weeks away, if you believe Microchip.

Maybe board change to with new reg?

......

Maybe time to start kolondike V2.0 plans?
You're welcome to start your own project doing it the way you like.

I won't be doing any v2.0 plans for Avalon based Klondike.

****
I am putting together a deal that may get us a limited run of K16 kits.
All board parts, except ASICs. No heat sink, fan, cable - that's up to your DIY hackin.
This would be a one-time batch. Maybe 100 units.

That would be great, I'd grab one kit for sure!! (Don't wanna be greedy) hahaha 
I'll be watching for the announcement Smiley

Easily see your cgminer status with my cgminerLCDStats app:  http://cardcomm.github.io/cgminerLCDStats/
Did my post help you or make you laugh? Let me know with Bitcoins at: 1CQfpMHQ5zVuZ5i9uxSHSSx4J8ZhehSjn3  Smiley
1558381198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558381198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558381198
Reply with quote  #2

1558381198
Report to moderator
Get alert of price pumps/dumps beforehand 74% average Win Rate
reported by our users
TRY NOW!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558381198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558381198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558381198
Reply with quote  #2

1558381198
Report to moderator
vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
July 26, 2013, 06:30:31 PM
 #2622

bkkcoins, it looks like the ceramic cap is sold out on digi, mouse etc. Since I'm making all my purchases on mouse (to save on shipment) can I use this is a replacement?

The only difference is that the operating temperature range is "- 55 C to + 85 C" instead of "- 55 C to + 125 C"

I think that's a pretty safe bet and all should work just fine. We know those ASICs will get hot (hence the +125C) but the board will likely never reach over 75C (even though the silicon inside the chip may get to 85) - it has a lot of surface to dissipate it.

Alternatively - for general filter capacitors you can most likely just look the next value higher - instead of 0.47uF you could go with 0.51uF or 0.56uF or even higher. It is likely that a smaller value like 0.33uF will work just fine too .. a 0.1uF used to be the norm Smiley But if you go with a smaller one that may affect things, so risk goes up a bit.

If you're wondering what's the next value up or down - look up the E24 or E12 series (here is a nice list: http://www.logwell.com/tech/components/resistor_values.html )

sasadjak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 26, 2013, 08:33:51 PM
 #2623

Klondike K1 test clone Smiley
http://imageshack.us/a/img801/3011/mubw.jpg
http://imageshack.us/a/img687/4094/rb1u.jpg

video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cr3MuKoCJE8



cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
July 26, 2013, 09:25:10 PM
 #2624

If the PIC availability gets bad, it looks like the 18F14K50 is 20 SSOP package,  USB, internal 48MHz oscillator, 2K more program memory, slightly less RAM, same voltage range.  It looks like the power and ICSP pins are in the same place.  Would just need someone to change any pin assignments and compile with the 18 version.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2814
Merit: 1165


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 27, 2013, 12:11:50 AM
 #2625

163C ?!?

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-Redacted-
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 27, 2013, 12:18:11 AM
 #2626

= 325F   It has double use as a hasher and a portable grill?
sensei
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 27, 2013, 12:36:11 AM
 #2627

Next week I get some non-functional K16 boards I ordered so that I can verify parts placement, solder stencil, solderability, etc.

This is a version 1 board I have for this purpose. Here below, I show parts placed by the PnP onto double sided tape. Some of the parts move around a little, but much better than no tape.



The origin of the board needs to be honed in a little, but when the board is heated and the solder paste starts to reflow, all the parts get sucked into the solder and onto the pads.

I have enough parts on hand to make about 250 K16's. The first 50 are mine and the rest I will build for customers.

www.mittenmining.com
fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 27, 2013, 12:37:34 AM
 #2628

1.2V  is that a real voltage measurement? How is the voltage measured ?
sasadjak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 27, 2013, 12:55:49 AM
 #2629

163C ?!?
board don't have temp sensor.
we modified k16 firmware for testing, temperature is random value.

about cgminer...
klondike version work good on linux but build for win crash after start.
if we make working k1 first, we send you few for testing... Smiley
 

 
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2013, 02:28:20 AM
 #2630

bkkcoins, it looks like the ceramic cap is sold out on digi, mouse etc. Since I'm making all my purchases on mouse (to save on shipment) can I use this is a replacement?

Original part:
C1005X7S1A474K

Replacement part:
C1005X5R1A474K

----------
Original part:
C3216X7S0J476M

Replacement part:
C3216X5R0J476M


The only difference is that the operating temperature range is "- 55 C to + 85 C" instead of "- 55 C to + 125 C"

Would that really matter?
You should be fine with those. The higher temp range just provides a bit more endurance for longevity. The ASIC chip is rated at 85C - so you should never reach near that even. As long as you have a heat sink and fan it doesn't appear to reach beyond the 50s, maybe 60C.

1.2V  is that a real voltage measurement? How is the voltage measured ?
It's just a fixed value displayed by the driver so it looks like other devices.
There is no voltage control or monitoring.

Next week I get some non-functional K16 boards I ordered so that I can verify parts placement, solder stencil, solderability, etc.

This is a version 1 board I have for this purpose. Here below, I show parts placed by the PnP onto double sided tape. Some of the parts move around a little, but much better than no tape.

..pic removed..

The origin of the board needs to be honed in a little, but when the board is heated and the solder paste starts to reflow, all the parts get sucked into the solder and onto the pads.

I have enough parts on hand to make about 250 K16's. The first 50 are mine and the rest I will build for customers.

www.mittenmining.com
Nice to see it on the PnP, and that working out.

If the PIC availability gets bad, it looks like the 18F14K50 is 20 SSOP package,  USB, internal 48MHz oscillator, 2K more program memory, slightly less RAM, same voltage range.  It looks like the power and ICSP pins are in the same place.  Would just need someone to change any pin assignments and compile with the 18 version.
The 18LF14K50 is similar and the 16LF1459 is based off that chip. The former requires an external 12MHz oscillator for USB use - no internal one but has PLL. Also, the QFN version is a different size. The software may require some changes because it is missing an internal PWM and there may be some other differences. I looked at that one and considered doing a revision. I'm just too tired to launch into a new one now. It could become the basis for an updated K1.


cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
July 27, 2013, 02:33:04 AM
 #2631

That's weird that the size is different.  I wasn't suggesting you should do it -- you've definitely done enough!  But if someone needed a replacement that looked like the best and they should go ahead and make the changes to get it working.  There's like 10,000 of them available on digikey between the two packages.

I'm not sure if USB capability is even needed, is the communication slow enough to go through the serial port?  People could add a USB-serial converter if needed.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2013, 03:19:21 AM
 #2632

That's weird that the size is different.  I wasn't suggesting you should do it -- you've definitely done enough!  But if someone needed a replacement that looked like the best and they should go ahead and make the changes to get it working.  There's like 10,000 of them available on digikey between the two packages.

I'm not sure if USB capability is even needed, is the communication slow enough to go through the serial port?  People could add a USB-serial converter if needed.
It's probably possible to use the SS version on a "slave only" board as-is. I would have to look again at pinout. I believe the data pins, especially the USART and I2C ones match up. For those with a shortage of chips for SS boards in a chain anyway, it could work.

On the QFN it's too bad they changed from 5mm on the older chip to 4mm on the new '1459.

There is boat loads of '14K50s around. I think Mouser has some like 300,000 of them. It would solve supply problems but requires another development cycle to alter board, build and test for software changes. Probably a few weeks anyway.

simon66
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 423
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 27, 2013, 04:30:44 AM
 #2633

That's weird that the size is different.  I wasn't suggesting you should do it -- you've definitely done enough!  But if someone needed a replacement that looked like the best and they should go ahead and make the changes to get it working.  There's like 10,000 of them available on digikey between the two packages.

I'm not sure if USB capability is even needed, is the communication slow enough to go through the serial port?  People could add a USB-serial converter if needed.
It's probably possible to use the SS version on a "slave only" board as-is. I would have to look again at pinout. I believe the data pins, especially the USART and I2C ones match up. For those with a shortage of chips for SS boards in a chain anyway, it could work.

On the QFN it's too bad they changed from 5mm on the older chip to 4mm on the new '1459.

There is boat loads of '14K50s around. I think Mouser has some like 300,000 of them. It would solve supply problems but requires another development cycle to alter board, build and test for software changes. Probably a few weeks anyway.

Is the stencil plastic or a metal sheet? I have a machine shop near my house, if you're short in supply I can check with them Smiley
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2013, 05:00:37 AM
 #2634

Is the stencil plastic or a metal sheet? I have a machine shop near my house, if you're short in supply I can check with them Smiley
I'm not sure how that relates to the text you quoted. On a tangent, the stencils I provide are cheap plastic ones. Metal stencils cost $70 in China and usually several hundred in USA or "other expensive countries". Plastic stencils are ok for DIY short run use, not for automated production.

I make the plastic ones myself on my cutter, so there is no issue with getting them. It's noisy as heck cutting them and they take over an hour each. That's the only reason I put them at $10 - to limit demand and not be living 24/7 with the noise. I offer them as a convenience as otherwise you can order high-end Mylar ones from the US that cost $35 plus shipping.

See, http://www.pololu.com/stencilquote/new
eg.
Code:
Turn Time
--------  Same Day Next Day 2 Days  3 Days  4 Days 5 Days
Price:    $74.00   $66.60  $59.20  $51.80  $44.40 $37.00
Ships on: Jul 29  Jul 30  Jul 31  Aug 01  Aug 02  Aug 05

BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2013, 09:58:43 AM
 #2635

Looking at making K16 and K1 kits - one problem I have is with duty/tax on importing into Thailand only to be re-exported again. Between tax and shipping it adds a hefty cost penalty.

It occurred to me that there may be a US-based potential partner out there who wants to make a fee for part splitting ("kitting") and shipping. That is, you would receive bulk reels of parts, count them (actually measure them against printed guides), cut tape, and place them into bins, and then dump the bins into ziploc bags. Then ship them to customers within USA. Such an arrangement would result in quicker delivery and lower final cost for DIY customers. I don't know what the profit on that would be - not huge, but something to make it worth some time cutting, packing and going to the post office. It avoids a whole lotta duty/intl shipping issues.

Serious interested person should PM me.

erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 27, 2013, 10:05:25 AM
 #2636

Looking at making K16 and K1 kits - one problem I have is with duty/tax on importing into Thailand only to be re-exported again. Between tax and shipping it adds a hefty cost penalty.

It occurred to me that there may be a US-based potential partner out there who wants to make a fee for part splitting ("kitting") and shipping. That is, you would receive bulk reels of parts, count them (actually measure them against printed guides), cut tape, and place them into bins, and then dump the bins into ziploc bags. Then ship them to customers within USA. Such an arrangement would result in quicker delivery and lower final cost for DIY customers. I don't know what the profit on that would be - not huge, but something to make it worth some time cutting, packing and going to the post office. It avoids a whole lotta duty/intl shipping issues.

Serious interested person should PM me.

Most people in the world don't live in the US. Thailand is probably closer to the heart of the action than the US would be.

BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2013, 10:12:36 AM
 #2637

Looking at making K16 and K1 kits - one problem I have is with duty/tax on importing into Thailand only to be re-exported again. Between tax and shipping it adds a hefty cost penalty.

It occurred to me that there may be a US-based potential partner out there who wants to make a fee for part splitting ("kitting") and shipping. That is, you would receive bulk reels of parts, count them (actually measure them against printed guides), cut tape, and place them into bins, and then dump the bins into ziploc bags. Then ship them to customers within USA. Such an arrangement would result in quicker delivery and lower final cost for DIY customers. I don't know what the profit on that would be - not huge, but something to make it worth some time cutting, packing and going to the post office. It avoids a whole lotta duty/intl shipping issues.

Serious interested persons should PM me. It's probably not going to be a huge qty.

Most people in the world don't live in the US. Thailand is probably closer to the heart of the action than the US would be.
That's true but almost all my orders are from USA. So I doubt that the action is closer to here, and the main problem for me is that my best ordering source is from USA. I've tried dealing locally and even via Singapore and it's just not viable, for various reasons. I usually have to order from USA to get decent service.

Only 4 orders from Australia and Japan, are actually closer to me. A few more are from UK and Europe. The rest are from USA.

AtomSea
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 143
Merit: 100


So sexy, it hurts.


View Profile
July 27, 2013, 05:04:40 PM
 #2638

Looking at making K16 and K1 kits - one problem I have is with duty/tax on importing into Thailand only to be re-exported again. Between tax and shipping it adds a hefty cost penalty.

It occurred to me that there may be a US-based potential partner out there who wants to make a fee for part splitting ("kitting") and shipping. That is, you would receive bulk reels of parts, count them (actually measure them against printed guides), cut tape, and place them into bins, and then dump the bins into ziploc bags. Then ship them to customers within USA. Such an arrangement would result in quicker delivery and lower final cost for DIY customers. I don't know what the profit on that would be - not huge, but something to make it worth some time cutting, packing and going to the post office. It avoids a whole lotta duty/intl shipping issues.

Serious interested persons should PM me. It's probably not going to be a huge qty.

Most people in the world don't live in the US. Thailand is probably closer to the heart of the action than the US would be.
That's true but almost all my orders are from USA. So I doubt that the action is closer to here, and the main problem for me is that my best ordering source is from USA. I've tried dealing locally and even via Singapore and it's just not viable, for various reasons. I usually have to order from USA to get decent service.

Only 4 orders from Australia and Japan, are actually closer to me. A few more are from UK and Europe. The rest are from USA.



This Minnesota nerd is in.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2814
Merit: 1165


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 28, 2013, 06:59:05 AM
 #2639

163C ?!?
board don't have temp sensor.
we modified k16 firmware for testing, temperature is random value.

about cgminer...
klondike version work good on linux but build for win crash after start.
if we make working k1 first, we send you few for testing... Smiley

Thanks for the offer Smiley
Of course that will mean we'll start bashing away at the code to sort it out if we get them Smiley
(I don't have any such hardware at all so can't do anything concrete until then of course)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Vigil
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 28, 2013, 08:36:25 PM
 #2640

What is the temperature of the K16 without the fan/heatsink? I'd like to compare it to the predictions from my model. My heatsink/fin model seems fairly accurate.
Pages: « 1 ... 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 [132] 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!