Bitcoin Forum
May 20, 2019, 01:48:51 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 [151] 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Klondike - 16 chip ASIC Open Source Board - Preliminary  (Read 434327 times)
zipiju
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 09:52:36 AM
 #3001

Can the remaining developers chime in and settle a debate?
Does anybody have a working 16 chip klondike running at 333*16?

To clarify on this, it would be a 16 chip Klondike at 282*16 (4.5GH as Advertised) with low HW Errors.

Also if whoever did this, did so using Terrahash's code.


You are using 260pF for C274 right?

In order to hash with 16 chips, you need to make the following modifications in klondike.c, from line 159:

Code:
   Status.ChipCount = 16;
    
    // pre-calc nonce range values
    BankSize = (Status.ChipCount+1)/2;
    Status.MaxCount = WORK_TICKS / BankSize / 2;
    NonceRanges[0] = 0;
    for(BYTE x = 1; x < BankSize; x++)
        NonceRanges[x] = NonceRanges[x-1] + BankRanges[BankSize-1];

If you look at that code, you see, that only 8 nonce ranges are defined.
How could this work with 16 chips? Any idea?
Also, the NonceRanges were defined as NonceRanges[8].
And for everyone here, fully populated board with 16 chips IS NOT WORKING with those firmware modifications that Terrahash posted above.

Look at asic.c especially in SendAsicData function. You will get your answer there and in the end of send32 function. But it is a bit tricky how its done there... In fact you only need 8 nonce ranges

What are you implying Tongue

The question is: Does it work?

I can find NO ONE that can get the K16 to work.

Okay so i will clarify this:

This code
Code:
   NonceRanges[0] = 0;
    for(BYTE x = 1; x < BankSize; x++)
        NonceRanges[x] = NonceRanges[x-1] + BankRanges[BankSize-1];
generates the following nonce ranges for 8 chips (in hex):
Code:
Nonce[0]:00000000
Nonce[1]:10000000
Nonce[2]:20000000
Nonce[3]:30000000
Nonce[4]:40000000
Nonce[5]:50000000
Nonce[6]:60000000
Nonce[7]:70000000
Then in SendAsicData you see:
Code:
last_bit0 = last_bit1 = split;
 send32_data = (WORD)&NonceRanges; send32_count = BankSize;
 Send32();
and in Send32:
Code:
   MOVF _last_bit0 & 0x7F,W
    CLRF LATC & 0x7F
    BTFSC INDF1,7
    MOVF _last_bit1 & 0x7F,W
    MOVWF LATC & 0x7F
This changes the highest bit in nonce value to 1 and then you get the remaining 8 nonces.




And between those instructions, is there a one, which changes what PORTC pins to use, when sending data out? Except the DATA_ONE and DATA_ZERO defines?

Be sure to check out http://projectklondike.org/ site
1CKscJAxjdhbJjJPJ9AzL2dWTmB6oc49UE
New Generation Antminer S17 Mining Plan Available Now! Highly Reduced Electricity Fee $0.067/T/DAY! Register To Experience
Free Mining Plan!
GET STARTED!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558316931
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558316931

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558316931
Reply with quote  #2

1558316931
Report to moderator
hf_developer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 11:41:22 AM
 #3002




And between those instructions, is there a one, which changes what PORTC pins to use, when sending data out? Except the DATA_ONE and DATA_ZERO defines?

Therefore please look at the caller, which is in this case AsicPushWork in klondike.c, the argument there is DATA_SPLIT, which does the bits for single bank mode. In double bank mode one bank gets a one, the other a zero for MSB. Please also look what exactly the asm code tells, the last lines in send32 function differ from the others.
weaknesswaran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957
Merit: 507


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 02:17:58 PM
 #3003

what happend to bkk?
Hasn´t been online two weeks.
bitcoiner49er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 457
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 12, 2013, 02:30:20 PM
 #3004

what happend to bkk?
Hasn´t been online two weeks.

Yifu happened.

Homo doctus is se semper divitias habet
volosator
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 12, 2013, 05:00:09 PM
 #3005

Would it be possible to re-design the board to run with bitfury chips?
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 05:04:19 PM
 #3006

Would it be possible to re-design the board to run with bitfury chips?

Yes, but it would be a complete redesign.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
AtomSea
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 143
Merit: 100


So sexy, it hurts.


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 05:48:39 PM
 #3007




And between those instructions, is there a one, which changes what PORTC pins to use, when sending data out? Except the DATA_ONE and DATA_ZERO defines?

Therefore please look at the caller, which is in this case AsicPushWork in klondike.c, the argument there is DATA_SPLIT, which does the bits for single bank mode. In double bank mode one bank gets a one, the other a zero for MSB. Please also look what exactly the asm code tells, the last lines in send32 function differ from the others.


Steamboat and Marty's group have been unable to get this design to work.
Have you gotten a K16 working?
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1005



View Profile WWW
September 12, 2013, 07:07:47 PM
Last edit: September 13, 2013, 12:21:55 AM by markm
 #3008

He seems to be saying you only need to input eight nonces because if there are 16 chips the high bit (MSB: Most Significant Bit) of each nonce is set to make nonces for the second bank of chips.

(So presumably don't set the high bit of nonces? Or maybe it toggles the high bit instead of forcing it to be a one? I am not looking at the code merely trying to interpret what was written.)

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
hf_developer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 08:10:09 PM
 #3009




And between those instructions, is there a one, which changes what PORTC pins to use, when sending data out? Except the DATA_ONE and DATA_ZERO defines?

Therefore please look at the caller, which is in this case AsicPushWork in klondike.c, the argument there is DATA_SPLIT, which does the bits for single bank mode. In double bank mode one bank gets a one, the other a zero for MSB. Please also look what exactly the asm code tells, the last lines in send32 function differ from the others.


Steamboat and Marty's group have been unable to get this design to work.
Have you gotten a K16 working?

He's being very "cryptic" Tongue Us laymen non coders have no idea of what the significance of what he's saying is.

A very clear "This should make the board work for 16 Chips" would be appreciated hah. Sorry gotta dumb it down for us!

It is not that easy... I was designing my own board based on klondike several weeks ago. (It had some enhancements like software over/undervolting, over/underclocking, just search for "Dynamine D20" in this forum) I was working with klondike firmware and got several chips even with two banks working. Then all this YIFU happend and i stopped development. I can say that klondike firmware is well developed but not functional out of the box. A "This should make the board work for 16 Chips" is not that simple to do. There are also some hardware issues on klondike design with phase shifting NOR clock extractor as this only works for some specific gates from specific manufacturers. To get all that fully working some more work has to be done on this i think.
kostagr33k
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 310
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 09:43:06 PM
 #3010

I saw a post earlier that stated BKK Sent them a board... Could we use that address to find out how hes doing?


Kosta
hf_developer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 09:45:40 PM
 #3011

I saw a post earlier that stated BKK Sent them a board... Could we use that address to find out how hes doing?


Kosta

I think he has his reasons for not being present any more....
kostagr33k
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 310
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 09:50:53 PM
 #3012

I can see why He would want to go MIA, but its an online community and He started something very interesting and find it odd He would just leave.

If there were problems regarding the K16, there are many avenues to go about to fix those problems, finding outside collaboration, etc.

Kosta
southerngentuk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 10:52:55 PM
 #3013

I saw a post earlier that stated BKK Sent them a board... Could we use that address to find out how hes doing?


Kosta

I think he has his reasons for not being present any more....

I'm sure he does, but he was paid Royalty fees for a finished board/firmware. Hopefully he will be able to just finish that up.

Thank You terrahash!

I just wanted to publicly Thank You for making a substantial license payment to me for the boards you have under way. I thought it would be good for your customers to know that you have been taking the steps to make this "officially endorsed". If you ever need my assistance I'm always here.

The impression I got was that terrahash was quite capable of completing his commitments with the progress made to date without the assistance of BKK.
I am concerned by Bkk's absence thou, not forgetting the legal standing of bitcoin in Thailand is questionable. Lets hope he's OK and will get back to us shortly.

MinermanNC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 01:23:19 AM
 #3014

I saw a post earlier that stated BKK Sent them a board... Could we use that address to find out how hes doing?


Kosta

I think he has his reasons for not being present any more....

I'm sure he does, but he was paid Royalty fees for a finished board/firmware. Hopefully he will be able to just finish that up.

Thank You terrahash!

I just wanted to publicly Thank You for making a substantial license payment to me for the boards you have under way. I thought it would be good for your customers to know that you have been taking the steps to make this "officially endorsed". If you ever need my assistance I'm always here.


The impression I got was that terrahash was quite capable of completing his commitments with the progress made to date without the assistance of BKK.
I am concerned by Bkk's absence thou, not forgetting the legal standing of bitcoin in Thailand is questionable. Lets hope he's OK and will get back to us shortly.
Im confident TH can handle it if they want to or need to Smiley

*BTC: 1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
kostagr33k
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 310
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 01:54:10 AM
 #3015

Would be nice if TH released what they have so far. Anyone know their progress or have any info from them on changes they have done?

kosta
southerngentuk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 02:09:23 AM
 #3016


Im confident TH can handle it if they want to or need to Smiley
Am not so confident,
My Impression was that at some point TH hired someone who new what they were doing and he was posting with TH login regarding tech stuff.

But normal business posts seemed inconsistent on a intellectual level..  I doubt TH will pay more $$$ to finalize this with the current Avalon situation.

All pure speculation so don't flame me please.  Shocked

southerngentuk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 02:20:36 AM
 #3017

Marto has populated the K16 but put it to one side whilst he finilizes his own hex16, maybe he will pick it back up when he has time however it really is not worth his while, he was planning to offer k16's so if the klondike is not ready we have an option to switch over. I am getting any chips not refunded sent to marto so I can go either way.
It is a shame I really want my Klondikes, however I do have my unpopulated original k16 final beta board.
Did no one else receive goods from BKK ?

Darktongue
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 04:15:49 AM
 #3018

From what I've read so far.  Along with the countless FUD posts.  I have this to say about TH.  I believe it works, however I don't believe it's something that's going to work for the end user. I'm becomming very anal in what I say. With that in mind I will be comming up with my own two cents shortly.  I'm still trying to get a feel to what has and hasn't been done Smiley
Darktongue
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 04:37:18 AM
 #3019

So I'd like to offer my solutions to this major cluster fuck venture.  I offer a non jeri-rigged solution that hardware wise will be user friendly to at least one of the designs. I would ask only for one of each board.  Finished or with BOM.

You cannot hold me at gunpoint on this. But I have myself, my mentors and a little money to back this up on my end. Let's finish this project guys and lets do it safely. 
southerngentuk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 04:57:01 AM
 #3020

yes lets get this done, if anyone can contribute state what and how and lets assign some tasks.

I have a pcb V 0.3.2

However Marto has a fully populated pcb ( I assume the same revision) .. maybe we could all chip in some BTC and purchase it from him.

The github is still up https://github.com/bkkcoins/klondike

last change 4 weeks ago..

Is someone with better knowledge than me able to clone the git and maintain it..

P.M sent to marto


Pages: « 1 ... 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 [151] 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!