Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2019, 02:47:30 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 [72] 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 ... 182 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Klondike - 16 chip ASIC Open Source Board - Preliminary  (Read 434687 times)
terrahash
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 13, 2013, 11:59:15 PM

BkkCoins,

We have received Avalon sample chips. We did get about 10 K16 boards manufactured locally as well. We want to assemble one board to help with development and testing. We have resources here that can help push the project forward.

Can you upload the silk screen for the components (those nice little labels that indicate which component is to be placed where on the board)? And if possible XY data that can be fed to an SMT machine?

1558968450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558968450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558968450
Reply with quote  #2

1558968450
Report to moderator
PLAY OVER 3000 GAMES
LIGHTNING FAST WITHDRAWALS
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558968450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558968450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558968450
Reply with quote  #2

1558968450
Report to moderator
southerngentuk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:04:58 AM

The basic maths being Ohm's law. Anyway, you need to pay attention to wiring and plug amperage capacities if you use a lot of splitters to feed your boards from a high amp/watt rail. You may have to modify the psu.


For those who dont know this may help...


      V                  W
----------        --------
   I   X  R           V  X  I

W= Watts        V= Voltage     I= Current  R= Resistance

Therefore:

V = I X R  :  I = V/R  :  R = V/I

Example

If Voltage = 24V and Resistance = 1.2 Ohms  then

I=   V/R      I=   24/1.2   I =  20 A

W= V x I    W= 24 x 20  W= 480 W


For the lazy  try :  http://www.sengpielaudio.com/calculator-ohmslaw.htm

[/quote]

marto74
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
June 14, 2013, 12:05:31 AM

BkkCoins,

We have received Avalon sample chips. We did get about 10 K16 boards manufactured locally as well. We want to assemble one board to help with development and testing. We have resources here that can help push the project forward.

Can you upload the silk screen for the components (those nice little labels that indicate which component is to be placed where on the board)? And if possible XY data that can be fed to an SMT machine?


Good operator can program this preaty fast- a few hours
By silk scren you meen stencil ?

http://technobit.eu
tips : 12DNdacCtUZ99qcP74FwchaCPzeDL9Voff
terrahash
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:10:43 AM

BkkCoins,

We have received Avalon sample chips. We did get about 10 K16 boards manufactured locally as well. We want to assemble one board to help with development and testing. We have resources here that can help push the project forward.

Can you upload the silk screen for the components (those nice little labels that indicate which component is to be placed where on the board)? And if possible XY data that can be fed to an SMT machine?


Good operator can program this preaty fast- a few hours
By silk scren you meen stencil ?

Not the stencil, but the silkscreen used the print those little label (C1, C2, R1, R2 etc) on the board, so that the people assembling the board can know which Capacitor goes where and which Resistor goes where etc.
marto74
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
June 14, 2013, 12:15:58 AM

This one ?
https://github.com/bkkcoins/klondike/blob/master/kicad/k16/plots/k16-F_SilkS.gto

http://technobit.eu
tips : 12DNdacCtUZ99qcP74FwchaCPzeDL9Voff
terrahash
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:17:42 AM


This one only has the markings for the Avalon chips, and fan/i2c/icsp header. Doesn't have any other components.
marto74
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
June 14, 2013, 12:19:29 AM

then I'll probsbly need the same thing.
Funny my SMT contractor did no mentioned it

http://technobit.eu
tips : 12DNdacCtUZ99qcP74FwchaCPzeDL9Voff
terrahash
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:27:32 AM

then I'll probsbly need the same thing.
Funny my SMT contractor did no mentioned it

I wonder why not, its impossible to assemble a board if you don't know which component goes where. Of course I can look at the datasheets of the controllers and the components to figure it out, but since BkkCoins already has it, doing it myself would be just a waste of time.
erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:32:31 AM

BkkCoins,

We have received Avalon sample chips. We did get about 10 K16 boards manufactured locally as well. We want to assemble one board to help with development and testing. We have resources here that can help push the project forward.

Can you upload the silk screen for the components (those nice little labels that indicate which component is to be placed where on the board)? And if possible XY data that can be fed to an SMT machine?


It's good you have samples already, trouble is that you will get the board finished and tested, then just sit there for months waiting on a real supply of chips. I guess you can mine on the prototype in the meantime to help pay overheads.


TomKeddie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 176
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:53:05 AM

It's good you have samples already, trouble is that you will get the board finished and tested, then just sit there for months waiting on a real supply of chips. I guess you can mine on the prototype in the meantime to help pay overheads.

I, for one, am grateful there are people putting time and money into this design, thanks Terrahash!  A lot of us are depending on this design, a board re-roll will easily eat a week or two, the earlier the better!
fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 01:25:32 AM

terrahsah & marto74 are you guys building this before BkkCoins has a chance to debug his design?
I would not put the ASIC's on the board until the power supply section is confirmed working.
 
drewh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 01:54:36 AM

BkkCoins,

We have received Avalon sample chips. We did get about 10 K16 boards manufactured locally as well. We want to assemble one board to help with development and testing. We have resources here that can help push the project forward.


I believe BkkCoins has yet to receive any sample ASICs. Maybe you could send him one or two ASAP priority. I知 sure I知 not the only one here who would be willing to help pay for shipping and reimburse you for the parts - or replace them from a later sample shipment - I知 expecting samples from steamboat batch #2.

I also would like to help with testing, but BkkCoins really should be highest priority.

Drew
terrahash
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 01:57:46 AM

BkkCoins,

We have received Avalon sample chips. We did get about 10 K16 boards manufactured locally as well. We want to assemble one board to help with development and testing. We have resources here that can help push the project forward.

Can you upload the silk screen for the components (those nice little labels that indicate which component is to be placed where on the board)? And if possible XY data that can be fed to an SMT machine?



I believe BkkCoins has yet to receive any sample ASICs. Maybe you could send him one or two ASAP priority. I知 sure I知 not the only one here who would be willing to help pay for shipping and reimburse you for the parts.

I also would like to help with testing, but BkkCoins really should be highest priority.

Drew

We can certainly send him a few chips.

BkkCoins, please let me know your address info in my inbox if you still haven't received nay chips. I would be happy to send you a few for testing.

drewh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 02:13:46 AM

We can certainly send him a few chips.

BkkCoins, please let me know your address info in my inbox if you still haven't received nay chips. I would be happy to send you a few for testing.


Thanks so much, it looks like you guys are the first to actually receive sample chips!
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2013, 02:16:43 AM

BkkCoins,

We have received Avalon sample chips. We did get about 10 K16 boards manufactured locally as well. We want to assemble one board to help with development and testing. We have resources here that can help push the project forward.

Can you upload the silk screen for the components (those nice little labels that indicate which component is to be placed where on the board)? And if possible XY data that can be fed to an SMT machine?
Wow. This is news to me. And frankly it terrifies me that so much has been invested in my design when I haven't even been able to verify it.  However, I'm not going to stand in the way despite the feeling that control is being wrestled away.

I'm ready to release everything I have along with a proper open source license but first I would need two things - 1. A public commitment that any info derived from testing/debugging  will be submitted back quickly so that everyone has access in a timely fashion. 2. A disclosure regarding any independent firmware and driver development and whether you plan to use proprietary code to enter the market first.

The lack of past communication makes me concerned that your main goal is to gaining competitive advantage, and that my materials will be used towards shutting everyone else committed to assembling units, and who have been communicating with me daily, out of the market.

eroxors
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000


Think. Positive. Thoughts.


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2013, 02:23:50 AM

Quote
The lack of past communication makes me concerned that your main goal is to gaining competitive advantage, and that my materials will be used towards shutting everyone else committed to assembling units, and who have been communicating with me daily, out of the market.

Nail. Head. Welcome to greed city.

BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2013, 02:33:03 AM

terrahsah & marto74 are you guys building this before BkkCoins has a chance to debug his design?
I would not put the ASIC's on the board until the power supply section is confirmed working.
 
Yes. Please take note here. I'm pretty sure that both involved know what they're doing but if anyone else out there has been making boards off the gerbers, then at least fully test the power supply under some load before risking actual chips.

I'm explicitly stating that I won't be held responsible for anything when I haven't even been yet able to test anything myself.

daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 14, 2013, 02:45:23 AM

Are you going to release your PC-PIC protocol? I'd like to use the same protocol in my project to reduce the amount of work needed on the miner side.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1002


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2013, 02:47:04 AM

Are you going to release your PC-PIC protocol? I'd like to use the same protocol in my project to reduce the amount of work needed on the miner side.
It's already up on github in the Technical Reference PDF. I still need to add some data format details.

I have just the beginnings of a cgminer driver but my work there stalled after I got more focussed on the hardware. I have some plans in that area but have been unable to get back to them.

daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 14, 2013, 02:47:51 AM

Are you going to release your PC-PIC protocol? I'd like to use the same protocol in my project to reduce the amount of work needed on the miner side.
It's already up on github in the Technical Reference PDF.

Awesome, I guess I should actually check out your repo Smiley

Thanks!

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
Pages: « 1 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 [72] 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 ... 182 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!