Bitcoin Forum
April 18, 2014, 07:27:35 PM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76
  Print  
Author Topic: MultiBit  (Read 122433 times)
lenny_
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 18, 2012, 09:35:52 PM
 #1041

@jim618:
Thank you! So it looks like transaction don't even get out from bitcoinj? So why it is reported as sended, and "seen by 1 peer"?
Is there anything I can do about it? What's the fee amount I should include? Can bitcoinj predict what transaction fee should be like?

Today, as always I had problem to send BTC to an address. Minimal Fee was included, but it stuck "seen by 1 peer", as usual.
So I went to BlockChain.info wallet, where I have same addresses added as backup. I manage to send same amount of BTC with 0 Fee.

https://blockchain.info/tx/e559ccd123d0250ee9b44fdf774a0e6eedb60c1f37dd67899446d2d34bd87cd0
Transaction was included in block relayed by OzCoin mining pool straight after 2 minutes.

Regards
lenny

OTR: lenny_ | Public key GPG: 0x571a3d6b | ASICminer.pl - Cloud Mining - 3 year Bitcoin mining contracts
1397849255
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397849255

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397849255
Reply with quote  #2

1397849255
Report to moderator
GAWMiners.com - Buy 4 ASIC Miners get ONE FREE!
Limited 24hr Offer Code: BUY4GET1
Mining Made Easy
For Everyone

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397849255
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397849255

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397849255
Reply with quote  #2

1397849255
Report to moderator
1397849255
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397849255

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397849255
Reply with quote  #2

1397849255
Report to moderator
1397849255
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397849255

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397849255
Reply with quote  #2

1397849255
Report to moderator
1397849255
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397849255

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397849255
Reply with quote  #2

1397849255
Report to moderator
jim618
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 18, 2012, 10:09:37 PM
 #1042

Hi Lenny,

MultiBit sends out it's transactions to a bitcoind (who then relays it to the rest of the Bitcoin network).
Thus 'seen by 1 peer' is normally a result of a transaction being sent to a bitcoind but that node has not relayed it to other nodes. (it can also be due to network failure as I mentioned before). In your logs there were no errors to do with transmitting the transaction.

Bitcoinj (which MultiBit uses) currently does not calculate the fees as per the rather complicated Bitcoin fee calculation rules which is probably where the problem lies. If the node that receives the transaction 'does not like' the transaction then it won't relay it.

I am sure it is on Mike's todo list. There isn't really much the user can do about this at the moment as you cannot work out what the fee should be manually - it depends on how the transaction is constructed. (and how the transaction is constructed affects the fee - it's not trivial to work it out).

In effect, MultiBit/ bitcoinj has to 'persuade' the node it is transmitting to to pass on the transaction but at the moment the calculated fees aren't right.

I think blockchain.info runs bitcoinds actually behind the scenes hence the difference.

Sorry I cannot give you a better answer - it is just not done yet.


MultiBit   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
jim618
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 19, 2012, 04:37:56 PM
 #1043

At the moment the multibit.org files are hosted in a personal webserver and the binaries are on Amazon S3.

To rationalise things a bit and give some performance headroom I have just ordered a dedicated server:
http://www.server4you.net/root-server/server-details.php?products=1

It will be housed in a datacentre in Strasbourg that has multiple fibre optic connections out. I figure the limiting factor will be the machine's 100 Mbit/s network adaptor.


The multibit download is about 26 MB so at 100% load that could provide:

100 * 1024 * 1024 * 3600 * 24 / (26 * 1024 * 1024 * 8 )  > 40,000 downloads a day.

Seeing as how downloads are about 200 a day now there is plenty of room for growth !

It will be a little while before everything gets moved over.

MultiBit   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
HostFat
Staff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 19, 2012, 05:43:04 PM
 #1044

Can you provide magnet links? Smiley

Tip / Mancia / Donazione: Click! to Show
Bitmessage: BM-oqEkfpH9HA4vNYMdNmfyjR5zSMJ7pnU3Y
Bitcoin Foundation Italia
jim618
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 19, 2012, 05:58:21 PM
 #1045

Hi Hostfat,

Yes - one of the things on my TODO list is to start PGP signing the installers so that you will be able to download them and verify that they were built by me.

At that point I think it becomes safe to torrent it as the magnet link could be on multibit.org, you'd grab it and then verify it really was built by me and not a trojan.

We probably won't need to do that for a while though as that server should be able to cope with demand for quite a while.
In the server T&Cs there is the no-doubt-usual "no torrenting copyrighted material" but I can't see any problem in torrenting your own files.

MultiBit   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
zxyzxy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile

Ignore
December 20, 2012, 01:56:39 PM
 #1046

why is in the settings the fee for transactions 1BTC? and i cant make it lower.. or did i missed something?
jim618
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 20, 2012, 04:32:52 PM
 #1047

The default fee amount should be 0.001 BTC, with a minimum of 0.0001 BTC

You should just be able to change the amount in the text field in Preferences and then press 'Apply changes'.

In English the amount is written, say, "0.001" but if you have your language as, say, French or Spanish it will be "0,001"

MultiBit   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
zxyzxy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile

Ignore
December 20, 2012, 05:58:11 PM
 #1048

damn, it was truly all about the coma instead of dot, oh mai.. btw the default value for a transaction really was  1BTC, nice.. kinda steep
jim618
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 20, 2012, 06:24:54 PM
 #1049

Yeah - I think there is a bug lurking to do with the initial value of the fee when the user has the locale set up to use a comma. I will look into it. Like I say, the default should be 0.001 BTC

MultiBit   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
foo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 408



View Profile

Ignore
December 21, 2012, 04:25:03 AM
 #1050

The default fee amount should be 0.001 BTC, with a minimum of 0.0001 BTC

You should just be able to change the amount in the text field in Preferences and then press 'Apply changes'.

In English the amount is written, say, "0.001" but if you have your language as, say, French or Spanish it will be "0,001"

I have the decimal separator set to ",", however MultiBit (0.4.15) uses "." everywhere. (Windows XP with a customized en-US locale.)

I know this because Tyler knows this.
jim618
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 21, 2012, 08:37:26 AM
 #1051

The locale settings being used are based on the Java locale, which is looked up from the language. It would not pick up your Windows customisations unfortunately.

MultiBit   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
da2ce7
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


Live and Let Live


View Profile

Ignore
December 21, 2012, 12:54:10 PM
 #1052

I've been really enjoying reading through the Multibit 5.0 code today. (6 hours so far).   Tongue
Somehow I think that MultiBit is going to be lots of fun to hack up.  Wink

Banking Software? I develop it: Open-Transactions
       Windows Open-Transactions Builds
jim618
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 21, 2012, 04:17:14 PM
 #1053

Glad you are enjoying it !

Bitcoinj does most of the heavy lifting - a lot of MultiBit code is UI stuff.

If there is anything unclear just PM me.

MultiBit   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
da2ce7
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


Live and Let Live


View Profile

Ignore
December 21, 2012, 10:30:29 PM
 #1054

Glad you are enjoying it !

Bitcoinj does most of the heavy lifting - a lot of MultiBit code is UI stuff.

If there is anything unclear just PM me.

Because I understand it! I enjoy reading it!
It is neat, logical, and well-thought-out.
This means that your code is easily extendible.

Banking Software? I develop it: Open-Transactions
       Windows Open-Transactions Builds
Mike Hearn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile

Ignore
December 22, 2012, 08:28:24 AM
 #1055

If you are reading the code, make sure you use the latest branch:

https://github.com/jim618/multibit/tree/v0.5-bitcoinj-0.7/src

The link to github from the web site takes you to the long-abandoned master branch.

Although I'm sure you already realized this, the bitcoinj code can be found here:

http://code.google.com/p/bitcoinj/source/browse/

12LMm82ZgAzf7yNDpPydEYxEr4Ap7XtSSK
jim618
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 22, 2012, 09:32:37 AM
 #1056

Yeah - when I finally stop running two versions simultaneously I will rationalise the branches. Something more conventional like master/ development. I am sure Gary has this all worked out already in his projects so I can copy him.

MultiBit   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
jim618
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 23, 2012, 11:15:03 AM
 #1057

I have set up the new MultiBit server.

The website now delivers over https and the installers are hosted on the server itself.

If you view it as http you are automatically redirected to https so you should not have to do anything.
Let me know if you have any problems or feedback in general.

Everything should be available except for some old test reports which I haven't uploaded yet.

MultiBit   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
da2ce7
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


Live and Let Live


View Profile

Ignore
December 23, 2012, 11:24:31 PM
 #1058

I've been reading the https://github.com/jim618/multibit/tree/v0.5 branch.  As the v0.5-bitcoinj-0.7 wasn't stable for me.

Banking Software? I develop it: Open-Transactions
       Windows Open-Transactions Builds
lenny_
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 24, 2012, 12:42:00 AM
 #1059

Latest beta version, MultiBit-0.5.7beta closes immediately after opening, I just see it's window for a second.
Any way to debug it?
Using Windows 7 64-bit & Java version 7 Update 10 32bit

OTR: lenny_ | Public key GPG: 0x571a3d6b | ASICminer.pl - Cloud Mining - 3 year Bitcoin mining contracts
jim618
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 24, 2012, 08:17:48 AM
 #1060

Hi Lenny,

You might have another MultiBit process running on your machine in the background as that can cause those symptoms. If you look in your Task Manager for processes called 'multibit' and 'java'. Either kill them or reboot your machine to get rid of them.

There are two log files multibit_console.log and multibit_debug.log in your [installation directory]/ log directory that should enable you to debug it further.

MultiBit   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!