Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:46:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Phoenix - Efficient, fast, modular miner  (Read 734725 times)
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 12:33:30 AM
 #461

This I don't know exactly. The OS level dependencies are within Python itself.

This is the code to import kernels:

Code:
   import imp
    ...
    ...
    ...
    def makeKernel(self, requester):
        if not self.kernel:
            module = self.parsedSettings.kernel
            try:
                file, filename, smt = imp.find_module(module, ['kernels'])
            except ImportError:
                print("Could not locate the specified kernel!")
                exit()
            kernelModule = imp.load_module(module, file, filename, smt)
            self.kernel = kernelModule.MiningKernel(requester)
        return self.kernel

Thanks, i cheked it out and installing python 3.2 intro winpe fixed the problem, funny thing, i dont need python to be installed intro a normal windows.

BTW, there is a mode to only show up the hash rate, acepted and rejected in the cmd window? im using the "1>something.txt 2>&1" to redirect the output to a text file, for remote monitoring, and i get a lot of unknown characters in the txt file, parsing it is a nightmare, but thats not the problem, the txt file gets to over 1gb in size after 24 hours!

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480949167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949167
Reply with quote  #2

1480949167
Report to moderator
1480949167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949167
Reply with quote  #2

1480949167
Report to moderator
1480949167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949167
Reply with quote  #2

1480949167
Report to moderator
Internet151
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174



View Profile
May 16, 2011, 03:52:35 AM
 #462

I'm still having occasional issues even with the latest version of phoenix not automatically reconnecting to bitcoinpool.com when it goes down for brief periods of time. Either the mining window stops doing anything or it says work queue is empty and long poll messages every ~10 minutes endlessly.
JorgePasada
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 08:26:18 PM
 #463

Just got the following error . . .
Code:
bitcoin@bitcoin:~/poclbm$ ./poclbm.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./poclbm.py", line 27, in <module>
    platforms = cl.get_platforms()
pyopencl.LogicError: clGetPlatformIDs failed: invalid/unknown error code

Any Help?

Just followed the 11.04 thread guide http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7514.0 at that link.

Got the error above. I went with SDK 2.4

Should I be using 2.4 or 2.1? I'm mainly running on 5xxx series hardware.

Thanks to everyone who's contributing to this thread, sorry for the chatter, trying to learn is slow and painful . . .
evilpumpkin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 17, 2011, 08:39:22 PM
 #464

Hi,

I get "Warning: work queue empty, miner is idle" both on mining.bitcoin.cz (RPC) and bitcoinpool.com (RPC+LP) with different queue sizes.
The following just occured with queue size 5:


[17/05/2011 22:17:05] Currently on block: 124681
[17/05/2011 22:17:05] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[17/05/2011 22:17:05] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[17/05/2011 22:17:05] New block (WorkQueue)
[17/05/2011 22:17:05] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[17/05/2011 22:17:05] New block (WorkQueue)
[17/05/2011 22:17:06] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[17/05/2011 22:17:06] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[17/05/2011 22:17:06] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[17/05/2011 22:17:06] New block (WorkQueue)
[17/05/2011 22:17:06] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[17/05/2011 22:17:06] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[17/05/2011 22:17:06] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[17/05/2011 22:17:06] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[17/05/2011 22:17:06] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[17/05/2011 22:17:16] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[17/05/2011 22:17:16] New block (WorkQueue)
[17/05/2011 22:17:32] Result ...0000000019288c5d accepted
[17/05/2011 22:17:53] Result ...0000000045b2e911 accepted
[17/05/2011 22:18:17] Warning: work queue empty, miner is idle
[0 Khash/sec] [15 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC]


It seems that the miner neglected to get new jobs, the last time work on a new block started.

Can anyone tell me where this problem might come from or maybe even how to fix it?


Thanks in advance
benjamindees
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 02:46:09 AM
 #465

Just to post my experience, I have switched from poclbm-mod to phoenix (poclbm), and my reported hashrate is 10% higher with the GPU running 5 degrees C cooler.  I'll have to see whether that translates into a higher payout or not.

Civil Liberty Through Complex Mathematics
Shiver
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 04:40:53 AM
 #466

I have the same experience, but I have to use the mod version of poclbm because otherwise I get the "miner is idle" reports every several hours.  I was about to install the Phoenix app as an alternative until I read this thread and seeing that it has the same issue.  Perhaps I'll have to get a wrapper application that will baby sit the miner and restart it when necessary.


Just to post my experience, I have switched from poclbm-mod to phoenix (poclbm), and my reported hashrate is 10% higher with the GPU running 5 degrees C cooler.  I'll have to see whether that translates into a higher payout or not.
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 06:03:16 AM
 #467

Jedi95 there something can be done about this?


Coding my C program to parse it and get the mhash/s is easy, (last line, seach for [ ), but the file size increase in about 1KB per second!

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
yrral
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 07:09:25 AM
 #468

Jedi95 there something can be done about this?


Coding my C program to parse it and get the mhash/s is easy, (last line, seach for [ ), but the file size increase in about 1KB per second!
I think the problem is that your language interprets the \b control character as some character. Change your system locale or just pipe the output through sed.
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 07:50:29 AM
 #469

Jedi95 there something can be done about this?


Coding my C program to parse it and get the mhash/s is easy, (last line, seach for [ ), but the file size increase in about 1KB per second!

Your best option would be to modify ConsoleLogger to log only the information you want. The hashrate/accepted/rejected are reported separately from log messages so it should be easy to make it output exactly what you want and nothing else.

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
d3athrow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 08:33:31 AM
 #470

I love this miner, this + the phatk kernel i get 10 - 25mh/s more with my 5830 than i do with poclbm or diablominer
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 08:56:05 AM
 #471

Version 1.48 has been released.

Changes:
1. Fixed RPC connection lost callback failing. This *SHOULD* fix the remaining issues with the miner idling.
2. Added phatk kernel to release packages. The included version has the same FASTLOOP changes as the poclbm kernel.
3. Added a warning if WORKSIZE is set incorrectly and the default is used instead.
4. Adds https:// support for connecting to SSL enabled bitcoin clients.

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 09:33:55 AM
 #472

Going to try 1.48 right now,  the idling problem has been absolutely killing me, having to restart things 10+ times per day!  
I did an svn update yesterday and it still went idle on me over the night again (it was r86)... Just did an SVN update again just now, but it only pulled in one change file (RPCProtocol.py).  Now at r94, will report back if the ugly idle problem reappears again!



EDIT:
WOW!  Worse than ever!  Goes idle on all 3 cards within a couple of minutes..  Tried several times, going to reboot and try again Sad

EDIT 2:
Still nothing good,  All 3 sessions go idle quite often, but sometimes within a minute or so it will start hashing again, but eventually it ends up just sitting there idle

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 10:11:06 AM
 #473

My problem is that I have been unable to reproduce any sort of idle problems with 1.46 and later.

Right now the only thing I can do is look at the code and try to figure out WTF is going on. What pool are you connecting to? I can't fix it unless I can see it fail for myself or someone posts enough details for me to figure out what exactly is going wrong.

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
benjamindees
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 10:37:55 AM
 #474

try bitcoinpool.com

Civil Liberty Through Complex Mathematics
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 10:55:30 AM
 #475

connecting to deepbit with all my idle problems

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 11:01:07 AM
 #476

Thanks, I'll run 1 5870 on each pool overnight with lots of extra debug messages enabled and see what happens. Hopefully I will find at least one of them idling so I can get to the bottom of this.

Interestingly I have tested with both those pools before. I blocked packets to the IPs to simulate the server being down/unresponsive and in each case the miner recovered once I unblocked the IP again.

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 11:03:23 AM
 #477

let me try one more thing....  I've switched in the last week to a wireless connection (usb wifi adapter)  and the connection seems super slow (so slow that I have problems even sshing into the box) and it just occurred to me that there might be a link there..  Just went back to wired and restarted the miner, I'll report back if that solves my problems so you don't go wasting your time


thanks

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 11:06:47 AM
 #478

let me try one more thing....  I've switched in the last week to a wireless connection (usb wifi adapter)  and the connection seems super slow (so slow that I have problems even sshing into the box) and it just occurred to me that there might be a link there..  Just went back to wired and restarted the miner, I'll report back if that solves my problems so you don't go wasting your time


thanks

That could be it, since if you can barely SSH into the box it's possible that it's not able to get work fast enough to keep the GPU fed with work. Even so, I already setup the miners for testing so might as well let them run.

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 12:02:41 PM
 #479

I switched back to wired and everything has been doing great so far - so it looks like it was definitely related to a flaky wireless adapter!  Good news for both of us Smiley

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
kwukduck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1564


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 01:26:14 PM
 #480

I'm just a big noob here, running ubuntu natty but can't seem to install pyopencl

whenever i try to install package python-pyopencl it starts bitching about the package nvidia-current, which is unable to install, without this package installed it can't configure pyopencl somehow...

This is what installer returns if it tries to install nvidia-current

Code:
kwukduck@home2:~$ sudo apt-get install python-pyopencl
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
  nvidia-current
Suggested packages:
  python-imaging-tk
Recommended packages:
  nvidia-opencl-icd
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  nvidia-current python-pyopencl
0 upgraded, 2 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0 B/50.3 MB of archives.
After this operation, 154 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
(Reading database ... 143428 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking nvidia-current (from .../nvidia-current_270.41.06-0ubuntu1_amd64.deb) ...
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/nvidia-current_270.41.06-0ubuntu1_amd64.deb (--unpack):
 trying to overwrite '/usr/lib/libOpenCL.so', which is also in package amd-app 2.4
Selecting previously deselected package python-pyopencl.
Unpacking python-pyopencl (from .../python-pyopencl_0.92-1ubuntu1_amd64.deb) ...
Processing triggers for man-db ...
Errors were encountered while processing:
 /var/cache/apt/archives/nvidia-current_270.41.06-0ubuntu1_amd64.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)


14b8PdeWLqK3yi3PrNHMmCvSmvDEKEBh3E
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!