Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 08:05:51 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Phoenix - Efficient, fast, modular miner  (Read 734981 times)
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 06:08:37 PM
 #701

yea. I'm having windows trouble right now and I have been trying to get my miners running on linux since it's free. I don't even have a working windows machine right now unfortunately... although at this moment it seems like one of my old XP machine is able to restore it's OS from a recovery partition.

Anyway... Here is what shows in terminal

Code:
me@ubuntu:~/poclbm$ ./poclbm.py
No device specified or device not found, use -d to specify one of the following

[0] AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 B55 Processor
[1] Cypress
[2] Cypress
[3] Cypress
[4] Cypress
[5] Cypress
me@ubuntu:~/poclbm$ cd ../phoenix
me@ubuntu:~/phoenix$ ./phoenix.py -u http://username.workername:workerpassword@api.bitcoin.cz -k phatk DEVICE=1 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=7
[15/06/2011 01:47:29] Phoenix r101 starting...
[15/06/2011 01:47:30] Failed to connect, retrying...
[15/06/2011 01:47:45] Failed to connect, retrying...
[0 Khash/sec] [0 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC]^Cme@ubuntu:~/phoenix$ cd ../poclbm
wenbin@Binbuntu:~/poclbm$ ./poclbm.py -d1 -o api.bitcoin.cz -u username.workername --pass=workerpassword -v -w256 -f30
15/06/2011 01:48:39, 0b7c45c9, accepted                     
15/06/2011 01:48:44, f2c5f913, accepted                     
299841 khash/s

1481270751
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270751

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270751
Reply with quote  #2

1481270751
Report to moderator
1481270751
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270751

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270751
Reply with quote  #2

1481270751
Report to moderator
1481270751
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270751

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270751
Reply with quote  #2

1481270751
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481270751
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270751

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270751
Reply with quote  #2

1481270751
Report to moderator
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 10:10:50 PM
 #702

Version 1.50 has been released.

This should fix the miner getting stuck idle. I added a workaround for now since I am not 100% confident that I fixed the underlying problem.

Changes:
1. Fixed long poll crashing when the server disconnects the miner with a message
2. Fixed QueueReader error when stopping the kernel
3. Several RPC protocol changes to reduce occurrence of idle miner problem
4. When idle the miner will now request more work every 15 seconds (this should eliminate idling in cases where the connection isn't lost)
5. LP now works in cases where the URL uses a query string (thanks to error for the patch, see page 30 for details)


@SchizophrenicX

You need to add the port after the server:

http://username.workername:workerpassword@api.bitcoin.cz:8332

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 11:03:18 PM
 #703

Version 1.50 has been released.


Thanks! I'll start updating the farm.  Tongue
Nachtwind
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 12:38:18 AM
 #704

I tried it...
Code:
2011-06-15 02:29:22: Wird ausgeführt: E:\bitcoin\guiminer\guiminer\phoenix.exe -u http://xxxx:xxxx@btcguild.com:8332 PLATFORM=0 DEVICE=0 VECTORS  AGGRESSION=5 -v FASTLOOP=true  BFI_INT -k phatk
2011-06-15 02:29:22: Listener für "btc" gestartet
2011-06-15 02:29:26: Listener für "btc": [15/06/2011 02:29:26] Finding inner ELF...

From that moment onwards there was 5 minutes with nothing happening (yet still showing MHASH in the Gui(miner 06-09). ALso the MH was at about 180 compared to 200 with the 1.48 release...

System Specs:
Intel COre 2 Duo 2160
1x ATI 6850
4GB RAM
Windows 7 x64

Guess i will stick with the previous version and hope this might post was useful ,0)
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 02:00:39 AM
 #705

I tried it...
Code:
2011-06-15 02:29:22: Wird ausgeführt: E:\bitcoin\guiminer\guiminer\phoenix.exe -u http://xxxx:xxxx@btcguild.com:8332 PLATFORM=0 DEVICE=0 VECTORS  AGGRESSION=5 -v FASTLOOP=true  BFI_INT -k phatk
2011-06-15 02:29:22: Listener für "btc" gestartet
2011-06-15 02:29:26: Listener für "btc": [15/06/2011 02:29:26] Finding inner ELF...

From that moment onwards there was 5 minutes with nothing happening (yet still showing MHASH in the Gui(miner 06-09). ALso the MH was at about 180 compared to 200 with the 1.48 release...

System Specs:
Intel COre 2 Duo 2160
1x ATI 6850
4GB RAM
Windows 7 x64

Guess i will stick with the previous version and hope this might post was useful ,0)

That's odd, the BFI_INT patcher hasn't been changed since 1.0 so I don't see how updating could break it. Does it work if you don't use the BFI_INT flag?

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 02:08:16 AM
 #706

I tried it...
Code:
2011-06-15 02:29:22: Wird ausgeführt: E:\bitcoin\guiminer\guiminer\phoenix.exe -u http://xxxx:xxxx@btcguild.com:8332 PLATFORM=0 DEVICE=0 VECTORS  AGGRESSION=5 -v FASTLOOP=true  BFI_INT -k phatk
2011-06-15 02:29:22: Listener für "btc" gestartet
2011-06-15 02:29:26: Listener für "btc": [15/06/2011 02:29:26] Finding inner ELF...

From that moment onwards there was 5 minutes with nothing happening (yet still showing MHASH in the Gui(miner 06-09). ALso the MH was at about 180 compared to 200 with the 1.48 release...

System Specs:
Intel COre 2 Duo 2160
1x ATI 6850
4GB RAM
Windows 7 x64

Guess i will stick with the previous version and hope this might post was useful ,0)

That's odd, the BFI_INT patcher hasn't been changed since 1.0 so I don't see how updating could break it. Does it work if you don't use the BFI_INT flag?

For testing I have put this on a number of rigs (4 of 12) in my farm and am not having any issues like you are describing. I am not using GUIMiner though, just running it through command prompt/script. All my mining rigs are extremely clean, just Win7 x64 w/SP1, the ATI Drivers with only the AMD APP/SDK selected, then I use ATI Tray Tools for the OC. Set to autologin and run the scripts. Options:
-k phatk PLATFORM=0 DEVICE=1 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false WORKSIZE=128 AGGRESSION=11

Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 02:17:24 AM
 #707

Heres a pickle, I seem to get 3mhash on the dot less on 4 rigs i just updated with 1.50 from 1.48 with same arguments used.

Retried with 1.48 and hashrate went up exactly 3mhash o_0

Is there a reason for the slight drop, or is 1.48 reporting wrong hashrate ?

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
brunoshady
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 264

Dubs Get


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 02:26:24 AM
 #708

I tried it...
Code:
2011-06-15 02:29:22: Wird ausgeführt: E:\bitcoin\guiminer\guiminer\phoenix.exe -u http://xxxx:xxxx@btcguild.com:8332 PLATFORM=0 DEVICE=0 VECTORS  AGGRESSION=5 -v FASTLOOP=true  BFI_INT -k phatk
2011-06-15 02:29:22: Listener für "btc" gestartet
2011-06-15 02:29:26: Listener für "btc": [15/06/2011 02:29:26] Finding inner ELF...

From that moment onwards there was 5 minutes with nothing happening (yet still showing MHASH in the Gui(miner 06-09). ALso the MH was at about 180 compared to 200 with the 1.48 release...

System Specs:
Intel COre 2 Duo 2160
1x ATI 6850
4GB RAM
Windows 7 x64

Guess i will stick with the previous version and hope this might post was useful ,0)


try the command like this, yours is very confused...


phoenix -v -u http://xxxx:xxxx@btcguild.com:8332 -k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=5
innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 05:25:24 AM
 #709

[14/06/2011 22:23:17] Phoenix 1.50 starting...
[14/06/2011 22:23:17] Connected to server
MSG: upstream RPC error
[14/06/2011 22:23:40] Disconnected from server
[14/06/2011 22:23:54] Warning: work queue empty, miner is idle
[0 Khash/sec] [0 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC]

getting that issue...only with 2 pools tho, any idea?

d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 05:26:35 AM
 #710

new version works flawlessly with the phoenix rising guiminer here

You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
Nachtwind
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 06:41:51 AM
 #711

Ok, started without BFI_INT and with commands put together like suggested:
It seems to be doing "Something".
Code:
2011-06-15 08:36:09: Listener für "btc" gestartet
2011-06-15 08:36:10: Listener für "btc": [15/06/2011 08:36:10] Phoenix 1.50 starting...

Then nothing (no more console output) - but my shares on BTCGuild are increasing. Yet without BFI_INT i have a performance drop of roughly 20% to 25%

Now with BFI_INT and commands put together in the new order there is still no console output but it seems to work with about 5% less MH (compared to 1.48).



In case you dont see a reason for your software behaving that odd - i have a shitload of SDKs on this PC and there might be something interfering somewhere... wouldnt be the first software...

niooron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 03:56:55 PM
 #712

Sometimes I still get stale shares after a LP notification. Is the queue bug still unfixed?

14dxwuQwkQiLbZjJFfciZ26xSGdRU5mKEp
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 04:43:28 PM
 #713

Sometimes I still get stale shares after a LP notification. Is the queue bug still unfixed?

This can happen if the share was already being sent when the LP request returned a new block. Shares are checked against the current block before being sent, but after that there are no further checks.

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
bongo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 08:03:43 PM
 #714

1.50 works well Smiley , stales have come down a bit  Grin

 *Link Removed*
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 08:17:32 PM
 #715

Version 1.50 has been released.

This should fix the miner getting stuck idle. I added a workaround for now since I am not 100% confident that I fixed the underlying problem.

Changes:
1. Fixed long poll crashing when the server disconnects the miner with a message
2. Fixed QueueReader error when stopping the kernel
3. Several RPC protocol changes to reduce occurrence of idle miner problem
4. When idle the miner will now request more work every 15 seconds (this should eliminate idling in cases where the connection isn't lost)
5. LP now works in cases where the URL uses a query string (thanks to error for the patch, see page 30 for details)


@SchizophrenicX

You need to add the port after the server:

http://username.workername:workerpassword@api.bitcoin.cz:8332


Nope. Didn't work. seriously. am I the only one kept having problems keeping a dedicated rig running 24/7 I really need some help

RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 09:04:05 PM
 #716

Much less stales after update! Thanks!

What is so unique in hashskill that makes it faster than Phoenix+Phatk?

If I helped and You do wanna thank:
1FoiQYVPtUwWWnrYe1oYV3GCtJP8YBe1fv
Feel free to PM if you're in a need of any help
-------------------------------------------------------------------
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 10:40:01 PM
 #717

Much less stales after update! Thanks!

What is so unique in hashskill that makes it faster than Phoenix+Phatk?

My guess is that hashkill has less overhead from host <--> device transfers:


Another thing is (don't know if that's possible with pyopencl) - don't use clenqueuereadbuffer() (or whatever it's equivalent is). Use clenqueuemapbuffer() instead. It's noticably faster. Hm really started wondering about modifying some python miner to incorporate that kernel there, looks like a quick way to make it portable to windows. Besides, there are obvious problems with the non-ocl part which are due to code inmaturity.

I have looked at the hashkill OpenCL kernel in AMD's KernelAnalyzer and theoretically it should be the same speed as phatk on SDK 2.4

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 03:43:07 AM
 #718

Awesome! 1.50 totally eliminated the "miner is idle" lines I was seeing every so often!

Edit: I take that back.  I"m seeing the "miner is idle" lines again, although less frequent than before.

Mousepotato
dikidera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 04:54:07 AM
 #719

Hmm, for me, i see a drop of 2 Mhash/s with 1.50. Not something to kill for, but 2 mhash/s more is the equivalent of 5 mhz overclock for me.
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:04:48 AM
 #720

Awesome! 1.50 totally eliminated the "miner is idle" lines I was seeing every so often!

Edit: I take that back.  I"m seeing the "miner is idle" lines again, although less frequent than before.

The problem that was fixed in 1.50 was the miner getting stuck idle due to a bug in the RPC protocol. You will still get "miner is idle" from time to time, but it shouldn't get stuck idle unless it can't connect to the server.

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!