Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:19:05 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Phoenix - Efficient, fast, modular miner  (Read 734918 times)
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 25, 2011, 01:29:25 AM
 #761

Get a CPU with hyper-threading (and 6-cores) and your miners will work among 12 virtual cores.  Having said that, there is something wrong (i.e. very slow CPU, bus and memory perhaps) if your miners are maxing out a CPU core when GPU mining.  I had two cards mining in my main desktop machine [i7 960 3.2GHz quad-core with hyper-threading] and never saw any spikes on any CPU core [of all 8 virtual that show in task manager or other tool].

Are you mining with ATI cards Veldy? AFAIK they always max out at least one core when one mines on them on Windows. If they don't on your system, care to describe your setup for others to replicate? Thanks!

Yes. I mine only with ATI cards, 6970s and 5850s, the former for the dual-purpose use of gaming and mining and the latter strictly for mining.

Setup.  I listed most of it above.  But if you want to know what the board is, it is an ASUS Rampage III Gene with the i7 960 3.2GHz quad-core with hyper-threading and 12GB of DDR3 PC10600 tri-channel memory.  In case you wonder, the 760 is a rare CPU apparently [far more references to the 765 and 770].  I build my machines myself and don't buy DELL, HP, etc "for the masses" crap unless it is for a single purpose that requires a quick purchase [as opposed to deliberation on a good build, waiting for the order and to assemble it.  For my Wife and Daughter .. pre-built is usually fine and in fact, they prefer laptops anyway, so no choice to build really.  Oh yes, Windows 7 x64 Pro [I had ultimate on my previous computer ... what a waste of money for Ultimate, even if buying OEM; only good if you have an MSDN subscription].

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
1481192345
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192345

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192345
Reply with quote  #2

1481192345
Report to moderator
1481192345
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192345

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192345
Reply with quote  #2

1481192345
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481192345
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192345

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192345
Reply with quote  #2

1481192345
Report to moderator
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 25, 2011, 01:42:38 AM
 #762

Oh yes, a nice Corsair SATA6 SSD 128MB for the OS [swap is on a fast hard disk, but it really doesn't need to swap Smiley].  7.6 score on Windows 7 with all at 7.9 except the processor is at 7.6 (my i7 760).  If I find that I need more processing power, this board will take much improved yet [without a board upgrade].

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
btcminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 11:23:06 AM
 #763

Is there a way to limit the amount of memory phoenix miner uses? It eventually uses up all my memory and crashes on linux.
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 25, 2011, 05:08:48 PM
 #764

Is there a way to limit the amount of memory phoenix miner uses? It eventually uses up all my memory and crashes on linux.

Sounds like a python problem.  I am not seeing this on any of my machines [all Windows, since I couldn't get near the hash rates on Linux Ubuntu].

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
foreshadow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 01:25:54 AM
 #765

How do I run this as command line in Linux?

Sharecoin: SgV21AYfccMiTM5EwAwPT8c9AhkkY92muB
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 01:37:00 AM
 #766

How do I run this as command line in Linux?

If you have the proper version of python installed [which presumably you do as either it was installed as a dependency or compiled as one, depending upon how you put it on your system and the distribution that you use], in the directory where they phoenix.py is located:

Quote
python ./phoenix.py

Or, presumably, the phoenix.py file is marked as executable, and if not, you can mark it that way by: chmod u+x phoenix.py

Quote
./phoenix.py

Or course, pass the command line arguments as required [if you don't know, search the forums].

Good luck.

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
beeph
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 06:07:12 AM
 #767

I cant get this to run on windows XP SP3, catalyst 11.6, stream SDK 2.4, radeon 5830.  CPU mining works fine but when i try to mine
with [0-0] Cypress, it says 'connected' then [0 hash/s 0 accepted 0 rejected], forever

any ideas?


phants
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180



View Profile
June 27, 2011, 01:02:27 PM
 #768

Please add to new version - http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=23067.0
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 02:26:58 PM
 #769


This has been added to the SVN, and it will be released with a new version shortly. In the mean time, it is possible to edit kernel.cl and apply this change even with the compiled version.

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 06:00:08 AM
 #770


This has been added to the SVN, and it will be released with a new version shortly. In the mean time, it is possible to edit kernel.cl and apply this change even with the compiled version.

FWIW, I am finding that Phoenix 1.5 [with optimization in both kernels] runs faster using the poclbm kernel than the phatk kernel on my 6970.  Just barely.  I don't know if this will reflect in reduced stales or not. 

1128 (0.35%)   Prop.  6970
894 (0.11%)   Prop.  5850
934 (0.00%)   Prop.  5850

Note that before the change, I was using the POCLBM miner itself for my 6970 and I usually get 0.25-0.40% with Deepbit, but when I used Phoenix 1.5 (poclbm ... phatk I never tried with 1.5 since it was always considerable slower in previous Phoenix versions), I saw slower rates [similar to the POCLBM miner], but high stale rates [over 1.0-1.5%].  All based on a stable Deepbit Smiley  The other miners, the 5850s, always used Phoenix with the phatk kernel [and thus used 1.5 since I learned of it several days ago] and I was seeing somewhere in the realm of 0.6-1.0% IIRC.  So, this fix has obviously affected stale rates.  Having said that, running with the poclbm kernel on my 6970 for just a few minutes has already resulted in a valid stale [not the local stale I reported earlier].  I will continue to run the phatk kernel I think, but for some, the poclbm kernel should still be considered on the 69xx series ... I may make some test runs myself, but first, I need to vet phatk and phoenix 1.5 (patched) against more hostile "environments" Smiley

Rock and roll!

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 07:11:16 AM
 #771

I have some 6950 and i manually changed the kernel line. Miners are actually faster and my stale rate _is_ normal (0.3% - 0.6% after 8h).

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
TurdHurdur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 08:14:37 PM
 #772

Is there a way to limit the amount of memory phoenix miner uses? It eventually uses up all my memory and crashes on linux.
I use a crontab to restart instances daily. The script in my sig, Automatically Identify Disconnection and Switch(.pl) pools, also restarts on various issues.
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 12:31:32 PM
 #773

I am trying to figure out the idle bug / help figure it out. I have phoenix running from source.

added some log commands:

Code:
Miner.py:
    def idleFixer(self):
        self.logger.log("idleFixer: called")
        if self.idle:
            self.logger.log("idleFixer: requesting")
            self.connection.requestWork()
            reactor.callLater(15, self.idleFixer)
        self.logger.log("idleFixer: done")

RPCProtocol.py:
        def idleFix(x):
            print "idleFix: called"
            try:
                x.errback(failure.Failure())
                print "idleFix: success"
            except:
                print "idleFix: exception"



output when the bug hits me:
Code:
[29/06/2011 14:08:58] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[29/06/2011 14:09:13] Result 00000000ad90ac5c... accepted
[184.40 Mhash/sec] [666 Accepted] [32 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]idleFix: called
idleFix: exception
[29/06/2011 14:09:31] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[29/06/2011 14:09:33] Result 00000000006b901a... accepted
[29/06/2011 14:09:36] Result 000000001ad89774... accepted
[184.66 Mhash/sec] [668 Accepted] [32 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]idleFix: called
idleFix: exception
[29/06/2011 14:09:48] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[185.83 Mhash/sec] [668 Accepted] [32 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]idleFix: called
idleFix: exception
[29/06/2011 14:10:09] Result 00000000050217c6... accepted
[29/06/2011 14:10:16] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[29/06/2011 14:10:34] Result 00000000e54ba30b... accepted
[186.39 Mhash/sec] [670 Accepted] [32 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]idleFix: called
idleFix: exception
[29/06/2011 14:10:43] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[186.41 Mhash/sec] [670 Accepted] [32 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]idleFix: called
idleFix: exception
[29/06/2011 14:11:03] Result 00000000a5b52411... accepted
[29/06/2011 14:11:12] Result 00000000c4513815... accepted
[29/06/2011 14:11:13] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[185.79 Mhash/sec] [672 Accepted] [32 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]idleFix: called
idleFix: exception
[182.06 Mhash/sec] [672 Accepted] [32 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]idleFix: called
idleFix: exception
[29/06/2011 14:11:56] Disconnected from server
[180.81 Mhash/sec] [672 Accepted] [32 Rejected] [RPC]idleFix: called
idleFix: exception
[29/06/2011 14:12:24] Warning: work queue empty, miner is idle
[29/06/2011 14:12:24] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:12:24] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:12:24] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:12:24] Failed to connect, retrying...
[29/06/2011 14:12:39] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:12:39] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:12:39] idleFixer: done
[0 Khash/sec] [672 Accepted] [32 Rejected] [RPC]idleFix: called
idleFix: exception
[29/06/2011 14:12:54] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:12:55] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:12:55] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:13:10] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:13:10] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:13:10] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:13:15] Failed to connect, retrying...
[29/06/2011 14:13:25] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:13:25] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:13:25] idleFixer: done
[0 Khash/sec] [672 Accepted] [32 Rejected] [RPC]idleFix: called
idleFix: exception
[29/06/2011 14:13:40] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:13:40] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:13:40] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:13:55] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:13:55] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:13:55] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:14:10] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:14:13] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:14:13] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:14:28] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:14:28] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:14:28] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:14:43] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:14:43] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:14:43] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:14:58] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:14:59] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:14:59] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:15:14] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:15:14] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:15:14] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:15:29] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:15:29] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:15:29] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:15:44] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:15:44] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:15:44] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:15:59] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:15:59] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:15:59] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:16:14] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:16:14] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:16:14] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:16:29] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:16:29] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:16:29] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:16:44] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:16:44] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:16:44] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:16:59] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:16:59] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:16:59] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:17:14] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:17:14] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:17:14] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:17:29] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:17:29] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:17:29] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:17:44] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:17:44] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:17:44] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:17:59] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:18:00] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:18:00] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:18:15] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:18:15] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:18:15] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:18:30] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:18:30] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:18:30] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:18:45] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:18:45] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:18:45] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:19:00] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:19:00] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:19:00] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:19:16] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:19:16] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:19:16] idleFixer: done
[29/06/2011 14:19:31] idleFixer: called
[29/06/2011 14:19:31] idleFixer: requesting
[29/06/2011 14:19:31] idleFixer: done
[0 Khash/sec] [672 Accepted] [32 Rejected] [RPC]

what does that tell me? idleFixer is being called after the problem occurs but does not help. idleFix is not being called.

any suggestions for debugging? are there any RPC status infos that I could have it spit out?




blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 03:26:58 PM
 #774

I am trying to figure out the idle bug / help figure it out. I have phoenix running from source.

added some log commands:

what does that tell me? idleFixer is being called after the problem occurs but does not help. idleFix is not being called.

any suggestions for debugging? are there any RPC status infos that I could have it spit out?


The code you modified was my last ditch effort to create a workaround for the idle problem. As you can see, it didn't work. I have given up on the current RPCProtocol design because it doesn't work, and without the original developer present I can't seem to fix it. Personally I think the issue lies somewhere in the modification to the Twisted.web library to enable persistent connections.

I am working on a complete rewrite for RPCProtocol, but I'm not exactly an expert on netcode so it's taking a bit of time. Expect a release sometime in the next 2 weeks.

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 08:26:36 PM
 #775

I am trying to figure out the idle bug / help figure it out. I have phoenix running from source.

added some log commands:

what does that tell me? idleFixer is being called after the problem occurs but does not help. idleFix is not being called.

any suggestions for debugging? are there any RPC status infos that I could have it spit out?


The code you modified was my last ditch effort to create a workaround for the idle problem. As you can see, it didn't work. I have given up on the current RPCProtocol design because it doesn't work, and without the original developer present I can't seem to fix it. Personally I think the issue lies somewhere in the modification to the Twisted.web library to enable persistent connections.

I am working on a complete rewrite for RPCProtocol, but I'm not exactly an expert on netcode so it's taking a bit of time. Expect a release sometime in the next 2 weeks.
sweet. will be happy to test.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
Lightspeed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 30, 2011, 12:36:51 PM
 #776

hello

I just installed phoneix 1.5 on ubuntu 11.04

but when I run it CPU usage spikes and lags the shit out of the computer, its got an athlon X4 in it, and does it with just one 5850 mining;

I think SDK 2.1 is installed

do I need to install 2.4 ? if so is anyone able to tell me how to do this? otherwise what is the problem? here is the command I was using to start it:

./phoenix.py -u http://ABC.XYZ:123@ozco.in:8332/ -k phatk DEVICE=1 VECTORS AGGRESSION=11 BFI_INT FASTLOOP=FALSE WORKSIZE=128

I could really use the help... please please please

thanks guys

t

Overclocking = money? Greatest full time hobby ever!
1AR2eheP4nckS3tuzZHG6ARYndeddxmeDg
DarkMatter
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


Stop breeding! Save the Earth! www.vhemt.org


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2011, 01:31:17 PM
 #777

hello

I just installed phoneix 1.5 on ubuntu 11.04

but when I run it CPU usage spikes and lags the shit out of the computer, its got an athlon X4 in it, and does it with just one 5850 mining;

I think SDK 2.1 is installed

do I need to install 2.4 ? if so is anyone able to tell me how to do this? otherwise what is the problem? here is the command I was using to start it:

./phoenix.py -u http://ABC.XYZ:123@ozco.in:8332/ -k phatk DEVICE=1 VECTORS AGGRESSION=11 BFI_INT FASTLOOP=FALSE WORKSIZE=128

I could really use the help... please please please

thanks guys

t

Lower your aggression value to 5 or 6 and you should be able to use it while mining.

Feed The Troll!! | 1JKdTyUjxo5VJoaQKjp4oUnXqdSSErC1mp
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 30, 2011, 02:45:25 PM
 #778

hello

I just installed phoneix 1.5 on ubuntu 11.04

but when I run it CPU usage spikes and lags the shit out of the computer, its got an athlon X4 in it, and does it with just one 5850 mining;

I think SDK 2.1 is installed

do I need to install 2.4 ? if so is anyone able to tell me how to do this? otherwise what is the problem? here is the command I was using to start it:

./phoenix.py -u http://ABC.XYZ:123@ozco.in:8332/ -k phatk DEVICE=1 VECTORS AGGRESSION=11 BFI_INT FASTLOOP=FALSE WORKSIZE=128

I could really use the help... please please please

thanks guys

t

Lower your aggression value to 5 or 6 and you should be able to use it while mining.

Even aggression of 9 should be fine (it is with my i7 960 with Aero on), but you want FASTLOOP (or FASTLOOP=true).

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
DarkMatter
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


Stop breeding! Save the Earth! www.vhemt.org


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2011, 05:36:37 PM
 #779

hello

I just installed phoneix 1.5 on ubuntu 11.04

but when I run it CPU usage spikes and lags the shit out of the computer, its got an athlon X4 in it, and does it with just one 5850 mining;

I think SDK 2.1 is installed

do I need to install 2.4 ? if so is anyone able to tell me how to do this? otherwise what is the problem? here is the command I was using to start it:

./phoenix.py -u http://ABC.XYZ:123@ozco.in:8332/ -k phatk DEVICE=1 VECTORS AGGRESSION=11 BFI_INT FASTLOOP=FALSE WORKSIZE=128

I could really use the help... please please please

thanks guys

t

Lower your aggression value to 5 or 6 and you should be able to use it while mining.

Even aggression of 9 should be fine (it is with my i7 960 with Aero on), but you want FASTLOOP (or FASTLOOP=true).

I see a strong Mhash/s drop using fastloop (Q9650 + Ati 5770, sdk 2.4 + drivers 11.5)  so i always use it off.

Feed The Troll!! | 1JKdTyUjxo5VJoaQKjp4oUnXqdSSErC1mp
sang
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 275


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 06:45:10 PM
 #780

On both of my mining machines it appears that after 12+hrs the miners slow down by 5-10%. You can see this represented in the MSI Afterburner GPU Usage % graphs here: http://imgur.com/RCMZ4 The very spikey GPU usage on the left is when i logged into my machine after it was running for 20hrs and on the right was after I restarted the miner clients.

This has been happening for weeks, I restart my miners every day because of it. Any idea what the cause is? It is going from a constant 98-100% GPU usage to 89-100% gpu usage spikes.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!