Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 04:08:00 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 1133 1134 1135 1136 1137 1138 1139 1140 1141 1142 1143 1144 1145 1146 1147 1148 1149 1150 1151 1152 1153 1154 1155 1156 1157 1158 1159 1160 1161 1162 1163 1164 1165 1166 1167 1168 1169 1170 1171 1172 1173 1174 1175 1176 1177 1178 1179 1180 1181 1182 [1183] 1184 1185 1186 1187 1188 1189 1190 1191 1192 1193 1194 1195 1196 1197 1198 1199 1200 1201 1202 1203 1204 1205 1206 1207 1208 1209 1210 1211 1212 1213 1214 1215 1216 1217 1218 1219 1220 1221 1222 1223 1224 1225 1226 1227 1228 1229 1230 1231 1232 1233 ... 1580 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [25+PH] KanoPool kano.is NO FEE TIL 2018 PPLNS US,DE,SG,JP,NL,NYA 🐈  (Read 5048947 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
miner0007
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 06:48:37 AM
 #23641

Hi, I had a question about the solo mining @ solo.ckpool.org:3333  I am solo mining with a U3 and it starts off at 4K difficulty and takes a few hours to lower itself to something like 175 difficulty for my U3 to actually be able to generate blocks.  Then if it power cycles I will have to wait another several hours for it to lower again. Is there any parameters I can specify to start of at a lower difficulty?

Lisk - Javascript Blockchain Development Platform
Get more info below if you want to earn MONEY with Lisk
                    https://liskelite.com
1513008480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513008480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513008480
Reply with quote  #2

1513008480
Report to moderator
1513008480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513008480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513008480
Reply with quote  #2

1513008480
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513008480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513008480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513008480
Reply with quote  #2

1513008480
Report to moderator
1513008480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513008480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513008480
Reply with quote  #2

1513008480
Report to moderator
1513008480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513008480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513008480
Reply with quote  #2

1513008480
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 07:47:41 AM
 #23642

Hi, I had a question about the solo mining @ solo.ckpool.org:3333  I am solo mining with a U3 and it starts off at 4K difficulty and takes a few hours to lower itself to something like 175 difficulty for my U3 to actually be able to generate blocks.  Then if it power cycles I will have to wait another several hours for it to lower again. Is there any parameters I can specify to start of at a lower difficulty?
Solo has nothing to do with this pool Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
miner0007
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 02:36:33 PM
 #23643

Hi, I had a question about the solo mining @ solo.ckpool.org:3333  I am solo mining with a U3 and it starts off at 4K difficulty and takes a few hours to lower itself to something like 175 difficulty for my U3 to actually be able to generate blocks.  Then if it power cycles I will have to wait another several hours for it to lower again. Is there any parameters I can specify to start of at a lower difficulty?
Solo has nothing to do with this pool Tongue

ohhh, I though you were running both! That's not the case?

Lisk - Javascript Blockchain Development Platform
Get more info below if you want to earn MONEY with Lisk
                    https://liskelite.com
huynhdat1989
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 02:47:34 PM
 #23644

Hi, I had a question about the solo mining @ solo.ckpool.org:3333  I am solo mining with a U3 and it starts off at 4K difficulty and takes a few hours to lower itself to something like 175 difficulty for my U3 to actually be able to generate blocks.  Then if it power cycles I will have to wait another several hours for it to lower again. Is there any parameters I can specify to start of at a lower difficulty?

Yes, You can set your minimum difficulty by: [your Ghs] / 358, round it down and multiply by 256.
For example, my miner is 7.5Ths = 7500 Ghs.
     7,500 Ghs / 358 = 20.94 (~= 20 round down)
     20 * 256 = 5,120.
   =>Set your minimum difficulty is 5,120.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 02:56:00 PM
 #23645

Hi, I had a question about the solo mining @ solo.ckpool.org:3333  I am solo mining with a U3 and it starts off at 4K difficulty and takes a few hours to lower itself to something like 175 difficulty for my U3 to actually be able to generate blocks.  Then if it power cycles I will have to wait another several hours for it to lower again. Is there any parameters I can specify to start of at a lower difficulty?
Solo has nothing to do with this pool Tongue

ohhh, I though you were running both! That's not the case?

No he never ran solo pool it is a separate pool run by some one else

And you are not generating blocks.

You are generating shares.

And all share in solo pool are worthless with the exception of one over the diff number .

So what you are asking for is not needed.

If you don't understand me please send me a pm I will try to give a better explanation.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
blockchainmines
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 06:31:27 PM
 #23646

canaan avalon 741 actual load

So I am trying to justify moving completely away from bitmains S9's and into canaan avalon 741.  Yet power is everything in this game.  I need numbers.  An Avalon 741 is rated at 1150 watts for 7.3TH where an S9 is rated at around 1300W for 13.5Th.  Can someone tell me what the 741 is really pulling. It takes 2  741's to get the hashing power 14.6 TH, but now you are at 2300W.  That is crazy, 1000 watts more to get the same damn hashing rate as bitmain, really?Huh I am not looking for cheerleaders on either side but rather the facts that can be backed up. 

Thanks!!
firetreeactual
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 756



View Profile
February 06, 2017, 07:15:00 PM
 #23647

I know a number of folks who are running in the hundreds of A721s (although not necessarily here); I've got one here that consistently runs around 6.6-6.8TH, and this is the tropics (20N). The A6 runs similarly.

My experience with power is with 120V. Both the A721 and the A6 I run here at home (I've got some S7s in Labrador) pull an average of 1155W each (measured separately) at the wall; it varies from 1100 to 1200, but the average is indeed close to the spec, at least here.
I've got a 741 coming in this morning, and I'll put the meter on it just to be sure...but my experience is that their spec is their performance, both in power and hash. No cheers, just hard data in my experience.

Mine on...

EDIT: A LARGE part of my preference in a choice like this is build quality and reliability. Again...personal experience.

To infinity and beyond...on two 741s and one of only 3...nope, make that 4...full nodes in Hawaii...on <30A. (I have other gear on the Hoth ice planet)
tbonetony
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 457


No zuo no die why you try, u zuo u die dont be shy


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 07:36:10 PM
 #23648

I know a number of folks who are running in the hundreds of A721s (although not necessarily here); I've got one here that consistently runs around 6.6-6.8TH, and this is the tropics (20N). The A6 runs similarly.

My experience with power is with 120V. Both the A721 and the A6 I run here at home (I've got some S7s in Labrador) pull an average of 1155W each (measured separately) at the wall; it varies from 1100 to 1200, but the average is indeed close to the spec, at least here.
I've got a 741 coming in this morning, and I'll put the meter on it just to be sure...but my experience is that their spec is their performance, both in power and hash. No cheers, just hard data in my experience.

Mine on...

EDIT: A LARGE part of my preference in a choice like this is build quality and reliability. Again...personal experience.

Looking forward to your consumption result. I am contemplating ordering a whole bunch of 741 as well. Haven't pulled the trigger yet mainly due to their high $/T.

K&T Crypto Hosting, hosting as low as $45/kW per month ($0.06/kWh): https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1794057.0








I offer private S9 rental for various length: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1708351.0
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 09:01:08 PM
 #23649

canaan avalon 741 actual load

So I am trying to justify moving completely away from bitmains S9's and into canaan avalon 741.  Yet power is everything in this game.  I need numbers.  An Avalon 741 is rated at 1150 watts for 7.3TH where an S9 is rated at around 1300W for 13.5Th.  Can someone tell me what the 741 is really pulling. It takes 2  741's to get the hashing power 14.6 TH, but now you are at 2300W.  That is crazy, 1000 watts more to get the same damn hashing rate as bitmain, really?Huh I am not looking for cheerleaders on either side but rather the facts that can be backed up. 

Thanks!!
Um? Where are the "cheerleaders"?

As I stated, I'm getting ~2400W for 14THs (721 + 741)

Yes that is a higher W for 14THs - I'm not hiding anything, it was clearly stated Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 09:34:48 PM
 #23650

canaan avalon 741 actual load

So I am trying to justify moving completely away from bitmains S9's and into canaan avalon 741.  Yet power is everything in this game.  I need numbers.  An Avalon 741 is rated at 1150 watts for 7.3TH where an S9 is rated at around 1300W for 13.5Th.  Can someone tell me what the 741 is really pulling. It takes 2  741's to get the hashing power 14.6 TH, but now you are at 2300W.  That is crazy, 1000 watts more to get the same damn hashing rate as bitmain, really?Huh I am not looking for cheerleaders on either side but rather the facts that can be backed up. 

Thanks!!

simple facts the s9 gets better power results then the avalon 721 or 741

the s9's I owned and still own broke quite a bit.

the r4's get better power results then the avalon 721 or 741
the r4's I own have a bad failure record.

The 3  avalon 721's I own all work.

Last set of  facts and these are  very important facts
 if your power cost is over 10 cents  mining sha 256 for btc is not a good idea you should go for alt coins

 if your power cost is 8 to 10 cents  a kwatt the s9 looks to be the better buy.
 if your power cost is 5 to 7 cents a kwatt the s9 or a721/741 are neck and neck
 if your power cost is under 5 cents a kwatt the 721/741 is the better choice.


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
blockchainmines
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 09:35:50 PM
 #23651

canaan avalon 741 actual load

So I am trying to justify moving completely away from bitmains S9's and into canaan avalon 741.  Yet power is everything in this game.  I need numbers.  An Avalon 741 is rated at 1150 watts for 7.3TH where an S9 is rated at around 1300W for 13.5Th.  Can someone tell me what the 741 is really pulling. It takes 2  741's to get the hashing power 14.6 TH, but now you are at 2300W.  That is crazy, 1000 watts more to get the same damn hashing rate as bitmain, really?Huh I am not looking for cheerleaders on either side but rather the facts that can be backed up. 

Thanks!!
Um? Where are the "cheerleaders"?

As I stated, I'm getting ~2400W for 14THs (721 + 741)

Yes that is a higher W for 14THs - I'm not hiding anything, it was clearly stated Tongue

Sorry, I didn't see your post, but yes I knew you would be on top of the human triangle!!  Smiley
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 09:45:29 PM
 #23652

canaan avalon 741 actual load

So I am trying to justify moving completely away from bitmains S9's and into canaan avalon 741.  Yet power is everything in this game.  I need numbers.  An Avalon 741 is rated at 1150 watts for 7.3TH where an S9 is rated at around 1300W for 13.5Th.  Can someone tell me what the 741 is really pulling. It takes 2  741's to get the hashing power 14.6 TH, but now you are at 2300W.  That is crazy, 1000 watts more to get the same damn hashing rate as bitmain, really?Huh I am not looking for cheerleaders on either side but rather the facts that can be backed up. 

Thanks!!
Um? Where are the "cheerleaders"?

As I stated, I'm getting ~2400W for 14THs (721 + 741)

Yes that is a higher W for 14THs - I'm not hiding anything, it was clearly stated Tongue

Sorry, I didn't see your post, but yes I knew you would be on top of the human triangle!!  Smiley
Last post previous page Smiley
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=789369.msg17749517#msg17749517

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
huynhdat1989
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 11:14:05 PM
 #23653

canaan avalon 741 actual load

So I am trying to justify moving completely away from bitmains S9's and into canaan avalon 741.  Yet power is everything in this game.  I need numbers.  An Avalon 741 is rated at 1150 watts for 7.3TH where an S9 is rated at around 1300W for 13.5Th.  Can someone tell me what the 741 is really pulling. It takes 2  741's to get the hashing power 14.6 TH, but now you are at 2300W.  That is crazy, 1000 watts more to get the same damn hashing rate as bitmain, really?Huh I am not looking for cheerleaders on either side but rather the facts that can be backed up. 

Thanks!!
Um? Where are the "cheerleaders"?

As I stated, I'm getting ~2400W for 14THs (721 + 741)

Yes that is a higher W for 14THs - I'm not hiding anything, it was clearly stated Tongue

2 x Avalon 741 is better than 721 and 741. We can save room.
Can we run SAFE 2 x Avalon 741 on Antminer AWP5 PSU 2600W?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 12:18:29 AM
 #23654

...
2 x Avalon 741 is better than 721 and 741. We can save room.
Can we run SAFE 2 x Avalon 741 on Antminer AWP5 PSU 2600W?
I'm not sure. It's close to the limit.
If the PSU is not high quality then you may find it isn't safe.

I run the 741 on a 1250W OCZ Gold and the 721 on a 1200W Seasonic Platinum and I'm probably pushing them too hard but they are both quite high quality PSUs.
If I ever had the inclination, I could run the 741 using two OCZs since I have two, but for now I've left it on one.
The OCZ  is a very good PSU and I've had the two of them since I started GPU mining, without any problems.

The PSU that came with the Bitmain S2 was a POS, under powered, and died, but I've no idea what they sell now.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 12:44:23 AM
 #23655

Bitmain APW3 PSUs have actually been quite reliable for me and I haven't heard much talking about them breaking up.
Definitely a big improvement after using the Enermax PSU with the Antminer S2 and all the poor quality Apluspower PSUs used in the Antminer S4.

If the 741 really uses 1150W at the 12V side, that would make two miners 2300W.
So if you got about 230V mains voltage and good cooling in your place, I would say it is possible to use the APW5.
With 230V you will need at least 16A dedicated circuit for it.
This is said by a guy who knows IEC standards.

For ANSI standards a.k.a. United States I'm not the guy to give perfect answer.

citronick
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 826


winter*juvia


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 12:59:36 AM
 #23656

canaan avalon 741 actual load

So I am trying to justify moving completely away from bitmains S9's and into canaan avalon 741.  Yet power is everything in this game.  I need numbers.  An Avalon 741 is rated at 1150 watts for 7.3TH where an S9 is rated at around 1300W for 13.5Th.  Can someone tell me what the 741 is really pulling. It takes 2  741's to get the hashing power 14.6 TH, but now you are at 2300W.  That is crazy, 1000 watts more to get the same damn hashing rate as bitmain, really?Huh I am not looking for cheerleaders on either side but rather the facts that can be backed up.  

Thanks!!

simple facts the s9 gets better power results then the avalon 721 or 741

the s9's I owned and still own broke quite a bit.

the r4's get better power results then the avalon 721 or 741
the r4's I own have a bad failure record.

The 3  avalon 721's I own all work.

Last set of  facts and these are  very important facts
 if your power cost is over 10 cents  mining sha 256 for btc is not a good idea you should go for alt coins

 if your power cost is 8 to 10 cents  a kwatt the s9 looks to be the better buy.
 if your power cost is 5 to 7 cents a kwatt the s9 or a721/741 are neck and neck
 if your power cost is under 5 cents a kwatt the 721/741 is the better choice.

My group's BTC farm consists of 108 x S9-v1s for about 7 months now, and 120 x A721s coming 2 months.
Labrador ISP is using Hydro power so its the "5 cents" range as listed by Phil above.

S9 farm - about 15-20% of the lot gives me a lot of headaches (mostly HW issues, dead boards & controllers) and required 3 x RMAs to get them to behave. I must admit that Bitmain has honored all RMAs but process takes 2-3 weeks each which too long. Every miner down = lost in revenue. Daily farm monitoring is mandatory so my ISP runs a script to scan and pick out S9s that hashes below a threshold and reboots that miner. Last resort, power cycle that is still done manually by on-site engineer or I remotely access the APC Switched PDU system.

A721 farm - after setting and finetuning the controllers (6 x controllers manages 20 x A721s), they rampup fast and hash. About half of them are hashing at near maximum speed (120THs per controller) and the other 3 slightly under 100THs per controller. Still fine-tuning them along the way and no RMAs required yet. Farm management is a breeze because any pool changes is done on 6 x fast controllers, unlike S9s where without a proxy server setup, you basically need to change pool settings on each miner. I dont worry about the A7 farm as much.

Conclusion:
I rather be happy the farm is steadily mining - stable and HW in tip-top condition, than a farm that needs babysitting and headaches all the time but gives me "a few more BTCs because of that a few hundred extra THs" -- BTC$ speak, I rather pay that amount to have a steady farm and a peace of mind.

Eventhough, we go strictly by hash/power ratio => ROI => profitability, I have to add another factor: "hash opportunity lost due to downtime/underhash". At this point, A7s is leading the way in overall efficiency. My group will do a final expansion of the farm from 2PH to about 3.3PH this year (short of buying our own power transformer), likely will use A741s or better, to deliver best overall operating efficiency. If Bitmain can get their quality control improved then we have real case to consider their S10 or whatever, meanwhile full speed ahead because Labrador has a long winter period.

Good mining everyone!

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
firetreeactual
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 756



View Profile
February 07, 2017, 01:13:07 AM
 #23657

Thanks for that one, Cirtonick.

A bit OT, but I'm not hearing back from Jon yet (it's early there)...anyone know if I can run this 721 and the new 741 from the same controller that's been running the 721? It has the most recent .img on it.

To infinity and beyond...on two 741s and one of only 3...nope, make that 4...full nodes in Hawaii...on <30A. (I have other gear on the Hoth ice planet)
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 01:16:22 AM
 #23658

Thanks for that one, Cirtonick.

A bit OT, but I'm not hearing back from Jon yet (it's early there)...anyone know if I can run this 721 and the new 741 from the same controller that's been running the 721? It has the most recent .img on it.
Yeah, you can even run them in the same chain.
Older Avalon generations can also be used with the same raspberry pi but they need to be in a own chain.
So what I mean is that behind one usb adapter you can't mix A7s and A6s for example.

firetreeactual
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 756



View Profile
February 07, 2017, 01:29:01 AM
 #23659

Thanks for that one, Cirtonick.

A bit OT, but I'm not hearing back from Jon yet (it's early there)...anyone know if I can run this 721 and the new 741 from the same controller that's been running the 721? It has the most recent .img on it.
Yeah, you can even run them in the same chain.
Older Avalon generations can also be used with the same raspberry pi but they need to be in a own chain.
So what I mean is that behind one usb adapter you can't mix A7s and A6s for example.
Cool...that's what I had thought. Thanks you muchly.
 Kiss

To infinity and beyond...on two 741s and one of only 3...nope, make that 4...full nodes in Hawaii...on <30A. (I have other gear on the Hoth ice planet)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 02:53:27 AM
 #23660

Thanks for that one, Cirtonick.

A bit OT, but I'm not hearing back from Jon yet (it's early there)...anyone know if I can run this 721 and the new 741 from the same controller that's been running the 721? It has the most recent .img on it.

yes and in the same chain.  or so I have been told.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: « 1 ... 1133 1134 1135 1136 1137 1138 1139 1140 1141 1142 1143 1144 1145 1146 1147 1148 1149 1150 1151 1152 1153 1154 1155 1156 1157 1158 1159 1160 1161 1162 1163 1164 1165 1166 1167 1168 1169 1170 1171 1172 1173 1174 1175 1176 1177 1178 1179 1180 1181 1182 [1183] 1184 1185 1186 1187 1188 1189 1190 1191 1192 1193 1194 1195 1196 1197 1198 1199 1200 1201 1202 1203 1204 1205 1206 1207 1208 1209 1210 1211 1212 1213 1214 1215 1216 1217 1218 1219 1220 1221 1222 1223 1224 1225 1226 1227 1228 1229 1230 1231 1232 1233 ... 1580 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!