Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 02:48:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 1083 1084 1085 1086 1087 1088 1089 1090 1091 1092 1093 1094 1095 1096 1097 1098 1099 1100 1101 1102 1103 1104 1105 1106 1107 1108 1109 1110 1111 1112 1113 1114 1115 1116 1117 1118 1119 1120 1121 1122 1123 1124 1125 1126 1127 1128 1129 1130 1131 1132 [1133] 1134 1135 1136 1137 1138 1139 1140 1141 1142 1143 1144 1145 1146 1147 1148 1149 1150 1151 1152 1153 1154 1155 1156 1157 1158 1159 1160 1161 1162 1163 1164 1165 1166 1167 1168 1169 1170 1171 1172 1173 1174 1175 1176 1177 1178 1179 1180 1181 1182 1183 ... 1545 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [25+PH] KanoPool kano.is NO FEE TIL 2018 PPLNS US,DE,SG,JP,NL,NYA 🐈  (Read 4920175 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 22, 2016, 12:47:43 PM
 #22641

ALso i have a huge concern that the orphan block you got along with the problem of block submittin ck had .  The timing of the two sure seem suspicious.  What i think happen is you messed with code to support segwit and its not compatible with something your software is doing.  Odd that both happen at same time  look at the dates of ck post and the date of your orphan
The fuck up in my segwit code was purely on my part with the solo code which is different to the publicly released ckpool code. Additionally the solo code fuck up didn't even generate blocks so there's no way they can even become orphans which are otherwise valid blocks.  Kano doesn't have access to the solo ckpool code and the kano.is pool has not changed its ckpool code in many months; it currently does not have any support for segwit, and as most people on this thread are well aware, Kano himself is against segwit so would only adopt newer code if segwit actually activated. Your fears are unfounded.
Well yeah but also - he was implying there was something wrong with the block itself.
That's clearly false - blockchain.info accepted the block and even saw it before the other.
He's just making up crap that doesn't even match facts - I think I'll just delete his post - it's bullshit anyway.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
1511146105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511146105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511146105
Reply with quote  #2

1511146105
Report to moderator
1511146105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511146105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511146105
Reply with quote  #2

1511146105
Report to moderator
1511146105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511146105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511146105
Reply with quote  #2

1511146105
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511146105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511146105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511146105
Reply with quote  #2

1511146105
Report to moderator
1511146105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511146105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511146105
Reply with quote  #2

1511146105
Report to moderator
AmbH
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
December 22, 2016, 01:32:12 PM
 #22642

Just a quick thank you, Kano, for NYA node. Switched over 2 days ago and am seeing better ping times and reduced error rates. Encourage those on or near US east coast to test the node. Thanks again!
blockchainmines
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
December 22, 2016, 02:37:15 PM
 #22643

Well it's something I added to CKDB long ago to be able to change the miner reward (to put it up twice before)
Here's the message just now:
Code:
[2016-12-16 22:13:02.186+11] process_pplns(): *** block 443699 payout reward overridden, was 1278060860 now 1389667900 = 111607040 (8.7325%) more

There was also something I was waiting on this block for that really had me wondering if it was some sort of vengeance by the block Gods Smiley
I created another node to test a less modified version of 0.13.1 so I can use it on all the nodes except the main pool - to send/receive blocks to/from the fibre block relay network faster. That pretty much requires 0.13.1 to optimise it's use.
And yep, yay, that block was properly submitted and accepted on the test node so that's all good now too, I'll update all the nodes - except the main pool - in the next day to 0.13.1 without segwit Smiley

This may be a silly question and I may have missed a thread that could have explained this but here you go.  Why wouldn't you do the same update to the main pool?  
The main pool generates the work, all (main and nodes) submit blocks.
Submitting a block on a node that no one is mining to, has no chance of causing any problems if it fails.
The initial test worked fine.

I've now switched 3 of the nodes over to the 0.13.1 version.
Aside: the SG node is now a new one, no longer linode. I've also setup a us-east node so it's close to the us-east fibre relay.
The 0.13.1 has, of course, continued to work as expected on the 3 nodes with the new blocks

The work generation for core bitcoind is different now because they have put segwit in it and I'll need to do work generation testing (without segwit) before I switch that over.
Simply, it will require more testing than needed for nodes.

Everything is either 0.13.0 or 0.13.1, but 0.13.1 has a small advantage with using the fibre relay.

So what is Las Vegas Running as opposed to New York.  I live closer to Las Vegas so that would seem like the obvious choice and my latency is 48ms  while my latency is 63ms to NewYork.  If New York is running more up to date code 13.1, would it make sense to point my miners that direction despite the slight increase in latency?
ZACHM
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
December 22, 2016, 05:19:16 PM
 #22644

Everything is running the same code. It is just another node to connect to. For those further from the main server in Nevada it helps reduce stales.
cryptichermit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
December 22, 2016, 08:38:42 PM
 #22645

Well after checking options with the. 2 and 1/3 s9 old firm ware gear.

Upgrade to auto tune will make them too loud.

We moved them all from the solar loft and put them in buysolars basement for heating.

So we have to run fans at 50 % and set freq at 525.

Thus auto tune won't be viable for about 120 days.

It is pretty clear to me the old firm ware sucks at block finding.

Kane's stats show it.

And the guy that spent 325 btc solo mining  on nice hash with far better luck at .01 or 10 th settings.

(No s9s at that setting). Really indicate the old s9 firm ware sucks.

Soooooooo we will point the 27th at f2pool.

And keep the avalons pointed here.  13th

If your setup forces you to lower fans and not use auto tune I guess f2 pool should suffer. For it not kano

Why not just hack the cgi and unlock your fan setting?
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
December 22, 2016, 09:16:02 PM
 #22646

Well after checking options with the. 2 and 1/3 s9 old firm ware gear.

Upgrade to auto tune will make them too loud.

We moved them all from the solar loft and put them in buysolars basement for heating.

So we have to run fans at 50 % and set freq at 525.

Thus auto tune won't be viable for about 120 days.

It is pretty clear to me the old firm ware sucks at block finding.

Kane's stats show it.

And the guy that spent 325 btc solo mining  on nice hash with far better luck at .01 or 10 th settings.

(No s9s at that setting). Really indicate the old s9 firm ware sucks.

Soooooooo we will point the 27th at f2pool.

And keep the avalons pointed here.  13th

If your setup forces you to lower fans and not use auto tune I guess f2 pool should suffer. For it not kano

Why not just hack the cgi and unlock your fan setting?


Care to show us how?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
ComputerGenie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


Retired IRCX God


View Profile
December 22, 2016, 09:34:18 PM
 #22647

Why not just hack the cgi and unlock your fan setting?
Or, one could just accept that the manufacture might know a little more about what the right speeds are... Tongue

If you have to ask why, you wouldn`t understand my answer.
firetreeactual
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
December 22, 2016, 10:25:58 PM
 #22648

Why not just hack the cgi and unlock your fan setting?
Or, one could just accept that the manufacture might know a little more about what the right speeds are... Tongue
In principle, agreed...but unfortunately that has not been the historical record...  Undecided

To infinity and beyond...on two 741s and one of only 3...nope, make that 4...full nodes in Hawaii...on <30A. (I have other gear on the Hoth ice planet)
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 22, 2016, 11:57:17 PM
 #22649

...
So what is Las Vegas Running as opposed to New York.  I live closer to Las Vegas so that would seem like the obvious choice and my latency is 48ms  while my latency is 63ms to NewYork.  If New York is running more up to date code 13.1, would it make sense to point my miners that direction despite the slight increase in latency?
It's all in the public code in git (just thought I'd mention that in case anyone was wondering) but how remote nodes work (and why):

The main pool - in Vegas - generates all work sent to all miners. Always.

Without a node, it does the obvious - sends you new work after a block change or 30 seconds, and when you send shares, it decides if they are stale based on the work vs the current network block (and also a time limit in minutes)
If it's a block, ckpool sends it to a local bitcoind.

Nodes: they run sorta like a proxy with local block submit, but have a trust level, so no one but me can point them at the pool.
What happens is the miner's work from Vegas is sent to the node then forwarded to the miner - just like a passthru proxy.
Thus the work change time, vs directly connecting to Vegas, will depend on the trip time from Vegas to the node then from the node to you - vs your direct trip time to Vegas.
If you are a lot 'closer' to the node, or on the 'other side' of the node, then that's no real loss i.e. no real difference - so that's good.
If your path to Vegas is unreliable or slow, then the nodes path to Vegas may also improve the overall path noticeably.

However, the gain to be had with nodes:
The time you submit your share to the node, is the time Vegas uses to decide if the share is stale or not.
Why? Because the node submits blocks directly to it's local bitcoind (and to the fibre network)
So if your share is a block, it will be submitted immediately, not waiting until it gets back to Vegas.
Thus nodes reduce the stales on submitted shares, if you are closer to the node than to Vegas.

i.e. there's 2 effects. The work change and the share submit.
They can work together to make it better for your mining if you aren't closer to Vegas.
But if you are between Vegas and the node, it can slow down your work change, but speed up your share submit - depending on your ping and internet routing.

What version of bitcoind that is running on the node, has no real effect on why you'd use a node, since nodes don't generate work.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
cryptichermit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 12:30:47 AM
 #22650

Well after checking options with the. 2 and 1/3 s9 old firm ware gear.

Upgrade to auto tune will make them too loud.

We moved them all from the solar loft and put them in buysolars basement for heating.

So we have to run fans at 50 % and set freq at 525.

Thus auto tune won't be viable for about 120 days.

It is pretty clear to me the old firm ware sucks at block finding.

Kane's stats show it.

And the guy that spent 325 btc solo mining  on nice hash with far better luck at .01 or 10 th settings.

(No s9s at that setting). Really indicate the old s9 firm ware sucks.

Soooooooo we will point the 27th at f2pool.

And keep the avalons pointed here.  13th

If your setup forces you to lower fans and not use auto tune I guess f2 pool should suffer. For it not kano

Why not just hack the cgi and unlock your fan setting?


Care to show us how?


I haven't actually tried it for the fan setting specifically.  I've done this to open up the ability to turn off the beep and that's worked fine.
I have my rigs pulling in the cold winter air so even with the updated auto tune they rarely exceed 80c on the temp chip2 readings.

but if you want to make the change - you'd just ssh into the rig.

cd /www/pages/cgi-bin
vi minerConfiguration.cgi

find:
 <div class="cbi-value" id="fan_ctrl" style="display:none">

change to
<div class="cbi-value" id="fan_ctrl">

directly above about 14 lines (right above "<legend>Pool 2</legend>")  you will also need to change:

<fieldset class="cbi-section" id="cbi-bmminer-default" style="display:none">

to

<fieldset class="cbi-section" id="cbi-bmminer-default">

:w
:q

reload page.
ComputerGenie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


Retired IRCX God


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 01:46:57 AM
 #22651

... if you want to make the change - you'd just ssh into the rig...find:
...reload page.
It works for the beep because the firmware still allows it; however, the firmware ignores the fan setting (and has for quite a few iterations).

If you have to ask why, you wouldn`t understand my answer.
mikefallen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 03:32:44 AM
 #22652

On a side note to kano....BTC just broke 900 USD

Cheesy

Bitcointalk Trading Address: 149cRHxme8kP4grxg2f7cgyYTqGhZzvj6f
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 04:44:17 AM
 #22653

Why not just hack the cgi and unlock your fan setting?
Or, one could just accept that the manufacture might know a little more about what the right speeds are... Tongue
In principle, agreed...but unfortunately that has not been the historical record...  Undecided

Hey here is how I look at it.

F2pool can mine with older s9s if they lose out doing this it is on bitmaintech and since f2pool is run by bitmaintech they get what they deserve.

Over the next month I will buy another Avalon and point it here.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
cryptichermit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 04:45:37 AM
 #22654

... if you want to make the change - you'd just ssh into the rig...find:
...reload page.
It works for the beep because the firmware still allows it; however, the firmware ignores the fan setting (and has for quite a few iterations).

I just tried it for S&L's - it did increase my fan speeds, but it also reset the CGI page back to nodisplay.
ComputerGenie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


Retired IRCX God


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 05:03:46 AM
 #22655

... and since f2pool is run by bitmaintech....
Yeah, no, it's not.  Undecided

If you have to ask why, you wouldn`t understand my answer.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 05:09:57 AM
 #22656

... and since f2pool is run by bitmaintech....
Yeah, no, it's not.  Undecided

Yeah and unicorns are real.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ComputerGenie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


Retired IRCX God


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 05:17:16 AM
 #22657

Yeah, no, it's not.  Undecided
Yeah and unicorns are real.
I'm guessing that you think that General Motors owns Ford and Chrysler too, huh?  Roll Eyes

If you have to ask why, you wouldn`t understand my answer.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 05:39:41 AM
 #22658

Yeah, no, it's not.  Undecided
Yeah and unicorns are real.
I'm guessing that you think that General Motors owns Ford and Chrysler too, huh?  Roll Eyes

No they don't .

But f2pool was spun off from ant pool a few years back.

So,if you choose to,believe they are fully independent pool with no affiliations with ant pool then you probably believe Unicorns are real bro Cheesy

As for me I would like to believe  you are an older member that has changed your logo and come back to,troll the forum.

Back to,Kano pool luck still sucks I have a question how much is s9 of our 30 ph?

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ComputerGenie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


Retired IRCX God


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 06:20:31 AM
 #22659

No they don't .
But f2pool was spun off from ant pool a few years back.
So,if you choose to,believe they are fully independent pool with no affiliations with ant pool then you probably believe Unicorns are real bro Cheesy
...
Again, no. Antpool came a year and a half after F2Pool ("Discus Fish"). But I can see how easily one like yourself could confuse Wang Chun and Wu Jihan (the do sound the same if you have a mouth full of marbles).  Roll Eyes

If you have to ask why, you wouldn`t understand my answer.
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 06:33:56 AM
 #22660

S9v1 is very roughly 1/4 of the pool over the last 2 3 weeks.

P.S. no more comments about who owns F2Pool unless they are fact based.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Pages: « 1 ... 1083 1084 1085 1086 1087 1088 1089 1090 1091 1092 1093 1094 1095 1096 1097 1098 1099 1100 1101 1102 1103 1104 1105 1106 1107 1108 1109 1110 1111 1112 1113 1114 1115 1116 1117 1118 1119 1120 1121 1122 1123 1124 1125 1126 1127 1128 1129 1130 1131 1132 [1133] 1134 1135 1136 1137 1138 1139 1140 1141 1142 1143 1144 1145 1146 1147 1148 1149 1150 1151 1152 1153 1154 1155 1156 1157 1158 1159 1160 1161 1162 1163 1164 1165 1166 1167 1168 1169 1170 1171 1172 1173 1174 1175 1176 1177 1178 1179 1180 1181 1182 1183 ... 1545 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!