Bitcoin Forum
November 25, 2017, 11:58:22 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Review] Avalon 6 Miner - Winter Mining - Notlist3d - Also FAQ and Help  (Read 77501 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
December 03, 2015, 09:26:52 PM
 #241

Slightly different topic while I'm waiting on my Avalon 6 to arrive.  Anyone here have experience with Minergate?  Is it even worth our time still to use CPU for mining with that technology to gain other Crypto currency and then convert back to Bitcoin?

This is really a forum for BTC and a device that mines BTC.   

You have a valid question but this is not really the place (I would list a anwser it if was small but it varies greatly).  But I suggest hitting up the  altcoin's discussion forum.   I can tell you CPU mining is dead.  But the anwser overall is a lot bigger question/anwser.
1511611102
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511611102

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511611102
Reply with quote  #2

1511611102
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511611102
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511611102

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511611102
Reply with quote  #2

1511611102
Report to moderator
1511611102
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511611102

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511611102
Reply with quote  #2

1511611102
Report to moderator
1511611102
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511611102

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511611102
Reply with quote  #2

1511611102
Report to moderator
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
December 03, 2015, 09:30:10 PM
 #242

Which is the best mining pool @ this moment?Antpool?i'm living in Belgium.
Thanks


This roughly shows by popularity - https://blockchain.info/pools .  You can look at ones that are public and decide what kind of mining you want to do.  There is a good amount of different pay's when it comes to payout.     

But there are many good pages on this, and also the pools forum i suggest looking there.  You can find a lot of good info from each forum and help support for them.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
December 03, 2015, 10:32:37 PM
 #243

Sometimes I get a good question in my PM's.  In this case Cyper_BLC noticed some hashing boards on the internet showing 36 chips.

I want to thank Yan from BlockC for a very quick response.  The Avalon 6 has 80 chips total or 40 per blade depending on how you like to look at it.   This is the production model.

Any pictures of 36 chips on a board are actually from prototypes and not the production model.   So there are pictures out there but do not fear you are getting the 80 chip version with your order.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
December 04, 2015, 04:07:04 AM
 #244

How much Phs does Avalon have for self-mining? Is Discus Fish ~ Avalon? Or Discus Fish ~ Bitmain?

F2pool has many miners both Avalon and bitmaintech gear miners there.

Avalon is called cannan or something like that . They have a big self mining group on Kano.is

F2pool has some very big miners that earn 2 blocks a day.

I do not know  what they use to mine with.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 04:23:39 AM
 #245

How much Phs does Avalon have for self-mining? Is Discus Fish ~ Avalon? Or Discus Fish ~ Bitmain?

F2pool has many miners both Avalon and bitmaintech gear miners there.

Avalon is called cannan or something like that . They have a big self mining group on Kano.is

F2pool has some very big miners that earn 2 blocks a day.

I do not know  what they use to mine with.

Also F2 is PPS which some like a lot.  Antpool can be to but you have to pick it there.  

And they are Canaan-Creative it was a while ago they did that, a lot still tend to call them Avalon.  With it being a private company there is no way to really know mining operations.

The closest we know is BlockC - http://www.blockc.co/ read front page it shows a 10 MW datacenter they talk about.   Some time they should offer "We are Avalon's global master distributor, and we can offer miner hosting referrals in California, and other US Bitcoin datacenters."

So could be some interesting things there once that starts happening.  But I don't have a date when that happens.  
nhando
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
December 04, 2015, 04:54:55 AM
 #246

I'm still sitting waiting on my Avalon 6 to come.  Meanwhile I got 1 of the HP 1000w Power Supply for free to power my 2 Antminer S3s, replacing a failed Sentex.  These power supplies are quite small, I'm starting to wonder if I should get 2 of these to power my next Avalon when I'm ready for a 2nd one vs another EVGA G2 1300.  The power supply is super quiet except for a little whining noise.  They seem to be super cheap on Ebay for $20, the only issue is I can't readily find the X-adaptor card and PCI-e cables.  I think the PCI-e cables are quite standard so that should be easier.  Anyone have experience with these power supplies vs 2 x Dell 750w mentioned on this forum to compare noise, price and quality wise?  

EDIT :  NEVERMIND, I think I jinx myself after saying how quiet the HP Power supply is.  It was whisper quiet for the first 6 hrs, and now it's fan it's on full force and is super loud for some reason.  I'm only driving 1 Antminer with it and the room ambient temperature is actually 1 degrees lower than this morning.  The Antminer is still only 42c so everything is running super cool, not sure what the deal is but does anyone know if this is normal and whether there HP power supply are known to be noisy?  I guess I'll stick to the EVGA option.  This is unbearable in the room next to my office.

Notlist3d and others, how's your Avalon 6 running?  Still quite stable with low error rates?

Just "Mining" my own business.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 05:33:04 AM
 #247

I'm still sitting waiting on my Avalon 6 to come.  Meanwhile I got 1 of the HP 1000w Power Supply for free to power my 2 Antminer S3s, replacing a failed Sentex.  These power supplies are quite small, I'm starting to wonder if I should get 2 of these to power my next Avalon when I'm ready for a 2nd one vs another EVGA G2 1300.  The power supply is super quiet except for a little whining noise.  They seem to be super cheap on Ebay for $20, the only issue is I can't readily find the X-adaptor card and PCI-e cables.  I think the PCI-e cables are quite standard so that should be easier.  Anyone have experience with these power supplies vs 2 x Dell 750w mentioned on this forum to compare noise, price and quality wise?  

EDIT :  NEVERMIND, I think I jinx myself after saying how quiet the HP Power supply is.  It was whisper quiet for the first 6 hrs, and now it's fan it's on full force and is super loud for some reason.  I'm only driving 1 Antminer with it and the room ambient temperature is actually 1 degrees lower than this morning.  The Antminer is still only 42c so everything is running super cool, not sure what the deal is but does anyone know if this is normal and whether there HP power supply are known to be noisy?  I guess I'll stick to the EVGA option.  This is unbearable in the room next to my office.

Notlist3d and others, how's your Avalon 6 running?  Still quite stable with low error rates?

Mine is still running really good.  I'm enjoying the free heat still have not taken it to my mining area which I planned on doing before now.  I will eventually I still have a few more things I want to test out.

But I do think you jinx'ed yourself on the server PSU's.  In general a lot of the server PSU's are good deals on price, and you can get great cables for them.  But normally they are not known for being quiet. 

On waiting on the Avalon 6 who did you order from?
nhando
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
December 04, 2015, 06:26:27 AM
 #248

I got my Avalon 6 from Zoomhash.  Just checked and it has finally in transit from California.   I got the EVGA G2 1300W PSU used from Ebay for $100 shipped and it's already here before the Avalon.  =(  Right now I have a bunch of different PSU, was really impressed with the HP 1000w power supply until that issue.  After I power it off and back on, it's quiet again but for how long I'm not sure.  My buddy is offering to host 1 of the Avalon for me without any charges to Electricity for 3 months, so if the Avalon is good, I'm definitely considering a 2nd unit.  Only issue with separating the unit is that I would need 1 more Raspberry PI.   

Is your daily BTC earning matching this calculator?  Seems like mine is way below even though Slush pool Hash rate is matching what I'm expecting.

https://alloscomp.com/bitcoin/calculator

Just "Mining" my own business.
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 06:28:55 AM
 #249

Sometimes I get a good question in my PM's.  In this case Cyper_BLC noticed some hashing boards on the internet showing 36 chips.

I want to thank Yan from BlockC for a very quick response.  The Avalon 6 has 80 chips total or 40 per blade depending on how you like to look at it.   This is the production model.

Any pictures of 36 chips on a board are actually from prototypes and not the production model.   So there are pictures out there but do not fear you are getting the 80 chip version with your order.


Very interesting and explains why all the pictures I have seen show 36 chips on a hash Board, but the Spec shows 40. I had assumed that 36 was the correct number, but will now redo my spreadsheet.  Smiley


Rich

→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 07:43:19 AM
 #250

I got my Avalon 6 from Zoomhash.  Just checked and it has finally in transit from California.   I got the EVGA G2 1300W PSU used from Ebay for $100 shipped and it's already here before the Avalon.  =(  Right now I have a bunch of different PSU, was really impressed with the HP 1000w power supply until that issue.  After I power it off and back on, it's quiet again but for how long I'm not sure.  My buddy is offering to host 1 of the Avalon for me without any charges to Electricity for 3 months, so if the Avalon is good, I'm definitely considering a 2nd unit.  Only issue with separating the unit is that I would need 1 more Raspberry PI.   

Is your daily BTC earning matching this calculator?  Seems like mine is way below even though Slush pool Hash rate is matching what I'm expecting.

https://alloscomp.com/bitcoin/calculator

A RPI is prety small in the scheme of things.  If the second one is what's stopping you I would just buy one.  For the most part RPI still hold value since so many use them for projects.   So if you move them together you can combine them.   Or are good just to have in project pile I have one in mine, or a backup if needed.

As far as pool I have not used slush for a long time F2 and Anpool both offer PPS.  Look up on pool types and you will see some vary largly based on the pools luck.  It should equal 100 over time.... but that does not stop it from having bad spells sometimes.

I also like to use - https://bitcoinwisdom.com/bitcoin/calculator i like being able to adjust difficulty and see what it will be.  More info to input but lot better ROI math.

MarkAz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 539



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 02:06:16 PM
 #251

The lookup tool has more than the wiki does, there are other codes that the wiki does not list but the lookup tool will display.

Lookup EC 1028 on both

No, I can assure you that the wiki has more error codes - just view the source on that page, even a non programmer should be able to see the codes that it supports.

You're confusing the fact that the error codes are not values but bits that are turned on and off, so 1028 is actually multiple errors, which are all powers of 2, so the actual errors for 1028 are error 1024 and error 4.
nhando
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
December 04, 2015, 02:12:03 PM
 #252

Wow that is a much better calculator.  It's so clear and easy to understand that it paints such a dark future ahead for mining even if I got this Avalon for $500. =)  Was hoping to break even after 10 months or so but this seems to indicate that I wouldn't even come close to ever recovering my cost even if the difficulty is change to increase only by 7% and electricity rate at 8cents.  Does this mean home mining is dead unless BTC and everyone who is mining is hoping that BTC will go back up past 500?  Now we need a Avalon 7 that can do 5-7TH for the same power usage.   =) 

Just "Mining" my own business.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 02:53:18 PM
 #253

Wow that is a much better calculator.  It's so clear and easy to understand that it paints such a dark future ahead for mining even if I got this Avalon for $500. =)  Was hoping to break even after 10 months or so but this seems to indicate that I wouldn't even come close to ever recovering my cost even if the difficulty is change to increase only by 7% and electricity rate at 8cents.  Does this mean home mining is dead unless BTC and everyone who is mining is hoping that BTC will go back up past 500?  Now we need a Avalon 7 that can do 5-7TH for the same power usage.   =) 

The thing is we had very low numbers for a very long time.  Yes hash is growing... but so is value.  BTC was at 230 for the longest time.   Now it's u to 360.  So there is some very good things going on.

I don't think the 10 percent can last forever  I think we will stabilize at a certain point and we see more normal dificulty but this is all speculation.  And kinda getting off track.

We will see how the weekend goes. As I said before still some things I would like to test (and will).  But it's also been good as I've had time to let the miner run for a longer period of time and it does seem to be working very well.
MathewCNichols
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2015, 08:01:05 PM
 #254

Could anyone speculate if bfgminer 5.4.1 will control this unit? It does show Avalon drivers:
http://screencast.com/t/suU6cR5wlc


I'm currently running Entware-ng (alternative to Optware for OpenWRT) on a ASUS RT-N66U router with an Antminer U2 connected to the back USB port. It works great with the serial silabs CP2101.ko driver. There is no cgminer, but the latest version of the bfgminer package is maintained by Entware-ng:
http://entware.zyxmon.org/binaries/mipsel/Packages.html

I'm thinking I could patch a USB cable from the router directly to the Avalon miner.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 09:03:22 PM
 #255

Could anyone speculate if bfgminer 5.4.1 will control this unit? It does show Avalon drivers:
http://screencast.com/t/suU6cR5wlc


I'm currently running Entware-ng (alternative to Optware for OpenWRT) on a ASUS RT-N66U router with an Antminer U2 connected to the back USB port. It works great with the serial silabs CP2101.ko driver. There is no cgminer, but the latest version of the bfgminer package is maintained by Entware-ng:
http://entware.zyxmon.org/binaries/mipsel/Packages.html

I'm thinking I could patch a USB cable from the router directly to the Avalon miner.

On the 4.1 I know a certain TPlink worked - https://ehash.com/product/tp-link-tl-wr703n-contrlloer-suite/ .  It was able to control the 4.1's.  I don't have one to test as far as using it for a 6.  So far they have just advertised the B and B+ RPI.

Which the RPI turns out to be a pretty good controller. Using one on 3 avalon 4.1's, and on an Avalon 6 and both working great.  I really like the RPI as a controller.
jokerboy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
December 04, 2015, 09:06:16 PM
 #256

Where can we buy this avalon 6 miner ? Avalon 6 or S7 which one is smarter for home mining?
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 09:11:34 PM
 #257

Where can we buy this avalon 6 miner ? Avalon 6 or S7 which one is smarter for home mining?

Zoomhash has Avalon in stock. S7 is not in stock, batch 8 currently being sold for delivery in 2-3 weeks.

Avalon is quieter but less efficient. Both seem to be overpriced for any kind of realistic ROI.

GAWSOME class action
(Homero Garza throws Stuart Fraser under the bus)
ION: XPY successor
                 Make sure to read

                 BitcoinTalk rules
          /s
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 09:13:15 PM
 #258

Where can we buy this avalon 6 miner ? Avalon 6 or S7 which one is smarter for home mining?

This thread really is not a Avalon 6 VS S7 thread.  That is a entire different debate this thread is more to help with Avalon 6.  But if you want the debate between the two look over here - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1195199.0 It's a good back/forth debate between the two.    So use that thread if looking for debating best as it is a never ending debate.

But as far as buying the two official are listed on front page.  BlockC for most everyone, and Ehash for China markets.   There are re-sellers though they buy in bulk and sell in lower quanities.  

I suggest looking through the thread you will find at least 2 re-sellers, and get a little bit about them by reading what they post.  But please read the thread Smiley you cant post on last page and ask for all info Smiley.
jokerboy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
December 04, 2015, 09:36:09 PM
 #259

Where can we buy this avalon 6 miner ? Avalon 6 or S7 which one is smarter for home mining?

This thread really is not a Avalon 6 VS S7 thread.  That is a entire different debate this thread is more to help with Avalon 6.  But if you want the debate between the two look over here - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1195199.0 It's a good back/forth debate between the two.    So use that thread if looking for debating best as it is a never ending debate.

But as far as buying the two official are listed on front page.  BlockC for most everyone, and Ehash for China markets.   There are re-sellers though they buy in bulk and sell in lower quanities.  

I suggest looking through the thread you will find at least 2 re-sellers, and get a little bit about them by reading what they post.  But please read the thread Smiley you cant post on last page and ask for all info Smiley.
Thank you for your help and I am sorry for not reading carefully the thread Sad
MathewCNichols
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2015, 12:25:27 AM
 #260

Could anyone speculate if bfgminer 5.4.1 will control this unit? It does show Avalon drivers:
http://screencast.com/t/suU6cR5wlc


I'm currently running Entware-ng (alternative to Optware for OpenWRT) on a ASUS RT-N66U router with an Antminer U2 connected to the back USB port. It works great with the serial silabs CP2101.ko driver. There is no cgminer, but the latest version of the bfgminer package is maintained by Entware-ng:
http://entware.zyxmon.org/binaries/mipsel/Packages.html

I'm thinking I could patch a USB cable from the router directly to the Avalon miner.

On the 4.1 I know a certain TPlink worked - https://ehash.com/product/tp-link-tl-wr703n-contrlloer-suite/ .  It was able to control the 4.1's.  I don't have one to test as far as using it for a 6.  So far they have just advertised the B and B+ RPI.

Which the RPI turns out to be a pretty good controller. Using one on 3 avalon 4.1's, and on an Avalon 6 and both working great.  I really like the RPI as a controller.

Thanks for leading me down the documentation rabbit hole!

The Antminer U2 uses a sillabs serial controller. I have to load the cp2101.ko kernel object at router boot time to recognize the U2 that uses a USB to serial interface (/dev/ttyUSB0.) Then bfgminer will use that device using antminer:all in the config.
 
I've been looking into the Avalon 6 wiki (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon6) to find out what the board interface uses. I'm guessing it's a standard USB controller and the router would recognize the miner without loading any extra kernel objects. I bet I could just use avalon:all in bfgminer config.

I don't know if I'm willing to pay $1500 to find out. I do have Raspberry Pi 2 that's not getting used. That should be compatible mid Decemeber according to the wiki btw!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!