Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 03:59:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Review] Avalon 6 Miner - Winter Mining - Notlist3d - Also FAQ and Help  (Read 76955 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
tlhIlwI
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 303



View Profile
March 23, 2016, 01:13:59 AM
 #781

Is it safe to disable and turn off odhcpd on the Avalon6 Raspberry Pi System/Startup tab?  

I *think* this is a DHCP server, not the DHCP client.  I ask because I happened to notice PCs on the LAN showing up as DHCP leases in the Status/Overview.  I don't want the Avalon dishing out DHCP leases (that is the job of my firewall/router).  Only one DHCP server should be on the LAN-- I'm not sure why it is trying to act as a DHCP server in the first place.

Simple answer no.

Correct answer make a back up sdcard check that it works .

Once you have two working sdcards try to do just what you asked.

Worst case is you lose the ability to connect to the rasp pi.

If so pull that sdcard stick in the working sdcard.  And re image the card you killed.

Update: odhcpd has been disabled for 4 days now with no problems.  It appears safe to disable it to fix any issues caused by multiple DHCP servers on the same LAN subnet.  It probably just came along for the ride and wasn't caught when OpenWRT was adapted into a mining firmware.

Subscribe to my Bitcoin Mining YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7eam9msr3I2qxzsCzRTuVQ
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511063941
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511063941

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511063941
Reply with quote  #2

1511063941
Report to moderator
1511063941
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511063941

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511063941
Reply with quote  #2

1511063941
Report to moderator
truckinusa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 536



View Profile
March 24, 2016, 10:21:47 PM
 #782

Is Holy bitcoin a reputable website to purchase this miner?   I'm just looking for the  best price and they seem to have it?

bitJob                       ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
                ▄▄▄▄██████████████████▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄▄▄██████████████████████████████████▄▄▄▄
  ▄▄▄████████████████████████████████████████████████▄▄▄
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
  ▀▀██████████████████████████████████████████████████▀▀
      ▀▀█████████████████████████████████████████████
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ▀██████████████████████████████████████▀  ██
          ▀▀██████████████████████████████████▀▀  ████
                                                 ▄████▄
                                                ▀▀████▀▀
IIII
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Electrician. Home miner.


View Profile
March 24, 2016, 10:57:22 PM
 #783

Is Holy bitcoin a reputable website to purchase this miner?   I'm just looking for the  best price and they seem to have it?

Yes. Scott is a decent reseller, also co-operating with some forum members here (sidehack, j4bberwock..)
http://holybitcoin.com/

But also check out this group buy: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1391814.120
Last run's price was 650 USD and I bought one.
It included:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1257327.msg14136125#msg14136125
You get an:

avalon6
a rasp pi with software
a power supply = a wall wart for the rasp pi
2 usb cables
1 little blu light usb to 4 pin wire adapter
1 4 pin wire cable

Next run is coming soon and possibly with a lower price.

truckinusa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 536



View Profile
March 24, 2016, 11:15:31 PM
 #784

Is Holy bitcoin a reputable website to purchase this miner?   I'm just looking for the  best price and they seem to have it?

Yes. Scott is a decent reseller, also co-operating with some forum members here (sidehack, j4bberwock..)
http://holybitcoin.com/

But also check out this group buy: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1391814.120
Last run's price was 650 USD and I bought one.
It included:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1257327.msg14136125#msg14136125
You get an:

avalon6
a rasp pi with software
a power supply = a wall wart for the rasp pi
2 usb cables
1 little blu light usb to 4 pin wire adapter
1 4 pin wire cable

Next run is coming soon and possibly with a lower price.
I'd like to get one if this is a decent miner that should last a while?  I was a little worried about configuring the Raspberry pi. 

bitJob                       ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
                ▄▄▄▄██████████████████▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄▄▄██████████████████████████████████▄▄▄▄
  ▄▄▄████████████████████████████████████████████████▄▄▄
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
  ▀▀██████████████████████████████████████████████████▀▀
      ▀▀█████████████████████████████████████████████
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ▀██████████████████████████████████████▀  ██
          ▀▀██████████████████████████████████▀▀  ████
                                                 ▄████▄
                                                ▀▀████▀▀
IIII
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Electrician. Home miner.


View Profile
March 24, 2016, 11:19:14 PM
 #785

Is Holy bitcoin a reputable website to purchase this miner?   I'm just looking for the  best price and they seem to have it?

Yes. Scott is a decent reseller, also co-operating with some forum members here (sidehack, j4bberwock..)
http://holybitcoin.com/

But also check out this group buy: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1391814.120
Last run's price was 650 USD and I bought one.
It included:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1257327.msg14136125#msg14136125
You get an:

avalon6
a rasp pi with software
a power supply = a wall wart for the rasp pi
2 usb cables
1 little blu light usb to 4 pin wire adapter
1 4 pin wire cable

Next run is coming soon and possibly with a lower price.
I'd like to get one if this is a decent miner that should last a while?  I was a little worried about configuring the Raspberry pi.  
It is a good quality build miner.

This group buy is bought from BlockC and that rasp pi comes with pre-installed software. So it is plug&play and pool settings etc. are done like in any other miner.

notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
March 25, 2016, 01:29:12 AM
 #786

Is Holy bitcoin a reputable website to purchase this miner?   I'm just looking for the  best price and they seem to have it?

Yes. Scott is a decent reseller, also co-operating with some forum members here (sidehack, j4bberwock..)
http://holybitcoin.com/

But also check out this group buy: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1391814.120
Last run's price was 650 USD and I bought one.
It included:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1257327.msg14136125#msg14136125
You get an:

avalon6
a rasp pi with software
a power supply = a wall wart for the rasp pi
2 usb cables
1 little blu light usb to 4 pin wire adapter
1 4 pin wire cable

Next run is coming soon and possibly with a lower price.
I'd like to get one if this is a decent miner that should last a while?  I was a little worried about configuring the Raspberry pi. 

I personally love the RPI ability of A6's.   RPI's tend to last a long time and work good.   Also if a problem you can fix it with backup of SD card very quickly.   And if there is a issue you can get a RPI quickly.  It is not custom gear.

Long story short don't worry about RPI, it's great that A6's use them.
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Electrician. Home miner.


View Profile
March 25, 2016, 11:31:29 AM
 #787

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1411475
The latest A6 group buy is now running.
600 USD +shipping

HolyScott
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170



View Profile
March 25, 2016, 05:39:58 PM
 #788

The latest A6 group buy is now running.
600 USD +shipping

I have Avalon 6 priced at $650, but after coupon code brings me down to under $620 and I actually have stock and can ship same day. I also accept Paypal and Credit Cards, in addition to BTC.  Unfortunately, I do not include a controller as I simply do not have any extra in stock unless for bulk purchases.  

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
March 25, 2016, 07:28:32 PM
 #789

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1411475
The latest A6 group buy is now running.
600 USD +shipping

I have Avalon 6 priced at $650, but after coupon code brings me down to under $620 and I actually have stock, and can ship same day. I also accept Paypal and Credit Cards, in addition to BTC.  Unfortunately I do not include a controller as I simply do not have any extra in stock unless for bulk purchases.  

HolyScott

HolyBitcoin.com


  yeah group buy gives controller wall wart and all accessaries.

 It is a little bit better deal then you are giving, but paypal and credit cards are nice.

 


a buyer needs to buy a rasp pi here
http://www.amazon.com/Raspberry-Pi-756-8308-Motherboard-RASPBRRYPCBA512/dp/B009SQQF9C/ref=sr_1_4?
 a case here
http://www.amazon.com/Case-Enclosure-Raspberry-Computer-Orange/dp/B00APO31PM?
power brick here
http://www.amazon.com/Anker-Charger-Foldable-Technology-Motorola/dp/B014ZN63T4?

33+ 5 + 10 = 48

that is 620 + 48 = 668  plus shipping.  I assume you add in wires for it.

 I am doing 612 to 640 depending on usa location btc only .

 Not much difference.


Due to the huge discount and price drop on bitmaintech's s-7 I am not going to do this Avalon 6 group buy.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966



View Profile
March 27, 2016, 01:04:55 AM
 #790

I turned my A6 off today during the day like I have been doing since I got it, I run my S5 during the day because it can vent outside.  When I went to unplug the power cables from the miner to plug into the S5 one of them was melted stuck.  I managed to wiggle it off.



What would cause this?  It's been running great since it arrived.  I'm using 2x850 watt OCZ gold psu's.  Is there a warranty, and is this covered?  Help!  Cry
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414



View Profile
March 27, 2016, 01:47:47 AM
 #791

For everybody who owns this miner. How long is it compared to say an Antminer S3 ?

FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
9 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
March 27, 2016, 04:14:24 AM
 #792

Did delete one post, commenting as I don't do it very often.  It was a post about a re-seller lowering price.    Just don't want to turn this thread into a continuous ad for a re-seller.  Instead of a second post please just edit first post with new price.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
March 27, 2016, 04:18:58 AM
 #793

I turned my A6 off today during the day like I have been doing since I got it, I run my S5 during the day because it can vent outside.  When I went to unplug the power cables from the miner to plug into the S5 one of them was melted stuck.  I managed to wiggle it off.



What would cause this?  It's been running great since it arrived.  I'm using 2x850 watt OCZ gold psu's.  Is there a warranty, and is this covered?  Help!  Cry

On that it would be caused by the PSU most likely.   I have only had it happen once in my mining career and with with a S3.   But you can contact OCZ and they should do a RMA.

Kinda sucks as the bigger thing is what it was connected to.   Might hit up Block-C and see what they think as far as if it's safe to connect another PSU up to.  Not sure what they will say on it.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
March 27, 2016, 04:19:28 AM
 #794

I turned my A6 off today during the day like I have been doing since I got it, I run my S5 during the day because it can vent outside.  When I went to unplug the power cables from the miner to plug into the S5 one of them was melted stuck.  I managed to wiggle it off.



What would cause this?  It's been running great since it arrived.  I'm using 2x850 watt OCZ gold psu's.  Is there a warranty, and is this covered?  Help!  Cry

You plug and unplug your pcie cables every day?

Think of what that does to the female pcie end! It opens it up.

So the connections get loose .

This causes arc .

That is heat and that melts shit.

Lots of threads abound on pcie melting I have one the j4bberwock 2880/2980 boards

That is more of a breakout board issue.

Your issue is wear and tear as pcie jacks are not meant to be used 4 times a day.

Not sure how much damage is on the pcie jack on the Avalon.

Looks like only the cable was toasted

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
talks_cheep
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
March 27, 2016, 12:35:31 PM
 #795

I've had my pci-e cable jacks melt with S7's. Causes are sub-par PSU and also pci-e jacks were not completely connected. Make sure to use top tier psu if using atx power supplies, like seasonic, evga, corsair; pci-e cables are 16 gauge or thicker; connect jacks until they click; do not plug and unplug multiple times a day, leave'em alone!!!

From the pictures you posted, your A6 looks fine and it should hash without a problem, your pci-e cable(s) should be replaced along with your OCZ junk power supply.

Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966



View Profile
March 27, 2016, 10:23:01 PM
 #796

Yes, it gets unplugged and replugged once per day, I guess I'll have to look into a better way of swapping between S5 and A6 if this is what is going to result.

I thought it was a good psu and it still works just fine, it has been running my S5 for more than 24 hours since I posted those pictures.  The A6 (and S5) is going to Oregon Mines to be hosted pretty soon, once it gets too warm here, and it will get run on 2x 750 watt Dell platinum server psu's there, so I am not going to go out and buy a new psu just for a couple weeks, I was using the OCZ pair because that's what I had on hand.

The pci-e jack on the Avalon has a little bit of melted plastic inside and looks a little brown, I do not feel confident running it again until it has been checked out.  I am totally bummed that it is offline right now but would be even more bummed if it got totally destroyed, I can't afford to throw away the money for brand new hardware.

I guess I should contact Block C and see about sending it to them for an inspection, would that be the best thing to do?

Thanks for the replies, I feel better now than I did yesterday, I'll post a better picture of the pci-e jack on the A6 later today and solicit more opinion on it, but they way I am I'll probably send it to Block C anyway, just to be sure.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
March 27, 2016, 10:43:09 PM
 #797

Yes, it gets unplugged and replugged once per day, I guess I'll have to look into a better way of swapping between S5 and A6 if this is what is going to result.

I thought it was a good psu and it still works just fine, it has been running my S5 for more than 24 hours since I posted those pictures.  The A6 (and S5) is going to Oregon Mines to be hosted pretty soon, once it gets too warm here, and it will get run on 2x 750 watt Dell platinum server psu's there, so I am not going to go out and buy a new psu just for a couple weeks, I was using the OCZ pair because that's what I had on hand.

The pci-e jack on the Avalon has a little bit of melted plastic inside and looks a little brown, I do not feel confident running it again until it has been checked out.  I am totally bummed that it is offline right now but would be even more bummed if it got totally destroyed, I can't afford to throw away the money for brand new hardware.

I guess I should contact Block C and see about sending it to them for an inspection, would that be the best thing to do?

Thanks for the replies, I feel better now than I did yesterday, I'll post a better picture of the pci-e jack on the A6 later today and solicit more opinion on it, but they way I am I'll probably send it to Block C anyway, just to be sure.

It does not hurt to contact them, I'm not sure what they will do with it being PSU's fault.   But never hurt's to ask.   But you might hurry up your hosting deal if you don't want to buy more PSU's.   Also might contact your future hosting center just thinking ahead as I'm not sure all would plug a psu into already damaged PCIe connector.

I would contact OCZ and get a RMA of PSU.   And just not use them again for mining.  I know my PSU that did this to a S3 I put in a pile after RMA and don't think I used it again, luckily it was on psu connector side for me on a modular.    And phil is right on unpugging and switching so often.   
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966



View Profile
March 27, 2016, 11:22:51 PM
 #798

I'm not seeing anything wrong the the psu, though.  Like I said it is back on my S5 and working just fine, so I'm not sure what contacting OCZ here would accomplish, wouldn't I expect to see some issue with the psu?

I will contact Block C, though, and see if they can look the unit over or something, maybe they can get the pci-e receptacle replaced for me.

Here's a picture of it, what do you guys think?

notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
March 28, 2016, 03:01:21 AM
 #799

I'm not seeing anything wrong the the psu, though.  Like I said it is back on my S5 and working just fine, so I'm not sure what contacting OCZ here would accomplish, wouldn't I expect to see some issue with the psu?

I will contact Block C, though, and see if they can look the unit over or something, maybe they can get the pci-e receptacle replaced for me.

Here's a picture of it, what do you guys think?



You can tell it was the PSU in - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1257327.msg14328111#msg14328111 .  It melted though the plastic pretty bad. Looks like pieces might still be melted to back. That should not happen.  Normally it's low quality PSU's that have this problem, but it is possible to have a dud.   Contacting OCZ would be to RMA the PSU.  Although I would not use them again again after this.  

But your right it does not hurt to contact Block C.  But I'm unsure what they will say/tell you to do this is not a issue I can remember in this thread.   So I could be forgetting something or it could be a new question for them.
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
March 28, 2016, 07:08:16 AM
 #800

Yes looks like both sockets have been overheating due to poor contact of the pins. This will have been made worse by the Daily plugging and unplugging. I would look for a way to have the Miner plus permanently connected and an additional plug / socket arrangement for the swapping.

One thing that is strange is that the problem has only occurred on the 3 Gnd connections and not the 12V. This may indicate that the PSU Gnd wires have been made up with a different batch of socket crimps that the 12V ones?


Rich

→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!