Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 09:01:13 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Review] Avalon 6 Miner - Winter Mining - Notlist3d - Also FAQ and Help  (Read 77330 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
nhando
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 14, 2016, 01:26:59 AM
 #561

What do you guys think of this FAN as a spare replacement FAN for the Avalon 6 and S7?  I just swapped it on the S7 and seems a little quieter.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QWB1X3O?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_search_detailpage

CFM is at 224.  Any concerns?  Should be ok to use any PWM replacement fan that is almost equivalent correct? 

Just "Mining" my own business.
1511470873
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511470873

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511470873
Reply with quote  #2

1511470873
Report to moderator
1511470873
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511470873

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511470873
Reply with quote  #2

1511470873
Report to moderator
1511470873
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511470873

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511470873
Reply with quote  #2

1511470873
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
January 14, 2016, 01:31:12 AM
 #562

What do you guys think of this FAN as a spare replacement FAN for the Avalon 6 and S7?  I just swapped it on the S7 and seems a little quieter.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QWB1X3O?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_search_detailpage

CFM is at 224.  Any concerns?  Should be ok to use any PWM replacement fan that is almost equivalent correct?  


at top speed it does 3 x 12 = 36 watts.

off hand i would say  look and see what the stock fans pull as 36 watts is a strong pull of power.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
nhando
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 14, 2016, 01:56:06 AM
 #563

Can't find that info on Bitmain site.  EBay site shows many FAN as being S7 fans using up to 21.6Watts but I don't believe it as it shows Max RPM at 4500 when S7 fans can do up to 5K RPM.  Yeah, see the 36watts does make me worry if it's too much and can kill the controller like some strong fan can do to a motherboard.  =(

1) Is FAN 1 the Rear intake fan or exhaust FAN?
2) Is 36Watts an issue for Avalon 6? 

Just "Mining" my own business.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
January 14, 2016, 02:10:53 AM
 #564

Can't find that info on Bitmain site.  EBay site shows many FAN as being S7 fans using up to 21.6Watts but I don't believe it as it shows Max RPM at 4500 when S7 fans can do up to 5K RPM.  Yeah, see the 36watts does make me worry if it's too much and can kill the controller like some strong fan can do to a motherboard.  =(

1) Is FAN 1 the Rear intake fan or exhaust FAN?
2) Is 36Watts an issue for Avalon 6? 


It worked fine in a S4, and was one of the recommended replacements on S4's.  But as far as S7 and Avalon 6's I don't think I have seen anyone mention using it.   

I would say if you do watch it and see what temps are doing with it.   
nhando
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 14, 2016, 03:23:53 AM
 #565

Can't find that info on Bitmain site.  EBay site shows many FAN as being S7 fans using up to 21.6Watts but I don't believe it as it shows Max RPM at 4500 when S7 fans can do up to 5K RPM.  Yeah, see the 36watts does make me worry if it's too much and can kill the controller like some strong fan can do to a motherboard.  =(

1) Is FAN 1 the Rear intake fan or exhaust FAN?
2) Is 36Watts an issue for Avalon 6? 


It worked fine in a S4, and was one of the recommended replacements on S4's.  But as far as S7 and Avalon 6's I don't think I have seen anyone mention using it.   

I would say if you do watch it and see what temps are doing with it.   

I might consider mounting 1 of these on the rear or the Avalon 6 to help keep it cooler in the summer heat.  With just a single FAN, I don't think the Avalon 6 can handle the brutal Houston summer like the S7.  I just removed 1 FAN from the S7 and it was immediately operating similar temperature as the Avalon 6.

Just "Mining" my own business.
Liquid71
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 846


There is NO Freedom without Privacy


View Profile
January 14, 2016, 03:31:27 AM
 #566

Anyone able to get extranonce working on Avalon 6?

Found this post on Nicehash but the image wouldn't work for me:
https://www.nicehash.com/index.jsp?p=software#sha256avalon

Also thanks phil and notlist3d you're guys threads,reviews, and advice have been a great help.  Smiley

notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
January 14, 2016, 04:03:17 AM
 #567

Anyone able to get extranonce working on Avalon 6?

Found this post on Nicehash but the image wouldn't work for me:
https://www.nicehash.com/index.jsp?p=software#sha256avalon

Also thanks phil and notlist3d you're guys threads,reviews, and advice have been a great help.  Smiley

Your very welcome I enjoy doing them.  I had not looked at nicehash in a while it seemed to be under 100 percent for a while.  But looks like it is up to plus  14% right now.  Is there a new coin? How many day's has it been up?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
January 14, 2016, 04:08:22 AM
 #568

Anyone able to get extranonce working on Avalon 6?

Found this post on Nicehash but the image wouldn't work for me:
https://www.nicehash.com/index.jsp?p=software#sha256avalon

Also thanks phil and notlist3d you're guys threads,reviews, and advice have been a great help.  Smiley

Your very welcome I enjoy doing them.  I had not looked at nicehash in a while it seemed to be under 100 percent for a while.  But looks like it is up to plus  14% right now.  Is there a new coin? How many day's has it been up?

Thirty hours or more

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
January 14, 2016, 07:38:24 AM
 #569

Your very welcome I enjoy doing them.  I had not looked at nicehash in a while it seemed to be under 100 percent for a while.  But looks like it is up to plus  14% right now.  Is there a new coin? How many day's has it been up?


My miners all switched to Nicehash almost 3 Days ago, nice  Smiley thing is that it has stayed up after the difficulty change as if it had not happened. Don't want to pull this thread off track but does anyone know how much Extranonce is worth?

Rich

→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910

aka "whocares"


View Profile
January 14, 2016, 07:40:32 AM
 #570

Can't find that info on Bitmain site.  EBay site shows many FAN as being S7 fans using up to 21.6Watts but I don't believe it as it shows Max RPM at 4500 when S7 fans can do up to 5K RPM.  Yeah, see the 36watts does make me worry if it's too much and can kill the controller like some strong fan can do to a motherboard.  =(

1) Is FAN 1 the Rear intake fan or exhaust FAN?
2) Is 36Watts an issue for Avalon 6?  


It worked fine in a S4, and was one of the recommended replacements on S4's.  But as far as S7 and Avalon 6's I don't think I have seen anyone mention using it.    

I would say if you do watch it and see what temps are doing with it.  

I might consider mounting 1 of these on the rear or the Avalon 6 to help keep it cooler in the summer heat.  With just a single FAN, I don't think the Avalon 6 can handle the brutal Houston summer like the S7.  I just removed 1 FAN from the S7 and it was immediately operating similar temperature as the Avalon 6.

I would be careful about mounting extra fans or changing fans on the Avalon, the software and the mining speed are all tied into that damn fan.

On a second note, I would be willing to bet BTC that the miner that sees the problem in the summer will be the S7 and not the Avalon6.  That is one of the reasons I am willing to spend the few extra bucks on the Avalon6.  Have you looked at the design of an S7 using 3 hashing boards, it is ignorant.  That middle hashing board is going to be cooked in the summer time, also comparing chips like that doesn't work, different chips are designed to operate differently.

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
January 14, 2016, 08:11:36 AM
 #571


I would be careful about mounting extra fans or changing fans on the Avalon, the software and the mining speed are all tied into that damn fan.

On a second note, I would be willing to bet BTC that the miner that sees the problem in the summer will be the S7 and not the Avalon6.  That is one of the reasons I am willing to spend the few extra bucks on the Avalon6.  Have you looked at the design of an S7 using 3 hashing boards, it is ignorant.  That middle hashing board is going to be cooked in the summer time, also comparing chips like that doesn't work, different chips are designed to operate differently.

Yes agreed it is those points that would influence me towards the Avalon6. I just wish that the tie up between fans / temperature / voltage / Hash was a little more open and controllable by the user? I would also love there to be an S7 with the old style 2 boards and single piece heatsinks....

Rich

→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
nhando
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 14, 2016, 04:55:23 PM
 #572

Can't find that info on Bitmain site.  EBay site shows many FAN as being S7 fans using up to 21.6Watts but I don't believe it as it shows Max RPM at 4500 when S7 fans can do up to 5K RPM.  Yeah, see the 36watts does make me worry if it's too much and can kill the controller like some strong fan can do to a motherboard.  =(

1) Is FAN 1 the Rear intake fan or exhaust FAN?
2) Is 36Watts an issue for Avalon 6?  


It worked fine in a S4, and was one of the recommended replacements on S4's.  But as far as S7 and Avalon 6's I don't think I have seen anyone mention using it.    

I would say if you do watch it and see what temps are doing with it.  

I might consider mounting 1 of these on the rear or the Avalon 6 to help keep it cooler in the summer heat.  With just a single FAN, I don't think the Avalon 6 can handle the brutal Houston summer like the S7.  I just removed 1 FAN from the S7 and it was immediately operating similar temperature as the Avalon 6.

I would be careful about mounting extra fans or changing fans on the Avalon, the software and the mining speed are all tied into that damn fan.

On a second note, I would be willing to bet BTC that the miner that sees the problem in the summer will be the S7 and not the Avalon6.  That is one of the reasons I am willing to spend the few extra bucks on the Avalon6.  Have you looked at the design of an S7 using 3 hashing boards, it is ignorant.  That middle hashing board is going to be cooked in the summer time, also comparing chips like that doesn't work, different chips are designed to operate differently.


Yeah, I noticed the Avalon 6 loves to run in the 65-72 range even when I have cold temperature when running on my rack in the garage.  Temp would only drop lower if I manually increase the FAN speed to higher speed vs default 20% min.  Now that I am running it on my breakfast area floor.  The cold tiles act as a giant heat sink so I'm seeing much operating temperature at 64-68C even though the ambient temperature in my house is higher than the garage.  Hash rate seems a little lower at 3150 vs the normal 3200-3250. 

Does the S7 list the Board in order meaning Chain #1 meaning Chain #2 is the middle board?  All of my Chain #2 board temp are showing cooler temperature.  I also did heat stress test last month where I temporarily warm up my garage to 91 degrees F, it did concern me that the Avalon 6 reported 1 Hash board going as high as 79C vs the other at 74-76C.  I immediately force another fan from the rear to bring it down to a more manageable  level.    What is the shutoff temp for the Avalon 6?  I don't see it anywhere in the configuration settings.  Will be moving the Avalon 6 back to the garage tonight and test it with 12.5V to see if I can get similar results to Philip.  Very excited.   These boxes have more potentials if I can confirm that they can consistent delivery 3.9-4TH at 12.5V

Just "Mining" my own business.
pikachuy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 426


View Profile
January 14, 2016, 07:55:55 PM
 #573

Does the Avalon 6 support load balancing? Like splitting the hashes and mining at 2 different pools simultaneously?

█ BTC: 12FLMGv2pMo7gFrwxVifsJcNYZEVwdHfkk █ ETH: 0x8087a135e9c8EDFf63A917AA0DF44e5F083a31a7 █ LTC: LhKGh5FAMy7ZagBBwj7ArUaktB2tgPp1dL
-droid-
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
January 14, 2016, 10:37:18 PM
 #574


I would be careful about mounting extra fans or changing fans on the Avalon, the software and the mining speed are all tied into that damn fan.

On a second note, I would be willing to bet BTC that the miner that sees the problem in the summer will be the S7 and not the Avalon6.  That is one of the reasons I am willing to spend the few extra bucks on the Avalon6.  Have you looked at the design of an S7 using 3 hashing boards, it is ignorant.  That middle hashing board is going to be cooked in the summer time, also comparing chips like that doesn't work, different chips are designed to operate differently.

thats why you sell them off come summer time and purchase next gen Smiley
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910

aka "whocares"


View Profile
January 14, 2016, 11:44:10 PM
 #575

Can't find that info on Bitmain site.  EBay site shows many FAN as being S7 fans using up to 21.6Watts but I don't believe it as it shows Max RPM at 4500 when S7 fans can do up to 5K RPM.  Yeah, see the 36watts does make me worry if it's too much and can kill the controller like some strong fan can do to a motherboard.  =(

1) Is FAN 1 the Rear intake fan or exhaust FAN?
2) Is 36Watts an issue for Avalon 6?  


It worked fine in a S4, and was one of the recommended replacements on S4's.  But as far as S7 and Avalon 6's I don't think I have seen anyone mention using it.    

I would say if you do watch it and see what temps are doing with it.  

I might consider mounting 1 of these on the rear or the Avalon 6 to help keep it cooler in the summer heat.  With just a single FAN, I don't think the Avalon 6 can handle the brutal Houston summer like the S7.  I just removed 1 FAN from the S7 and it was immediately operating similar temperature as the Avalon 6.

I would be careful about mounting extra fans or changing fans on the Avalon, the software and the mining speed are all tied into that damn fan.

On a second note, I would be willing to bet BTC that the miner that sees the problem in the summer will be the S7 and not the Avalon6.  That is one of the reasons I am willing to spend the few extra bucks on the Avalon6.  Have you looked at the design of an S7 using 3 hashing boards, it is ignorant.  That middle hashing board is going to be cooked in the summer time, also comparing chips like that doesn't work, different chips are designed to operate differently.


Yeah, I noticed the Avalon 6 loves to run in the 65-72 range even when I have cold temperature when running on my rack in the garage.  Temp would only drop lower if I manually increase the FAN speed to higher speed vs default 20% min.  Now that I am running it on my breakfast area floor.  The cold tiles act as a giant heat sink so I'm seeing much operating temperature at 64-68C even though the ambient temperature in my house is higher than the garage.  Hash rate seems a little lower at 3150 vs the normal 3200-3250. 

Does the S7 list the Board in order meaning Chain #1 meaning Chain #2 is the middle board?  All of my Chain #2 board temp are showing cooler temperature.  I also did heat stress test last month where I temporarily warm up my garage to 91 degrees F, it did concern me that the Avalon 6 reported 1 Hash board going as high as 79C vs the other at 74-76C.  I immediately force another fan from the rear to bring it down to a more manageable  level.    What is the shutoff temp for the Avalon 6?  I don't see it anywhere in the configuration settings.  Will be moving the Avalon 6 back to the garage tonight and test it with 12.5V to see if I can get similar results to Philip.  Very excited.   These boxes have more potentials if I can confirm that they can consistent delivery 3.9-4TH at 12.5V

They can consistently run 3.8-4 Th, I have it on at least 10 machines (and will on the remainder when my power upgrade is done)

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910

aka "whocares"


View Profile
January 14, 2016, 11:45:08 PM
 #576

Does the Avalon 6 support load balancing? Like splitting the hashes and mining at 2 different pools simultaneously?

yes it has the Balance, Load Balance and Failover options

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
nhando
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 15, 2016, 12:55:29 AM
 #577

You get 3.8-4TH when using 12.5V Kilo?  What seems to be the most stable voltage level for the high hash rate?

Just "Mining" my own business.
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910

aka "whocares"


View Profile
January 15, 2016, 05:31:59 AM
 #578

You get 3.8-4TH when using 12.5V Kilo?  What seems to be the most stable voltage level for the high hash rate?

The miner needs to see about 12.3-12.5 volts to get that high.  I like 12.4-12.5 measured under load (not by the software)

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
MarkAz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538



View Profile
January 15, 2016, 07:03:30 AM
 #579

Does the Avalon 6 support load balancing? Like splitting the hashes and mining at 2 different pools simultaneously?

yes it has the Balance, Load Balance and Failover options

Actually, I don't think that does what he's asking... Those are the balancing options in CGMiner, and unless something has changed, the way it works is basically switching pools periodically.  So a simple example would be if you picked Balance, and had two pools, over the course of an hour 30 minutes would be spent on the first pool, then it would switch to the second pool for 30 minutes.

The key word is "simultaneously" - what I think he's asking for is something like saying "blade 0" should mine Nicehash, and "blade 1" should mine Antpool - I don't believe that's possible at either the blade level, or the chained devices level, nor do I think CGMiner supports doing something like that.
Liquid71
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 846


There is NO Freedom without Privacy


View Profile
January 15, 2016, 09:16:24 AM
 #580

Anyone able to get extranonce working on Avalon 6?

Found this post on Nicehash but the image wouldn't work for me:
https://www.nicehash.com/index.jsp?p=software#sha256avalon

Also thanks phil and notlist3d you're guys threads,reviews, and advice have been a great help.  Smiley

Your very welcome I enjoy doing them.  I had not looked at nicehash in a while it seemed to be under 100 percent for a while.  But looks like it is up to plus  14% right now.  Is there a new coin? How many day's has it been up?
Not sure but I think it's Emercoin, but I could be totally wrong I really ignore alts that use sha256. I like mining to support BTC but with the fast increase in difficulty I checked out nicehash and thought about setting the miner to rent on NH and set the price 10% or higher above BTC or fallback to the bitcoin pool. I might play around with it more, I didn't get the nicehash image to work at all, it's only 76MB which just seems too small when compared to the original image, which I downloaded from this thread thanks to notlist3d  Wink

I might play around with it more, but for now I'm happy to keep mining Bitcoin.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!