Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 11:58:08 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain Announces the Antminer R4 and APW5 Power Supply, Designed for Silence  (Read 63888 times)
klee
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
August 26, 2016, 03:47:07 PM
 #21

So is the PSU included?

Power supply is extra. Best estimates are $1000 for the miner and $300 for PSU (may change.)
Kudos to you bringing the news up first!

Shame to these bastards putting negative trust on you....
1511524688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511524688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511524688
Reply with quote  #2

1511524688
Report to moderator
1511524688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511524688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511524688
Reply with quote  #2

1511524688
Report to moderator
1511524688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511524688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511524688
Reply with quote  #2

1511524688
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511524688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511524688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511524688
Reply with quote  #2

1511524688
Report to moderator
1511524688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511524688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511524688
Reply with quote  #2

1511524688
Report to moderator
1511524688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511524688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511524688
Reply with quote  #2

1511524688
Report to moderator
Tupsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
August 26, 2016, 04:11:10 PM
 #22

So is the PSU included?

Power supply is extra. Best estimates are $1000 for the miner and $300 for PSU (may change.)
Kudos to you bringing the news up first!

Shame to these bastards putting negative trust on you....

The time is right to give Bitmain real Trust Rating.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=156878

My negative rating stay, until Bitmain  does not delete negative trust against BitcoinNewsMagazine .


majestymage
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 518



View Profile
August 26, 2016, 05:15:03 PM
 #23

well. one interesting miner in a lot of time for the end user..i also really like it, but let's wait for the prices in order for us to calculate a roi

.SPECTRE.                ▄▄███▄▄
            ▄▄███▀▀▀▀▀███▄▄
▄▄      ▄▄███▀▀ ▄▄███▄▄ ▀▀███▄▄      ▄▄
████▄▄  ▀▀▀ ▄▄███████████▄▄ ▀▀▀  ▄▄████
  ▀▀████▄    ▀▀█████████▀▀    ▄████▀▀
 ██▄▄ ▀██ █▄▄    ▀▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█ ██▀ ▄▄██
 ▀▀███ ██ █████▄       ▄█████ ██ ███▀▀
      ██ ███████▄   ▄███████ ██
       ██ ████████   ████████ ██
       ██▄▄ ▀▀████   ████▀▀ ▄▄██
        ▀▀███▄▄ ▀▀   ▀▀ ▄▄███▀▀
            ▀▀███▄▄▄▄▄███▀▀
                ▀▀███▀▀
             │
     │      ███
     │      ███
    │     ███
███  │     ███
███ ███ ███ ███
███ ███ ███ ███
███ ███ ███ ███
███ ███ ███ ███
███ ███     │
███ ███     │
    │
 
▬▬     WHITEPAPER    ▬▬
FACEBOOK     TELEGRAM
TWITTER     SLACK     MEDIUM
.
PRE-SALE.
PUBLIC SALE.
IITravel01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 05:57:22 PM
 #24

If there are 2 PCIe power connectors per board and there appears to be 2 boards, then you can power 2 of these with one of their new power supplies on 220v.  But if there are 3 connectors per board, then it might be a problem.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 06:08:30 PM
 #25

And if it's pulling about the same power per board as the stock S9 boards (which it probably will given the same chip count and hashrate and efficiency and whatnot) but they like claiming warranty void if you only use 2 jacks on the S9 (pretty sure they did for S7, is that spec on S9 also?) then I would expect 3 jacks per hashboard as well. I mean, it'd be consistent anyway.

Selling seconds 2Pacs for a friend's med bills - PM for details
Currently in development - 20-120GH USB stick; 700GH 75W pod; 4TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
stankiem
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 06:08:42 PM
 #26

It looks like it accepts 7 6-pin power connections is that correct?  Two hashing boards with 3 each and another 6-pin connector for the main board?  My question is this...

I have a bunch of 1000W 120v kits from S7's  (such as: http://deepinthemines.com/index.php?rt=product/product&product_id=139)   Could I use these to power the R4?

Thanks!
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 06:13:13 PM
 #27

Looks like a DPS800, which is rated for 800W at 120V. That's output power, so if Bitmain's estimate of 850W wall is accurate it should be fine.

Selling seconds 2Pacs for a friend's med bills - PM for details
Currently in development - 20-120GH USB stick; 700GH 75W pod; 4TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 06:13:29 PM
 #28

Do you think you could run one board to set it up and lower the freq and then restart it and run both boards at the lowered freq (I've only got an 850w psu)?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
tbonetony
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 452


No zuo no die why you try, u zuo u die dont be shy


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 06:35:50 PM
 #29

Do you think you could run one board to set it up and lower the freq and then restart it and run both boards at the lowered freq (I've only got an 850w psu)?

I am thinking of doing the same thing.

K&T Crypto Hosting, hosting as low as $45/kW per month ($0.06/kWh): https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1794057.0








I offer private S9 rental for various length: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1708351.0
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 06:43:44 PM
 #30

Do you think you could run one board to set it up and lower the freq and then restart it and run both boards at the lowered freq (I've only got an 850w psu)?

Sure why not

 Just attach the controller and only one board.  Set freq at 500 vs 550  and boom you are off.

If I get one I plan to run it at 700 or 750 gh


just remember you need 7 pcie cables.



Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Fatman3001
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


Make Bitcoin glow with ENIAC


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 06:45:36 PM
 #31


WTF Bitmain?!?!!???

I have defended you on all fronts and now you've neg rep'd BitcoinNewsMagazine for simply doing some quality journalism?

This is the exact product you've neg rep'd him for lying about.

If you can't keep a tight ship, don't go lashing out on people who's simply doing their job PROPERLY!!!


Looks like it's been sorted out. Good to see!

[edited]

"I predict the Internet will soon go spectacularly supernova and in 1996 catastrophically collapse." - Robert Metcalfe, 1995
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 07:01:03 PM
 #32

Do you think you could run one board to set it up and lower the freq and then restart it and run both boards at the lowered freq (I've only got an 850w psu)?

Sure why not

 Just attach the controller and only one board.  Set freq at 500 vs 550  and boom you are off.

If I get one I plan to run it at 700 or 750 gh


just remember you need 7 pcie cables.




Yep got plenty of cables. Well I've got four gpu points on my psu (EVGA 850w P2) and pci leads that split into two on the ends. Anyone know how much the average controller draws and if it can be run from a Sata/Peripheral connection point on my psu?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
BobLawblaw
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


Gayest Black Cowboy on BitcoinTalk / Power-Top


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 07:09:07 PM
 #33

Hey, Bitmain, take your negative report against BitcoinNewsMagazine and shove it up your GPL-violating asses.

It's your own fault for not better protecting your links, and best we can tell, BitcoinNewsMagazine was accurate with information.

And here's silly me that was actually considering buying one of your new units for a nanosecond, before reminding myself of your recent warranty shenanigans, and blatant wanton greed.

Fucking amazing watching your fall from grace with this community.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 07:13:22 PM
 #34

Do you think you could run one board to set it up and lower the freq and then restart it and run both boards at the lowered freq (I've only got an 850w psu)?

Sure why not

 Just attach the controller and only one board.  Set freq at 500 vs 550  and boom you are off.

If I get one I plan to run it at 700 or 750 gh


just remember you need 7 pcie cables.




Yep got plenty of cables. Well I've got four gpu points on my psu (EVGA 850w P2) and pci leads that split into two on the ends. Anyone know how much the average controller draws and if it can be run from a Sata/Peripheral connection point on my psu?

It powers the fans  so 40 to 65 watts with fans but this is a new fan.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 07:22:40 PM
 #35

Do you think you could run one board to set it up and lower the freq and then restart it and run both boards at the lowered freq (I've only got an 850w psu)?

Sure why not

 Just attach the controller and only one board.  Set freq at 500 vs 550  and boom you are off.

If I get one I plan to run it at 700 or 750 gh


just remember you need 7 pcie cables.




Yep got plenty of cables. Well I've got four gpu points on my psu (EVGA 850w P2) and pci leads that split into two on the ends. Anyone know how much the average controller draws and if it can be run from a Sata/Peripheral connection point on my psu?

It powers the fans  so 40 to 65 watts with fans but this is a new fan.

fan is different but imo should me more or less the same BUT the bad part is that, you will NOT be able to find a replacement fan if it breaks down. !

board is slightly different in terms of the location of the pcie jacks, yes 3 of them & the heatsinks to suit the new fan & casing for the airflow over the heatsinks.

sadly no aftermarket parts readily available & hashboard too. good news is that you;re getting a longer data cable LoL.

I think the controllers are the same.

my guess was right, around 1.7 btc

PSU a little overpriced at USD 300 imo & why would you need 2600W to power a 900W miner & it comes with only 7 PCIE cables, you would need 14 to power 2 of them which is pretty good for those with 220V & up. hmmm


DebitMe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


Crypto-Games.net: Multiple coins, multiple games


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 07:30:39 PM
 #36

In my opinion, this is one of the most beautiful miners I  have ever seen.  Will definitely be waiting to see what the price is for both this and the PSU, but it looks like bitmain nailed it out of the park.

EDIT: It also looks like the backboard has extra slots, possibly for a bigger model at some point?


▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄██████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
▀██████████████████████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
   ███████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
███████
BTC  ◉PLAY  ◉XMR  ◉DOGE  ◉STRAT  ◉ETH  ◉GRC  ◉LTC  ◉DASH  ◉PPC
     ▄▄██████████████▄▄
  ▄██████████████████████▄        █████
▄██████████████████████████▄      █████
████ ▄▄▄▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄ ████     ▄██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ▄██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ██
████ ▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀ ████ ▄██████▄
████████████████████████████ ████████
███████▀            ▀███████ ▀██████▀
█████▀                ▀█████
▀██████████████████████████▀
  ▀▀████████████████████▀▀ 
DICE           
BLACKJACK
PLINKO       
VIDEO POKER
ROULETTE     
LOTTO             
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 07:52:24 PM
 #37

I have a good psu for it in mind.

A titanium evga 850

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 08:58:26 PM
 #38

Do you think you could run one board to set it up and lower the freq and then restart it and run both boards at the lowered freq (I've only got an 850w psu)?

Sure why not

 Just attach the controller and only one board.  Set freq at 500 vs 550  and boom you are off.

If I get one I plan to run it at 700 or 750 gh


just remember you need 7 pcie cables.




Yep got plenty of cables. Well I've got four gpu points on my psu (EVGA 850w P2) and pci leads that split into two on the ends. Anyone know how much the average controller draws and if it can be run from a Sata/Peripheral connection point on my psu?

It powers the fans  so 40 to 65 watts with fans but this is a new fan.

So a sata connection would be OK?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
leowonderful
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 09:06:32 PM
 #39

In my opinion, this is one of the most beautiful miners I  have ever seen.  Will definitely be waiting to see what the price is for both this and the PSU, but it looks like bitmain nailed it out of the park.

EDIT: It also looks like the backboard has extra slots, possibly for a bigger model at some point?
Considering most miners don't look too good at all, this thing is actually pretty good-looking with the metal racklike frame and the cables :L

Maybe Bitmain's actually got plans for upgrading this in the future like you said- if they actually do, they should've posted that in the overview; it'd make the miner much more desirable to buy than it already is. Still a good miner in my book, just the connections needed from the psu... and the fact that the unit only takes 850 watts and that they recommend a 300$ 2600-1300W psu... not a bad deal, but they could've maybe created a psu more oriented to the R4 itself? I still like the APW5 brick design though, much better looking than the APW3.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 896


View Profile
August 26, 2016, 09:16:41 PM
 #40

Looks like they went to a long thin blower-type fan setup.
Nothing new there, except perhaps in it's application to Cryptocoin mining.

 Price is going to be critical to acceptance, though it IS nice to see them finally backing down from the "barely able to power it from a standard 15Amp USA home circuit" level stuff.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!