Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 09:41:22 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain Announces the Antminer R4 and APW5 Power Supply, Designed for Silence  (Read 63877 times)
VRobb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


I'm in BTC XTC


View Profile
August 22, 2017, 02:12:25 PM
 #801

If you can deal with the extra noise and extra electricity cost, I would go with the T9.
The sick R4 is in a DC with my S9 so noise isn't an issue in this case.  Just another expensive shipping payment and then mining delay, what fun!!
Well after much delay my sick droid R4B4 is back at the Empire for scrapping.  After some polite back and forth regarding the issues with the R4 I was promised "just this one time" an S9, instead of a T9, for swap once returned on my dime.  It has just arrived today.
Wow, that's actually then quite in a good way handled situation after all?
It took a bit more back and forth, and referencing the original emails with the offer of an S9 this one time, but it is now official: I will be getting a new S9 in swap for my 1/2 running R4B4.  Of course there's a catch...  No stock available until, get this, October!!  Shocked
Update to come in September sometime.  Undecided
Until then, $$ and hashrate wasting away.  Tongue
Things are looking up!  Got an email this morning from Sarah at bitmain letting me know my S9-11THs is ready to ship!  I was hoping it might happen sooner than planned, and it did.  Grin
Now if only there's some open capacity at the Hoth mines I'll be even happier!  Cheesy

And to keep this on-topic, my R4B2 is still chugging away just great.  My favorite miner I've had by far, not that I've had so many tho...

I don't believe in superstition because it's bad luck
In Hotels, I prefer the 13thF1oor6CAwyzyxXPNnRvu3nhhYeqZdc
These aren't the Droids you're looking for: S5 & S7 (Sold), R4B2, R4B4 (RIP), & S9-13.5
1511516482
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511516482

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511516482
Reply with quote  #2

1511516482
Report to moderator
1511516482
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511516482

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511516482
Reply with quote  #2

1511516482
Report to moderator
1511516482
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511516482

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511516482
Reply with quote  #2

1511516482
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511516482
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511516482

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511516482
Reply with quote  #2

1511516482
Report to moderator
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 728


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile
August 26, 2017, 04:13:23 PM
 #802

That's great to hear VRobb.  Smiley


VRobb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


I'm in BTC XTC


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 04:11:24 PM
 #803

....and we're back in delay mode!  Tongue  Suddenly the S9 they had ready to ship turned into a T9, which is the wrong unit, and so the wait continues.  I thought they came back with good news a little too fast!  Cheesy

Consider R4B4 only hashed full power for a few days to a week at most, ran at 1/2 power for a month or so before being unplugged to ship back in May, delay in getting shipped for a month or so, and after sitting at Bitmain for quite a while now I still wait...  Not cool at all.

So for all of you who still want an R4 for its quietness and efficiency, which is great if you get it, it's a 50/50 crapshoot as far as I can tell.

I don't believe in superstition because it's bad luck
In Hotels, I prefer the 13thF1oor6CAwyzyxXPNnRvu3nhhYeqZdc
These aren't the Droids you're looking for: S5 & S7 (Sold), R4B2, R4B4 (RIP), & S9-13.5
aarons6
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1232


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 08:46:36 PM
 #804

....and we're back in delay mode!  Tongue  Suddenly the S9 they had ready to ship turned into a T9, which is the wrong unit, and so the wait continues.  I thought they came back with good news a little too fast!  Cheesy

Consider R4B4 only hashed full power for a few days to a week at most, ran at 1/2 power for a month or so before being unplugged to ship back in May, delay in getting shipped for a month or so, and after sitting at Bitmain for quite a while now I still wait...  Not cool at all.

So for all of you who still want an R4 for its quietness and efficiency, which is great if you get it, it's a 50/50 crapshoot as far as I can tell.

wow that sucks, at this rate you would probably make more if you just had bitmain return your bitcoin.. since its almost 5000$ now.. it was only around 2300 when these came out?


VRobb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


I'm in BTC XTC


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 09:32:31 PM
 #805

Yeah, well, much like Vegas don't play with money you can't afford to lose.  Not that I expect to lose anything, it's just not doing very much at the moment!  Cheesy
Soon enough we'll be back on track. I think.  Roll Eyes

I don't believe in superstition because it's bad luck
In Hotels, I prefer the 13thF1oor6CAwyzyxXPNnRvu3nhhYeqZdc
These aren't the Droids you're looking for: S5 & S7 (Sold), R4B2, R4B4 (RIP), & S9-13.5
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 11:32:09 PM
 #806

Quote
Consider R4B4 only hashed full power for a few days to a week at most, ran at 1/2 power for a month or so before being unplugged to ship back in May, delay in getting shipped for a month or so, and after sitting at Bitmain for quite a while now I still wait...  Not cool at all.

So for all of you who still want an R4 for its quietness and efficiency, which is great if you get it, it's a 50/50 crapshoot as far as I can tell.

Ja. Thass why I left Gimpy just running with the dead board unplugged when the board went titsup after just 25hrs. Wasn't about to send to China under Warranty and BitmainWarrenty in Co was having issues getting whatever for Paid repair/replacement.

Oh well, ja is down ~4.2THs  but just minor dip in the farm total, I'll live with it. Love my other 2 R4's tho, are perfect and like the majority of the Bitmain miners I have no surprises so far.

-Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats http://bit.ly/1Qjt6lj
-For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself.
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
Breeze
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
October 14, 2017, 02:57:17 PM
 #807

Bitmain.com: Three Ways to Restore Factory Settings (R4/S9/T9)
https://enforum.bitmain.com/bbs/topics/3957

I used the last option in the list, IP Reporter button restore.
Quote from: Bitmain
Usage: Please power off the miner, then hold down the IP Reporter and don’t release it. At the same time, please power on the miner.
Releasing the IP Reporter after 5 seconds, the machine will automatically restore factory settings.

My miner restored with firmware Aug. 9 2016 and autotune settings were gone.
I am now suddenly able to control frequency and custom fan settings.  Cheesy

Hi guys!
I tried this several times but my R4 wont go back to the old firmware =(
I have the latgest firmware on my R4 now: Antminer-R4-all-201704280718-autofreq-user-Update2UBI-NF.tar.gz

Does somebody have an older firmware without this autotune settings?

Cheers!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
October 15, 2017, 01:14:28 PM
 #808

Bitmain.com: Three Ways to Restore Factory Settings (R4/S9/T9)
https://enforum.bitmain.com/bbs/topics/3957

I used the last option in the list, IP Reporter button restore.
Quote from: Bitmain
Usage: Please power off the miner, then hold down the IP Reporter and don’t release it. At the same time, please power on the miner.
Releasing the IP Reporter after 5 seconds, the machine will automatically restore factory settings.

My miner restored with firmware Aug. 9 2016 and autotune settings were gone.
I am now suddenly able to control frequency and custom fan settings.  Cheesy

Hi guys!
I tried this several times but my R4 wont go back to the old firmware =(
I have the latgest firmware on my R4 now: Antminer-R4-all-201704280718-autofreq-user-Update2UBI-NF.tar.gz

Does somebody have an older firmware without this autotune settings?

Cheers!

the controller may not do it some will some will not.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
qctechno
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278


View Profile
October 17, 2017, 11:25:45 PM
 #809

I had 1x R4B1 that have very cheap PCI power connectors.
They overheated at stock speed, ruined my P/S cables. ( EVGA G2 1300W )
My second unit didn't have that issue.

Monitor your cables temperature, nothing should heat.
Bitmain lowered connector quality for some R4 batch, probably explaining lot's of defects.

I down clocked by haft speed ( 350Mhz ) to keep connector at reasonable temp until I
replaced my connectors with new one / better quality.

You can purchase Molex Mini-Fit Jr for around 1$ /each

It need a lot's of heat to desoldering, soldering iron alone won't be enough.
Pre-heating bed or hot air is mandatory to execute the job properly.

Also, you need Desoldering Braid ( 5$ ).
Heat soldering and apply braid over it to suck solder into it.





lightfoot
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1344

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 12:08:23 PM
 #810

I had 1x R4B1 that have very cheap PCI power connectors.
They overheated at stock speed, ruined my P/S cables. ( EVGA G2 1300W )
My second unit didn't have that issue.

Monitor your cables temperature, nothing should heat.
Bitmain lowered connector quality for some R4 batch, probably explaining lot's of defects.

It need a lot's of heat to desoldering, soldering iron alone won't be enough.
Pre-heating bed or hot air is mandatory to execute the job properly.
Or you can send the boards to me for repair. I've been doing this on Avalons, Titans, and S7's for awhile now, and I've seen some poor attempts to do it which don't end well.

If you want me to fix bad connectors, drop me a PM and pack the boards in bubble wrap.

And since I believe information should be free and the skill of work be paid for, here are some tips on how to do it:

You have to get a pre-heater. Aoyue 853+ or better at minimum. Don't use a super big soldering iron, you will just burn the vias before you remove the part.

Cut the back three prongs on the connector before you start. That way you are removing them one at a time, not six at once.

And the super magic secret: Tin the leads with lead/rosin solder. This will lower the melting point of the crap ROHS solder a *lot* and make removal easier.

Use very good flux. Flux cleans connections and transfers heat.

Once off, use the solder wick to take up all the solder. Flux is good.

Clean everything up before installing the new one.

Flux the ends of the new plug before inserting. That way the new solder will flow.

Heat the board again then solder the back three pins.

Flip the hot board over in your lap and solder the front three.

Oh wear thick pants.

Clean everything up and admire your work.

But whatever you do, don't try to remove with just an iron. Or send it in to me for repairs, I take bitcoins :-)

C
qctechno
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 12:21:19 PM
 #811

Good step-by-step instructions , that's exactly how I did it
Silver solder is a pain in the ass to work with.

I have one R4 board down. Mostly from a broken ASIC chain.
I had one flashing X when it was running. Now I can't revive it.

Can you fix it too ?
I emailed Bitmain Warranty in Denver, I may ship the board there for repair.
With BTC pumping, cost of repair will be absorbed more quickly.


huntingthesnark
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
November 07, 2017, 12:02:56 PM
 #812

I had 1x R4B1 that have very cheap PCI power connectors.
They overheated at stock speed, ruined my P/S cables. ( EVGA G2 1300W )
My second unit didn't have that issue.

Monitor your cables temperature, nothing should heat.
Bitmain lowered connector quality for some R4 batch, probably explaining lot's of defects.

I down clocked by haft speed ( 350Mhz ) to keep connector at reasonable temp until I
replaced my connectors with new one / better quality.

You can purchase /yc4k8eps]Molex Mini-Fit Jr for around 1$ /each

It need a lot's of heat to desoldering, soldering iron alone won't be enough.
Pre-heating bed or hot air is mandatory to execute the job properly.

Also, you need /yah9vsfy]Desoldering Braid ( 5$ ).
Heat soldering and apply braid over it to suck solder into it.

I just had a highly annoying issue. Returned from holiday, r4 had lost IP. So reset to factory as above. Noticed variable settings had returned.

Ran for a week, till I noticed the connectors were smoking. Now have set of dead pcie connectors.

Before resoldering them tested the one board that still had working connnectors. All xxxxxxxxx. Lowered frequency. Runs fine.

I'm now thinking that the original firmware makes these machines over-heat, while the 'newer' firmware obviously regulates automatically, thus saving the connectors...
 








qctechno
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278


View Profile
November 08, 2017, 12:06:10 AM
 #813

Firmware have nothing to do with cheap connectors that can't handle load.

Brand name connector ( Molex ) fixed the overheat issue, firmware would not.
Same load at the wall, 900W ish on 120V.


huntingthesnark
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
November 08, 2017, 09:50:26 AM
 #814

Maybe it is a quality issue, I dunno. What I do now know is:

The original Factory Firmware defaults to 600 frequency. Later autotune Firmware runs at 560-ish.

My connectors died within a week of resetting to factory, thus unknowingly running @600. Previously had been running fine for c. 12months.

In short - the connectors in mine pretty definitely died as a result of the factory reset which upped the frequency.

If anyone else does use the factory reset option, I'd suggest manually underclocking immediately, unless upgrading burned connectors is your jam...
Breeze
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
November 08, 2017, 10:22:15 AM
 #815

Oh yeah!
https://www.dropbox.com/s/kx3l24ubvxgptwe/R4-731.JPG?dl=0
VRobb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


I'm in BTC XTC


View Profile
November 15, 2017, 04:15:09 PM
 #816

So we're now way past the date my replacement S9 should have been shipped for the crappy R4 that I shipped back to BiteMe twice on my dime.  They promised it would be shipped in October, so I've been politely asking where it is, where is any update, and it's been TOTAL SILENCE.
As far as I'm concerned, this is the last straw. Bad enough you can't buy a BTC miner with BTC, now they're just ignoring their own warranty promises.

Keep shoveling your money to these jackasses!  They SO deserve it!!  Tongue

I don't believe in superstition because it's bad luck
In Hotels, I prefer the 13thF1oor6CAwyzyxXPNnRvu3nhhYeqZdc
These aren't the Droids you're looking for: S5 & S7 (Sold), R4B2, R4B4 (RIP), & S9-13.5
dpbtcx3
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
November 16, 2017, 06:31:07 AM
 #817

Does anyone has R4 antminer's firmware without autotune?, i already tried the ip report reset method but still stuck with latest firmware, i remember my miners came with manual freq from factory, but i upgraded (my bad) to the last firmware and problems started.

If anyone could be so kind to share those firmware i'm sure many R4 owners like me will be pleased.
Voltar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 16, 2017, 09:50:29 AM
 #818

I just have to ask.  Is the APW5 that they are talking about here the same one that they have had for awhile?  Because if it's the same as the one I have then it is far from silent.
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 728


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile
November 16, 2017, 01:42:57 PM
 #819

I just have to ask.  Is the APW5 that they are talking about here the same one that they have had for awhile?  Because if it's the same as the one I have then it is far from silent.

APW5 is a different psu series than the APW3.

Are you talking about the APW3 series?
Here is the forum thread for the original APW3 psu https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1060439.0

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!